Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Saw Rolf Harris Today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Jack charlton, pure gent.

Brendan Grace, seemed grand.

Played against Kevin Doyle, Noel Hunt and Daryl Murphy at different times. Hunt Is a knob other two grand but young at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Redmal

I worked in a big fancy jewellers in london years ago, served a few people from Eastenders, Janine, Pat Butcher, Bepe, Samantha Janus (moody, maybe just having a bad day) she wasn't in Eastenders at the time though. I also served Denzel from Only Fools and Horses and Richard Madeley (really nice bloke actually). In another shop I served Paul Young and David Seaman.

I've seen Daniella Westbrook eating a bag of chips out in London, Ricky from Eastenders, Nick Barmby, Anthony Costa was in the same restaurant as me (TGI Fridays) just as Blue were starting out. I didn't know who he was at the time though, my sister pointed him out.

I also saw Jack Nicholson at Shannon airport years ago.

Oooo almost forgot, I went to school next door to Spurs old training ground in Mill Hill. Saw everyone, Gary Lineker nearly ran me over, Paul Gascoigne flashed at us, we used to see them training all the time, got loads of autographs but can't remember them all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Redmal wrote: »
    Janine, Pat Butcher, Bepe, Samantha Janus, Denzel from Only Fools, Richard Madeley , Paul Young , David Seaman, Daniella Westbrook, Ricky from Eastenders, Nick Barmby, Anthony Costa

That sounds like the lineup of a series of I'm a Celebrity Get me Out of Here
    Jack Nicholson

Does he still win if he kills everyone else with a golf club?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Redmal wrote: »
    Paul Gascoigne flashed at us

:eek: Seriously? Wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭martingore

Katie Melua today on south annes steet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Daniel O'Donnell helped me get a can of club Orange off the shelf in the RTE canteen when I was about seven. I didn't know who he was, just noticed that his breathe smelled of beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

and some of Arcade Fire who were incredibly Canadian and bent over backwards to help me out.

Bloody groupies.
    Kidding. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

merengueca wrote: »
    Eric Cantona at a petrol station nr Manchester

Wow, always wondered what he was doing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Bloody groupies.
    Kidding. :D

That was an unfortunate choice of words on my part.

Should have seen it coming, I suppose. Uh, so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Real life, on the street.

George Hook-rugby pundit
    Brent Pope- ruby pundit (saw them at different times)
    Jerry Kiernan- athletics pundit RTE
    Mick McCarthy
    Eddie O'Sullivan

I did not bother them or say hello. I think their private lives should be that.

At events where one would expect to see them.

Rich Franklin
    John Hathaway
    Yushin Okami
    Caol Uno
    Stefan Struve
    Tomasz Drawl
    Dennis Siver
    Terry Etim

All UFC fighters, have my picture with all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Have had a few famous ppl in my taxi but the most famous person in my eyes I met last week in las Vegas was James bubba stewart.

Met lots off other motocross riders that night but he stood out and I will never forget that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I nearly ran into Dana and knocked her down a flight of stairs when I was in school. Was at a Ron Sexsmith gig in Kilkenny years ago and met him later having a pint outside the pub across the road. Really nice and quite chatty. I've also served one of guys from D'Unbelievables a couple of times in work. We also met Ray D'Arcy when we were on a school trip to the Aran Islands.

No real celebs there and the only person out of them I'd have any time for is Ron Sexsmith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Met Craig Charles once, aka Dave off Red Dwarf, aka Lloyd off corrie, he was doing a DJ set- the guy was absolutely fúcked out of his mind, hopping around the place, couldn't sit still and talking complete and utter rubbish. Dead friendly though.

Have met loads and loads of Manchester City players and staff over the years but I'm guessing no-one except Xavi gives a toss so moving on swiftly...

Who else...oh George Hook in the airport. Roaring at some lad in a suit because his flight was late, you could see the spit flying all over the place. Hated him anyway but finding out he's actually even more of a cúnt in real life than on telly sealed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

martingore wrote: »
    Katie Melua today on south annes steet

No way! :eek:

Jealous :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Just remembered, was walking down a busy corridor of a hotel in Vegas, turned around and Ron Jeremy was walking behind us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Lots of z listers.

Best one is I threw eggs at Bryan McFadden and Kerry Katonas house in Wicklow. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Rolf Harris? I hope ye told him where to stick his. Didgeridoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Met Steve Davis in Gatwick Airport.
    Co Stompe, the darts player, when he was a conductor on the number 14 tram in Amsterdam, stamped my tram ticket.
    I meet Remy Bonjasky and Mirko Crocop every now and again as I train in the same gym as them.
    I use to live just around the corner from the Corrs, so knew them before they were famous.
    And I met Howard Marks, one of my heroes, one time in Ibiza. Very friendly guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Met Paris Hilton in the Mirage in Las Vegas , lovely girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

ardinn wrote: »

Tiger Woods - €500 Tip to the restaurant staff.

