Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 is not dumbing down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    TV3 also receive some money from the licence fee. A small amount but still some.

Fair enough :)

Each to their own etc but I think TV3 as well as the other Irish TV channels make a lot of effort to cater for the population's needs.
    No one's going to like everything they show, but nothing's perfect!

I thought The Truth about Travellers was quite interesting last night. The presenter was good, the people featured seemed to warm to him. A lot of the time, you hear that travellers keep very much to themselves, but he seemed to get them talking and the conversation flowed quite easily.

I felt a bit sorry for a few of them when they were discussing how hard it was to find work because people were unwilling to hire travellers, but I suppose that's the objective of the programme... To highlight the discrimination against them, in a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

I can understand why people would criticise RTE because it's paid for by the state, using taxpayers money.

Buh? Over half of RTE's income comes from advertising and other commercial means, the rest comes from the licence fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

I watched the Criminal Assets bureau show straight after the one about the Travellers last night. The interviews with those involved in CAB and who were involved investigating the Gilligan gang were very interesting. They really gave good insight from credible sources.

The one killer though was; Paul Williams! After having some well put together interivews with CAB and former garda commissioner etc, we would then get a nice montage of Paul Williams walking the dark streets of Dublin in his trench coat (and mullet on top). His voice overs were incredibly sensationalized (if that is a word ;)) calling everyone scumbags and other slang words so he sounded like he was from the "streets"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Stekelly wrote: »
    Did "the truth about travellers" delve into the source of heir income they use to buy new cars, vans houses etc? Or was it a PR excercise for travellers?

LOL @ the ad that showed a guy making somethign otu of tin. When was the lst time you saw a traveller actually do that?

The last time the ad was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

I like TV3 and their documentaries.

Not sure why the station gets such a hard time, RTE's far from perfect itself and you can't please everyone at once with your programming choices.

I'd like to see everyone insulting TV3 do a better job of producing programmes and managing a station!

I can make a snowy screen show on my TV and it beats TV3 for entertainment everytime and no commercial breaks.

TV3 gives a whole new meaning to 'me-too' programming, pure crap channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Martin King has been dumbing down TV3 since its inception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

aine-maire wrote: »
    It's cúpla focal. Here.
    I would've said 'twas because in Irish when two nouns come together the genetive case applies to the second... Think they justify it a little differently here though.
    /pedantry

Go raibh míle maith agat, Áine.

This is by-the-by, but it's crap that Boards.ie don't allow Irish people to put a fada on their user name, even when it's the name their Irish parents gave them.

ÁÉÍÓÚ
    áéíóú

Áine, Ciarán, Seán, Pádraig ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I never watch TV, but fair fooks to TV3 for taking the piss out of irish, it is our native language, great, teaching it in school is pointless and a total waste unless for some reason you're into it, which the majority of people aren't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

Cúpla without doubt is an exception to the rule, it will not change focal. End of. Doesn't bother me what they do with the language to be quite honest, I'll stick to good ould TG4 if I want quality.

fair fooks to TV3 for taking the piss out of irish, it is our native language, great, teaching it in school is pointless and a total waste unless for some reason you're into it, which the majority of people aren't

Teaching it, or teaching you, in school is pointless?

"Fighting Irish" my arse.

Oh, and your source for your "majority" is what? Are you going to stand for election on an anti-Irish platform?

Dionysus wrote: »
    Teaching it, or teaching you, in school is pointless?

"Fighting Irish" my arse.

Oh, and your source for your "majority" is what? Are you going to stand for election on an anti-Irish platform?

I done fairly well in school except for 3 subjects, science, irish and german. None of which i had any interest in, i was forced to do them.
    Irish serves no purpose, oh it's our native tongue, who cares?
    I'm not saying abolish irish, i'm saying let people decide for themselves. Making me learn irish in school, held me back from learning other things i might have an interest in

Making me learn irish in school, held me back from learning other things i might have an interest in

And making me learn Maths and English held me back ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I done fairly well in school except for 3 subjects, science, irish and german.

Then all you need to keep you feckin happy is a season of programs slagging off stupid oul science and all things german.....

And making me learn Maths and English held me back ....

See exact same thing except you need english and maths

Nodin wrote: »
    Then all you need to keep you feckin happy is a season of programs slagging off stupid oul science and all things german.....

great argument

See exact same thing except you need english and maths

Eh, no I certainly don't need Shakespeare, calculus, trigonometry or the rest of the waffle. It is helpful to be able to read and calculate - you need food, water, oxygen and security - all of which I was able to do before entering secondary school when I and countless other Irish children were forced to endure the utterly pointless maths and English curriculum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

i dont think the title was that funny tbh....its quite obvious like?
    ie...feic.....oh im so funny and original....

Eh, no I certainly don't need Shakespeare, calculus, trigonometry or the rest of the waffle. It is helpful to be able to read and calculate - you need food, water, oxygen and security - all of which I was able to do before entering secondary school when I and countless other Irish children were forced to endure the utterly pointless maths and English curriculum.

Ye they teach bull****, but you do need basic english and maths