Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of seeing people dealing every morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭tiocimarla

i must be the only person that will give them a few bob i hate seeing people strung out they probaly need the money more than i do

Even though they are gonna buy gear or drink with it, you may have saved some poor misfortunate getting mugged when you did that. Fair play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

M.J.M.C wrote: »
    Solution: Gas chambers.

Worked for Hitler and the Jews

But, M.J.M.C, the Nazi's didn't cure anything! The Jews are still rampant. Those do-gooders are all a bunch of pitiful losers. Every last one of them. Wan't results? You have to go to the Schwarzeneggers, the Stallones, and, to a lesser extent the Van Dammes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

trellheim wrote: »

Now, if we hassled the dealers we might get somewhere.
    The hospital, probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Thepones wrote: »
    Every morning I get off the train at Tara St. 90% of the time on my two minute walk crossing the bridge towards Liberty hall I see loads of head the balls buying gear. Its nearly every morning! Do the cops not know this! Everyone getting off that train does

On a few occasions I have seen people handing packages from a car window to some fella on the side of the road and speeding off. Then there is a stream of junkies filing up to him.

I know that dealing is rife in town, and everyone could probably name 2-3 places they know of. People will argue that if the cops move them on they will just go somewhere else. I get that - but then again, why make it easy for them. Its every morning!!!
    Get off at Connolly station.
    Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

......and all of this is surprising why? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Problem solved.

His ticket might not allow him to go that far.

Fart wrote: »
    His ticket might not allow him to go that far.

! Nah just meant the whole thread, news......old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

--LOS-- wrote: »
    ! Nah just meant the whole thread, news......old

Haha tricked ya.

Fart wrote: »
    Haha tricked ya.

I did think it tasted a bit different all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dazd_N_Confusd

God Irish people really are justa bunch of moaners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

trellheim wrote: »
    Well they do this at Talbot St. because

a: they can shelter under the bridge when it rains.

b: Dealer McDope doesn't have far to go from the DART station, his customers are waiting for him.

c: Nobody really hassles them so they keep going back there.

Now, if we hassled the dealers we might get somewhere.

a: no they don't, they are never under that bridge, they do sometimes be under the bridge at connolly station, a lot of em hand around foley st.
    b: dealer mcdope - gets a dart, i think not, too complicated, a push bike is usually transport of choice
    c: now whos going to hassle junkies, best ignored, however the garda do the odd time -they need to step this up

i know this as i work in Connolly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

We witnessed a mugging of a girl 2 weeks ago in the same area. Not only that but we saw were the mugger's were . I went into Pearse street Garda station and told them if they go no , they will get the guys . They told me that they will put the word out as they cant go right now as they are too busy. They took my name and i have heard nothing .
    Then this week a work colligue of mine was mugged in the exact same place.

Where exactly is this street, Marlborough st? It seems odd you went way over to Pearse st if it happened on Marlborough st. Anyway, let us know so the rest of us can be aware.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 DoIMakeUHorny?

I understand your concern about the public showing of blatant drug dealing and it can have a bad affect on the said neighbourhood, however, I believe in liberty to the fullest. Let a man do whatever he wants, it's his body.

Perhaps, they should do it all down some back alley. Whatever they want to do with their life is fine by me, no problems, I'm just embarrassed that visitors/tourists with a less open mind may see things differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

Truley wrote: »
    Jaaaysus Joe, isn't it tewible Joe :rolleyes:

Seriouly though some of you guys need to get out more. If seeing a few junkies on your way to work is your biggest inconvienience then you haven't much to complain about. Just be thankful you don't have any real problems in your life.
    Problem solved.

Nope, ye're the ones who need to get out more... Try walking out of the block where you're living in the city centre only to be met by a bunch of used syringes in the lobby.

This crap destroys lives and communities and the OP is right that ignoring the problem isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Well I suppose it's a change from seeing someone getting mugged for a few quid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

I see these guys ever day too.I see about 3 deals a day but i only see the Garda giving tickets to people on their mobile phones stuck in traffic or Taxi Drivers.

We witnessed a mugging of a girl 2 weeks ago in the same area. Not only that but we saw were the mugger's were . I went into Pearse street Garda station and told them if they go no , they will get the guys . They told me that they will put the word out as they cant go right now as they are too busy. They took my name and i have heard nothing .
    Then this week a work colligue of mine was mugged in the exact same place.

