Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't let the coward in your head, control the badass in your heart

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

Any plans to get back on the platform?

Yes - I have registered to lift at the AIPO/IPO charity powerlifting competition in aid of Heart Children Ireland in on November 18th in Limerick.

The date coincided with the test date of the 20 week Sheiko programme so figured what the hell. Last year the charity comp was walked out with wraps (no monolift!) which suits me perfectly as that's how I train.

Week 8 - Day 1

A) Squat
    80kg (2x5)
    120kg x3
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt/sbd*
    200kg x1
    *wraps*
    220kg x2
    225kg x2
    230kg x2
    235kg x3
    240kg x2

B) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    125kg x1
    140kg (4x3)
    140kg x5

C) Wide(r) Grip Bench
    110kg (3x12)

D) Good Mornings (5x6)
    E) Tricep Preasdowns (4x8)

Big overshoot today on squats as going to the US Sunday morning and not sure when Ill get to train next. If I can get 2 good days in of the 9 Im away Ill call it a success, will bring my gear and hope for the best. Squats felt muck today... first rep on 220 caught me out and my lower back took too much of the load so all subsequent sets felt a little ropey. Done anyway and thats the heaviest ill go ahead of the skills test in a month or so.

Bench felt terrible after squatting but moved really well so took a couple extra reps on the fifth set with a rep to spare. WIder grip bench is o ly a couple fingers out ... but enough to feel completely alien. Anyway hope to get another session in tomorrow morning... will eat as if its a certainty which it is not.

Vids >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BX8JP1clUvx5y4Ksaep4hxdDcdbyGdc58IUrZ40/

Week 8 - Day 2

A) Deadlift - Pause above knee
    75kg (2x5)
    115kg x5
    155kg x3
    175kg x1
    195kg x1
    *belt*
    215kg x2
    220kg x2
    225kg x2
    230kg x2 :)

B) Deadlift - To Knee
    195kg x4
    200kg x4
    205kg x4
    210kg x4 :)

C) 1 Board Press
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    120kg x3
    130kg x1
    *board*
    145kg (2x3)
    155kg (2x2)
    165kg (3x1)

D) Close Grip 1 Board Press
    125kg (2x10)

E) Lat Pulldown (4x8)
    F) Abs (3x10)

Thoughts in vid below... TL:DR I am f*cking crushing it ATM

Vids >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BX-nHK2lIlNfcng5y9Bj9wpY3VPxQNiz0cLtAE0/

• Registered Users Posts: 17,566 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

(too lazy to check other videos)

Do you always wear a belt when benching? Have you always done so?

Do you always wear a belt when benching?

No, I would say these days more often than not I bench without a belt or wrist wraps but I prefer both for the heavy stuff.
    Have you always done so?

I have always sometimes worn a belt yes :)

Week 8 - Day 3

A) Squat
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x2
    160kg x2
    *belt/sbds*
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    *wraps*
    225kg (4x2)

B) Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x1
    132.5kg x1
    147.5kg (4x2)
    140kg (2x3)

C) Seated Row (4x8)
    D) Lat Pulldow (4x8)

Vids >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYEl9lMl9GRVLAbpW2lZ5m1mWdcKGtMIa7jf2o0/

So I found somewhere to train in Virginia... has all the basics but got caught out on the weight of the plates (20.4kg as opposed to 20kg) so weight on top sets were a little over what was prescribed.

Everything felt awful and moved slow... 16 hours of buses, planes and cars to get here yesterday meant was tight as hell, sh*t nights sleep the day before and another bad one last night. Its 30 degrees here with 90% humidity so feeling really sluggish... and was out walking in the mountains this AM so just glad to have gotten anything done today. Not sure if its the travel or the heat but my hands and feet feel like water balloons and am just bloated in general.