Was he trying to knob them all?

Anyway, I worked in Selfridges for a while and had the privilege of trying to serve (and frightening off) a surprisingly-shy Brendan Gleeson, directing an impeccably polite Will Young to the jacks, and sorting out Salaman Rushdie with a new pair of trouserss. At the time, he'd just started reappearing in public again with a massive bodyguard. I had to break the bad news that, presumably due to years of Fatwa-related inactivity, he'd need to move up a size. I then led him to the till, where he was served by a very hard-core muslim man - this guy prayed daily for the welfare of Osama Bin Laden, and his eyes were out on stalks when he saw Rushdie.

Apparently I just missed Ricky Gervais coming in by an hour. The Office had just finished at the time and he was a big fecking deal, but he was reportedly really nice, very self-effacing, and generally just like he is in interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I've met Alice Cooper, the ugly one out of Destinys Child and Al Gores wife, all through work though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not sure if this counts but Louis Walsh passed me on the street at Christmas a few years back and gave me the eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I've met a few famous & a few not so famous people, a lot of them through work I do & others through my brother's job:

Famous people I've met;

Ewan McGregor, Richard E.Grant, Thurston Moore, Steve Shelly & Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), Kevin Shields (My Bloody Valentine), Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Bono, The Edge, Gavin Friday, Damien Hirst, Paul Simonon (The Clash), George Miller, Baz Luhrmann.

Not so famous people I've met;

Diarmuid Gavin, Tom Dunne, Dickie Rock, Ewan McGregor's wife, Alison Curtis, Larry Gogan, Sonny Knowles, Hector O'Huuuuccherteraaan, Tabby from "X Factor", Joe from the gardening slot on RTE's "Live at 3", Tom Dunne's wife, Duncan Stewart from RTE's "Ecoeye".

I never met Rolf Harris though. If I did, I would ask him if he knew what I had for dinner last night, puke up a little bit & say, "Can you tell what it is yet?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Bob Z wrote: »
    Rolf Harris? I hope ye told him where to stick his. Didgeridoo
    Down-under? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Biggins wrote: »
    Down-under? :D

"Rolf, I'm going to blindfold you & bugger you with a musical instrument... (inserts digeredoo).... now, can you tell what it is yet?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

I found Jesus!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I found Jesus!
    Put him back and wash your hands.
    You don't know where he has been!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Rofl Harris :pac:

Met Timmy Mallet once. Managed to worm my way in to one of his videos for 0.5 seconds :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

saw sir alex ferguson in kilkenny

served a few pints to paul mcgrath, the man is a collossal in size IRL, HUGE :eek:

Bucklesman wrote: »
    Sold Don Conroy some books once. They were about birds. True story.

Right. This is much better than any story Biggins could actually tell. Star Trek? Pfft. Don Conroy is where it's at.

Oh.. to contribute to this thread:

Brendan Gleeson came into my work place once, as did somebody from Westlife, someone from Liberty X, Tommy Tiernan is a regular customer, same as that Hector gobsh*te.

Have met Louis Walsh once or twice and really don't like the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

brummytom wrote: »
    I Saw Rolf Harris Today

So you know.. maybe just a coincidence, who knows.

Don't suppose he whipped out his didgeridoo and asked "can you guess what it is yet?" That'd be one way to be certain..

Biggins wrote: »
    Had a lot of the cast of Buffy, Angel, Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly/Serenity etc at my second wedding to begin with. (Honestly)

Which Star Wars people? (don't really care about the others)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I was in New York for the summer a couple of years ago. While there I met Elliot Gould, some fella from "Lost" (don't watch, so I can't remember which one), a guy who worked on Howard Stern's radio show (who recently tried to kill himself :(), and I sat next to Gwenyth Paltrow in the airport.

Best of all, we saw Fat Joe and his entourage come into a Subway restaurant in Harlem (i wasn't sure who he was, but I got one of his hangers on to take a photo anyway).

And I was back in January, and Ke$ha kicked me in the leg by accident (twice!) in some nightclub, and didn't apologise.

Cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

saw the Edge going in the Shelbourne Hotel once.
    was walking home from work one day and stumbled into the set of that movie Tara Road and saw Stephen Rea and Andie Mcdowell.
    was at a poker tournament once and ken doherty was in attendance.

but never actually met , i.e. had a conversation with, a famous person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Redmal

Remembered a couple more!!

I was with a friend of mine when she got sick in front of Clive James at the BBC studios. We were there because we were in an episode of some TV programme that didn't do very well.

Also met Michael Flatley. Absolute tosspot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I was offered a job bye gary rhoades face to face I turned it down because the food he had on his menu looked like balll ache.... :pac:

Edit] My friends dads a very famous lead singer out of a very famous band tho i aint saying who it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I was offered a job bye gary rhoades face to face I turned it down because the food he had on his menu looked like balll ache.... :pac:

*Off topic but I just noticed your location. :eek:

I thought I met russel crowe standing outside our local cinema turned out to a cardboard cut out advertising robin hood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Met Bill Clinton twice due to my mam's work, absolute gent...

