Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post Lazy Postmen?

• 19-05-2010 3:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭

Since i've moved into an apartment block (ground floor) I have not once seen the postman deliver a parcel/package and we have always been left with the "Could not deliver" leaflets. So I call up the sorting depot in Maynooth and complain about this the person on the other end says they're sorry and will try and deliver it today again. The OH has been waiting all day twice now with nothing as much as a knock or a buzz.

Now the postboxes are in the basement with the carpark so I get normal letters going there but one floor up which is accessible from outside to anyone there is a buzzer system, now I told the guy in the depot it was there and he said the postman told him he couldn't get access to the building. What a load of BS. So he tried again today apparently and OH heard and saw nothing all day. We are on the ground floor and the door is clearly visible from our living room so she would have seen him if he had attempted to even use the buzzer system (which is incredibly loud so no chance of not hearing it).

I am going to complain to the Depot (again) but does anyone know of any other way to complain about this obviously lazy postman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭irishfeller

I had the same problem a few years ago. I kept getting those slips for parcels even when I was at home when the postman delivered the mail. It seems to be very common that they don't bother bringing the parcels with them.

I tried complaining to the depot too but they seem to be in on it too - they either make ridiculous excuses for the postmen or shrug their shoulders.

I just get stuff delivered to work now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

You'll probably want to direct your complaint a bit higher than the local office. An Post is also regulated by Comreg if you get nowhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

jor el wrote: »
    You'll probably want to direct your complaint a bit higher than the local office. An Post is also regulated by Comreg if you get nowhere.

Customer Service no 1850 57 58 59, ask them to refer your complaint to the Area Manager and make sure that you ask the rep for their full name for future reference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Jimmyboss wrote: »
    Customer Service no 1850 57 58 59, ask them to refer your complaint to the Area Manager and make sure that you ask the rep for their full name for future reference

The rep's full name or area managers?

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

We get those same slips so your not the only one.By the way we live in a 3bed sd with the added feature of our entrance door on the ground floor!Dosen't seem to make any difference though?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Im having the same issue since I moved into a 1'st floor apt in Dublin 8, they don't even try to deliver packages bigger than a DVD box.... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭slowmoe

i have this problem in reverse almost. the postman does deliver but mega early, like between 7-7.30 and absolutely HAMMERS the door down. I don't work normal 9-5 hours so sometimes i work really late and really value some sleep in the morning. The way he hammers the door sounds like its an emergency and outs the fear of God into me racing to get door open. Theres a knocker and a bell so he double rings the bell and then just bashes the knocker over and over until i answer. once the knocker actually fell off, after loosening from all the whacking. If i'm not home they never try to deliver again and just leave the leaflet in the porch, without closing the porch door, twice the leaflet had blown into the garden. Is it so hard to use a letterbox? :( I've said all this regarding the insane ringing, early calling and lack of letterbox use but they really don't seem to give a crap

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭eden_my_ass

Phoenix3 wrote: »
    We get those same slips so your not the only one.By the way we live in a 3bed sd with the added feature of our entrance door on the ground floor!Dosen't seem to make any difference though?:(

I had a constant problem with this last year in an apartment block (they even leave the attempted time blank to avoid hassle), complained locally, no result, complained to customer service, eventually the post master came out with the postman to try to understand the intercom (it was funny to watch them over the video intercom). You'd think problem solved but no, most packets still don't get delivered, occasionally we get a ring but not consistently. Waste of time complaining really, its just another pathetic relic of a service company from a bygone era....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

It seems to happen to a lot of people. I was waiting months before for things to be delivered (none of the parcels bigger than a DVD) and no slips left saying they had attempted delivery. I was waiting for a renewal Driving licence as well so even if I had to go pick something up I mightn't have got it as I had no other I.D. I went out to the parcel center to see was anything left there but I was told there wasn't. Surprise surprise though 2 days later over 3 months of parcels and letters was stuffed into the post box.

They must be watching this thread, no sooner do I give out about them than they get revenge....postman buzzed my apartment this morning while i was jumping out of the shower, I answered and all he said was "can you buzz me in"....grand, buzzed, got dressed quickly and checked the door..no sign.

