Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't let the coward in your head, control the badass in your heart

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

A) Bench - Paused
    60kg x8
    80kg x6
    100kg x4
    120kg x2
    135kg x1
    150kg x1
    157.5kg x1
    162.5kg x1

* 3 Rounds *

B1) Bench - 120kg x13,8,5
    B2) Neutral Grip DB Press x10,8,7
    B3) Flies 15kg x12,11,9

* 3 Rounds *

C1) Pec Dec :D x15
    C2) Overhead Tricep Ext x20
    C3) Tricep Pressdown x25

Felt groggy, bloated and lethargic after a weekend of guinness and poor nutrition in Galway with the lads... however I caught my line crisp on the bench and the 162.5 came up like a warm up. Nobody was more surprised than me. Everything else just for the craic, box ticked. Off for a BBQ now to maintain my functional leverages.

Monday - Upper Back/Traps/Bi's

A) Lat Pulldown
    B) Seated Cable Row
    C) Single Arm Seated Plate Loaded Row
    D) Power Shrugs
    E) Seated Hammer Curl
    F) Face Pull

- Very tired, gym was roasting and couldn't get into the swing of things at all.

Tuesday - Heavy Rehab

A) Squat
    60kg x8
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x2
    140kg x1
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt/SBDs*
    200kg x1
    215kg x1

B) Deadlift
    140kg (10x1)

Top set was supposed to be last warm up but felt awfully unstable to shut the session down.

Wednesday - Rest/Mobility

Thursday - In Hercules Club playing with the new Sakari competition squat and deadlift bars

A) Squat
    80kg (2x5)
    120kg x5
    160kg x2
    *Belt/SBDs*
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    *Wraps :pac: *
    220kg x3

B)Deadlift -Beltless/Double Overhand
    80kg x5
    110kg x3
    150kg x1
    180kg x1 ... possibly equals a double overhand PR
    *mixed grip*
    200kg x1

Head nearly exploded squatting. Felt SO heavy... but was in with my osteopath that afternoon so wanted to get my moneys worth from him. After 'peeling back the layers' to the sacrum issue something finally seemed to clunk into place during treatment - hopefully getting close to a conclusion to this endless bullsh*t now but not counting the ol' chickens before they hatch.

Friday - Shoulders/Triceps

A) A) Seated DB Overhead Press
    20s x12
    30s x10
    40s x8
    50s x5 (PR)
    > Drop Set 35s x AMRAP
    > Drop Set 20s x AMRAP

B) Cheating Like A Mofo Lat Raise
    15s x10
    20s x10
    25s x10
    > Drop Set 15s x AMRAP
    > Drop Set 10s x AMRAP

C1) DB Front Raise (3x12)
    C2) DB Rev. Fly (3x15)

D) Tricep Pressdown - 107,326,014 reps

Its been years (literally since I last overhead pressed the 50s and last time I did I'm pretty sure I used to wear elbow sleeves so yesterday was a PR of sorts.

A) Bench + Band
    60kg x8
    80kg x6
    100kg x4
    120kg x2
    140kg x1
    *remove band*
    152.5kg x1
    160kg x1
    167.5kg x1 (misload) ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BUW2Lipl_3y

*2 Rounds*

B1) Bench - 120kg x14,8
    B2) Neutral Grip DB Press 40s x12,8
    B3) Flies 15s x12,12

*3 Rounds *

C1)Tricep Extension x25
    C2) Tricep Pressdown x20
    C3) Pec Dec x15

Managed to hurt my mid-thoracic last week rolling over in bed/stretching so haven't trained much the past week at all. On Friday last I squatted in hercs just beltless up to 180kg. Today, still in ribbons from Guns N Roses on Saturday in Slane I did a quick shoulder/tricep session...

A) Seated DB OHP
    - up to 40kg dumbbells x20.
    B) Lat Raise (5x10)
    C1) Rev Fly (3x10)
    C2) Front Raise (3x10)
    D) Tricep Extensions x billions.

