Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parent & Baby/Toddler Meet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Ditto :) I've googled Merrion Square park so have a rough idea of where it is.
    According to the interweb the nearest car parks would be either Stephens Green or Drury st. car park.

Feckin dreading the thoughts of driving in that part of the city as I know its completely changed since I used to drive around there :o

If its the Phoenix park location, is it near the Castleknock gateway? and is it signposted when you get into the park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

yeah i think in the phoenix park it's in the castleknock gate, up the road go left and follow the road round to the zoo.. that one i can do.. i never driven further than the mater on my own.. i've a vague idea how to get there but it different putting it into practice!! :D god i'm such a woman :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Grawns

Will we stick to the phoenix park then. It occurs to me that in addition to parking issues merrion square could be mobbed by kids and their families and it might be a bit much for the toddlers. Will mine anyway as she's a bit timid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭hacked

Ok so Phoenix Park.

What time?

Who is coming?

What's the food list?

And what else could we use for the picnic?

Actually...who is our leader? We need someone to tke charge and get details!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Food list is at the top... I'm not sure which playground is better... but I'll find out, if everyone wants to PM me their number I can organise to camp out early and if people don't know where they're going then give them directions... is there a playground near enough to the Parkgate St entrance?

Would 1pm suit everyone??

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

1pm is good:)

We can be a bit earlier if needs be.

I have no problem taking the details.

I was going to upload a spreadsheet with what we need and who is coming but it would cause more issues then it would help.

Remember as well as food we need Blankets etc and bringing toddlers and other stuff is akward for those on Public transport.

Also I suggest we situate ourselves way away from the main road as toddlers can be a bit faster then mommies!

ok that all suits me! Does anyone like tuna fish? If so I can make tuna sandwhiches, and maybe bring some crisps or popcorn too.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

http://www.farmleigh.ie is supposed to be a lovely venue within the phoenix park for kids and picnics.

We sort of need to set an exact place that every one knows where we mean!

http://www.phoenixpark.ie/

Yep 1pm suits me grand :)

1pm suits me too..

There is a playground at the parkgate street entrance. If you're coming from town, you enter the peoples gardens on the right after you come in the main gates at Parkgate Street - proceed right, down a slight hill. The playground is at the bottom. There is a great duck pond beside it with lots of cygnets and ducks.

The playground at the visitors centre is bigger and better though but awkward to get to if you're walking. I will make it to either though as I think I can get the bus to the visitors centre from parkgate street.

1pm is perfect but I have no idea what food to bring :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭lolly22

I shall be here and can make this if I find where it is :cool: But what is left to bring .........drinks :confused: non alcoholic ofcourse :pac:

food,drinks, goodies!

Count me in so, one more question, anyone else heading to phoenix park from town? Only, my sense of direction is crap even with map's ...

Depending on which one we're going to I'll either be going to town or going to the Ashtown gate entrance... I'll be bussing, forgot himself was in Manchester til Sunday afternoon (silly me :o )

yeah ill bet gettingthe DART into town.

lolly22 wrote: »
    Count me in so, one more question, anyone else heading to phoenix park from town? Only, my sense of direction is crap even with map's ...

Me too :o I'm going to chance getting off the M50 at the Blanch exit, go through Castleknock to the gate there and hope to God the signs in the park are good :D

I'm down to mini bannoffee's only, my sister forgot to make the cupcakes :(

Well then if anyone wants to meet up in town send me a pm and ill give you my number.

EDIT: Just checked weather for tomorow it isnt looking too good!

Just seen your FB status... out doors might not be such a good idea :|

Indoors picnic.........

Where are we meeting exactly? :confused: I can't guarentee I will recognise anyone from last time as I'm a bit of a bimbo when it comes to names, faces and directions :o

Parkgate st playground/visitor centre payground/farmleigh(It is easy to find)?

Which one is best?
    Are any of these near a bandstand if it rains?

Whichever one is nearest Parkgate St is near a bandstand I think... down the hill near the tea rooms across from the Zoo?