Went down shortly to check the postbox when leaving, only one letter for me, he just buzzed my intercom to get into the building (they usually have a code for the main door)...prick....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They must be watching this thread, no sooner do I give out about them than they get revenge....postman buzzed my apartment this morning while i was jumping out of the shower, I answered and all he said was "can you buzz me in"....grand, buzzed, got dressed quickly and checked the door..no sign.

Went down shortly to check the postbox when leaving, only one letter for me, he just buzzed my intercom to get into the building (they usually have a code for the main door)...prick....

How did you know that it was the postman and not the local serial-killer on an early-morning murder spree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

dcukhunter wrote: »
    It seems to happen to a lot of people. I was waiting months before for things to be delivered (none of the parcels bigger than a DVD) and no slips left saying they had attempted delivery. I was waiting for a renewal Driving licence as well so even if I had to go pick something up I mightn't have got it as I had no other I.D. I went out to the parcel center to see was anything left there but I was told there wasn't. Surprise surprise though 2 days later over 3 months of parcels and letters was stuffed into the post box.

some postman could have been hoarding all the parcels in his bedsit untill you go in looking for your post and start an internal investigation:)
    (they even leave the attempted time blank to avoid hassle),
    this is so you will not know what time they deliver at and cant be waiting for him when he pops yet another slip in your postbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I feel your pain OP.

I ordered a book from Amazon for an exam. Had been in all week last week, and on Tuesday this week, I get a missed parcel slip dated LAST week. I couldnt get upto the post office on Wednesday, was only able to get up on Thursday, and lo and behold, it had exceeded 5 days and they'd returned to sender.

No way did I miss the postman or not check the post for 4 days, absolute fúckers, and now I don't have the book I need for my exam.

Amazon only able to give me a refund. Post office passing the blame left right and centre, absolute joke.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    How did you know that it was the postman and not the local serial-killer on an early-morning murder spree?

As mentioned above, video intercom :P Thanks for your concern though!

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

R0ot wrote: »
    The rep's full name or area managers?

The rep, in case you have to make another inquiry...

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭mugbags

lazy bugger that comes our way leaves my post in my sisters house a mile away coz he cant be arsed stopping at both houses. I wouldnt mind but we have a letterbox, its not as if he has nowhere to leave it. I complained about him once and he delivered to us for about a week or so and then went back to his old form :mad: When he did deliver, he wouldnt even use the letterbox, would come into the house and shout HELLO!!!, barging right through the kitchen and living room...nosey [email]f@%+€&.....aaaaaa[/email]hh, feelin much better after that wee rant!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

same here, don't think they ever even try, luckily my collection office is only about a 10-15 minute walk, and the exercise does me good.

luckily alot more companies I order from seem to use couriers for irish deliveries, who will ring every time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

let me just start by saying i work for an post...

with regard finding one of them slips saying 'sorry we missed you.please call to collect at mail centre 'etc etc.. believe me,the last thing a postie wants to do is to go to the trouble of writing one of theese..he would rather deliver it to anyone at all then write one..they are a pain..
    another thing..we dont bring parcels out at all and just slips..bollix,mail centre have to be cleared of all the previous nights mail,and parcels,registered letters etc on the following days delivery..only things left in the office are dead letters,return to senders..re-directions outside that office,and parcels that are awaiting collection from recipients of theese slips..

intercoms..dont always work,dont come with instructions,believe me when i say some are not straightforward.. no 1 ..diall number 1 dosent cut the mustard most of the time...

going up a stairs to deliver a parcel,if we fall on the stairs or slip because its wet etc who is at fault? you? ..its an insurance issue,plus if its a small item deliverd by bike/trolley the postman is not allowed to leave sight of his bike/trolley so isnt permitted to enter a block of flats and loose sight of it, a van driver is,but isnt required to go past the postboxes/buzzers..

buzzers dont always work,most of the time they may work upstairs but we would have no idea as no sound downstairs,doorbells dont always get answerd..

its not always as simple as a lazy postman..although there are exceptions to every rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

barone wrote: »

with regard finding one of them slips saying 'sorry we missed you.please call to collect at mail centre 'etc etc.. believe me,the last thing a postie wants to do is to go to the trouble of writing one of theese..he would rather deliver it to anyone at all then write one..they are a pain..
    another thing..we dont bring parcels out at all and just slips..bollix,mail centre have to be cleared of all the previous nights mail,and parcels,registered letters etc on the following days delivery..only things left in the office are dead letters,return to senders..re-directions outside that office,and parcels that are awaiting collection from recipients of theese slips..