Maybe by mistake, you gave the cops your work colligue's name and number? before they put the word out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

if they dont bother you, leave it be, its going to happen, dress like them, say hi occasionaly and try to fit in, then your peers can pressure you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Marlo be trippin ya ll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Happynappy

mikom wrote: »
    I know they call Dubs West Brits, but like........

Good luck with that comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Considering how small the city centre is really its ridiculous that the police can not get a hand on blatant drug dealing. I just came back to Ireland for a 5 week break and ever ytime I got off the bus on Marlborough St I felt like I was walking a f*cking gauntlet of scum before I got to the quays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

df1985 wrote: »
    Id imagine it would just be a time consuming pointless exercise to just keep moving them on. Not to mention a waste of time and taxpayers money to arrest them only for them to go through the courts and be released again with a conviction they couldnt give two ****s about. serious flaws in the system.

In a way though, we all know where they are e.g the boardwalk from o connell bridge down to liberty hall, and for the most part as a result we can avoid them and turn a blind eye to it rightly or wrongly.If i were to sit on the boardwalk for whatever reason i know to sit at a different place.If they were dotted all over town i might find it more irritating. now if only we could keep the gypsies all in the one bloody place and avoid like the plague.....

don't forget the blacks,browns,jews,spic's,gays and the great unwashed:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

strobe wrote: »
    But, M.J.M.C, the Nazi's didn't cure anything! The Jews are still rampant..

Cure - Jews - "still rampant"!.

Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

i know its sad these people should be able to buy it in a shop and not off criminals in the street.people should be able to do as they please so long as they dont interfear with anyones free will.abolish petty laws they are a hinderence on the people
    does it really matter once you give someone money it is theres to keep regardless if they work, dole whatever they should be free to spend there money on whatever they like

Do you seriously believe this lot are working for their drugs? They are interfering with people. They intimidate people, rob, steal and beg....puke everywhere

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

One idiot has been booted for his "Jews" comment, the rest of you would be best to remember our civility rules around here. Racism is not big nor clever.

It just makes you look like a paste-licking monobrow.

DeV.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Maki, I took Strobes comment to be an ironic joke at the expense of MJMC. I've given him the benefit of the doubt.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

DeVore wrote: »
    Maki, I took Strobes comment to be an ironic joke at the expense of MJMC. I've given him the benefit of the doubt.

DeV.

Woo, sorry I didn't even report it. Its cool with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Baltinglass isn't a town, it's a hole in the ground ;)

Whats the story with bringing up Baltinglass in this?

Oh and for the record that guy Larry Murphy is not from Baltinglass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Nope, ye're the ones who need to get out more... Try walking out of the block where you're living in the city centre only to be met by a bunch of used syringes in the lobby.

This crap destroys lives and communities and the OP is right that ignoring the problem isn't good enough.

I lived in the Liberties for four years as well as worked in homeless shelters and drug rehabilitation clinics, so don't tell me I don't know what goes on in Dublin :rolleyes:

Drugs destroy lives and communities, so does Alcohol, so does abuse. The OPs issue wasn't with the damaging effects of herion. People here are complaining of the unsightliness of having to see people blatantly use it in public.

The majority of people here have little to no direct experience with herion and it's effects, and I think you are being naive by thinking the Gardai sould be doing something to keep addicts away from the sight of the delicate public. They have an addiction, that doesn't make them lesser human beings than you. You are lucky your only complaint is seeing a few needles in the street.

Personally I prefer to be able to see what's going on rather that have the less charming aspects of society swept under the carpet to appease the a few middle class wingers. I have had more trouble/harrassment from drunken student in the inner city than I ever had with the addicts, I rarely hear people complain about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

We're dealing with drugs the way alcohol was dealt with in Prohibition, and with the same effect - creating a powerful and wealthy criminal elite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I lived in the Liberties for four years as well as worked in homeless shelters and drug rehabilitation clinics, so don't tell me I don't know what goes on in Dublin :rolleyes:

Drugs destroy lives and communities, so does Alcohol, so does abuse. The OPs issue wasn't with the damaging effects of herion. People here are complaining of the unsightliness of having to see people blatantly use it in public.

