Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

strike action is called for by the union in Teva.

1234568»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sonnysoutheast

it was a sad day for waterford and for teva and for democrasy. waterford has become the city that no companywants to come to. why would they? teva must roo the day thye took over. inhaltions was what they wanted when they bought ivax cos they didnt have it but they must now be planing to get to hell out now. we know they have a factroy in israel now and god knows they have money to buy another business ; they bought barr and a german one recently. only time before they find an inhaler factory somewhere else and bye bye waterford thanks to small minded pr**ks. profit might be a dirty word for some but its why companys are in business. and profits pay our morgages. as for democrasy how could you get a real vote the way this was done. some of us wanted a gap between the meeting and the vote to think about things. the company even offered the factory for the vote but union wouldn't do that. too scared people would think for them self when they got out off the tower. they wipped it up and got the vote after the stage show. and the vote was under the nose of the union - not private. and the comitee is all solid dose. and some of them stand to gain big time with the service they have and the overtime they have been getting this year. over 20 years is 160 weeks at average pay. thats over 3 years money at big rates for some of the boys with big o/t. work it out - not very socialist - more me fein. thats why some wnat bigger package and others want to stay - lookin after them self - it will backfire big time and all of us will suffer but hte big boys in the comitee will be happy they had there principals and there big packages. but the company wont give them the 8 weeks now why would they? so it even backfires on them. sad day for all of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 imsickofit

I am an inhalations worker and was at the meeting in the tower on Sunday and I did indeed vote yes I felt like I had no other option as I am in a very vulnerable position.

Firstly id like to point out the following no one on the union represented inhalations, from the announcement to this the union have done nothing but look after solid dose the majority of the union are in 301 the majority of the union have long service they also have insured that the summer bones for 301 is banked on a monthly basis for 301 but not inhalations. They can treat the 2 factories like separate factory’s when it suits them. I want to no if inhalations were closing would they be fighting for full seniority the answer is no they would not.

And as for the package that was on the table 8 weeks average pay which works out as close on 10 weeks for some employees that are lucky enough 2 have overtime is a fantastic package in the current climate who will have sympathy for people who turned this down the answer is no one. The workers will be left outside to rot in my option. But on the other hand maybe the company are shakin in there boots when they heard one union rep shout from his podium Don’t f**k wit siptu . Unions have destroyed this city

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Clano

imsickofit wrote: »
    I am an inhalations worker and was at the meeting in the tower on Sunday and I did indeed vote yes I felt like I had no other option as I am in a very vulnerable position.

Firstly id like to point out the following no one on the union represented inhalations, from the announcement to this the union have done nothing but look after solid dose the majority of the union are in 301 the majority of the union have long service they also have insured that the summer bones for 301 is banked on a monthly basis for 301 but not inhalations. They can treat the 2 factories like separate factory’s when it suits them. I want to no if inhalations were closing would they be fighting for full seniority the answer is no they would not.

And as for the package that was on the table 8 weeks average pay which works out as close on 10 weeks for some employees that are lucky enough 2 have overtime is a fantastic package in the current climate who will have sympathy for people who turned this down the answer is no one. The workers will be left outside to rot in my option. But on the other hand maybe the company are shakin in there boots when they heard one union rep shout from his podium Don’t f**k wit siptu . Unions have destroyed this city

Couldnt agree more! this town has gone tits up with unions ruining it, they ruined the glass and now are after ruining teva, 2 of our biggest employers.

I dont care what ye say Teva will not be in waterford in 3-4 years.

Any future employers who are now looking at setting up in ireland will not dream of setting up here after 2 high profile strikes because of thick employees and unions.

Well done lads, yer bravado has ruined our town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ScoobyDont

This may have some influence on the outcome of our issue:

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/israel-stocks-off-banks-in-focus-gaza-watched-2010-05-31?reflink=MW_news_stmp

It may also put it in perspective.

Do not hope that we are so insignificant as to sneak under the radar in this economic quake which has struck Israel. We aren't. We turn quite a profit and are enough of a keystone to this company as to be immediately subjected to risk reduction. In a week or two even the mention of them acquiring another inhalations plant in an area where they can be produced more cheaply would have a positive affect on these stocks. These numbers are the very life blood of the pharmaceuticals industry. Compassion for the workers in some remote island on the edge of Europe won't even enter into it. No ones gonna "f**k with SIPTU." No ones gonna even notice SIPTU. The company's final descision will be enforced because the determination has been made and has been passed right down the food chain and the enemy you rally against now you will disdain soon and they will have been able to do nothing to avert it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 SATCGIRL

dayshah wrote: »
    Who doesn't allow them?