intercoms..dont always work,dont come with instructions,believe me when i say some are not straightforward.. no 1 ..diall number 1 dosent cut the mustard most of the time...

going up a stairs to deliver a parcel,if we fall on the stairs or slip because its wet etc who is at fault? you? ..its an insurance issue,plus if its a small item deliverd by bike/trolley the postman is not allowed to leave sight of his bike/trolley so isnt permitted to enter a block of flats and loose sight of it, a van driver is,but isnt required to go past the postboxes/buzzers..

buzzers dont always work,most of the time they may work upstairs but we would have no idea as no sound downstairs,doorbells dont always get answerd..

its not always as simple as a lazy postman..although there are exceptions to every rule.
    Lazy postmen is sometimes the answer though, I know a few postmen who on their set route only go down each road every second day and leave the rest in the boot of their car. This means they only have a half route every day and they finish work at 10am

Dotsey wrote: »
    Lazy postmen is sometimes the answer though, I know a few postmen who on their set route only go down each road every second day and leave the rest in the boot of their car. This means they only have a half route every day and they finish work at 10am

shame on them if that is the case,and shame on there inspectors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

shame on them if that is the case,and shame on there inspectors
    The inspectors don't care once their managers from the GPO don't find the letters in the depot. I also got told that one particular inspector hides undelivered letters in the safe in his office just so they're not found once he goes home. Some of the things that go on are bizarre like burying letters on a beach, I know the guy that some it was suspended.
    I've heard stories about letters just being spread out into several different post boxes to avoid doing the delivery on a Friday when you know someone else is on the route the following Monday, I wouldn't have a lot of trust in the postal services to be honest unless it's registered.

The inspectors don't care once their managers from the GPO don't find the letters in the depot. I also got told that one particular inspector hides undelivered letters in the safe in his office just so they're not found once he goes home. Some of the things that go on are bizarre like burying letters on a beach, I know the guy that some it was suspended.
    I've heard stories about letters just being spread out into several different post boxes to avoid doing the delivery on a Friday when you know someone else is on the route the following Monday, I wouldn't have a lot of trust in the postal services to be honest unless it's registered.

you've heard stories ! ive work there,have for years ..never seen that happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,600 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Some really good points there. What postie can really leave a bike full off parcels and letters unattended outside an apartment block in town whilst he travels up a few flights of stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

plus if its a small item deliverd by bike/trolley the postman is not allowed to leave sight of his bike/trolley

I actually wish my local postie would follow this rule. He's pretty confident! Parks his bike outside of my housing estate (26 houses) around the corner and just walks in. It's out of his sight for a good 3-4 minutes. I know I'd be terrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭maxer68

Unless its a small packet, a parcel won't always be delivered by the normal postman.

An Post have strongly revived their parcel delivery service and in many cases its a different person delivering the parcels over a larger area as the volume is a lot more than it used to be.

So before complaining about it, check how its being delivered first - by standard letetr posts ervice or by van parcel post service.

What a load of made up rubbish.

We use An Post extensively for packet & parcels and its quite rare for any item not to be delivered the following working day, no matter what day it is.

However what does help immensely is typed addresses are very clearly written addresses - these can be read by the auto scanners and are nearly always delivered next day. If they can't be read or the address is not recognised, it is handled manually and this is where delays occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

We have a post office with a sorting office. everyday ALL post goes out with the postmen without fail, Any post that they are unable to deliver they will leave a note to collect it in the post office, if they can they will try to deliver it a second time if they are passing your door on the way back.

the amount of post that we get thats incorrectly or poorly addressed is laughable, yet with a bit of detective work the postmen get it done.

they also pick up perscriptions, take post from people and keep an eye out for housebound neighbours.

When the post is privitised you can forget about all that and good luck to anyone living in the countryside because if your relying on the private couriers to deliver you will be sadly disappointed, the amount of couriers we get in the post office looking for directions or asking if they can leave parcels to be collected is unreal.

there are some lasy feckers, but in the main they are an asset to the communities that they work in.

