Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't let the coward in your head, control the badass in your heart

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

IP Warm Up
    Kneehab
    Shoulderhab

S(1 or 2?)... I cant remember

Squats - 15 inch box
    60,80kg x12
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    140kg (3x5)
    160kg x5
    170kg x3
    180kg x3
    200kg x2

Jumped on the recording training bandwagon.. now, to figure out the technical crap involved in the vids magically being in my log.

Floor Press (Barbell)
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    140kg (3x5)

Hips were off the ground on the heavier sets.. essentially making it a decline floor press.

GHR
    BW (2x12)
    +10kg x12
    +20kg x12
    +30kg x12

These hurt in all the right places.

Pull Ups (dead hang)
    BW (2x8)
    +10kg x3
    +20kg x3
    +30kg x2... F*ck it anyway
    BW x10

OH Tricep Extension
    40kg (5x20)
    Ouch

Weighted Ab Stuff (Side to side things.. who knows what these are called..)
    10kg x40,40.. got bored
    20kg x30,30,30

Things I forgot to do...
    - Band Pulldowns
    - Side Bridge
    I'll do them on top of the next session

Still having bouts of dizziness and nausea.. have some sort of viral inner ear infection so my balance is a bit off.. felt kind of drunk walking to the gym, and thats the reason for the semi-conservative squatting. Felt like the gym was on a ship... so I guess this is what people who squat on swiss balls etc. are looking for... those people are stupid. I think a 15 inch box is high so I'll drop it next week, and increase the hell out of the mobility/stability work between now and then because today hurt. Haven't squatted in over two weeks though so I guess it was always going to. I hate pull-ups but everything else was grand. Got my MRI referall there yesterday, will get the ball rolling on that asap because its still bothering the sh*t out of me. Repetition stuff tomorrow, no drama. The button remains unpressed, who would have thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

COH wrote: »
    I I think a 15 inch box is high

It is.

It is.

Yep.

hahahahahaha.

Just watched the vid.

THey're only a foot high your grand. SPF wha. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I was thinking man, if you get a long off date from Teran I might be able to help out. I'm on his cancellation list at the mo just in case when this injury heals up I notice my lordosis has returned. If it hasn't I'll be coming off the list but I could ask for you to be given my spot. Ex and existing patients get preference so I'll probably get a date quicker than you. That's in theory now... if my back is fecked again you can kiss my ass.

kevpants wrote: »
    I was thinking man, if you get a long off date from Teran I might be able to help out. I'm on his cancellation list at the mo just in case when this injury heals up I notice my lordosis has returned. If it hasn't I'll be coming off the list but I could ask for you to be given my spot. Ex and existing patients get preference so I'll probably get a date quicker than you. That's in theory now... if my back is fecked again you can kiss my ass.

Made an appointment for Aug 29th.. if you ended up with a spot that you didn't need that would be great man, if not I appreciate the thought anyway.

Sunday... I think

A heap of stuff that I cant remember, and a few singles on 155 on the bench. Tasty.

Monday
    Warm up
    Knee Stuff
    Shoulder Stuff

Sumo Deadlift... 1st attempt
    60kg (2x loads)
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg x3
    140kg x3
    150kg x3
    160kg x3
    170kg x3
    180kg x3

Elevated Split Squat
    >25s x12

DM Mil Press
    30s (5x12)

Ab Rollouts
    (5x12)
    These arent easy anymore

Shrugs
    35,40,45,50,55s x12

Lat Pulldown.. gay
    (5x12)

Cable Pressdown
    stack (5x12)

Yesterday

Warm up x2
    Knee stuff
    Shoulder stuff

Front squats.. hadn't done these in a while
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    130kg x5
    140kg x5
    150kg x3
    155kg x3 (PR)

Grey Band Ab Pulldowns
    (5x20)

Supported DB RDLs.. aka the devil
    15,25,35,45,55kg x12 each leg

Barbell FloorPress
    60kg x10
    80kg x10
    100kg x10
    120kg x5
    140kg x3
    160kg x3 (PR)

Pull Ups
    BW (5x8)
    I'm far too swole for these anymore

GHR
    (5x10)

Too tired to do arm stuff at the end

F*cking awesome day all round

Today avec Liam and Daz
    DOMd to oblivion

Warm Up stuff

12inch box Squat.. coz goblet squats are too light
    100kg (5x12)
    Not pressing the button

Incline Bench
    60,70,80,90,100kg x12

Grey Band Ab Pulldown
    (5x20)

Russian Twists
    15kg plate
    (3x40)

Inverted Row
    (5x12)

Lat Raise
    12.5kg DBs
    (5x12)

EZ Bar Curls
    35kg (3x12)

See ya next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

I thought youd given up :P

I thought you'd stopped reading the logs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

I thought you'd stopped reading the logs.

im subbed to the good ones....

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Keep logging until you press the retard button..Youre going to need some time off then anyway :P

Warm up etc..