The majority of people here have little to no direct experience with herion and it's effects, and I think you are being naive by thinking the Gardai sould be doing something to keep addicts away from the sight of the delicate public. They have an addiction, that doesn't make them lesser human beings than you. You are lucky your only complaint is seeing a few needles in the street.

Personally I prefer to be able to see what's going on rather that have the less charming aspects of society swept under the carpet to appease the a few middle class wingers. I have had more trouble/harrassment from drunken student in the inner city than I ever had with the addicts, I rarely hear people complain about them.

Ok... you raise some points ... they have an addiction ... whoop de doo .... are they trying to do anything to beat this addiction ?

...... most of them .... NOOOOOO ...

they continue to (apologies for the generalisation) ....they continue to rob, mug and steal in order to get money for a "fix"

Personally I have seen so many people strung out in the middle of the day...shuffling along not noticing the traffic or dangers around them, or curled up in a ball with drool coming out of their mouths, completely incapacitated.

The problem is we dont have the money/facilities to help them.... and they (for the most part) ....dont want help !! - the few that go into drug rehab and come out clean is wiped out by the many who go through the system (purely for so they get a lighter sentence in court) ....eventually when they complete a drug rehab clinic.... where do they go.... back on the streets into the same situation they were in before ... blinded by "friends" giving them fixes.

Junkies are still scum and a plague on society.... they intimidate, rob and steal from ordinary people, gardai should be given permission to take them off the streets for longer - the current system means they are charged and released...so back on the streets within hours..... most of them dont have or wont give an address for the court summons so they are not before the courts.
    They have an addiction, that doesn't make them lesser human beings than you.
    yes it does ! - they are sub-human because the do not even try to beat their addiction, most of them live with their addiction and see the daily muggings/robberies as part of their life - they dont see the effects their actions have on people and THEY DONT CARE !!.

junkies quickly become career criminals (even if it is small time - robberies/muggings etc) - they dont care about the consequences of getting caught because the sentences are light and risk of getting caught is fairly low (due to lack of numbers of Gardai on the streets and also lack of interest in catching them...no offence to the Gardai but their idea is go after the big fish and that will stop the smaller dealers/junkies from hurting society....I think this is wrong and the best way to clean up the streets is to increase presence and increase powers to gardai.( unfortunately this will prob lead to some gardai abusing powers...its inevitable)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Insurgent wrote: »
    I think it's well establised now that any post in AH that refers to a town means Dublin. Skangers.

Ahhhhh. A culchie with the hump over Dublin Drug dealing. How Charming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭altairscreed

laugh wrote: »
    Whats the story with bringing up Baltinglass in this?

Oh and for the record that guy Larry Murphy is not from Baltinglass.

OH WELL SOMEONE'S OBSESSED WITH BALTINGLASS :rolleyes: Is everyone upsetting you slagging off your precious little town (hole in the ground) if you live there then you should know that it deserves to be slagged off, for being crap above anything else:D

Well said PCPhoto. Its their choice to use drugs, no-one forced them into that lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

OH WELL SOMEONE'S OBSESSED WITH BALTINGLASS :rolleyes: Is everyone upsetting you slagging off your precious little town (hole in the ground) if you live there then you should know that it deserves to be slagged off, for being crap above anything else:D

Nah, I know some people from there though, I was just curious why it was brought up, is there some in joke I'm missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

gurramok wrote: »
    Well said PCPhoto. Its their choice to use drugs, no-one forced them into that lifestyle.

well...I dont think I said that !!

yes - junkies suffer from an addiction ... but the majority ...DONT make any attempts to get away from their addiction (unless its gonna lead to a smaller jail sentence - and then they'll usually go back on the stuff)

some junkie kids are born with the addiction - due to muppet junkie parents shooting up during pregnancy

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

carlop wrote: »
    The other day I was taking 62 Spanish kids on a tour to Dublinia (I'm an English teacher, not some kind of super paedophile). We got off the bus at Wood Quay and as we were walking up to Christchurch passed two junkies dealing.

Their reaction was pretty funny, I heard one ask the other 'what should we do?' and the guy selling just tells him its fine and starts saying hello to all the kids as they're filing past him and being generally overly nice saying things like 'great day were having' and 'lovely afternoon for a walk.'

Now that's a super power.

Annoys me when they deal in the toilet of somewhere and I need to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

PCPhoto wrote: »
    Ok... you raise some points ... they have an addiction ... whoop de doo .... are they trying to do anything to beat this addiction ?