Got a bulldog puppy yesterday... I want to quit my job and retire from lifting to stay home and play with him all day every day!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,566 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

COH wrote: »
    Got a bulldog puppy yesterday... I want to quit my job and retire from lifting to stay home and play with him all day every day!

You can't post something like this and not include pics. Get to it, man

Meet my new best pal...Diesel :)

https://www.instagram.com/p/BUpiUMdFgfa/

A) Squat
    60kg (2x8)
    100kg x5
    140kg x2
    160kg x1
    *belt/SBDs*
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    *Loose Wraps*
    220kg x4 ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BUw8j6Wl4z1/
    *Sleeves*
    180kg x8

B) Deadlift - Beltless
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x3
    180kg (5x1)

C) Leg Ext - (5x10)
    D) Hamstring Curl (5x10)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Awh....he looks just like you.

A) Bench - Paused (with mini band)
    60kg x10
    80kg x8
    100kg x4
    120kg x2
    *Remove Band*
    140kg x1
    150kg x1
    160kg x1 ... lat cramp :eek:

*Rounds*

B1) Dead Bench 130kg/120kg/110kg x AMRAP
    B2) Neutral Grip DB Press 45s/40s/35s x AMRAP
    B3) DB Flies 15s/15s/15s x AMRAP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Squatman

Cool, on the lookout for one of these too! :pac:

Sunday

A) Deadlift
    60kg (2x8)
    100kg x6
    *belt*
    120kg x4
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    195kg x :mad:

Pain in sacrum too bad - called it a day.

Today

A) Deadlift - Beltless
    60kg (3x5)
    100kg x5
    140kg x2
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    220kg x1 :) ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BVAVHH4FOHk/
    *belt*
    180kg (8x3)

B) Deficit Speed Pull
    140kg + Chains (8x1)

C1) Pendlay Row (3x10)
    C2) Hamstring Curl (3x10)

I seriously needed that!

A) Seated DB Overhead Press
    10s x20
    15s x15
    20s x12
    25s x10
    30s x8
    35s x6
    *belt/wrist wraps*
    42.5s x15
    45s x12
    > drop sets
    30s x12
    20s x12

B) Lat Raise
    10s x10
    15s x10
    20s x10
    > Drop Sets
    15s x10
    12.5s x10
    10s x10

C1) DB Front Raise (3x10)
    C2) DB Rev Fly (3x10)

D) Power Shrugs - AKA full retard cheaty shrugs
    60kg x8
    100kg x8
    140kg x8
    180kg x8
    220kg x8
    260kg x8
    > Drop Sets
    220kg x8
    180kg x10
    140kg x12
    100kg x15
    60kg x20

E1) Tricep Ext (4x12)
    E2) Tricep Pressdown (4x15)

In and out in about an hour - awkward getting the dbs in position for the overhead pressing. Really just teying to build up to the 50s for around 8 reps down the line. Went full retards on the power shrugs... firstly because I just want to feel that kind of weight in my hands again without sh*tting the bed and secondly because its fun! Hopefully squat now on Friday and bench either Saturday or Sunday.

A) Squat
    80kg (2x8)
    120kg x4
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt/SBDs*
    200kg x1
    *wraps*
    220kg x1
    230kg x2 ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BVH41n3l5Sl
    180kg x10

B) Speed Deads
    125kg (8x1)

Squats moved as well as they have done in months - got a good long warm up done before getting under the bar. Speed pulls were a total non-event was exhausted after the squatting. Progress is progress anyway :)

A) Bench - 2ct Pause
    60kg x10
    80kg x8
    100kg x6
    120kg x3
    140kg x1
    150kg x1
    160kg (3x1) .... https://www.instagram.com/p/BVM3xDDlNvq/

B1) Paused Bench
    130kg x8
    120kg x8
    110kg x8

B2) Neutral Grip DB Press
    45s x8
    40s x8
    35s x8

B3) DB Flies
    15s x12
    12.5s x12
    10s x12

A) Deadlift
    60kg (2x5)
    100kg x5
    140kg x2
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt*
    200kg x1
    220kg x1
    235kg x1 ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BVPVax_FZ0T
    185kg (5x3)

B) Deficit Speed Deadlift + Chains
    145kg (8x1)

C1) Pendlay Row (5x10)
    C2) Hamstring Curl (5x10)

D) Ab Pulldown - 100 Reps

• Registered Users Posts: 17,566 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

What are you doing these days when picking your numbers? Just making gradual jumps in weight while listening to your sacrum?

