Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Westboro Baptist to picket Dio's Memorial.

• 21-05-2010 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/news.aspx?mode=Article&newsitemID=140446
    WESTBORO BAPTIST CHURCH To Picket RONNIE JAMES DIO's Public Memorial Service? - May 20, 2010
    According to the official web site of the Westboro Baptist Church (WBC) — an independent Baptist church and hate group known for its hatred of homosexuals and its protest activities (which include picketing funerals) — WBC is planning on picketing Ronnie James Dio's public memorial service on Sunday, May 30 at 2:00 p.m. at The Hall Of Liberty located at Forest Lawn Hollywood Hills, 6300 Forest Lawn Drive, Los Angeles, California. What will presumably one of WBC's standard "peaceful sidewalk demonstrations" is meant to "remind you who worship that old Serpent, Satan, that your time is very short," according to a post on the "Upcoming Picket Schedule" page of the web site. The post continues, "You know 67 year old, Satan-worshiping (or at least one of their enablers) Ronnie James Dio (of showing his devil horns to the world each time he goes in public) BLACK SABBATH fame is dead, right? We'll be there! Just because the chances of any of God's elect being amongst this group of heavy metal sycophants is slim to none does not mean they should not get some good words."

The post goes on to say, "Yes, it is true that Ozzy Osbourne did 'accidentally' bite off the head of a bat, but THAT is the least of their sins (little nasties!), they currently do not do that, but they throw raw meat to the audience and encourage violence of EVERY FORM!"

The WBC web site then proceeds to list "admitted sins of this now dead and in hell pervert: 1) He hates his neighbor(s) starting with Ozzy Osbourne, and continuing down to his pornography star niece Gen Padova! 2) He hates God. Pay especial attention to the fact that he changed his original sir name from Padova to Dio, which means God in Italian. 3) Ronnie the simpleton enabled, and encouraged Sorceries: everything he was about including the little finger horn thing (he got this from his mother which is an incantation to ward off the 'evil eye') to the drugs, bloody raw meat and his fellowship with those pentagon necklace wearing freakish band members."

The post concludes: "Yes, Ronnie James Padova (NOT DIO) is currently residing in hell. When all those who worship him and his false gods meet him in hell it will be just like this: Isaiah 2:12 For the day of the LORD of hosts shall be upon every one that is proud and lofty, and upon every one that is lifted up; and he shall be brought low: Isaiah 14:11 Thy pomp is brought down to the grave, and the noise of thy viols: the worm is spread under thee, and the worms cover thee. Praise God all ye, His people. The Great Day of the Lord draws nigh. AMEN!"

According to CNN.com, the members of the Topeka, Kansas-based Westboro Baptist Church filed a legal brief with the high court last year indicating that they "believe it is their duty to protest and picket at certain events, including funerals, to promote their religious message: 'That God's promise of love and heaven for those who obey him in this life is counterbalanced by God's wrath and hell for those who do not obey him.'"

The congregation is made up mostly of pastor Fred Phelps and his family. The pastor has 13 children, and at least 54 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren. He described himself as an "old-time" gospel preacher in a CNN interview in 2006, saying, "You can't preach the Bible without preaching the hatred of God."

:mad:

I believe this is of relevance:

20100414.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

Not sure why you felt you had to give these people any more publicity than they already have. Boards.ie pages pop up all the time in google. Plus the Bible really does condemn homosexuality. Good thing it's all horse****.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Hope these scum bags get a fright when a few hundred angry metallers come over to say hello :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Hey Fred Phelps, here's one for ya.

thor.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Do they play the duelling banjos tune from Deliverence at their protests? Backwards inbred (insert whatever explitive you like here).

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Obligatory anti-WBC group has surfaced on Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/group.php?gid=123772710984128

• Registered Users Posts: 21,385 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Haha, they annoyed cos Dio brought more people together than they could ever imagine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

They should just play Heaven & Hell as loud as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Hope these scum bags get a fright when a few hundred angry metallers come over to say hello :cool:
    Heh, I was just thinking the same thing myself. It could be quite an interesting confrontation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Ah! I hate these f**kers!! If you don't wanna listen to Dio because his music/ actions offends you or whatever then don't! And don't subject your kids' precious baby ears to it either. But don't stop other people from doing it! This applies to everything in life. Mind your damn business!