Shelflife wrote: »
    We have a post office with a sorting office. everyday ALL post goes out with the postmen without fail, Any post that they are unable to deliver they will leave a note to collect it in the post office, if they can they will try to deliver it a second time if they are passing your door on the way back.

the amount of post that we get thats incorrectly or poorly addressed is laughable, yet with a bit of detective work the postmen get it done.

they also pick up perscriptions, take post from people and keep an eye out for housebound neighbours.

When the post is privitised you can forget about all that and good luck to anyone living in the countryside because if your relying on the private couriers to deliver you will be sadly disappointed, the amount of couriers we get in the post office looking for directions or asking if they can leave parcels to be collected is unreal.

there are some lasy feckers, but in the main they are an asset to the communities that they work in.

well said,not to mention pickin up a cake from ms flaherty and dropping it up to ms smyth as you do your route as a favour,to keep neighbours in touch, or a few buns, some washed clothes for a frail old woman who's sister does her clothes..even as you said medicine,or stopping for a quick chat and cuppa.....

postmen are taken for granted..rain,severe severe weather we are out..remember last xmas? unparraled snow n ice.. dangerous enough to close our schools,we could take force majure days off for days like that, but we didnt..we deliverd the christmas cards from around the world,because it means so much to so many..yes its or jobs im not asking to be praised ,just not takin for granted, we are not useless.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Citygirl1

I have to add how unimpressed I am with An Post's level of customer service.

I live in Dublin 8 (Inchicore), and up to recently the collection point for undelivered parcels was in James St. This is a pretty logical location, being central, on a main street on main bus route, so people could call early in the morning, on the way to work.

Last week a notice was distributed, advising that the collection point has been moved to an industrial estate, tucked away in Dolphins Barn, no longer easily accessible, or on a bus route.

I would add that the opening hours are 7.30am to 5.30. No Saturday mornings.

Clearly An Post aren't bothered about the fact that many of their customers work office hours also, and would need to call in early in the morning. They also don't understand that some people don't have cars, or many people can't take their cars to work in Dublin, allowing a quick side-trip to an industrial estate.

To top this off though - today an adverisement was put in my door reading ""Do trust An Post to deliver".

Citygirl1 wrote: »
    I have to add how unimpressed I am with An Post's level of customer service.

I live in Dublin 8 (Inchicore), and up to recently the collection point for undelivered parcels was in James St. This is a pretty logical location, being central, on a main street on main bus route, so people could call early in the morning, on the way to work.

Last week a notice was distributed, advising that the collection point has been moved to an industrial estate, tucked away in Dolphins Barn, no longer easily accessible, or on a bus route.

I would add that the opening hours are 7.30am to 5.30. No Saturday mornings.

Clearly An Post aren't bothered about the fact that many of their customers work office hours also, and would need to call in early in the morning. They also don't understand that some people don't have cars, or many people can't take their cars to work in Dublin, allowing a quick side-trip to an industrial estate.

To top this off though - today an adverisement was put in my door reading ""Do trust An Post to deliver".

they did the same in galway a few years back, but that was nothing to do with postie's, we had no choice but to move aswell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Citygirl1 wrote: »

It is rubbish. I received what I think was the same ad in the post too, something about a new online shopping venture. I can simply go online to their site, pay for my goods and have them delivered to a depot in the middle of nowhere in Dolphins Barn, I can then take time off work and multiple buses to go find this depot, and then drag my goods back along the pavement because my postman couldn't be bothered trying to deliver anything bigger than An Post's own spam mail.

If An Post had any sense they'd be establishing more local pick-up depots, not fewer, and they'd be opening them at hours that suit the public. I don't blame the ordinary posties, I blame incompetent management who can't see further than the expense line on their P&L. Don't blame the public when we stop using An Post when full competition arrives, you've made no effort to provide a service that suits anyone except yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Just to balance out the negative feedback here, my collection depot moved to an industrial estate across the road from my house recently, it used to be in the middle of nowhere. Thanks An Post!