What are you doing these days when picking your numbers?

Praying, mostly :pac:
    Just making gradual jumps in weight while listening to your sacrum?

Pretty much! Some sessions good, others not so much. Not following any % based programming or anything like that at the moment but everything is relatively progressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭snapper1234

thats's some good stuff! keep that up and you'll be Hercules yet ;) good man.

A) Squat
    80kg (2x5)
    120kg x5
    160kg x2
    *Shoes/Belt/SBDs*
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    *Wraps*
    215kg x1
    230kg x3
    180kg x12

B) Deadlift - Beltless
    60kg x5
    80kg x4
    100kg x3
    120kg x2
    140kg x1
    160kg x1
    *mixed grip*
    180kg (12x1)

Squatting wasn't great... bar felt REALLY heavy from the start and the struggle for depth was real. Will chalk it down to that deadlift sessiom the day before yesterday.

Friday - Upper back + Physio
    Saturday - Bench + Guinness

Today

A) Deadlift
    72.5kg (3x5)
    112.5kg (2x5)
    152.5kg x2
    192.5kg x1
    *belt*
    220kg x1
    250kg x1 ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BVkGZOVlEhk/
    200kg (4x3)

B) Deficit Speed Deadlift + Chains
    160kg (5x1)

C1) Hamstring Curl (4x10)
    C2) Barbell row (4x10)
    C3) Banded Ab Pulldown (4x20)

Exceedingly happy at how that deadlift moved. Heaviest deadlift of any description in over 4 years at an RPE of go f*ck yourself.

- F*ck injuries
    - F*ck motorbike crashes
    - F*ck the doubt that creeps in
    - F*ck the bullsh*t
    - F*ck anyone that says stop

... And f*ck anyone and anything that says your best days are behind you.

Now... to get back to lifting some real numbers where they count.

A) Squat
    80kg (2x5)
    120kg x5
    160kg x2
    180kg x1
    *belt/shoes*
    200kg x1
    *SBDs*
    220kg x1
    *knee wraps*
    235kg x1
    250kg x1 ... https://www.facebook.com/kieran.hegarty/videos/10155437108809641/

A pretty straight forward no filter unpeaked 250kg squat w/wraps + sakari bar of death + extra gravity plates + light humidity + sunburnt shoulders + **** music + I'm hungry @ <100kg post injury PR because WILKS is life and it'll be there on the day.

A) Bench - Paused
    60kg x10
    80kg x8
    100kg x4
    120kg x2
    140kg x1
    150kg x1
    160kg x2 (PR) :)
    140kg x5

B1) Tricep Ext (2x20)
    B2) Tricep Pressdown (2x20)

Well that rounds off what has turned out to be a fairly epic training week.

Haven't done much the past week...

A) Squat
    70kg x8
    100kg x6
    130kg x3
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt*
    200kg x1
    *SBD*
    220kg x1

B) Bench
    70kg (2x8)
    90kg x6
    110kg x2
    130kg x1
    *wrist wraps*
    150kg x1

C) Lat Pulldown - (5x10)

Down in Limerick for the European Powerlifting Conference... training today in a full house in CityGym Limerick. Hips tight after the drive down but sqats moved really well... top set was easy. Same with bench... just knocking the weeks cobwebs off.

Will get back to some semblence of structured training next week

Ok - so back to some sort of structured training (at last).

