Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Gamer

Options
  • 27-05-2010 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Hey guys,

So I've been saving up for a new gaming pc build for two years and I think I'm ready to start buying. I'm pretty out of the loop when it comes to the recent stuff so I need some advice. My budget is around 2200.

Basically it's purely for gaming, I need everything except OS, mouse and keyboard. I plan to overclock a lot.

CPU: i5 or i7?
    GPU: Would love either one or two 5970's but are they worth the money?
    RAM: Not too pushed anything around 8gb to keep me going
    PSU: Corsair HX100?
    HDD: Samsung F3 2tb
    Case: Cooler Master 932, would it fit 2x 5970's?
    Moniter: Samsung 24" 1920x1080

Any ideas guys?

Comments

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

IMHO for Lunacy Booth builds its more about either style or overwhelming power, and if its the latter then its pointless to mention Quadfire and 1080p in the same sentence. Find some >1080p (2560*1600 and up!) >24" monitor first otherwise the dual HD5970s are an utter waste quite possible even in Metro :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Boom_Boom

What would you recommend then? One 5970 or something smaller?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Deano12345

Oh... I love these type of builds !

Go with an i7 920/930 + a Gigabyte UD-Series motherboard - Good for 4+ GHz easily

6GB of Ram is plenty for ANYTHING. Everyone has their favourite ram, I like G.Skill (Check out the Ripjaws) and Corsair (XMS3 and Dominator ranges)

5970 by 2. Do you need it ? No.