The only problem this causes is we are now first on the parcel delivery man's route so he arrives at 8am and wakes me up :cool:

regardless where they are located it will always be closer to some and further away to others,

postmen deliver everyday notices from other companies about attempted deliveries they have made of parcels,and please call to their depot in ..wait for it..a different county altogether !

and you think the new guys comming on board are gonna open up more offices than an post has? or even attempt to deliver to rural or out of the way places....zero chance of that happening

an post is a fantastic service,its just not a perfect one,and if it goes by the wayside then you will really be a lot worse off.

and you think the new guys comming on board are gonna open up more offices than an post has? or even attempt to deliver to rural or out of the way places....zero chance of that happening
    The customer shouldn't have to accept a poor service just because the other guy is as bad. Speaking personally, in recent years An Post in my local area has stopped even attempting to deliver parcels, has withdrawn their Saturday depot collection and has now moved the depot to a place miles from the previous location. I've seen no attempt to improve the service or provide good service to their customers, and instead I get useless spam mail from An Post advertising their ridiculous online shopping services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Scartbeg

the amount of couriers we get in the post office looking for directions or asking if they can leave parcels to be collected is unreal.

Yes couriers have a hard time of it, given the obfuscating nature of rural addressing, while An Post can rely on local knowledge and their own database to locate recipients.

Co-ordinate based postcodes (such as Loc8 or GoCodes) would greatly increase efficiency - so why is An Post resisting their introduction?

hmmmm you raise a valid point in regards to the management not considering what the customer wants. in the smaller towns the parcels are left in the local PO , maybe they could do that as well in the cities. Yes they should look at opening hours which are more amienable to the customer.

i honestly believe that when the whole postal system is opened up that there is no way that they will be able to provide anything like the service that An post provide.

its already a case where the competition use an post to deliver what they can not/are not willing to locate !

and i agree with saying standards need to be high with regards customer service,as for saturday opening,thats purley a money decision,an post looses too much by opening a depot on a saturday/sunday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

On the whole I find An Post service good. However I would like to be able to collect a parcel on Saturday morning, weekdays only is a PITA.
    Once it is privatised yes those that are riding the system will be weeded out but so too will the decent guys who go the extra mile. They will be forced into work practices that don't allow room for community type stuff. Don't underestimate that type of stuff. This country has gotten greedy & privatization will make An Post like every other money hungry organization.
    Ever notice in your workplace how when some process or way of doing things gets made easier your job doesn't get easier? It normally means less people do more & if something goes wrong it is harder to fix. Remember this when An Post is outsourced.

On the whole I find An Post service good. However I would like to be able to collect a parcel on Saturday morning, weekdays only is a PITA.
    Once it is privatised yes those that are riding the system will be weeded out but so too will the decent guys who go the extra mile. They will be forced into work practices that don't allow room for community type stuff. Don't underestimate that type of stuff. This country has gotten greedy & privatization will make An Post like every other money hungry organization.
    Ever notice in your workplace how when some process or way of doing things gets made easier your job doesn't get easier? It normally means less people do more & if something goes wrong it is harder to fix. Remember this when An Post is outsourced.

privatised? outsourced?

neither will happen to an post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

The new sorting centre in Dolphins Barn is hardly in the middle of nowhere. The 19 (for the moment) goes from Inchicore and stops about 100m from the new depot. Incidentally I got a delivery from DPD recently and their depot really is in the middle of nowhere!

HivemindXX wrote: »
    The new sorting centre in Dolphins Barn is hardly in the middle of nowhere. The 19 (for the moment) goes from Inchicore and stops about 100m from the new depot. Incidentally I got a delivery from DPD recently and their depot really is in the middle of nowhere!
    The next time I'm staggering down Meath street in the centre of D8 with 40 toilet rolls and a packet of chicken fritters in my hands, I'll remember that all I have to do to collect my post is make it out to Inchicore on the far borders of D8, or Stephens Green in D2, and catch a bus that avoids the majority of D8 to make it to the new D8 collection centre. On the way back in the bus I'll have plenty of time to think about how much the taxi will cost to carry me and my post back to my door.

Unlike An Post, DPD deliver parcels to my door, I'm not particularly concerned where their depot is :). BTW they have been open on Saturday mornings when I collected stuff myself.

Maybe if you stopped eating those chicken fritters you wouldnt need 40 rolls of toilet paper :D.

DPDs depot happens to be close to you, in the same way that Dolphins barn is close to some and not to others.