Week 8 - Day 4

A) Deficit Deadlift
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    162.5kg x1
    185kg (4x2)

B) Block Deadlift - 2inch block
    100kg x2
    140kg x2
    180kg x2
    202.5kg x2
    225kg (2x3)

C) Incline Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    102.5kg (5x3)

D) Lat Pulldowns (4x8)
    E) Tricep Pressdowns (4x8)
    F) Leg Ext (3x15)

Deadlifting with a much thicker bar than Im used to and had f*ck all knurling so felt a little awkward. Happy enough with the top sets on the deficits and blocks. Just focused on being explosive on the incline bench... and the accessory work was all graaaaand. Its really humid and still jet lagged so feeling sluggish still. Absolutely love that am not losing momentum all the same.

After today im on track with regards the programming and if I dont train again this week it wont matter - itinerary the next few days in the run up to the wedding is a little more hectic but if I can sneak away Friday to get another sesh in Ill be delighted.

Vids >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYJL5wklpi5h6RNRilWrzAczhgVDQIRRWreEww0/

Week 9 - Day 1

A) Squat
    80kg x5
    120kg x3
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt/wraps*
    190kg x8
    192.5kg x8
    195kg x8
    197.5kg x8

B) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    125kg x1
    140kg (3x4)

C) More Bench
    120kg (2x8)

D) Wide Grip Bench
    120kg (5x6)

E) Good Mornings (4x8)
    F) Abs (3x15)

Trip home yesterday was 3 hrs to airport, 3 hrs in airport, 8 hours on plane, 1 hour home, and another 3 hours to Tipp to collect my dog. Needless to say I feel like **** but sesh moved a long today well. Few extra kgs to atone for the enforces 6 days between sessions.

Must be the only powerlifter in history that spent over a week in the US and didnt put any weight on. Mission failure!

Vid >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYbIiY7lCVU8gXw0bxdoaNuY4nZpf-ieJOIw7g0/

Week 9 - Day 2

Playing catch up...

A) Deadlift to Knee
    75kg (3x5)
    115kg x5
    155kg x3
    170kg x1
    *mixed grip/belt*
    185kg (4x4)

B) Block Deadlift - Mid Shin
    70kg x3
    120kg x3
    170kg x3
    195kg x2
    220kg (4x3)

C) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    125kg x1
    137.5kg (5x2)

D) Tricep Pressdown (4x8)
    E) Back Ext. (4x8)

Everything felt awful, moved terribly and looked like ****.

/period

Vids >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYdwjZglBjrR_sX2y09nhfVdDvv4sX2jaJQl0w0/

Week 9 - Day 3 ... almost

A) Squat
    80kg (2x8)
    120kg x5
    160kg x2
    180kg x1
    :(

B) Bench
    85kg x6
    102.5kg x5
    120kg x4
    130kg x3
    140kg (2x2)
    150kg (2x1)
    140kg x2
    130kg x3
    120kg x4
    110kg x5
    100kg x6
    90kg x7
    80kg x8

C) Pec Flys (4x8)
    D) Abs (3x10)

First sh*t session in over two months... had to call the squatting on account of an annoyingly familiar dull ache around my pelvis. Actually felt great warming up to 120kg ... as usual barefoot/beltless etc. As soon as I walked the 160kg out I knew something was up as bracing caused the discomfort, but figured might just be a flash in the pan. 180kg felt like nothing weight-wise but felt like I was about to collapse walking it in and out :confused:. Last time I felt something comparable was doing a deload session at Christmas that culminated in a fortnight of no squat/deads which at this stage would be a f*cking disaster but will wait and see.

Anyway.... Loaded the bar to 200kg for the prescribed top sets and belted up, then stripped the bar and walked away. #smart

Bench on the other hand felt magnificent - +2.5-5kg on what was programmed because I knew from the warm ups that it would be a formality. A little uncomfortable maintaining the set up but I feel like I could have benched the 150kg top sets for 3+ reps :) Accessory work and some mobility to finish a disappointing day.

No vids because wasn't bothered.