The nearest bandstand to parkgate street is 10 minute walk and it's not in good nick. Don't know about the visitors centre or farmleigh.

Maybe we should finalize the venue in the morning when the weather is here :)

Might be the best idea, I'm not sure if I'll be able to get online in the morning with getting the two girls ready and myself etc so if I PM one of you my number could you text me and let me know?

There's a big horrible rain cloud right over my house right now :(

yep looks like a showery day alright.. but i've the flapjacks made and all the salad for the wraps so .... i'll bring an umbrella.. :D

I'm up in Dublin tonight & the weather isn't looking great :( fingers crossed it'll improve by tomorrow :)

Really need to get myself motivated, these bannoffee's wont make themselves :rolleyes:

Ok I'm stupid, is the parkgate entrance the one nearest to the zoo?
    Or is it the one near the North Circular road?
    Is it well signposted in there? :o

I need to get motivated too Caprilicious, too bloody hot atm, but ill get baking after my coffee and if it starts to rain tomorow (hopefully not) ill eat cake all day for everyone :D

Are you really all baking? I'm so lame. I'm bringing monster munch :eek:

Seriously Bridget is really fussy lately so I will be just bringing her usual snacks. As for me, I'm atkinsing so peanuts probably.:)

I hope it doesn't rain but if it does at least the flowers in my garden will get a watering :D

i'm not baking cos i love it (although i do) i can't eat dairy so my stuff has none... but everyone else is welcome to eat it too...:)

Yum :pac:

im without money for the weekend, so i'll probably jsut be bringing mini cheddars and maybe some sandwhiches!

hehe i know the feeling.. children's allowance on tuesday:D:D
    :Di've 2 lunch boxes of flapjacks and i'll have about 14 wraps(more if i defrost some)...
    i've to leave 2 at home for trev to have when he gets back from paris.. :eek::pac: poor pet he's having a 5 course meal and champagne tonight...

So it's very windy and dull where im at but not raining, is this still a go ahead?

Raining out here in Blanchardstown at the moment :(

Is it too early to make a call on the weather yet? I'm over in Skerries, its not lashing but very windy & cold :(

It was grey and windy here on the southside this morning, the wind has now died down...but I could really use some info soon please!!

not looking good, will we give it a bit more time or is there any point??

Well... cbyrd has to travel from Navan and crazy cat lady from Wicklow I think...

The tree in my front garden looks like it's about to snap in half :o

Sorry to be a pain...it's just that if I dont get a yay or a nay soon I might have to bail. Will be needing to catch a DART just after 11ish to meet Lolly in town for 12, and if i miss a DART There won't be abother for forever! Silly sunday transport.

Well... cbyrd has to travel from Navan and crazy cat lady from Wicklow I think...

The tree in my front garden looks like it's about to snap in half :o

Well all i could read from that was

YES lets go ahead

then

No not a good idea

which one is it to be :pac: :P

I live beside the park but if I was coming from any distance I would be naying at this stage. Windy with the possibility of getting soaked - not fun. No shame in cancelling. It will probably be glorious at 1pm though - madcap weather.

What about next sunday?

I agree with Grawns, I'm close enough to Phoenix Park too (10 minutes in car) and it's horrible windy here an raining on and off. I think it would be best to call it off. I'm going to text cbyrd and let her know...

Next Sunday is good for me, don't know about anybody else... Maybe we should try a back up of indoors for next weekend just in case?

Ok so im taking this as a no go, Hacked sadly we wont be able to meet up today :(

Count me in for next Sunday we should check the weather during the week though and have a back up plan!!!

Yeah, we should have had a back up, would have made things easier. Oh well! This is just the typical Irish weather laughing in our face as always :)

i know lolly, bummer! But I'll meet you next time for sure :)

Very Rainy and windy here in Maynooth....
    I am just worried that people may have already left home.

On another note there is a big fun day in Dunboyne castle today if anyone lives near.

little bit infuriating...but it is now blue skies and sun where i am here in south county!