No deads today... even after two days off, 20 hours sleep, 300mgs difene, two massages, a tonne of mobility/stability work and about a billion calories my hamstring groin are still in agony.. that being said...

Step ups (18inch box, barbell)
    BW x12 each leg
    +20kg x12
    +40kg x12
    +60kg x12
    +80kg x8
    +100kg x8

Ab pulldown grey band
    5x20

Bench
    60,80,100kg x12
    110,120kg x3
    130kg (8x3)... easy.

DB row
    42.5,52.5,62.5,70kg x12

Back extension
    (5x12)

Hammercurl/facepulls
    (5x12)

Job done. My gf did her first IP'esque conditioning session today, apart from giving me the dirtiest looks ever during she loved it. The girl has textbook squat form too.. ive created a monster.. but its awesome.

Groin and hamstring in agony, and he does fucking step ups.

Yeah, it was either that or vag out...

Warm Up x2

Sumo Deadlift... Day 2
    40kg x12
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    100kg x12
    120kg x3
    140kg x3
    160kg x3
    180kg x3
    200kg x3

Elevated Split Squat (18inch Box, Barbell)
    BW x12 each leg
    +20kg x12
    +30kg x12
    +40kg x12
    +50kg x10
    +60kg x10

Kettlebell Sit-Ups
    8kg x12
    16kg x12
    24kg x12
    32kg x12

DB Military Press
    32.5kg dbs
    (5x12)

Lat Pulldown/Dumbbell Shrugs/Cable Pressdown
    (5x12)

The deads were easy.. Like really really easy. I could have knocked out a few more reps, but I'm getting an MRI tomorrow morning as it is so lets not tempt fate. Loads in the tank on the split squats, but quite sore after the step-ups yesterday so a conservative enough effort. One eye on wednesdays front squatting session too. Everything else was just graaaaaaand. Was talking to a doc yesterday who trains in my gym who actually put money on me having a partial anterior disc herniation south of L4.. what kind of assh*le makes a bet like that!

That's what i had. Disc Fwwwwwieennnd.

Warm up
    More warming up
    And even more warming up...
    Lots of shoulder/knee stuff with bands

Front Squats
    20,40,60kg x12
    80,100kg x5
    120kg x3
    140kg x1... WTF :mad:
    140kg x3
    150kg x3
    160KG x1 then failed second rep, knees came in something fierce, dumped forwards
    160kg x2 (PR)... I has a camera now

Barbell (decline) Floor Press
    60,80kg x8
    100kg x5
    120kg x3
    140kg x3
    160kg x3
    170kg x2... Someone recorded this on their phone, but they were unable to send it to me. Ah well, next week. By decline I mean my hips are off the floor and the bar touches teh chest.. just to awesomify things. Nice to be handling some heavy weight anyway.

Pull Ups
    BW (5x10)
    +20kg (2x5)

Supported Single Leg RDLs
    20,30,40,50,60kg x10 each leg

Ab Roll Outs
    (5x12)

Curls
    50kg (3x12)

No word on the MRI results... fleh. Ordered me a rumble roller and a full set of bands (1-5) from liftinglarge there today.. should add a bit of variety to the rehab work.

EDIT - No idea why the camera decided to change resolution on me.. apologies for the **** quality.

hahahahahahahahaha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

You have to watch that right knee dude.

hahahahahahahahaha.

NoHatingZoneLogo.JPG?width=183&height=183&crop=1%3A1

You have to watch that right knee dude.

There's alot of stuff going wrong there to work on alrite.

Today

Warm up x2
    Kneehab

Repetition

Squats (12 inch box)
    This is basically cardio.. FML
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    100kg x12
    120kg x12
    120kg x12
    120kg x12
    120kg x12
    *Phone call.. MRI results... Annular tear at L5-S1. Axial scans show this tear which approximates the S1 nerve root* ... Sound.
    120kg x12

Vid of the last set with 120...

Side view of the depth ...

Incline Bench
    60,80kg x12
    100kg (4x12)

Ab Pulldown
    Grey Band
    (5x20)

Russian Twist
    15kg (3x40)

Inverted Row
    (4x12)
    (1x23)

Lat Raise
    (5x12)

Cable Pressdown
    Stack (5x12)

At last I finally know whats going on with my back, at least it rules out a case of just being a p*ssy for the last ~6months. Pretty much rules out powerlifting for the forseeable future, but its all good. Some restructuring of training I'm sure, more rehab work, I'll continue to get healthy, get sh*t f*cking strong, and make 2012 my b*tch.

Warm up x0.0034

Bench
    60kg (3x12)
    80kg x12
    100kg x12
    110,120kg x3
    140kg (8x3)... tasty

DB Row
    55kg (3x12)

Facepulls
    70,120,150,170,200 x12

Back Extensions
    (5x12)

Ab Pulldowns
    Grey Band
    (5x20)

Hammer Curls
    (5x12)

Yesterday
    Went in to do some sumo pulls
    Ended up doing 90mins mobility work then went home.

