Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metalwork teaching

Options
2»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭daithi_lacha

your best bet is to check out the module outline, but it would be 40% of the written exam, which would be 20% of your whole module I'd imagine.... but double check it in the outline!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

Hows the drawing in the course lads?

hope to do woodwork teaching next year and hope to get an a1 in my DCG this June..

Is the course very practically orientated? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭canned_ulkc

RHunce - I'm in 3rd year WW and I love it. Things have changed for the last 2 years and I believe there will be 5 modules in the future rather than 6. Also, we got no solidworks until this year but they start it right away now (which makes sense given all did DCG rather than the old syllabus)

Personally, I think there are a few frustrations within the course and the workload is significant. In terms of how things are done; it's not a case of woodwork modules teaching you how to do woodwork and the education module taking on the teaching bit - it's about appropriate project work, covering the skills and an approach to teaching the relevant skills.

Some modules felt like filler up to now but maybe the reduction in module numbers will cure that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 10rooney10

well boys... whats the story with the first year materials labs -- if you miss one how much % do you lose and also how many can you miss altogether?

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭daithi_lacha

10rooney10 wrote: »
    also how many can you miss altogether?