Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vernon Ave incident, Wed night

• 19-05-2010 11:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

From Aodhan O Riordain's twitter: Extremely serious accident on Vernon Ave, Clontarf. Huge emergency response. Very concerning. ESB lines down. Gardai have sealed off area.

Anyone know anything further?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

The road is closed. Saw ambulance leaving with a garda escort. I think it may have been a RTA with a lampost just at the crossroads before nolans, I couldnt see as it was dark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I thought I heard a number of sirens last night - I don't like it when I'm right sometimes :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Very Strange for it to be a single car and a Garda at that. Hope the garda is OK, I was wondering why there was so many garda cars rushing from raheny, then i stumbled on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

I was driving around Clontarf last night and as I heading up towards the Howth road on Vernon Ave just beside St. Pauls I saw a load of cops bombing it down the road, any idea where abouts on Vernon Ave it was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

bassey wrote: »
    I was driving around Clontarf last night and as I heading up towards the Howth road on Vernon Ave just beside St. Pauls I saw a load of cops bombing it down the road, any idea where abouts on Vernon Ave it was?

Can't seem to figure out how to link on google maps.

Kincora RD, Vernon Ave Junction, where it say's 51 on the map. The car seems to have mounted the path and hit the lamp post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Gladiator.

I seen where it happened today , I was walking by
    If you are coming from the insomnia coffee shop its straight up the road right before Nolans supermarket .

All thats left of the lampost is a little bent stump about 3 feet of it , with yellow tape wrapped all around it
    Looked like a telephone cable got tore down from the lampost hitting it across the road

The guards must have been tearing along thats a narrow road also.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Jaysus, I probably missed it by about 5 minutes