Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sorry, I thought you said get faster before the 100th Marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Hey Aimman,I was running along the coast on Sunday morning and saw the EOI signs which I now know stands for East of Ireland. Is this some sort of marathon club thing for you ultra runners? Saw a bunch of people at the promenade at Clontarf and ye had the look of distance runners alright.Just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

RedRunner wrote: »
    Hey Aimman,I was running along the coast on Sunday morning and saw the EOI signs which I now know stands for East of Ireland. Is this some sort of marathon club thing for you ultra runners? Saw a bunch of people at the promenade at Clontarf and ye had the look of distance runners alright.Just curious.

First rule of EOI, you don't talk about EOI! :cool:

Yeah, that was us. Couple of lads (one of them is on Boards) who do a lot of marathons set it up to give people a chance to run extra marathons on a regular basis. There's usually a big gathering of Marathon Club Ireland runners doing them, but anyone is welcome to join in and enjoy the Pre and Post socialising ( And mid marathon race banter).

Its not based on Ultra running, just there for anyone who wants to run one or more marathons during the year. Price of entry is second to none and there's medals for all finishers, something special for First Man and Woman home and a fine spread of grub at the finish line that would put any 'Women's Institute 'tea party to shame.

If you're interested in joining in, check out their website here

Disclaimer: I'm not actually involved in the organisation of the EOI races, but Frank promised me extra Jaffa cakes at the finish line for every recruit I get on board. Just enter the Promo Code 'EAMOLOVESJAFFAS' on the entry form to help me earn my commission :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Aimman wrote: »
    First rule of EOI, you don't talk about EOI! :cool:

Yeah, that was us. Couple of lads (one of them is on Boards) who do a lot of marathons set it up to give people a chance to run extra marathons on a regular basis. There's usually a big gathering of Marathon Club Ireland runners doing them, but anyone is welcome to join in and enjoy the Pre and Post socialising ( And mid marathon race banter).

Its not based on Ultra running, just there for anyone who wants to run one or more marathons during the year. Price of entry is second to none and there's medals for all finishers, something special for First Man and Woman home and a fine spread of grub at the finish line that would put any 'Women's Institute 'tea party to shame.

If you're interested in joining in, check out their website here

Disclaimer: I'm not actually involved in the organisation of the EOI races, but Frank promised me extra Jaffa cakes at the finish line for every recruit I get on board. Just enter the Promo Code 'EAMOLOVESJAFFAS' on the entry form to help me earn my commission :D:D:D

Great idea. I see a face I recognise from our club in the photo on the website.Thanks for the link, will definitely consider it for the future. I'm partial to the odd pack of jaffa cakes myself!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

A box of jaffa cakes just for you next time eamonn :-)
    Yeah the eoi is my mine and a mate's venture. A lot of work goes into it but its worth it.

Couldn't get a lunchtime run today, Met meno after work, did 1.1M warm up before he arrived first to see if the right leg would niggle.

We ran 6.15M in 51:48 (8:32 pace Avg 87% Max HR) , but last couple of miles were speeding up, thats when the leg gremiln woke up but didnt affect the pace, just a bit anoying. Bit of TLC required this evening and maybe a visit from the foam roller doctor.

7.25M for the day.

I rolled and kneaded my leg so much last night, that I could have put it in the oven to make a loaf.

Thursday AM run, took an easy sleepy run at a gentle pace so at not to wake up the leg.
    4.4M in 43:47 (9:57 pace Avg 71% Max HR).

Evening run in Marley, again took it easy, but the HR was all over the shop for the first 3 miles before finally settling down into the recovery zone for the rest of the run.
    5.8M in 53.28 (9:13 pace, Avg 78% Max HR)

No problems from the leg. Bit tender and enflamed to touch, but didn't complain for the slower pace today.

10.2M for today

Friday - Backpack on eh... back and off on a lunchime run taking in Lidl and the bank, always handy to do something useful during a run, this time I didn't overpack the eh... pack, held back on buying goodies
    4.25M in 35:09 (8:17 pace Avg 79% Max HR)

Evening run - Took a good route taking in some long drags and steep hills. wore the singlet to top up the tan.
    6.6M in 57:00 (8:38 pace Avg 83% Max HR)

Leg seems happy today, bonus.