Decided to take myself out of the programming equation and run Sheiko (advanced - medium load) with the intention of testing the waters with the first prep phase before I go away to the States in a few weeks to see how I hold up. If I stay in one piece I'll begin the second prep phase when I return but who knows how that'll work out... main focus is getting this first month done and done well :)

Me + high volume/high frequency has never worked out too well in the past but I'm moving well enough now to warrant giving it a blast and quite enjoying the prospect of just following a plan.

Due to space and time restrictions I'm doing Squat/Squat/Bench + accessory instead of Squat/Bench/Squat etc. but having met Boris in London last year and asked him about the format of his training there shouldn't be any problem doing this as the amount of work getting done is unchanged. Will also be wearing knee wraps for the heavier squat days.

Week 1 - Day 1

A) Front Squat
    60kg x5
    80kg x4
    110kg x3
    *belt/SBD*
    135kg (4x3)

B) Squat
    80kg x5
    110kg x3
    150kg x5
    *belt*
    175kg x3
    *SBD*
    202.5kg (4x2)

C) Bench
    80kg x5
    95kg x4
    112.5kg x3
    120kg (4x3)

D) Flys - (4x8)
    E) Abs - (3x10)

Hadn't front squatted in months and found them pretty tough if I'm being honest - I think I used a sakari squat bar though which would explain why iit was so hard to keep it in place. Squatting was grand, just a bit laboured.

Week 1 - Day 2

A) Pause Deadlift (Below Knee)
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x3
    160kg x3
    *belt*
    182.5kg (4x3)

B) Pause Deadlift (Above Knee)
    145kg x3
    170kg x3
    195kg (4x2)

C) Bench - Paused
    80kg x5
    95kg x5
    112.5kg x3,5,7,4,6,8

D) Lat Pulldown
    (4x8)

E) Standing SSB Goodmorning
    80kg (5x5)

Done the day after day 1 due to work commitments. Everything moved pretty well. I typically don't do well with this style of training and the day after this my body was slaughtered with DOMS.

Week 1 - Day 3

A) Bench
    80kg x5
    95kg x4
    112.5kg x3
    120kg (4x3)

B) Board Press
    95kg x3
    112.5kg x3
    127.5kg (2x3)
    135kg (3x2)

C) Squat - Pause on the way down
    75kg x5
    115kg x3
    135kg x3
    *belt/SBDs*
    162.5kg x3
    190kg (4x3)

D) Flies (4x8)
    E) Back Extension +20kg (4x8)

Benching all felt fine - right pec a little grumpy with the increased training volume (nothing new there - I hate benching more than twice a week and always have). Squatting was grand, misread the instructions and was an extra double in the top sets before realised was supposed to be triples. DOMS still ruining life.

Week 1 - Day 4

A) Deficit Deadlift - Standing on 3 inch blocks
    60kg x5
    100kg x4
    130kg x3
    *belt*
    160kg (4x2)

B) Block Deadlift - Off 3 inch Blocks
    140kg x3
    180kg x3
    200kg (2x3)
    220kg (3x2)

C) Incline Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg (5x3)

D) Dips (5x10)
    E) Split Squat (5x5)
    F) Banded Rev. Hyper (4x8)

I detest pulling from low blocks - I find it incredibly hard to get tight or find a good line and honestly wasn't sure if he top sets would budge. Got them done, not easy by any means. Haven't incline benched in forever and slightly under the prescribed % for it but happy enough to get them done with 120 as not a million miles off by heaviest inclines in the past. Dips at bodyweight so as not to aggravate the grumpy pec which played ball today nicely. Split squats instead of leg press and did the rev. hypers backwards off the GHR like the good old days.

I am now sore head to toe, hungry all the time and sleeping like its going out of fashion.

