Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's in a name? Fun-only Weekend-politics-free zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

Now woddle’s a diff-er-ent sort
    Presented as DP’s cohort
    More subtle is he
    Though ‘Ban them’ says he
    There’s plenty more there to retort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Pherekydes I prefer Pythagoras

Our Slogger's at home in the hills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Woddle wrote: »

Only if you look at it from the right angle! :o

There was a runner named slogger
    but sure he was only a bogger
    He liked his hills
    but they didn't pay the bills
    So now he's only a jogger

Our Slogger’s at home in the hills
    Regardless of how many spills
    He rubs off the dirt
    And says “I’m not hurt”
    To him, its a battle of wills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Oh how cruel. Pythagoras was taken. My next username will be Theano. :D

/runs (ambles very slowly) off and cries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Now woddle’s a diff-er-ent sort
    He hydrated on guinness and port
    he fell off the pace,
    in a flatulent race,
    But his smell was the fastest in sport.

So if this is just weekend fun, does this thread have to be deleted on Monday morning, depriving people of having a good read at work....em,,,,, i mean during a coffee break...:rolleyes:

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Oh how cruel. Pythagoras was taken. My next username will be Theano. :D

/runs (ambles very slowly) off and cries.

Alltogethernow, (swaying) "Theanooo, theanooooo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

I gotta grab a beer for this... need to help get teh creativity to flow :)

Yeah, hurry up KingQueen, you need to catch up with us! :-)(

kingQuez wrote: »
    I gotta grab a beer for this... need to help get teh creativity to flow :)

16242_197896823027_538743027_2947638_4915221_n.jpg

Aimman wrote: »
    So if this is just weekend fun, does this thread have to be deleted on Monday morning, depriving people of having a good read at work....em,,,,, i mean during a coffee break...:rolleyes:

Absolutely, Monday is the cutoff. Then we get all serious and moody again about Big Running Matters. Then it'll be the weekend again, yahh-hooo!

Now Aimman's a little forthright

Has Kinky got his beer yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

It'll probably get locked soon 'cos we've strayed from the original topic and nothing original is being added to the discussion :)

<snip> see I can do it too !

There was an ultraman wannabe
    who went by the name of Aimman
    He suffered from a case of BP
    And also goes by the name Eammon

Lame I know

and his training quite frankly was ****e
    so a little blood dopin'
    put an end to his mopin'
    now he's claiming all records in sight

<snip> see I can do it too !
    Damn! Secret's out. Mods are a figment of your imagination, all snipping is self-done by lonely attention seekers seeking sympathy.

His comments with hints of delight
    While some they do say
    His most pleasurable day
    Is modelling com-pression tights

lecheile wrote: »
    His comments with hints of delight
    While some they do say
    His most pleasurable day
    Is modelling com-pression tights

I only did it for the money! I was in college at the time, they said those photos would never be released! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Has Kinky got his beer yet?

Disaster! no beer in the house. Just as well, Wobble makes a good case against drinking too much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

He gives up without a big fight
    he stops with a wheeze
    In the least bit of breeze
    And now he can't run post for a fortnight.

Damn! Secret's out. Mods are a figment of your imagination, all snipping is self-done by lonely attention seekers seeking sympathy.

You mean the <snip>ing Mods do <snip> all around here? What a load of <snip>.

Aimman wrote: »
    You mean the <snip>ing Mods do <snip> all around here? What a load of <snip>.

See what an easy gig it is? Pay's great too, and four weeks paid vacation. I'm giving mod lessons for anyone who's interested, €35 per hour. Cash only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'm giving mod lessons for anyone who's interested, €35 per hour. Cash only.

That's a bit cheap! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

can I play catch up?

There was a young runner called Woddle
    Who thought being a stay at home dad was a doddle
    So he bought a new treadie
    And progress was steady
    Now in his boards vest he looks like a model

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    can I play catch up?

And progress was steady

You the man :D

That's a bit cheap! :pac:
    :confused::confused:<scratches his forty-year-old head and wonders if the kids now say "mod lessons" to mean something kinky/>:confused::confused:

can I play catch up?