How do they think they can get away with saying someone is in Hell?! Psychos! Dio's poor wife and family are grieving, they don't need this.

PS I don't believe in God (except God of Thunder... and rock & roooolll) so I don't care what He hates. Anyways if all rock stars end up in Hell, then I wanna go there! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

Infinite punishment for finite sins. Derp. Anyway, every one of these morons should be lined up and shot appropriately. US soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan subject prisoners to torture by playing very loud music to them that's offensive to their culture. This includes metal music. One can only wonder how effective this method would be on these guys...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Seriously lets not even discuss them, dont give them their oxygen of publicity

• Registered Users Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

rovert wrote: »
    Seriously lets not even discuss them, dont give them their oxygen of publicity

Sadly, we have to discuss them, if we don't we're left with them breathing all the air and doing all the talking...and that can't be good

The bible may condemn homosexuality, and it does, but let's be fair...it also says if you masturbate you have to leave the community for a few days, bathe yourself clean, pray for forgiveness and then hope "an elder of the temple" will let you back into your house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The WBC are nothing but a shower of extremist, psychopathic morons who love to spread hate. As Mushy has mentioned, Dio's music brought more people together than their religious bullshít ever could. As if Christianity wasn't bad enough, it had to give us a shower of fúckwits as bad as these.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

I was thinking I recognised that name, Fred Phelps.

He's also been threatening to burn Finnish flags because of "our appalling Sodom and Gomorrah situation", our love of Heavy Metal music and our "gay" President. The guy should be put in a straitjacket for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Its idiots like this who give ordinary religious folk a bad name. You can be religious and still like heavy metal.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Its idiots like this who give ordinary religious folk a bad name. You can be religious and still like heavy metal.

Yeah, that's true... Stryper and all them bands... 'White Metal'/Christian Metal... that kinda thing.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Seems some people aren't too happy with this :)

dio.jpg?t=1274903144

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

dio.jpg?t=1274903144

Let's hope this happens, show them Westboro scumbags what the people actually want instead of their religious bullshít and so on.

DazMarz wrote: »
    Yeah, that's true... Stryper and all them bands... 'White Metal'/Christian Metal... that kinda thing.

Yeah stuff like this. I had never heard of Stryper until you mentioned them, not actually too bad.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yeah stuff like this. I had never heard of Stryper until you mentioned them, not actually too bad.

I think its hilarious how you see someone up the back with their devil horns in full view (between 0:17 and 0:22) for that song/band... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 978 ✭✭✭JohnnyCrash

The Patriot Guard Riders might step in.:cool:

cournioni wrote: »
    I think its hilarious how you see someone up the back with their devil horns in full view (between 0:17 and 0:22) for that song/band... :D
    Yeah I laughed too. You might wanna read this, is interesting stuff.

Dio's two-finger gesture - what does it mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

oawysh.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The WBC are ****ing morons I hope they get the ****e kicked out of them by metalheads, bikers or maybe both.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

dio.jpg?t=1274903144

Oooh wow, lets cause the WBC a slight inconvenience. What's that going to accomplish?

This guy got it right; He set up a fundraiser at a WBC picket for charities that the WBC explicitly oppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

well there we see W Bush doing it, Obama, Ronaldihno..

to me it has always been some sorta hipster gesture, or synonymous w/ surfers .. like "bodacious dude / totally rad"..

so i never felt the compulsion to do it in my life

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Numina wrote: »
    Oooh wow, lets cause the WBC a slight inconvenience. What's that going to accomplish?
    Accomplishing anything isn't the aim, as it says, it's for the lulz

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

dpYRD.jpg

dpYRD.jpg
    Quite pathetic that. Totally sunk to their level. doubt Dio would have wanted somthing like that at his funeral.