Am not sure if it's that people are not allowed to join the union or whether if they do, the company won't recognise it.
    There's more talk at the moment though about leaving it as people were so angry after Sundays's meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Chief Wigam

SATCGIRL wrote: »
    Am not sure if it's that people are not allowed to join the union or whether if they do, the company won't recognise it.
    There's more talk at the moment though about leaving it as people were so angry after Sundays's meeting.

Company won't recognise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 miaowchi

the vote was 60/40... and imo of that 60% maybe 20%+ were undecided before then went in and were subjected to 2hrs of manipulation... if they just went in and voted it may have been closer..
    Regardless there are still 40% of voters that did accept this fair package in the current mess that is this country... and it is my feeling that while SIPTU are also fighting for senority... they had better ensure that this redundancy package is still on the table or they are not fully representing ALL of their members.....
    I think it is a further insult on SIPTUs website at the moment there is NO mention of this vote that is so critical to the future of workers in Waterford... but yet they have updated their website just yesterday to condemn the Israeli attacks on ships carrying aid to Gaza.............

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Insane1

Company won't recognise it.

Based on what I have read here, IMO the company would have gotton their yes vote if the current non-unionised people had joined SIPTU prior to the ballot... Slip up there on the companies part?

There is your solution actually. If all the non-unionised people joined SIPTU they could then put a motion forward to re-run the ballot considering that they would not have had a say first time around in the controversial ballot. You would surely get a yes vote with the big influx of sane people....

Would SIPTU have any objections to all the non-unionised people joining now? As SIPTU are supposed to 'Represent the People' surely if 'the People' asked for a re-run of the vote, SIPTU could not refuse as they are supposed to be the 'Voice of the People' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 d_j

UNITED WE STAND - POWER TO THE PEOPLE.

FIGHTING FOR FAIRNESS IN THE SELECTION PROCESS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

I'm not working at TEVA, so I won't say a yes or no vote is right or wrong. But this is my outsiders impression.

Non-union people complaining of having no vote - they could have joined the union.

People complaining about the union committee - ok, maybe they are more from one plant, but who elected the committee? Why did people not vote for people from their own plant? I can't understand this.

People are claiming they were at the meeting, but unhappy with 'the union'. - Was this a meeting open to the general public? If someone is a union member its unlikely they would complain about 'the union'. Sure they might complain about the committee, but 'the union' is simply its members. I suspect a lot of people claiming to have been at the meeting and complaining about 'the union' (as opposed to the committee) were not there, and are just poo-stirring.

Its an Israeli company. There are calls for divesting from Israel, especially given what they did yesterday. This call is coming from a broad range of people, including union leaders. How would a general boycott of Israeli companies affect TEVA in Waterford? (I'm pro-boycott)

Finally, the company is there to make money. That's all. They will lie if it makes them more money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 doctor t

what all yee ****ing brain washed dopes dont understand is that siptu got yee the 8 weeks in the first place by presenting a excellent memo to the labour court. so all yee hypicrits can keep on jeering the unions. the only thing bothers me is that what ever deal we get yee simple minded plebs will get the same deal . and if that means outside the door bring it on.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

doctor t wrote: »
    what all yee ****ing brain washed dopes dont understand is that siptu got yee the 8 weeks in the first place by presenting a excellent memo to the labour court. so all yee hypicrits can keep on jeering the unions. the only thing bothers me is that what ever deal we get yee simple minded plebs will get the same deal . and if that means outside the door bring it on.

That type of posts wont be tolerated here. Sorry, but there is no union here to support you on this either.

Banned

• Registered Users Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Well since SIPTU supports a boycott on Israeli businesses, shouldn't closing down this Israeli company be their priority?

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Money Tree

The post from Doctor T sums up the attitude of the "No" campaigners towards both their fellow union members who dont agree with them and the non-unionised people who dont have a say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Well since SIPTU supports a boycott on Israeli businesses, shouldn't closing down this Israeli company be their priority?

