Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alarming Rise In Heroin Use In Galway

• 20-05-2010 3:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭

It seems from reports in the local media that the scourge of Heroin which for many years was only a Dublin problem before spreading to Limerick and Cork has now emerged on the Galway drugs scene.This would probably explain why there has been a lot of robberies lately.Thankfully unlike Dublin and Cork junkies begging on the streets has yet to become a Galway problem and with Galway being a small city compared to Dublin and Cork im sure that the guards can nip it in the bud before it becomes an epidemic.

http://www.galwaynews.ie/12948-gardai-informed-heroin-hotspots-city

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

80% rise? 80% of what? Is that 80% a rise in use or a rise in the use they have found out about that already existed.

Honestly heroin has been in galway for many many years. This is nothing new it is every where in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

kayos wrote: »
    80% rise? 80% of what? Is that 80% a rise in use or a rise in the use they have found out about that already existed.

Honestly heroin has been in galway for many many years. This is nothing new it is every where in this country.

More info on that 80% here...

City burglaries, theft and drug crime soar

May 18, 2010 - 7:30am
    But Galway Gardaí report drop of almost 8% in offences overall

by Denise McNamara
    Crime was down overall in Galway city in the first quarter of the year, but significant increases were recorded in the incidents of burglary, theft and drugs for sale – which jumped by a worrying 80%.
    In a report presented to the Galway city joint policing committee forum yesterday, Superintendent Noel Kelly said there were 3,021 crime incidents in the city in the first four months of 2010, which is a decrease of 7.6%.
    However he outlined a 21% increase in the number of burglaries in the city in the period, which totalled 210.
    There were 94 reports –- a nearly 47% increase – of theft from cars and almost a 17% jump (14 in total) on theft from a person. Thefts from shops reported to the Gardaí were down to 189, a drop of 5%.
    The number of cases involving drugs for sale or supply was 20, which represented an 82% hike for the quarter. Cases involving the possession of drugs was down to 75, or by 5%.
    The biggest amount of drugs seized between January and April was Cannabis, which had a street value of €65,610. After that it was cocaine (€26,540), heroin €1,020 and ecstasy €800.
    Public order offences were also down – this time by 2% to 511. The more serious incidents had also significantly decreased. There were 23 cases involving assault causing harm (-8%) and 71 minor assaults (-19%).
    Although the statistics reflect massive increases in the area of domestic incidents, the numbers are relatively low.
    The incidence of drunk driving for the period was also down – it dropped by nearly 29% to 81. In the period there was a 19% decrease in the number of alcohol checkpoints.
    There was one fatal accident in the period. Supt Kelly said burglary continued to be a major headache for residents and Gardaí in the city despite the very high detection rate by Galway Gardaí.
    Locally it reached up to 40%, while nationally the detection rate was between 15 and 18%.
    He believed the poor weather in January may have resulted in fewer people being out in their cars or socialising and may account for the spike downwards in assaults. He also referred to the 86% detection level by local Gardaí for assault causing harm.

What does "detection rate" actually mean? I don't think it's the same as "conviction rate", but I would like to kow if anyone can clarify.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭cityman 18

Detection rate means guys that have been charged with possession and conviction rate means what it says on the tin. They are different, but generally there is very little difference between the two in terms of numbers. Only cases that have been thrown out of court which doesn't seem to happen much in Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Not one for sensationalism myself but I have seen 3 or 4 proper junkies around town in the past few weeks - something I've never seen/noticed here before.

Still, each to their own, that heroin must be oh so yummy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

m83 wrote: »
    Still, each to their own

Hate that saying, especially when it's connected to a criminal act.

What about murders and rapists, do you apply the same mantra to them?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,492 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Of course there's bound to be a heroin problem in Galway.

Most big towns in Ireland have a heroin problem, why should Galway be different?

Dublin's heroin problem has stabilised and the rest of the country is on the up.

Bob_Harris wrote: »

Yes, I am a friend of murderers and and oh so fond of the rapists.

Each to their own :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

For what its worth I agree with the principle of what you're saying, but I wouldnt class heroin users in along with Murderers and Rapists. Addiction, however stupidly it started, is an illness.

deccurley wrote: »
    For what its worth I agree with the principle of what you're saying, but I wouldnt class heroin users in along with Murderers and Rapists. Addiction, however stupidly it started, is an illness.

Jesus Christ people!

You might want to turn this on:

sarcasm_detector.jpg

PS. Welcome to the internet. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

m83 wrote: »
    Jesus Christ people!

You might want to turn this on:

PS. Welcome to the internet. :rolleyes:

It's not our fault if you're bad at sarcasm :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

An 80% rise in heroin use, and they only seized 1000 euro worth, which in Garda speak is about 300 euro worth. This in turn coincides with an 80% increase in burgalry, theft and drugs. It must definitely be the smack so!:rolleyes:

Stats are easy to manipulate; its like stating that there there is an increase in sexual attacks at the same time as an increase in ice cream sales forgetting that the sun & heat are a factor.

Heroin has been in Galway for years, or did it only arrive here due to the motorway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

An 80% rise in heroin use,

Not even that.

The article says....
    It follows an 80 per cent increase in the sale or supply of drugs in the city in the first quarter of this year.
    Drugs do not always equal heroin.

The full article....
    A City Councillor has informed Gardai of a number of city locations where heroin addicts have been "shooting-up."

It follows an 80 per cent increase in the sale or supply of drugs in the city in the first quarter of this year.

A Garda report presented to the city's Joint Policing Committee shows that over €1,000 in heroin was seized during the same period.

A shite piece to be honest.
    Three "facts" strung together in a "madlibs" type fashion.

It wouldn't worry me.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Of course it was bound to get worse since certain dealers in the city forged alliances with some notorious people from Limerick.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 45,492 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

galwayrush wrote: »
    Of course it was bound to get worse since certain dealers in the city forged alliances with some notorious people from Limerick.:mad:

is that true or tabloid talk?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Christ I heard that somewhere...I havnt a clue where. Apparently located around Renmore.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

I'm living in town the past number of years and nightly park my car in the Jury's car park. A couple of weeks ago, I was walking to my car at around 1pm, which was on LEVEL ONE, when a girl perhaps mid 20s - late 20s was sitting behind my car shooting up.

I stood back, stunned, pressed the unlock button on my key to perhaps give her a scare and to move her on. She copped that I was standing there and quickly moved, grabbing her gear and and screaming "I WAS ONLY HAVING A CIGARETTE" as she ran out of the car park.

I got the biggest fright of my life. She left her tin-foil and the top of a needle behind her. Have to say, it really put the shíts up me... I told the car park attendant who I've knows for a good while due to my parking arrangements and he says its happening all the time but catching them on the spot proves more difficult than it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pk10

I was walking towards the docks after breakfast on Sunday morning and there were several (capped) needles on the ground just past the House Hotel. Not nice, but I suppose at least it's not an area where children would be playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Gardai arent worth spits. If there was a 80% rise in doughnut theft they would pull out all the stops and catch the fellas stalin the doughnuts.....so they would

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

I really don't think that particular cliché is applicable in Ireland, apple tart maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

or Supermacs muffin and ice-cream :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 17 oi softlad

Always been smackheads around Galway, claddagh park used to be brutal years ago with used needles, sad to say a lot more now all over town, ****in vermin.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

rarnes1 wrote: »

Very true i'm afraid.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

galwayrush wrote: »

Very vague and most probably hearsay

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sorry but without links I'll just assume you're talking bollocks.

biko wrote: »
    Sorry but without links I'll just assume you're talking bollocks.

Me?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Taken from one of the articles
    ''The number of cases involving drugs for sale or supply was 20, which represented an 82% hike for the quarter.''

So there was an 82% hike in a quarter, that means the quarter before there was the grand total of about 11 cases in 3 months - if one good party was busted you could probably have got half those cases in one go. The numbers talked about are thankfully really low for a city of Galways size.

There are and probably always have been heroin addicts in Galway, but thanks to the delights of things like internet forums it suddenly goes from a non-story to the limerick gangs are taking over Galway and life as we know it is going to end in a version of Grand Theft Auto Galway style. ;)

Finally you gotta love the way statistics are used by the media to blow things out of proportion to get a story (11 cases to 20 in 3 months is not a story, but to fill column inches they use 82% increase so sounds awful!). Just always be careful when you see percentages thrown around without real numbers.
    Remember if your the 'only gay in the village' and another turns up thats not just '2 gays in the village' but a whopping 100% increase, (am sure the Daily Mail would love a story like that) :)

Webbs wrote: »
    Taken from one of the articles
    ''The number of cases involving drugs for sale or supply was 20, which represented an 82% hike for the quarter.''

So there was an 82% hike in a quarter, that means the quarter before there was the grand total of about 11 cases in 3 months - if one good party was busted you could probably have got half those cases in one go. The numbers talked about are thankfully really low for a city of Galways size.

There are and probably always have been heroin addicts in Galway, but thanks to the delights of things like internet forums it suddenly goes from a non-story to the limerick gangs are taking over Galway and life as we know it is going to end in a version of Grand Theft Auto Galway style. ;)

Finally you gotta love the way statistics are used by the media to blow things out of proportion to get a story (11 cases to 20 in 3 months is not a story, but to fill column inches they use 82% increase so sounds awful!). Just always be careful when you see percentages thrown around without real numbers.
    Remember if your the 'only gay in the village' and another turns up thats not just '2 gays in the village' but a whopping 100% increase, (am sure the Daily Mail would love a story like that) :)

People can twist statistics and make them suit themselves as you have shown.
    I'm still not convinced on the limerick thing

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

amiable wrote: »
    Me?
    No, anyone that post facts without providing links to news or similar.
    I should have been clearer :)

biko wrote: »
    No, anyone that post facts without providing links to news or similar.
    I should have been clearer :)

Fair enough, but even some links and newspaper articles aren't factually correct.
    I know several stories first hand that are completely made up in national newspapers and not just the tabloids. But essentially i agree

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

From what I've seen, the heroin addicts in Galway are much more respectable looking than the ones I've seen in Dublin, they would frighten the shít out of you with the colour of death on them. :eek:

Also, haven't seen any tell-tale signs of junkie puke around the city yet, just the standard Saturday night post-snackbox spendings of our fair local denizens. ;)