Saturday, another glorious sunny day, so dug out another skimky itsy bitsy teeny weeny yellow polkadot runing outfit to worship the SunGods. Lovely run along the Grand Canal watching all the barges going through the lockes. I didnt realise the lockes at Inchicore and Suir Road were so deep until I seen them drained today. Anyway, this isn't Three Men In A Boat.
    Forgot to restart the watch crossing a road and missed out on 0.3M, but twas my own fault so had to write it off and make up the extra distance
    15M in 2:15 (8:57 pace Avg 77% Max HR)

Another cracking morning, ran the canal in the opposite direction today (No, not backwards). Seeing as it was Sunday, took it nice and easy and took a few photos along the way.
    Legs felt quite good all the way.
    15M in 2:23 (9:34 pace, Avg 77% Max HR)

Monday - 5M lunchtime run 45:15 (9:03 Avg 75% Max HR)

Tuesday - 2.2M down to shop and back in 19:53 (9:10 pace Avg 75% Max HR)

Evening, headed to Dunboyne to have a crack at the 5M.Felt in good condition and thought things were going to go well and had 7 min miles in mind. First mile went well but just into the 2nd mile, I knew that today was not my day. Felt like I was knocking out 8:30 pace for the rest of the run and made it a point not to look at my watch.

Finished 37:34 (7:31 pace Avg 94% Max HR, peaking at 106%???), bit of a drop down from last year.

Wasn't a great race for me today, but looking back, it was a better pace then I thought I was running, not sure if that helps though.
    8M for today

Bit of a lazy week with work commitments during the day and an outburst of sofa seperation anxiety during the evening.

Wednesday - Nada!

Thursday - Lunchtime 5M in 41:20 ( 8:16 pace, but Garmin calculated Avg 96% Max HR with a peak of 139%, so either I've become the new Dr Who with two hearts, or there might be a measurement glitch today.

Friday - Lunchtime Run 3.9M in 33:20 (8:40 pace, Avg HR 85% Max???), but then it also says that my fastest pace peaked at 2:46min/mile, eat that Roger Bannister!
    Would have likes to have squeezed in another mile, but I had dropped into Aldi to pick up some lunch and I think the cashiers were playing the complete opposite of supermarket sweep. I had to go back and change my tub of cottage cheese because it went past it's use by date while I was in the queue! :confused:

Saturday - Ashamed of my low milage this week on top of finding a note from the sofa telling me that it's needs more space and time away from me, I left the house armed with the camelback filled with squash and a few halftime goodies that would make the Famous Five drool, I headed out along the canal again beyond Celbridge as far as Baronrath (Yeah, I've never heard of it either) where I did my troll impression, sitting under a bridge, feasting on the innards of a camel-back, then heading back to the Metropolis at a handy pace
    17.6M in 2:43 (9:16 pace, Avg 79% Max HR)

Just planning a couple of easy miles tomorrow and rest up before Monday's pacing in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Enjoy the Cork gig Eamo!

Nice little leg stretch this morning, managed to catch the sun before it went in. I blame the IT people for inventing cloud technology, I prefer the old days where we kept all our data on a hard disk and we had lovely sunny days. Now all our info is kept in clouds and there's so much of it, we need extra clouds and there's no sun anymore. why couldn't they have invented sewer storage instead, seeing as most the stuff we keep is crap anyway. :D

3M at 9:40 pace Avg 70% Max HR

Right, off to Cork now to sign autographs at the pacer stand.:cool:

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Enjoy the Cork gig Eamo!

Pity the gang is not going to be there, won't be the same without shameful drinking and scandal! haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Marathon No. 61, Cork Pacing.
    Not so much a race report, but had a great day out doing the pacing with Runningcoach. Started off cloudy enough, but warm. I think there were more water stations than mile markers, but was a good opportunity for people to keep topped up. Heat started to build up during the day and we did our best to keep people's minds off the conditions and just keep running. Funny highlight of the run was passing a couple at 12 miles and hearing a shout of 'Ah ****e' I turned and said I wont take it personally and the woman said 'Ah no, its just that we started out with the 4hr pacers and now ye are passing us'

Abstained from gels for the whole race but tooks a couple of Zero tablets en route to help balance out the electrolytes from all the extra fluid intake and sweating.

To my horror, there was no photographers at the finish line to capture the jump.

Met up with Belcarra, Blockic, ncmc, Beef and mr.wiggles afterwards for some post running refreshments and a chance to use up all the excess free beer tokens for the Bodega. :rolleyes:

Official time 4:29:22 off pacing 4:30.

Tuesday -
    Tumble outta bed and I stumble to the kitchen
    Pour myself a cup of ambition
    And yawnin', stretchin', try to come to life

Jump in the shower and the blood starts pumpin'
    Out on the streets, the traffic starts jumpin'
    With folks like me on the job from 9 to 5

Oh wait, day off today, that's not what happened.....

Tuesday Take 2
    After the marathon yesterday in the company of fellow boardsies and Paul Aner and his Wiessbier recovery drinks all day, I promptly set the alarm for 7am and jumped straight out of bed & jogged to the start of the Cork Half Marathon route, did some stretching and then banged out a 1:35 half along the route in time to get back to the hotel for extra cold shower before a healthy breakfast of fresh fruit and green tea.

.......... on my day off? like f*** I did :P

The real Tuesday........
    lounged around the hotel room like Lord Muck, had a lovely hot shower and casually dropped in for breakfast just before it closed. Spent the rest of the morning in the Executive lounge availing of all the free pastries, juices and fresh coffee I could handle before critically overdosing on sugar, caffiene or whatever came first then headed back to Dublin

With the temperature soaring today, BBQ and Cider was in the offering so headed out beforehand for 10k just to put some dent in all drink/food reserves that loitered around the tummy from yesterday. Donned the skimpy singlet and shorts for maximum sun capture and felt like I was running really well, nothing rattled or creaked. In my head, I had an image of my running style in the form of Bolt with the soundtrack of 'Chariots of Fire' in the background, but in reality I think it was more like Mr Potato Head with someone playing the theme to Baywatch on a Kazoo in an echoy hall.
    10k in 54:50 (8:49 pace, Avg 75% Max HR)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

fancy a 15 tomorow afta wrk,,,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Tuesday -

Tuesday Take 2

Wouldnt have taken you as a big Dolly fan :rolleyes:

Tuesday -

Tuesday Take 2

Wouldnt have taken you as a big Dolly fan :rolleyes:

I'd say there are a couple of things he likes about her ;):D

maybe back in her prime Digger, not so sure now. She must be nearly as old as you now?:P

ultraman1 wrote: »
    fancy a 15 tomorow afta wrk,,,

Got a much needed haircut which means the loss of hair weight and increased aerodynamics, I reckon I'm good for knocking off an extra 10 seconds per mile now.

Wednesday - Took Ultraman up on his offer and we headed off out the Royal Canal all the way past the Aqueduct over the M50. First time I headed out that way, so was a refreshing change and of course, picked up the daily quota of sun soakage. I'm just sorry Anto talked me out of wearing the mankini which would have dramatically reduced the surface area of white bits. :eek: Made the critical mistake of not having beer money as we passed the 12th Lock.

14.3M in 2:08 (8:58 pace Avg 80% Max HR)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Great to meet you on Monday Aimman. I was so glad to meet you in the pub and not on the road also! The thoughts of the 4:30 pacing group catching me was all that kept me going for the last couple of miles.

Beef wrote: »
    Great to meet you on Monday Aimman. I was so glad to meet you in the pub and not on the road also! The thoughts of the 4:30 pacing group catching me was all that kept me going for the last couple of miles.

Great going Beef, I've been that soldier looking over my shoulder (no rhyming pun intended) waiting for the next wave of balloons to pass me by, but you kept it going and beat me and Tom to the finish line in the hot conditions. Just because Cork didn't deliver the result you wanted, doesn't mean you wont get the result you wanted. There's permutations and combinations to get a good race, some of which no-one has control over. Keep going for it and keep believing in it, and it does happen. And when it does, you'll feel like the dogs b*****cks and no one can take it form you. Smile for every Camera and soak up every cheer and if the legs feel knackered, the head will carry you to the finish line ..... (true story)

No running on the Thursday. Who'd have thought that bottling 5 gallons of wine would take so long, let along setting up another 8 gallons for the cold winter months. ;)

Friday - Temperatures soaring in the afternoon on the hottest day, what better than to kit out for a run along the canal to Carton House. 12.1M in 1:46 (8:44 pace, Avg 81% Max HR)

Early start today, up at 4:45 to get to the airport. Weirdest thing I seen there was in the Men's cubicle, there were two bottles of wine, red & white. Thought I was on Candid Camera. What a paradox, I already checked in my bag, free wine and I couldn't take it with me. Probably a bit too early to drink them too (It's different to finding beer bottles with yellow fluid in it on a Sunday morning on the street, the seals were still intact on these bottles.)

Anyway, After a long plane and train journey and surviving on a pretzel and one packet of Belvita bikkies, I slipped into the skimpies, topped up the camelbak and left the hotel into the forest and countryside along the Fulda river. Recent flooding here last week meant a lot of the paths I used to take were either flooded or landslides brought trees downblocking the way. Still, I made an adventure out of it. Boiling hot here, I even put on sun cream, that's saying something.

Really enjoyed the run but the locals were giving me funny looks. I was the only one around running in the hot sun, everyone else was enjoying a gentle cycle along the river.

15M in 2:21 (9:20 pace, Avg 76% aAx HR) Discovered afterwards I was running this in recovery zone, but although it felt very comfortable and handy, I thought the HR would have been higher because of the 25C heat

Lovely sauna all to myself afterwards. Can't believe the shop here is selling my Fav Weissbier brand at 85c a bottle (Schofferhoffer Anto!!!), and you can pick up a bottle of Vodka for a fiver!:eek:

PS Rehydrated with weissbiers afterwards

Considering the amount of damage from landslides and flooded trails topped off with a massive thunder and lightning storm that developed by late morning, I thought I'd head to the next destination and run there. Only problem is that when I got off the train, I bumped into a couple of colleagues from other countries, so of course, we had a couple of beers as is the common meeting ritual amongst engineers (none of your secret masonic handshakes in this game. the only time your hand shakes is when you're going throung the DTs on the way home) ;). At this stage it started lashing rain and after much deliberation, I headed to the room to get ready. At three O'clock, no sign of the rain easing. I thought I'd lie down for ten minutes to see if it will clear, woke up at four o'clock:rolleyes: Still raining, feck it! I'd just have to get on with it.

Trundled out along a bike track, ironically heading back to the town I just came from, made it within 2 miles of hitting the town but had to head back to get ready for dinner. I set out to do a 10M run, which turned into a 11M run and then ended up as a 12M run because I was enjoying it. The further you go out, the further you have to get back.

I was taking it easy on the way out, no pressure, but once I turned around, I felt like upping the pace for the craic and felt really good along the way back. Along the river Fulda are lots of bird sanctuarys so was great to see hawks and eagles out circling and hunting for dinner. Really felt good about this run particulary as the pace stepped up, so I'm making a note of the split pace to remind me of a meh run turning into a yabadabadoo run

9:05, 9:18, 9:12, 9:08, 9:26, 9:31, 8:48, 8:42, 8:39, 8:42, 8:36, 8:14

12M in 1:47 (8:57 pace, Avg 78% Max HR)

86.1M for the week. Doubtful I'll get a higher week than that before july, although the back to back on Saturday week would help bump a week up, but might need to spread the weekly milage out for that week as it's only 2 weeks before the 10in10 and should be starting to help the legs get a bit of R&R

Monday - Handy early 5M before the day starts keeping it in the recovery zone.

5M in 45:54 (9:11 pace Avg 74% Max HR)

Found Weissbier in the off licence next to the hotel for 75c a bottle. I may not come back to Ireland. Might be tempted to run the away version of the Ultra Beer Mile (500ml bottles 5.7% , none of your 330ml lady beers here :cool:)

IMG-20130610-00193.jpg

Hmm, forgotten how to post photos, link will just have to do. Could have sworn I knew how to do it before I drank the first bottle.

Well, the plan to just take things a bit easier over here just went our the window.

After a long day in the training centre, the sun was still out in force, so back into the skimpies. The legs felt like two wound up elastic bands. After the first 0.2M I looked at the watch and realised I was doind a sub 6min mile. I was feeling fresh and would have loved to have a crack at a full sub 6 mile, but the route I was on included steps down, a tunnel under railway tracks and then steps up again, so I'll have to save that moment for another time (soon hopefully) so pulled back to keep the miles consistant

kept the pace up though. wasn't exactly comfortable, but wasn't exerting myself either. Ran a 10k distance

7:50, 7:55, 7:48, 7:45, 7:48, 8:02, 7:30 for last 0.22M

10k in 48:45 (7:51 pace, Avg HR 91% Max, but peaks of 110% again)