I think that An Post are missing an opportunity to leave the packages in the local PO for collection. Or at least have an out of office hours facility at their depots.

I still think that deregulation is not going to cure any of the problems that people have and will only make things worse, esp in the rural areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Scartbeg

i honestly believe that when the whole postal system is opened up that there is no way that they will be able to provide anything like the service that An post provide.

I wasn't home to receive a package yesterday. The postwoman turned up with it at the school gate knowing I'd be there to collect the kids - thats service for you!

On the other hand, I had two lots of Christmas presents sent from the UK that never arrived as the couriers couldn't be bothered to run up and down rural roads looking for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

hmmm wrote: »
    The next time I'm staggering down Meath street in the centre of D8 with 40 toilet rolls and a packet of chicken fritters in my hands, I'll remember that all I have to do to collect my post is make it out to Inchicore on the far borders of D8, or Stephens Green in D2, and catch a bus that avoids the majority of D8 to make it to the new D8 collection centre. On the way back in the bus I'll have plenty of time to think about how much the taxi will cost to carry me and my post back to my door.

You'd be a fool to do that. Perhaps you didn't read the post earlier where someone said they needed to get two busses to get from Inchicore to the new depot. I was pointing out to them that this is not correct.
    Unlike An Post, DPD deliver parcels to my door, I'm not particularly concerned where their depot is :). BTW they have been open on Saturday mornings when I collected stuff myself.

They deliver parcels to your door...you don't care where their depot is...but you DO know where it it when you have collected things from there in the past. You're not making a lot of sense with that.

An Post does deliver things to my door. If I'm not there I have to go to the depot, one that is centrally located regardless of attempts to paint the South Circular Road as in the middle of nowhere.

DPD does open on Saturday which is good and I wish that An Post would do that as well. Somehow trying to paint the picture that it's painful to get to Dolphins Barn but easy to get to Robinhood industrial estate is patently ridiculous.

The other options are to find out approx. when the parcel delivery round is done in the area. (Parcel & post delivery in many areas, parcticularly Dublin are 2 different things, 2 different people and 2 different times)

Or when ordering get the parcel delivered to a place you know will be there - work place, neighbour etc.

Or leave a note on the door to drop the parcel into a neighbour.

The responsibilty is with the person sending / receiving the parcel to be able to accept it at the stated address between 9&5.

HivemindXX wrote: »
    They deliver parcels to your door...you don't care where their depot is...but you DO know where it it when you have collected things from there in the past. You're not making a lot of sense with that.
    Because sometimes it suits me better to pickup from their depot rather than be there to receive the package at home. With An Post I don't get a choice.
    An Post does deliver things to my door. If I'm not there I have to go to the depot, one that is centrally located regardless of attempts to paint the South Circular Road as in the middle of nowhere.
    Centrally located for who? Because it's certainly not centrally located for D8 residents.

Besides which this is avoiding the point that An Post services are deteriorating for customers, plus they are not providing their reducing service in a customer friendly manner.

Because sometimes it suits me better to pickup from their depot rather than be there to receive the package at home. With An Post I don't get a choice.

Centrally located for who? Because it's certainly not centrally located for D8 residents.

Besides which this is avoiding the point that An Post services are deteriorating for customers, plus they are not providing their reducing service in a customer friendly manner.

with an post you can nominate anywhere you like for that parcel to be sent to if your not there at point of delivery..be it your workplace,or your husbands/sons/daughters ..in fact anyone can claim the item for you so long as you have nominated them to do so..so what you have said above is untrue 100%..

as for leaving parcels/registerd items at your local post office for collection is a great idea,but its not a new one,it dosent work,all recorded mail must be kept at the main sorting office overnight for security reasons,and logistical reasons...you cannot have a post van sitting outside every post office at closing time waiting to collect items that have not been claimed,its an nightmare,and not cost effective...

if you arent there when the postman calls with a parcel or package it is not his fault.........its not an posts fault either....
    thats the bottom line.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

ours dresses like a homeless person, in a cheap anorak and trackies!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Our postman just throws packages into the flower bed and signs the slip himself!

I'd great fun with a mobile phone company when my new handset was utterly destroyed in the rain and apparently I'd signed for it!

After that incident, I won't shop with anyone who uses an post for delivery of expensive items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu