Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Costliest Errors At Work

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Adyx wrote: »
    Even longer ago, my first night working in a nightclub me and another lad got sent to another nightclub in our company to borrow some 3L bottles of vodka. Being a hero I tried to carry 2 boxes (8 bottles). The top one fell off right in the middle of the busiest street on a Saturday night (where Abrakebabra is now if you know Waterford).
    You dropped it there and managed to come back in one piece without so much as a "waaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyy". Impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

work for BP as engineer designing and installing drilling risers for sub sea oil wells. this one time, i didnt check the pressure capacity of the blow out preventor prior to installation and johnny who works on the marine riser tensioner didn't ensure we'd the correct tension force adequate to maintain the stability of the riser in an offshore environment on a rig in the gulf of mexico.

johnny's dead...but whoa dude you should have seen the explosion. it was awesome. reckon i'm costing the company about $20,000,000,000 + a few seals or some such. hahaha, i'm mad aren't i :cool:

Yea thats real funny, gud man. 11 people were killed in that explosion wernt they?Only about 2 months ago too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Had sex with co-worker.
    Also never made the same mistake again.

Hands up who hasnt had sex with a colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I once made the mistake of having an open ended discussion with a partner in a law firm, he arrived back to me six weeks later with a load of legal advice and a bill for 60k. I was not impressed. Didn't pay it in the end, but still cost more than 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Wasn't really a costly error, but for a few years I worked in Homebase. Great people working there, all the english managers would constantly take the piss. I was quite hungover going in one sunday morning going in as I was out drinking with the manager all night. Some real snobby woman was buying a LOT of flooring. It all came to around €1200 so it was a decent haul for a sunday. Then she started asking me questions while the manager put it through the till.

Woman: "What type of sheen is that?"
    Woman: "What floors do you have?"
    Woman: "Why do you work in an english shop?"
    Woman: "Why is your uniform black if homebase is green?"
    Me: "F*CKED IF I KNOW!"

Woman stormed out of the shop without buying anything but the manager just pissed himself laughing for about an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Haven't done anything major really. Although I did trigger the economic recession one...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Worked in a cosmetic factory making all the big brands but I won't name which.
    I put the wrong label and date on 10,000 lipsticks.

The only way to fix it was to peel them off one by one and relabel.
    They had to drag in a team and get them to work nights and all they did all night was peel off lipsticks. Sure your nails would be worn down by the end of it.
    Some people hated me and some loved me as it was treble time for working nights :pac:

Used to work as a hotel night porter so I controlled the safe. The lads from the nightclub next door dropped in the envelope with the nights taking, it was around 3,000 euro or so.
    I was told to put in the safe but I got distracted and left it on the reception desk. Some person in the wedding party picked up the envelope with big writing "Nightclub takings, 3,000 euro , date" and waltzed out the door.

Gardai called, I got suspended. :o
    Eventually we got all the money back, the person who took it was drunk and didn't realy understand what they were doing.....or so they told the gardai after they were clearly caught on about 8 security cameras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Condon

worked in Tesco wen i was 17 and was told buy the manager to put e2000 worth of frozen goods back into the storeroom freezer, forgot about it. Came back the next day to find my boss and a few other collegues standing around the stock wondering why the **** these havent been put in the freeze. All the food thawed out and became unsellable, BOOM e2000 gone!!
    i left 2 days later because of the embarrassment, without fully owning up to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Last minute bugfix applied to the configuration software of this home phone switch which was going to be one of the market leaders at the time.

This is the market start of the product. First batch to reach wholesale/retailers just in time with the product being presented at this IT trade show.

So the whole downstairs (assembly/packaging) is waiting for myself to get the bug corrected, tested, a new installer package compiled and then thousands of discs made before they can stuff it all into the boxes together with the actual product, wrap it up on palettes, stuff it into the lorry and off she goes. Pretty semi-automated assembly line.
    So I do the deed, declare it good (I'm obviously design, dev, qa, release all rolled into one), and off she goes. 15000 units on palettes into the lorry.

Only to hear next morning (Saturday) that the software installation from the packaged installer is only working on my box. On every other box DLLs will be missing. Software won't work. :eek:

So the 'guys downstairs' spend the whole weekend (they loved me I'd say) gettin' the boxes back out of the lorry, unwrap them, open them and replace the disc with a new disc and then wrap it all up again and get the stuff back into the lorry for Monday morning.

Of course one by one and all manually. Dozen people full weekend with overtime, double pay etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

I lent €80,000,000 to myself and lost it all on the stockmarket and an oil field in nigeria.

Now I'm sipping a Mohito in Buenos Aries.

Later peeps,

Seany;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 hugsandkisses

I used to work in a small giftshop before,
    one day I was drinking a mug of coffee and I left it down beside the till,moments later I knocked over the mug and the till started making odd noises and the like,then the feckin thing went on fire with over one and a half grand in it plus the damage to the till and surrounding items!!
    However I did'nt have to pay for what happened,thank heavens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Biggins wrote: »

I was half expecting a story that you'd shot the wrong person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Haha just noticed despite all these horror stories about forklifts Ads by google is offering jobs with forklifts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Wouldn't say it was an error but I worked in a small petrol station with some friends and a very lax manager. Basically if you were hungry you ate, nothing was ever paid for but we figured since it was a bad area and we kept a lot of the local troublemakers from thieving it evened out.

Anyway they knocked down the old site and rebuilt, complete with a new manager who sacked any of my friends who didn't transfer and left me there with another girl and all chinese staff. So the place just got fleeced by the local kids. Absolutley rediculous how much stuff they took now that there wasn't 5 lads working together who were always around.

Anyway, first stock take and the shrinkage was about half of what it was when it was just us eating everything. Was never found out or much made of it, they just put the better results down to the new security cameras etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

I used to drive a taxi, one day a punter left £28,000 cash in the boot. I was going to bring it back to him but I had another fare to pick up first, but wouldn't you know, when I'd dropped him off, the cash was gone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

I used to work for a food company in their warehouse. We had just received a delivery & was storing it away in the fridges. This guy was driving the fork lift to put the pallets away.

All of a sudden there was a huge crashing sound. He had dropped one of the pallets of mayonnaise. These were the large buckets of mayo (25 ltrs each) so they were always stored at the top because of the way the shelves were arranged.

There were 55 of these buckets on every pallet, about 30 of them must have smashed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I was working in a bar in Cardiff during term time and had just finished my last exam at noon, due to start work at 4pm for my last shift before heading home for the summer.

Obviously I went for a pint after my exam with everyone but this quickly turned into 3 and a half hours of drinking strongbow (you got it half price if you had an exam that day).

Went to work and it was a quiet night so only me and the supervisor working and she twigged I was drunk so put me on cellar duty until I had sobered up a little.

In the cellar I was moving big trolleys of drink around and accidentally knocked over a full trolley of wine and spirits. 12 bottles of Jacob's Creek, 6 Absolut and a few other random spirits all smashed and the cellar stunk of drink. Luckily I was able to just sweep it up and then flood the floor and sweep it all down the drain. The supervisor came down to check on me and noticed all the water on the floor but I just said I was givin it a through clean. Spent the next few weeks back in Ireland waiting on a phone call about the missing stock but heard nothing and got the job back in September. :pac:

With all this forklift chat I'm surprised this hasn't been posted.

Dropped a case of vodka at work once, €240:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

You dropped it there and managed to come back in one piece without so much as a "waaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyy". Impressive.

I think everyone around was in as much shock as I was. :P It was for Club LA too so it was probably **** vodka.

Great bit of vandalism! Break in perhaps..

I wonder if they were already sacked, or about to be?

EDIT: on second thoughts, it's probably the lads having a bit of fun with some condemmed stock, there is no shelving. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

MiciG91 wrote: »
    I've only had one real job with all this recession lark.Was working in a hotel in town.A woman came up with a dinner from the carvery She refused to pay for the dinner i started laughing at her,all the other staff were laughing too but not for the same reason as me.She owned the hotel.

Using the words ****,Stupid ****,And Retard made sure it was my last day of work :o

Sounds like she's a complete geebag, probably a blessing in disguise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I'm a cycle messenger and we do bank runs, moving money orders and cheaques from corporate banks to normal banks and ither runs like that. I've always liked to look at some of the figures on them and i know they can run into many many millions. One of the motorbike lads dropped one into the wrong branch once, and the resulting extra intrest lost due to the longer processing time was about 30000. Ouch.... needless to say he got the sack.

My one was pretty good. Got a bottle of very expensive wine around christmas one year (we arnt meant to take bottles, and it was wrapped really well to hide that fact). It was to a private address which turned out to be Eamonn Dunphy's place. When i took the package out of my bag it tapped off the metal gate. I rang the doorbell and Ms Dunphy awnsered the door, i handed her the package only for a lovely claret liquid to flow all over her carpet. It left a lovely nice big stain on it. I called it in, and was asked to take the label for insurance reasons as it was a very very very expensive bottle of wine.

A colleague paid a 78,000 Nigerian naira hotel invoice (520 U.S. dollars) as 78,000 US Dollars - never saw the money again.

I've overpaid suppliers and employees before but thankfully have gotten the money/value back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I seriously injured both my hands at work back in 05/06 which left me unable to masturbate for about 6 months. Beat that lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Beat that lol

Im not doing your handywork for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,601 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

ectoraige wrote: »
    I used to drive a taxi, one day a punter left £28,000 cash in the boot. I was going to bring it back to him but I had another fare to pick up first, but wouldn't you know, when I'd dropped him off, the cash was gone!
    Very original :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

My costliest error at work earned me an extra days pay on the double time rate. Fúcking score! Got well over a grand that week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

You know that recession thing?

Yeah my bad. I hit the wrong button in work...

Seriously though i've made a few errors with at least 5 figures worth of damage.
    Luckily i've made up for them with preventing 6 figures errors... ;)