Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recomend me Jazz

Options
  • 18-05-2010 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭

Hey. I'm looking for the names of good Jazz albums/artists. I'm new to jazz and don't have any friends who are into the style (I'm swimming in trad.:(). My interest started from listening to Stevie Wonder. Currently I'm listening to Duke Ellington, Bille Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong , Stephani Grappelli and Cole Porter. I don't really like experimental Jazz but am open to suggestions. If anyone can recomend anything, I'd be very greatful.
    Cheers.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭Rigsby

No jazz collection is complete without Miles Davis' "Kind of Blue" and John Coltrane's "A Love Supreme".

Other names you could check out on You Tube to see if you like them are :

Charles Mingus

Michael Brecker

Stan Getz

Eric Dolphy

Wayne Shorter

Bud Powell

Art Tatum

Bill Evans (piano) - There is a saxist by the same name who is good also.

"Cannonall" Adderly

Joe Lovano

Rick Margitza

John MacLaughlan

Kenny Garrett

Charlie Parker

Finally, dont forget to check out our very own Louis Stewart.

That should keep you going ... for a few years. ;)

Happy listening !

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭equivariant

check this out

http://www.jazzonthetube.com/

subscribe and they send you a youtube clip every day - usually some dead great. The clips are usually excellent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

give these a listen

swing jazz

benny Goodmen - sing,sing,sing

my favourite jazz group

Dave brubeck quartet - take five