Looking forward to week 2 starting tomorrow...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,600 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I hate benching more than twice a week and always have

I detest pulling from low blocks - I find it incredibly hard to get tight or find a good line and honestly wasn't sure if he top sets would budge

*goes and checks program*

Right...sound

Week 2 - Day 1

A) Squat
    80kg x8
    120kg x5
    140kg x4
    160kg x3
    180kg x1
    *shoes/wrist wraps/Belt/SBDs*
    200kg x1
    *Knee Wraps*
    220kg (5x2) ... last set here
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BWXpfNZlQXf

B) Bench
    80kg x5
    95kg x4
    112.5kg x3
    130kg (5x2)

C) DB French Press (4x8)
    D) DB Flys (4x8)
    E) Weighted Back Ext. (4x8)

Achey everything today... def one of the 'bad days' that come around every so often since the crash and did not want to train at all. Felt very unstable walking the bar in/out squatting but the squats themselves actually moved quite well. Everything up to 180kg barefoot and beltless aka basically naked. However I must remember that the prescribed warm ups count towards the training volume and that its not just on the top sets, also forgot that the collars weighed 5kg and overshot the numbers slightly as a result.

Benching was really easy despite my pecs protestations about having to work again in any capacity, will just have to really drill my shoulder stability prehab again. Kept the french pressing light as my elbows generally implode with that kind of movement and everything else was grand.

Next sessions looks fairly easy on paper which probably means it'll feel awful in real life.

This ^^^

Week 2 - Day 2

A) Deadlift - Pause at knee
    75kg (2x5)
    115kg x4
    155kg x3
    182.5kg x3
    195kg (5x2) ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BWaMiyHFLLg

B) Bench + Chains
    40kg x10
    60kg x8
    80kg x5
    95kg x3
    112.5kg (5x3)

C) Leg Ext (4x10)
    D) Face Pull (4x10)
    E) Ab Machine (4x10)

Really feeling yesterdays session today - deads were far from crisp and felt much heavier than they should have. Started back measuring my HRV for the first time in a year and posted my lowest ever score this morning (but still not in the red-zone).

Bench was easy - pec just still unhappy at 4x weekly pressing. Looks like might have to triple up and train again tomorrow as will be out of Dublin Thursday onwards which would mean front squat/board press and those c*ntish standing good mornings

Week 2 - Day 3

A) Board Press - 3 Inches
    60kg x8
    80kg x6
    100kg x4
    120kg x2
    135kg (2x2)
    145kg (3x2)

B) Front Squat
    60kg x5
    80kg x4
    100kg x3
    120kg x1
    *belt/SBDs*
    140kg (4x4)

C) Beltless SSB Good Morings - Onto Pins
    40kg x5
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg (5x5)

D) Lat Pulldown (4x8)
    E) Tricep Pressdown (4x8)

https://www.instagram.com/p/BWdEqYCFa7C/

Week 2 - Day 4

A) Close Grip Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x4
    110kg (4x3)

B) Deadlift + Chains
    60kg (2x5)
    100kg x5
    140kg x3
    160kg x1
    *belt*
    180kg (2x2)
    200kg (3x1) ... https://www.instagram.com/p/BWh7NQjl6E8/

C) Neutral Grip Flat DB Press
    20s x6
    27.5sx6
    35s x6
    42.5s x6
    50s x6

D) Leg Press (5x10)
    E) GHR (4x8)

+5kg on what was prescribed for both compoud variations as was feeling light.

Week 3 - Day 1

A) Squat - Pause On Way Down
    65kg (2x5)
    105kg x5
    145kg x2
    165kg x1
    185kg x1
    *Shoes/belt/SBDs/Pauses*
    205kg (4x2)

B) Front Squat
    70kg x3
    90kg x3
    110kg x2
    130kg x1
    150kg (3x3)

C) Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x1
    130kg (2x2)
    140kg (2x1)
    130kg (2x2)

D) Seated Beltless SSB GM (5x5)
    E) Pull Ups (3x10)

Wasn't looking forward to this one on paper but ended up being a very enjoyable session. Squatting felt crisp, front squat triples were at 5RM levels and could have equalled that today at least. Bench was a walk in the park despite the +2.5kg. Seated SSB GMs suck and can still.do pull ups easy enough. Mad week of training. Rest tomorrow then back to Dublin Monday.

Vids here >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BWkWXwRlvkK/