Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are most of the Garda in this country such f^%king pricks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

messrs wrote: »
    have to say OP i agree with you - i seriously cannot stand them!

I have to agree. I find them arrogant, rude, rule-breaking and most seem to have a "I-am-the-law-what-are-you-going-to-do-about it" attitude.

There have been some numerous posts over the years on boards.ie of the Gardai abusing their power or being overly aggressive to members of the public for trivial matters.

For example, a poster a couple of months ago, stated how he was verbally attacked by a Gardai because he pulled into a petrol station just before a checkpoint.

It it little surprise to me, that when they get grumble about their super-annuated high-overtime wages, the public have little sympathy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

k_mac wrote: »
    If there is no sign there would have been road markings. If not just take a picture. Send the picture and a copy of the fine to the local super with a letter explaining why the ticket was wrongly issued. If you are right and there was no sign or road markings he can cancel the ticket.

Thanks for the advice, I think I will do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

magicface1 wrote: »
    Your 29 years old... Your acting like a 17 18 year old giving out about a crap mistake YOU made... I know the garda may have over reacted but ffs. Coming on bitching about every garda over one persons actions and if you make €60 euro every 30 minutes thats €120 per hour (can I ask what job your in and are they employing?).

and are you in work at the moment? If so you've just made €120 for bitching about guards for an hour. Not bad going !

Your 29 years old... Your acting like a 17 18 year old giving out about a crap mistake YOU made... I know the garda may have over reacted but ffs. Coming on bitching about every garda over one persons actions and if you make €60 euro every 30 minutes thats €120 per hour (can I ask what job your in and are they employing?).

Im a software consultant, and no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭magicface1

kjl wrote: »
    Im a software consultant, and no.

nice... do you seriously get paid €120 per hour or was that a over reaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

stovelid wrote: »
    You make this sound unavoidable - like a genetic condition or a disease.

To be honest, I can't even take valid criticism of the Gardai seriously from people like yourself and the OP because if this is the (no doubt sanitized/subjective) account you're both giving to us here, fuck knows what you are actually like on the road in real life.

I know. I'm a serial rapist. I do 140 on the motorway, which is clearly a 120 zone. I should be locked up for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

kjl wrote: »
    If you had to deal with the cocksucker I did today you would feel exactly the same way.

The Garda's probably sayin the same thing in fairness.

nice... do you seriously get paid €120 per hour or was that a over reaction?

It works out at about that. But I only do about 5 hours of consulting a day. The rest is travel and paper work.

Well folks, I figured I would vent my frustrations here, clearly to no avail :)

But I'm afraid elvis is correct, I do need to be doing some work now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know. I'm a serial rapist. I do 140 on the motorway, which is clearly a 120 zone. I should be locked up for life.

Kind of proves my point really.

People like you would be getting a truncheon endoscopy if I was a traffic guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Garda bashing makes Baby Jesus Garda commissioner cry.