Today

Warm Up x1 hour

Board Press (4 board)
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    *added 4board*
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    140kg x5
    160kg x3
    180kg (2x2)
    180kg (2x3)
    180kg (1x4)...

Never done board pressing before.. decent start. Good man VIS and 'higher is lower' JOE for the spots etc.

Ab Pulldown
    (3x20)

Token Front Squats
    Bar x12
    80kg x12
    80kg x10
    100kg x5
    120kg x5

Pull Ups

Back Extension
    BW (3x20)

Lat raise
    10,12.5,15,17.5s x12

Cable Pressdown
    Stack (3x12)

Yesterday

Arsing around trying not to land myself in A&E while I'm waiting for the new round of programming ... Decided to give the shiny new machines a shot since (A) they look like transformers, (B) I have man-flu so really couldn't be bothered doing anything worthwhile, and (c) they make you look disproportionately strong.

Warm up.. the usual

Plate Loaded Lat Pulldown
    40,80,120kg x12
    160kg x10

Plate Loaded Shoulder Press
    40,60,80,100kg x12
    120kg x10

EZ Bar Culs
    A few million

Plate Loaded Seated Row
    40,80,120,160kg x12

Unilateral Leg Press
    20,40,60,80,100kg x12

About 3 Sit Ups

Should have just stayed in bed.

In case anyone is interested... this is what my back looks like. Chances are its what yours looks like too since 60% of people (according to my witch doctor) have some form of disc 'situation'. Moral of the story - dont get and MRI, you'll have way more fun not knowing just how f*cked you are.

186203_607124640_2916639_n.jpg

Obviously medical advice is more than welcome. If anyone knows anyone who wants to fix me for free that'd be totally sound so PM me. But the next person who tells me to slow down/stop training/take up knitting etc. is getting stabbed in the neck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

COH wrote: »
    this is what my back looks like. Chances are its what yours looks like too since 60% of people (according to my witch doctor) have some form of disc 'situation'.

Quit moaning so.

Hanley wrote: »
    Quit moaning so.

I would.. only I'm bloated and my vagina won't stop bleeding

Sumo Deads
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    140kg x5
    160kg x5
    180kg x5

Step ups
    (3x12)

Standing Ab Band Things
    (3x30)

GHR/DB Shrugs/H Curls
    (5x12)

Bench
    60kg (5x12)
    80kg x12
    100kg x12
    120kg x3.. possibly the worst set I've ever done
    145kg (8x3)... got progressively better up to set 7

Cable Pressdown
    Stack (4x20)

Facepulls
    (4x12)

Inverted row
    3x12
    1x25

Lat raise
    (5x12)

I'm sick, my trainin partner was drunk ... so this session was a total success

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Some really nice pressing from you today...Fair play
    ''How much do you want it'':D

Warm Up etc.

Turns out the 4 board is actually a 3 board... each board used to make them up is 1.5 inches not 2, so off the official specs we've been using a 6 inch 3 board. Tasty.

Board Press (3board)
    60kg x12
    80kg x12
    100kg x12
    *added 3 board*
    120kg x5
    140kg x5
    160kg x3
    180kg x2
    200kg x1... this was so slow it wasn't far off being paused.
    210kg 2xF
    180kg x5
    180kg x5
    180kg x8... lol

DB Mil Press
    27.5s x12
    30s x12
    32.5s x12
    35s x12
    37.5s x12

Reverse Fly Machine
    Pin 6 x12
    Pin 8 x12
    Pin 10 x12
    Pin 11 x12
    Pin 12 x12

Lat Pulldown
    Pin 10 (5x10)

EZ Bar Curl
    40kg x12
    45kg x12
    50kg x12
    55kg x12

Ab Pulldown
    Grey Band
    (4x30)

Serious lifting all round tonight, especially after the heavy triples on the bench only two days ago. Board pressing is an awfully harsh cnut of an exercise, when you hit your line the bar pops right up, but touch half in inch high or low and the its stapled.

Note to self... never take that hemo-rage crap after a load of coffee and a can of relentless. I'm gonna be up all night, maybe tomorrow night too.

I just googled that crap, apparently it's a pre-workout detonator no less.
    • Your full-spectrum beyond extreme UNDERGROUND pre-workout formula.
    • With 56 different ingredients for comprehensive activation of all physical pre- workout mechanisms.
    • Induces raging energy, expands blood volume, increases strength, hyper-activates pump effect, detonates fat and provides serious muscle-building compounds all in one.
    • Contains 45 regular servings or 22 beyond extreme underground servings.
    • Available in five outrageous flavors:

Extreme underground brah, you mirin my pump?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Serious weight to be handling on the bench, boards or not!
    Must get some of this HemoRage gear, jack3d isn't working anymore :).