Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland -v- Paraguay RDS 7:45 Tuesday 25th May.(Sky Sports 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Good effort from Doyle. Showing Santa Cruz how its done!

2-1 Barrios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

That was too easy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Two words for that - Paul McShane.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Jaysus McShane really is dog awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,014 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

McShane strikes again. When is Trap going to finally admit that he is such a liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

McShane running round like a headless chicken as usual, there was no need to jump in to the tackle, just needed to stand his ground to block the shot/pass in this case the pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

McShane sprints in to a shadow and gives the paraguayan all the time to slot his finish. He is so hopelessly clumsy it's laughable that he's still getting caps.

We should play him up front and just tell to play like he is a centre half for the other team!

McShane for player of the season?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

F*** off McShane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PCros

Why can't we close games off?

Was hoping for more than a 1 goal lead at the final whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

When is Trap going to give the likes of Fahey etc on the bench a run??
    Surely these kind of games are about seeing these lads play.

haha just as I posted that 1st sub made, but hope he makes a few more in next 10 mins as we need to see these newer guys get at least 20 mins.

I have that feeling we will lose this game now - that awful feeling.

PCros wrote: »
    Why can't we close games off?
    mcshane_558821.jpg

or

Wigan_800x600_KKilbane_548141.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

I have never heard of Sheridan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Did anyone else think that no.20 for Paraguay looks he should be a prop?

Jaysus one of them subs for Paraguay looks like he likes MackyDs a bit too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

JPA wrote: »
    I have never heard of Sheridan.

plays for st johnstone i think in the spl

More great defending:rolleyes:

MR NINE wrote: »
    Did anyone else think that no.20 for Paraguay looks he should be a prop?

I thought it was Reid!

Great ball across, that should have been 2-2. We are as dodgy as anything at the back.

I'd like to see Fahey getting a quarter of an hour at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

anplaya wrote: »

he was at loan there from Celtic. Had one run of games at Celtic the season before last when they had a few injuries and did alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Change it up Trap.

Yeah he is on loan there from Celtic. Played a few games for Celtic about 2 years ago, even started a CL game v Man Utd if I remember correctly.

From what I've seen of him, don't rate him at all. He's big and awkward and thats about it.

Paris should have been the last straw. I f***ing hate seeing McShane in the national team, I'd rather Owen Heary. F*** off ya useless piece of sh!te

he was at loan there from Celtic. Had one run of games at Celtic the season before last when they had a few injuries and did alright.

ye was loaned out to plymouth too,couldnt get game there ,went back to celtic,loaned out to johnstone.all in the same season.hardly a class act.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Sheridan the first Cavan man to ever play for Ireland.

History in the making people, we are lucky viewers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PCros

Aidric wrote: »
    mcshane_558821.jpg

or

Wigan_800x600_KKilbane_548141.jpg

Suppose....one gives goals away the other scores them for the opposition.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

ye was loaned out to plymouth too,couldnt get game there ,went back to celtic,loaned out to johnstone.all in the same season.hardly a class act.

Class Act! Not a word you associate with any Irish player!

Given maybe, not much other class in that team/

DB10 wrote: »
    Class Act! Not a word you associate with any Irish player!

Richard Dunne with a push, O'Shea at an almighty shove. Maybes Robbie a few years ago.

Doyle could be a top, top player in a season or two.

DB10 wrote: »

Doyle & Dunne imo. I think Fahey has a lot of potential also.

not forgetting duff,well he was anyway,can still turn on the style

Richard Dunne with a push, O'Shea at an almighty shove. Maybes Robbie a few years ago.

if we're rolling back the years, Duff was our "classiest act" outfield for a good number of years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,520 ✭✭✭✭noodler

PCros wrote: »
    Suppose....one gives goals away the other scores them for the opposition.

Awful comparison, completely unfair on Kilbane.

Its funny, Keane has just had - by far - his best contribution in a campaign for ROI and our opinion of him is at its lowest for a while!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

eagle eye wrote: »
    In fairness to Macca he knows his stuff. Staunton was never the type of guy to make a manager, Macca has a very good knowledge of the game, his problem as a player was discipline and he is wide to what people get up to so he could do well as a manager imo.

....he was always known as trigger!

noodler wrote: »
    Awful comparison, completely unfair on Kilbane.

Really? At home and away against Bulgaria.... he cost us 4 points in those 2 matches!

if we're rolling back the years, Duff was our "classiest act" outfield for a good number of years

Whoops, epic forget on my part. :o *smacks forehead with palm of hand*

Good reach there by McShane of all people, saved a certain goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,520 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Really? At home and away against Bulgaria.... he cost us 4 points in those 2 matches!

Are you 12 months old?

Better still, did you see the Bulgaria game at home? They were all over us - plenty of blame to go around.

Doyler must have more MoMs per games played than any regular Irish International ever.

Are you 12 months old?

Better still, did you see the Bulgaria game at home? They were all over us - plenty of blame to go around.

In all fairness we were going grand till he kicked the ball in his own net.:pac:

....he was always known as trigger!

Because of non-footballing stuff like the pizza debacle lol

Are you 12 months old?

I'll ignore the stupid first question.
    Kilbane has never been up to the mark. He gives it his all and fair play to him for that but he is not good enough and he never was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Doyler must have more MoMs per games played than any regular Irish International ever.

He always gets it! Doesn't always deserve it really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

who was MOTM?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Better performance in the first half. Still, win's a win!

Love Doyle, a model of consistency. Average game overall, good to get the win on the board.
    If McShane is dropped permanently I think the squad is in a good place.