Well, the aim would be to stop Irish companies from investing in Israel, and stop entry of Israeli goods into Ireland.

I don't have a clue if the Waterford plant gets inputs from Israel. If they did then the factory would be affected by a boycott. Also they wouldn't want to export to Israel.

Of course, if there is a successful boycott Israel might want to retaliate and divest from Ireland. But they might just view that as biting off their nose to spite their face. I suspect they would keep the plant open so long as it is profitable.

Anyway, if TEVA are making generic drugs, it should be relatively easy for someone else to take over the plant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭babyjames

No support????????? it did not stop ye taking the money that we had stopped out of our wages for the workers in the Glass did it. Grow up

First in last out end of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭babyjames

Yep that would be the glass
    Insane1 wrote: »
    Are you people sick in the head or what???

I worked in the glass for 12 years and havn't received a cent!! 8weeks?? Seniority isn't going to matter a damn to the 300 and odd people signing on when the place closes is it??

You certainly won't be getting any support from me or a lot of the people I worked with if ye decide to reject it. Letters of intimidation you say? Gift horse in the mouth I say.. Wake up and try and inject a dose of reality....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 tom111

Result from vote on sunday was to reject company offer, and this was done in a fully democratic way, one person one vote. This must now be accepted wether peoople like it or not as majority decides. This offer is now gone. Alot of people seem to be throwing their dolls from their prams cause they didnt get their own way, as for questioning legality of vote this is disgraceful and can be interperted by siptu as a form of slander, sd employees didnt all vote to reject package, so no votes had to come from across all the plants, Theres no turning back now so people should now realise this, stick together and got on with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭Yes Boss

All the respondents on here that voted against the company proposal and in favor of the Unions stance have not clarified that position.

What are the Unions hoping to achieve by taking this gamble with what seems to be a very equitable proposition?

If it is seniority only - which in my opinion is not a fair way of dealing with any situation, i think that they have not adequately evaluated the risk they are taking and the broader implications.

I hope the reason for this course of action is more balanced than what i suggested above!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Blaaface

To the people blaming the Union for Solid dose closing, the only reason the company is closing that site is because of greed, it can be done cheaper somewhere else, it's the way of the World unfortuantly.
    Also i hope someone can confirm this but isn't there a patent on some of the product in the Inhalations plant which means it can only come from the Waterford factory for the next 4 years? If so don't be bullied into thinking that will be closed in the next few months. Then after the 4 years i'd be pretty sure that factory will be closed, not because of the Union but because of greed again, they will get it done cheaper somewhere else. They even done it to the Waterford sites own management
    http://www.waterford-today.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2471&Itemid=10329&ed=233 to this
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0904/teva.html so don't be paranoid and constanly blame the Union for this.
    To the Non-Union members, i can fully understand your frustration in the No vote and losing the 8 weeks for now, if the company had its way you would only be getting 6 (4 + 2) in the first place so just have some patience and wait for the outcome of these next few weeks.
    This company has been run on FIFO for the last 20+ years and this relativley new management (4 years i think) are trying to take that away, there are people in the Inhalations plant who have been there a long long time and who want to take the redundancy but are being denied even though they should be allowed go, by letting these people go it creates new jobs for workers who need to stay in work. It just makes sense to let these people go, it's so obvious it's untrue! The company are claiming it takes 12 months but we all know that is a lie, even the people who voted yes know that's a lie.
    I pray that this is all sorted and the Union and the company actually get into the same room this time and iron out this simple solution.
    The Union have had thier flaws through this but people need to realise that the company have had as well, they were the ones who wouldn't stay in the same room, they were the ones Martin King (Who was sent down by the chairman of the labour court to try and negotiate) had to walk away from and in particular during the tough time our own MD saw fit to buy himself a new 90,000 car and rub our noses in it.

I'm getting down off my soapbox now.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭brian2614

Mods,

Any chance you can close down this thread?

I work in Teva and its the f***in talk of the place.

Its pissing alot of people off,big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Blaaface

Completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

Blaaface wrote: »
    Completely agree.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

brian2614 wrote: »
    Mods,

Any chance you can close down this thread?

I work in Teva and its the f***in talk of the place.

Its pissing alot of people off,big time.

Yeah, I think it has run it course alright, and is in danger of getting very personal, if there are any developments we may consider reopening it.