Met Brendan Gleeson, very down to earth guy!
    Met Derek Mooney a few times, oddly he's nothing like the muppet he is on telly...totally different behind the camera...
    Shook Charlie Haughey's hand when I was about 8 :D.

Also met Maxi Jazz and Jamie Catto from Faithless around the Insomnia era...two totally cool guys who were quite happy to just sit and chat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Forgot I also met Aslan though work too. Jesus what a bunch of tossers. I actually shouldn't even mention them in this thread. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Adyx wrote: »
    Forgot I also met Aslan though work too. Jesus what a bunch of tossers. I actually shouldn't even mention them in this thread. :rolleyes:
    met the drummer once, i was workin in a music shop and i was makin general chit chat and he mentioned he was gigging that night...I asked who he played with and he looked at me like I had 50 heads and then said..."eeh...Aslan?" as if I should've known him...

I just responded "who?"

Fcukwit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Einstein wrote: »
    met the drummer once, i was workin in a music shop and i was makin general chit chat and he mentioned he was gigging that night...I asked who he played with and he looked at me like I had 50 heads and then said..."eeh...Aslan?" as if I should've known him...

I just responded "who?"

Fcukwit...

Classic. Apparently Christy has the same problems when he's buying his gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Ran into Mother Theresa once by accident in the Marriott Marquis in Times Square. She was tiny.

Met most of the Man Utd team when they were in New Jersey back in 2003. Had a good chat with Diego Forlan. Nice lad as was John O'Shea. Asked Roy Keane why he had let his country down after he had taken a photo with me and gotten his autograph. I was scared but he just gave me a stare and walked away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Alex Ferguson once made me haggis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

ardinn wrote: »

Pierce Brosnan - cool as ice, was bond at the time - Loves fishing - one of the house-keeping girls went to his room for turndown on his second day, he had been fishing - not to rush into the room, she knocked, waited, knocked again, waited he slowly walked up behind her and whispered in her ear, in that voice that women seem to love "I dont think hes in" Made her year!

QUOTE]

I love that story, how cool is that?! A fella I worked with's sister met George Clooney in the street in San Fransisco. He asked her directions somewhere and she told him she was on hols and was Irish. He was well impressed and asked her to go for a drink..but she couldn't 'cos was meeting her husband who just arrived at that point. Maybe she added on a bit but I enjoyed the story anyway.

I've met Gary Kelly (we shared a cocktail sausage).. he was with Phil Babb who smelt eye wateringly sweaty.
    Pat Kenny and Jimmy Carr at the Late Late...
    the Corrs when I was young, we played together..
    Brendan O'Carroll in the Mater Hosp..
    I've seen Steve Staunton loads of times, talked sh*te to him in a club a couple of years ago..awful cringing memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Met Pele and Beckenbaur in Munich years ago. A mate did events stuff for the German FA and I used to help him out. Talked with them for about 4-5 mins, both very nice.

Jimmy Carter shook my hand in 93 or 94. Terrible moment, loads of people crushing to get forward, he still has secret service guys with him, and I had a penknife im my pocket.

Kati Witt sat next to me in Frankfurt train station once, I never noticed till she got up after a couple of minutes, was totally immersed in my VIZ. :(

Katrin Krabbe, athlete and drug cheat. Spoke to her for about 25 mins at a party when she was at the peak of her fame, really nice, very interested in Ireland, supposedly had legs 99cm long!

Telly Savalas in Paddington Station years ago, I looked at him, he winked back.

Sadly Liam Clancy at the premiere of The Yellow Bittern, he died a few weeks later.

About 4 weeks ago was walking out of M&S in Grafton St. Michael Lowry was walking in, gave him a filthy look and mouthed "prick" to him. He was really taken aback, a bit frightened I thought. Made my month either way.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

bijapos wrote: »
    About 4 weeks ago was walking out of M&S in Grafton St. Michael Lowry was walking in, gave him a filthy look and mouthed "prick" to him. He was really taken aback, a bit frightened I thought. Made my month either way.:pac:

I'd be a bit frightened too if some randomer just glared at me and called me a prick on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

brummytom wrote: »
    Met the Chuckle Brothers - they were great

Couldn't care less about the rest, but I really do envy this one.
    Chuckle Brothers are legendary.

Met Neil Ruddock before and I was in a lift with Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness before.
    That's about as far as my meeting famous people stretches.

Not that I actually give a shit, I'd most likely just be disappointed if I met anyone who I actually thought was good.

I met colin farrel once. He's totally different in real life. He's a lot taller and has blonde hair.....at least I think it was colin farrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

baz2009 wrote: »
    Marty Morrisey is a good friend of the family.
    So I know an alien celebrity, I think the victor of this thread is moi.:P

Marty Morrissey looks like an alien but talks like a woman!