And progress was steady

puke, get a room:D

:confused::confused:<scratches his forty-year-old head and wonders if the kids now say "mod lessons" to mean something kinky/>:confused::confused:

Right now, your this guy

shade.jpg

There was a strange a fellow from Leixlip
    Who could run at a bit of a clip
    From puttin' on races
    And takin' runners through paces
    It must nearly be time for a kip!

puke, get a room:D

[Very Slow]
    While riding in my Cadillac,
    What to my surprise.
    A little Nash Rambler was following me -
    About one third my size.
    The guy must�ve wanted to pass me up
    As he kept on tooting his horn. Beep! Beep!
    I�ll show him that a Cadillac
    Is not a car to scorn.
    Beep beep. Beep! Beep! Beep beep. Beep! Beep!
    His horn went beep beep beep. Beep! Beep!
    [Slow]
    I pushed my foot down to the floor
    To give the guy the shake.
    But the little Nash Rambler stayed right behind;
    He still had on his brake.
    He must have thought his car had more guts
    As he kept on tooting his horn. Beep! Beep!
    Is not a car to scorn.
    His horn went beep beep beep. Beep! Beep!
    [Normal]
    My car went into passing gear
    And we took off with gust.
    Soon we were doing ninety -
    Must�ve left him in the dust.
    When I peeked in the mirror of my car,
    I couldn�t believe my eyes:
    The little Nash Rambler was right behind -
    I think that guy could fly.
    His horn went beep beep beep.
    [Faster]
    Now we�re doing a hundred and ten -
    This certainly was a race.
    For a Rambler to pass a Caddy
    Would be a big disgrace.
    The guy must�ve wanted to pass me up
    As he kept on tooting his horn.
    Is not a car to scorn.
    His horn went beep beep beep.
    [Fastest]
    Now we�re doing a hundred and twenty -
    As fast as I could go.
    The Rambler pulled along side of me
    As if we were going slow.
    The fellow rolled down his window
    And yelled for me to hear,
    �Hey, Buddy, how can I get this car
    Out of second gear?!�
    Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep

A sprightly Beepbeep67,
    died and hit runner heaven,
    where all 10k pb's
    said low 33's
    and marathons 2 and 11.

Well this has been fun but gotta go to bed, no wife to get up with the baby in the morning :D

Donot fancied himself as an artist
    and canvassed against all that was capalist
    so they made him a mod
    to seek out anything fraud
    now he's planning to keep boards at it's finest

Donot fancied himself as an artist
    and canvassed against all that was capalist
    so they made him a mod
    to seek out anything fraud
    now he's planning to keep boards at it's finest revolt as a fascist
    :p

There once was a jogger called slogger
    who invested much time as a blogger
    then he moved to hills
    which suited his skills
    and for medals became a bit of a hogger

Damn you all!!! I've had rhyming couplets going through my head all night!!

The ones I can remember start with:

A genius is Krusty the Clown

Robin ph is a lad in a million (you can gues how this should end :))

Boards is an online type forum

Grand Fromage, we call him DeVore (pronounced as in more gore or say amore??)

Any takers??

who took up swimming for fear he might drown
    started off with a width
    but decided to quit
    now he's found on hills up and down

who never is found with a frown
    if you've a question on Garmin
    his knowledge is alarmin'
    from lock to scroll up and down

robinph is a lad in a million
    who is found downin gels by the billion
    now he likes training easy
    as the thought makes him quesy
    but in races he's found millin' them (say the last 2 words quickly :D)

robinph is a lad in a million
    Ran a race he did brill in
    Aft all the rushin'
    He found him a cushion,
    betwixt two busty Brazilians

Robin PH is a lad in a million
    Tried hard to find a friend for his pillion
    Last year by the Lee
    He mused “Could I fit three?”
    As he contemplated that pair who’re Brazilian

A genius is Krusty the clown
    Garmin manual he never puts down
    He knows how they tick
    Makes them run very slick
    He’s a tech Geek is what I have found!

Boards is an online-type forum
    Where one ought to show some decorum
    There’s plenty of chat
    And occasional spat
    With mods who can’t add two and two-um

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

can I play catch up?

And progress was steady

There was a old runner names Woddle
    Who said runnings a Doddle ;)
    But on the start mat ,
    His Garmin went splat
    An now he washed up like Glen Hoddle

I prefer beepbeeps :(:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I prefer beepbeeps :(:D

Its your fault for having a name that rymes with stuff :)