And you know that do you? Funny because I worked for two years in a rehabilitation centre and demand for the service far outweighed the resources we had. Yes, people do try to come off herion, it's not an easy thing to do you know.
    yes it does ! - they are sub-human because the do not even try to beat their addiction, most of them live with their addiction and see the daily muggings/robberies as part of their life - they dont see the effects their actions have on people and THEY DONT CARE !!.

How many heroin addicts do you know? How can you say they don't care, Have you ever talked to a heroin addict? From my experience they very much do care, nobody is affected by the consequences of their actions more than the person themselves. They are well aware of it believe me.

And as for your view of them as sub-human. I have conversed for hours in discussion groups with heroin addicts, and do you know what the hardest part of it all was for most of these men? People like you. The looks of distain they got from members of the public. The isolation they felt. Remember a huge majority of these men came from our government's wonderful care system. They have lived on the margins of society their whole lives, they don't know any different.

I knew one recovering addict who took his daughter (who he rarely got to see) to Mc Donald's and was asked to leave by staff because they didn't like the way he looked. Not a big deal to someone like you, but to this guy, who was beginning to get his life back together, was dealing with the demons of his past, had finally got a days access to his child, it was a huge kick in the teeth, more than someone like you could imagine. I sat with him later that day while he cried his eyes out. This is the kind of thing they face every single day, with little to no social or familial support. Who are you to say they are not trying to get help? What have you done to make things better?

Trust me you are lecturing to the wrong person, I actually have first - hand experience with addicts, unlike 99% of people on this thread.

People like your really scare me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

M.J.M.C wrote: »
    Solution: Gas chambers.

Worked for Hitler and the Jews

Not really, Hitler is gone but the Jews are still here.

some junkie kids are born with the addiction - due to muppet junkie parents shooting up during pregnancy

Thats a tiny unfortunate minority.:(
    And you know that do you? Funny because I worked for two years in a rehabilitation centre and demand for the service far outweighed the resources we had. Yes, people do try to come off herion, it's not an easy thing to do you know.

Who forced them to take heroin in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I knew one recovering addict who took his daughter (who he rarely got to see) to Mc Donald's and was asked to leave by staff because they didn't like the way he looked.

I very much doubt that is true. McDonald's aren't exactly know for their exclusive policies. Basically if you have all your clothes on they'll serve you. More likely he had tried to rob the place IMO. And before you tell me I don't know anything about addicts I'll consider myself as one of the 1%.

I grew up surrounded by them, I feel sorry for them in a way but at the end of the day I feel more sorry for the poor bastard whose house they've just robbed, the girl left terrified when her handbag is snatched, the tourist with a syringe to his throat or the small businessman who has half a dozen of them outside shouting and fighting scaring off his customers.

The OPs issue wasn't with the damaging effects of herion. People here are complaining of the unsightliness of having to see people blatantly use it in public.

Fair enough, looking back at the OP's post that looks like what they're complaining about alright.
    They have an addiction, that doesn't make them lesser human beings than you.

Moralise much? :rolleyes:

Where the devil did I imply that? A couple of my mates are/were addicts - I don't think I'm better than them. Jeesh...
    You are lucky your only complaint is seeing a few needles in the street.

Maybe I'm lucky but that's all well and good until some kid starts playing with these needles...

I agree with you here, and yeah, I've had far more problems with drunken students than addicts too come to think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

thebullkf wrote: »
    don't forget the blacks,browns,jews,spic's,gays and the great unwashed:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I have no problem with any of them, even the unwashed:) just wish theyd use a bit of deodorant.....

Yes, that's right - people who don't shape up to your definition of human are sub-human.

Not exactly new, you might be interested in this chap's ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Yes, that's right - people who don't shape up to your definition of human are sub-human.

Not exactly new, you might be interested in this chap's ideas.

Ah FFS I know 2 people who have been mugged on Marlborough street, one had his Ipod and €50 stolen at 9 a.m. in the morning, the other had a knife pulled on him and only had €30. If you can't see that there's a problem when multiple other people on the thread have talked about people being mugged then just keep your head in the sand. I personally don't like having the risk of being mugged just for getting the bus into town

Also the first guy they let him keep €5 for his lunch :rolleyes: Maybe we should go give them a medal, probably more than the police will do anyway...

