Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone in Dublin, fancy a protest (with possible riot)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

deadtiger wrote: »
    Gotta love the Bio on that WSM Twitter account "Anarchist organisation" LOL isn't that a contradiction?

No,thats what Anarchism in practice has always been.

Not ticking a box, but opening up discussion and reaching decisions through agreement and compromise.

Thats why these modern Anarchist org's don't achieve very much,all they do is protest and try and fight ''the system'' instead of ignoring it and creating what they want.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

1,000 protest over Government cutbacks

Around 1,000 people protested outside the Dáil this evening to oppose Government cutbacks.

The demonstration has been organised by the Right to Work campaign.

Towards the end of the main rally, minor scuffles broke out between some protesters and the gardaí.

Earlier, there were minor scuffles with gardaí when Éirígí commenced a march past Anglo Irish Bank.

Gardaí had cordoned off the bank while the garda mounted unit and plain clothed officers patrolled the area.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0518/dail.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Earlier, there were minor scuffles with gardaí when Éirígí commenced a march past Anglo Irish Bank.

While I cant comment on what happened at the end these "scuffles" at the start were competently unnecessary and caused by the garda. As we attempted to leave form the meet up point outside Stephens Green the garda stood in front of us and refused to let us leave. After people at the front tried to reason we back off slightly and tried to go round the garda line but they move in front of us. We kept walking so they used horse to stop us. After a brief stand off the group started walking again and soon the garda gave way. They knew what route we were taking but decided to create a completely unnecessary stand off just to try provoke a response. Aside form it went off great and peacefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Were the horses ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

phasers wrote: »
    Were the horses ok?

Neigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Diairist

by 10 a.m. this morning west side of St Stephen's Green was taken up with film crew, canteen wagon etc. The rude lad at the desk has been replaced by a security guy. The people who deal with you are far off to his left.

Marginally more welcoming than a rude person with two polite security lads in white shirts standing almost at the end of the reception desk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

From that twits account
    Artist Robert ballagh says he's angry as ****. Crowd agree and cheer.

If there is no Bono there will always be Booby Ballagh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

So ya..this protest of about 3000-4000 was amazing..so amazing it wasnt even on the telly. :rolleyes:

I've got to say these protest/riot/revolution threads always amuse me as they are generally started by people who dont know current affairs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Biggins wrote: »
    The Trilateral Commission don't like to be caught on video coming and going! :pac:

The damn Trilateral Commision has offically entered my lexicon. Damn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Augmerson wrote: »
    On the way home from work this evening, between 6 and 7 today, I noticed alot of Gardai were standing outside Anglo Irish Bank with some barriers in place. There were maybe 2 people taking pictures on the street opposite beside the Green and as I walked on I crossed through the park and saw more Gardai hanging around by the Famine Memorial , like in reserve.

There were also a filming unit in the location, I saw those up outside the Gaiety theatre. And I can know hear a helicopter, mostly like the Gardai helicopter, over the air right now in the area (I live maybe 5 minutes away from the park).

What is going on?

Protest? Filming? Is the revolution underway? Will it be televised?

IOU concert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

Seloth wrote: »
    So ya..this protest of about 3000-4000 was amazing..so amazing it wasnt even on the telly. :rolleyes:

I blame the Weather to be fair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Walsh wrote: »
    I blame the Weather to be fair...

The revolution will be..... postponed, due to weather.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

dsmythy wrote: »
    The revolution will be..... postponed, due to weather.
    ...weather or not they could be arsed to turn up? :D
    phasers wrote: »
    Were the horses ok?
    Neigh.

The protest was this evening?
    The horses must have been night-mares! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Biggins wrote: »
    The protest was this evening?
    The horses must have been night-mares! :D

Haaaaa :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Threads merged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

The protest went ahead grand no bother aside from some IRA splinter groups that threw stones at the Guards after the protest finished and moved off up to the GPO. Plenty of speakers, some singing and chanting, free cupcakes and no hassle. Media reported 500 last week and there was about 800-1000 and they reported 1000 this week and there was about 1,500-2,000 there. There's another one next week, same time, same place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

The protest at Anglo Irish Bank was the dissident republicans Eirigí, 32-County Solidary Movement and some others.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Most of us would probably like to vent our angry at rampant Governmental stupidity, but unfortunately for someone like me, that would be career suicide as it contravent or be contradictory to a contract signed by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

... IRA splinter groups.....

Whoa, jaysus, you had me worried there for a minute. Wouldn't really call any of the groups there IRA anything really..

But it could be taken to mean I'm Really Angry.
    Perhaps we can rebrand IRA, take it back for the greater good so to speak...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

The protest at Anglo Irish Bank was the dissident republicans Eirigí, 32-County Solidary Movement and some others.

Looking for a new cause now since they reclaimed their drug customers after getting headshops closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Looking for a new cause now since they reclaimed their drug customers after getting headshops closed

ooohhh, low blow, won't lower the price of it though now will it hah ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The demonstration has been organised by the Right to Work Job-for-Life campaign.
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The protest went ahead grand no bother aside from some IRA splinter groups that threw stones at the Guards after the protest finished and moved off up to the GPO. Plenty of speakers, some singing and chanting, free cupcakes and no hassle. Media reported 500 last week and there was about 800-1000 and they reported 1000 this week and there was about 1,500-2,000 there. There's another one next week, same time, same place.

Considering there are over 400,000 people unemployed those numbers are pathetic. Has it been considered that the majority of people in this country would be seen dead marching with the usual suspects of the rent a protest crowd.

From the protest videos and photos it appears that they consist of perpetual students, failed malcontents and Republican thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

deadtiger wrote: »
    Gotta love the Bio on that WSM Twitter account "Anarchist organisation" LOL isn't that a contradiction?

Not at all.

Anarchism isn't anti-organisation in its nature. It just believes in a different way of organising. Anarchist (or Libertarian Socialism) organisation is based on the ideals of direct democracy (i.e. self-management) and federalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Pete M. wrote: »
    Nuts? Nihilistic Uber Trendy Syndicalists?

Assorted though, definitely :D

Appears as though a spot of drain bamage would do you the world of good if you think there ain't summink worth protesting about

Theres a huge difference in "protest" and acting the bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Who else here hag a snigger at the idiots who were at the wrong end of a batton charge having a cry on tv3 breakfast the last time, i dont care if people riot or act the bollocks (and yes i would march if something bothered me that much) but if it turns pear shaped dont go crying to some tabloid station looking for sympathy, just makes you look like a bigger looser...