Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

<Merged> Bono isn't the Worst/Bono is the worst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

his work to have the superpowers reduce/ remove Africa's debt repayments

= Population = Starvation = Migration = Chaos

Africa and her leaders need to be held accountable for their inability to function, not bailed out and mollycoddled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

A little research wouldnt go amiss.......
    First off Bono didnt move any tax abroad. the company 'u2' did.
    Secondly, what Bono, and U2 as a group still pay in taxes in Ireland each year would pay for dozens of ministers salaries! Yes we are talking many millions

Show us the figures, genuinely interested.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

gurramok wrote: »
    Show us the figures, genuinely interested.

I would also like to see those firgures and the figures relating to Paul Hewson's charitable donations.

I can provide figures on my own..i gave a homeless guy 5 quid this morning coz i used to know him years ago..i'd sooner have given him all my money than give one cent to africa,especially as a result of Bono's bullshiiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

walshb wrote: »
    Yeah, a lot more ****ing harm he has done, hence my point....

Care to stop speculating and start providing evidence?
    What is charitable about lecturing and begging off governments around the world to continue to throw money at Africa. What is so charitable about promoting population increase in Africa, a continent that for many years could not feed its population, yet we have him and others promoting family and increase? I fail to see anything charitable about this. It's downright ludicrous and insulting to the continent.

Africa's biggest problem is the big white chief in the West wanting to dictate and lecture the continent non stop.

Yes... yes you do.

Try look at both sides of the story before you jump in... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

What is charitable about lecturing and begging off governments around the world to continue to throw money at Africa. What is so charitable about promoting population increase in Africa, a continent that for many years could not feed its population, yet we have him and others promoting family and increase? I fail to see anything charitable about this. It's downright ludicrous and insulting to the continent.

Africa's biggest problem is the big white chief in the West wanting to dictate and lecture the continent non stop.

He's done a lot more than you or I, but I'm not getting upset, I'm trying to help more. What have/are you doing, besides mouthing off?

You should try sunglasses, might help to see better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Big Mouth Bono hasn't posted in a while, he must be writing the speech that will once and for all end poverty in Africa :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

I remember the time at a gig when he shushed everyone and started clapping his hands really slowly...then he says

"Every time i clap my hands...a child, somewhere in the world dies..."

Till some bloke in the front row shouted "Stop fcukin' clappin then..."

hehe...ah gets me every time :P

• Registered Users Posts: 55,699 ✭✭✭✭walshb

He's done a lot more than you or I, but I'm not getting upset, I'm trying to help more. What have/are you doing, besides mouthing off?

You should try sunglasses, might help to see better?
    See, maybe you should stop and think first; had you done this you would realise that I am doing too ****ing much. About 700 million Euro per year too much to be precise. And it was more a few years ago.
    And that little runt is partly to blame.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I heard that someone climbed onstage at a U2 concert and punched Bono.

It was the first case of the fan hitting the ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Degsy wrote: »
    Or he could give them a few quid himself..the annoying little bollocks

Can you prove beyond all reasonable doubt that he hasn't??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 4pointplay

Be handy if the old dirty Dublin **** would pay a bit of tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Torqueamada

Bono's a decent old chap.

He's got a job to do. Sure he could sit on his arse and just make a **** album every four years, but would we be happy with that? I think not.

He gets to save the world and eff off to Nice for a €70 G&T.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Degsy wrote: »
    Or he could give them a few quid himself..the annoying little bollocks

What do you know about Bono's charitable contributions? How do you know what he's donated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭vodafoneproblem

A mole
    Digging in a hole
    Digging up my soul now
    Going down, excavation

Ha Ha, I admit that makes me squirm a bit as a U2 fan but Elevation was a really awesome track over all and I would like to offer you some pure poetry from U2 as a counter argument. One Tree Hill song and lyrics:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQfetXCTFbI

We turn away to face the cold, enduring chill
    As the day begs the night for mercy love
    The sun so bright it leaves no shadows
    Only scars carved into stone
    On the face of earth
    The moon is up and over One Tree Hill
    We see the sun go down in your eyes

You run like river, on like a sea
    You run like a river runs to the sea

And in the world a heart of darkness
    A fire zone
    Where poets speak their heart
    Then bleed for it
    Jara sang, his song a weapon
    In the hands of love
    You know his blood still cries
    From the ground

It runs like a river runs to the sea
    It runs like a river to the sea

I don't believe in painted roses
    Or bleeding hearts
    While bullets rape the night of the merciful
    I'll see you again
    When the stars fall from the sky
    And the moon has turned red
    Over One Tree Hill

We run like a river
    Run to the sea
    We run like a river to the sea
    And when it's raining
    Raining hard
    That's when the rain will
    Break my heart

Raining...raining in the heart
    Raining in your heart
    Raining...raining to your heart
    Raining, raining...raining
    Raining to your heart
    Raining...raining in your heart
    Raining in your heart..
    To the sea

Oh great ocean
    Oh great sea
    Run to the ocean
    Run to the sea

Still, I think U2 should pay their taxes in Ireland as a company as well as individuals. And should give up their artists' exemptions as individuals, too...

And, yes, the prices they charged in Croker were extremely greedy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

And, yes, the prices they charged in Croker were extremely greedy.

Supply and demand. They're not a charity.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Supply and demand. They're not a charity.

Yes they are. U2 are more than a band.

Oops, that video cut out before the song ended. Here's one that has all the song but with no video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqKugPDXliM&feature=related

It deserves a video over flat plains and rainy Ireland, imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,699 ✭✭✭✭walshb

m@cc@ wrote: »
    What do you know about Bono's charitable contributions? How do you know what he's donated?

Nobody but Bono knows; but the point is that if he wants to be so ****ing arrogant and dogmatic in KNOWING what I and other taxpayers give, then he himself should be public in disclosing what he gives. Now, until he does, I will assume he is giving nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭MarkN

Must'a been standing too close to the edge......

http://www.u2.com/news/title/paul-mcguinness-on-todays-news/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

MarkN wrote: »
    Must'a been standing too close to the edge......

http://www.u2.com/news/title/paul-mcguinness-on-todays-news/

Something serious i hope

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Must have listened to one of his own cd's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

onob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Ah here ffs. He's one of our own, regardless of what you may think of him a person, he's done a lot of good for our country and doesn't deserve that kind of ill will.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭mattman_iflaf

Back Surgey... does he need a new spine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Ah here ffs. He's one of our own, regardless of what you may think of him a person, he's done a lot of good for our country and doesn't deserve that kind of ill will.

I have more in common with Robert Mugabe.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Is it to have the stick removed from his ass?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

he's done a lot of good for our country and doesn't deserve that kind of ill will.

It's called a backache, get over it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Is it to have the stick removed from his ass?
    No, Cowen hasn't returned it yet to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Mac daddy wrote: »
    It's called a backache, get over it.

I was replying to the idiotic comment "something serious I hope".

I dont remember at which point it became funny to wish serious illness on another Irish person.

As for the Mugabe comment, well that says more about you amacachi than anybody else.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Come on Ali, you should be in hospital by his side, not messin about in AH ;)