Liam O wrote: »
    Ah FFS I know 2 people who have been mugged on Marlborough street, one had his Ipod and €50 stolen at 9 a.m. in the morning, the other had a knife pulled on him and only had €30. If you can't see that there's a problem when multiple other people on the thread have talked about people being mugged then just keep your head in the sand. I personally don't like having the risk of being mugged just for getting the bus into town

Right, so we should call them sub-human with all that has historically entailed so yer mate can get his 50 Euro and his Ipod back...

If you were to say this about our politicians/bankers then we might be talking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Right, so we should call them sub-human with all that has historically entailed so yer mate can get his 50 Euro and his Ipod back...

If you were to say this about our politicians/bankers then we might be talking ;)

You've clearly completely missed the point of my post. What's it going to take? I hear about people getting stabbed there every week and is it going to take a multiple death in one night for anything to change? The Guards take unopened drink off me and my friends if on a night out we bring 1 or 2 cans into town (quote Dublin City bylaws or some crap) but yet they can sit on the boardwalk with a bag of cans and joints and nobody does anything.

You've clearly completely missed the point of my post. What's it going to take? I hear about people getting stabbed there every week and is it going to take a multiple death in one night for anything to change?

If you hear about stabbings every week they're obviously all done by addicts... But even assuming this is true, how will regarding them as sub-human change any of this?
    The Guards take unopened drink off me and my friends if on a night out we bring 1 or 2 cans into town (quote Dublin City bylaws or some crap) but yet they can sit on the boardwalk with a bag of cans and joints and nobody does anything.

Well, I'm living in the city centre and have never had any problems from the guys on the board walk, but have had a few run ins drunk students, so it's probably just a case of the Gardai doing their job and going after the people most likely to cause trouble.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 164 ✭✭yogy

Talbot St. is Baltimore's Hamsterdam..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Jaaaysus Joe, isn't it tewible Joe :rolleyes:

Seriouly though some of you guys need to get out more. If seeing a few junkies on your way to work is your biggest inconvienience then you haven't much to complain about. Just be thankful you don't have any real problems in your life.

Nonsense, every day i cycle by tonnes of them on amiens st going to work, when i take my breaks at work i'm surrounded by them too. I hear them all day out my office window screaming at each other.
    I don't want to look at them, it's disgusting. Plus, there are loads of them around Talbot st etc, and a lot of tourists stay in cheap accommodation in this area, not a good advert for Ireland is it?
    Try being surrounded by the b*stards all day every day and come back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I understand your concern about the public showing of blatant drug dealing and it can have a bad affect on the said neighbourhood, however, I believe in liberty to the fullest. Let a man do whatever he wants, it's his body.

Perhaps, they should do it all down some back alley. Whatever they want to do with their life is fine by me, no problems, I'm just embarrassed that visitors/tourists with a less open mind may see things differently.

Problem is with how addictive drugs like Heroine and others like Methamphetamine, Crack Cocaine etc are is that it's not just some junkie mucking up their body, they also often cause a lot of crime and disruption in society fueling this habit.

Let a man smoke Marijuana, let a man take Cocaine if he can control the addiction. Heroine and Meth IMO are out of the question though, I've never heard of a person who could control such a habit nor have I come across a person who gave up on their own without rehab / another form of drug such as Methadone.

You really don't understand how addictive Heroine is do you? It's practically impossible to give up without being cut off from the supply and taking a substitute to wean one's self off it. Do you even know what happens to someone's body during Heroine withdrawal?

How many addicts have you encountered or dealt with in a charitable manner? From my own experience like another has mentioned from his work in the Libertys, any rehab service is greatly outweighed with demand for help over the supply of help they can give. Methadone scripts really do **** all for Heroine addicts unless they're in a secure environment where they don't have access to Heroine, these places only really exist in isolated rehab clinics, our jail system is useless in this respect as they're filled with drugs of all kinds.

The only successful program I've seen work for dealing with Heroine addicts was done by a Scandinavian country (forget which one exactly) where Heroine addicts were given an easy enough job, a small studio apartment type government owned and they were provided with clean needles and Heroine in a government owned medical clinic. The amount of Heroine given to them was slowly reduced each week to wean them off it. This is the only successful method I've seen of weaning addicts of Heroine and giving them a future once they are off it and clean.