Week 9 - Day 4

... Sponsored by ibuprofen and my osteopath who isnt to know I trained after treatment today

A) Deadlift - Pause above knee
    60kg (2x5)
    100kg x5
    140kg x3
    160kg x2
    180kg x2
    *belt*
    200kg (4x2)

B) Deadlift + 27kg chain
    100kg x3
    130kg x3
    170kg x3
    200kg (4x4)

C) Flat DB Press
    20s x8
    30s x8
    40s x8
    50s x8
    60s x8 (equals all time PR?)

D) Lat Pulldown (4x8)

Will see tomorrow if today was a good idea... tweaked my SI walking out a squat warm up on Sat and havent been able to stand up straight for any appreciable amount of time since. So yeah, deadlifts etc!
    It'll (hopefully still) be there on the day.

Vids >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYqk62PlvKrDRaeC6D10Z-MTQRJTAmaLQ3O1RE0/

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Ibup is magical
    Hope it stays gone!

bluewolf wrote: »
    Ibup is magical
    Hope it stays gone!

Week 10 - Day 1

A) Squat
    60kg (2x5)
    100kg x5
    *belt*
    140kg x3
    160kg x2
    180kg x1
    *SBDs*
    200kg x1
    *wraps*
    220kg (3x2), (1x4)

B) Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg x3
    140kg (3x2), (1x5)

C) Wide(r) Grip Bench
    120kg (6x6)

D) Back Ext (4x8)
    E) Ab Pulldowns (3x10)

Into week 10 and a little bit behind still... probably shouldnt be training but its either take some calculated risks or throw in the towel and reassess the whole run in to the comp. **** that ****.

SI hated the walk outs on squats so just did a set of 4 instead of the last two sets of doubles. Same deal for holding the bench set up, doubles were grand so just did the last two sets together with an extra rep thrown in for good measure.

Have some soft tissue work booked in for this evening and the day off training tomorrow. Good times... I think.

Vids >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYs1X5cl0l6sS196RfU-7xm6mmE1mCaJa2RB_k0/

Post script:

Got a cancellation slot today with the physio (who goes by the nickname 'The Bull') who works on the Leinster/Ireland rugby lads (as well as pretty much every other top level athlete in the country as far as I can tell by the photos on his wall) ... He warned me over the phone that he goes hard and that's just the way he does things and to expect it to be rough. I was excited and terrified in equal measures!

Anyway when I walked into his office he was covered in sweat after treating his previous patient, and he's a tank, like ~6 foot, former rugby player himself and said he weighs 130kg at the moment, so I knew that I was in for it.

Asked what was up with me - I gave him a run down of the past 6 months and he just said 'I don't need to screen you, I know what needs to be done'. He then basically attacked me for an hour. Like, really f*cking sincerely went for it, it was nothing short of glorious.

I mentioned to him before we finished up that I saw an osteopath yesterday and he said that they are all too soft and then proceeded to do the most comprehensive job on my SIJ that I have ever received. I think at one point my ankle was beside my jaw :eek:

Anyway - the lad is a genius, and I feel great.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

COH wrote: »
    Post script:

Got a cancellation slot today with the physio (who goes by the nickname 'The Bull') who works on the Leinster/Ireland rugby lads (as well as pretty much every other top level athlete in the country as far as I can tell by the photos on his wall) ... He warned me over the phone that he goes hard and that's just the way he does things and to expect it to be rough. I was excited and terrified in equal measures!

Anyway when I walked into his office he was covered in sweat after treating his previous patient, and he's a tank, like ~6 foot, former rugby player himself and said he weighs 130kg at the moment, so I knew that I was in for it.

Asked what was up with me - I gave him a run down of the past 6 months and he just said 'I don't need to screen you, I know what needs to be done'. He then basically attacked me for an hour. Like, really f*cking sincerely went for it, it was nothing short of glorious.

I mentioned to him before we finished up that I saw an osteopath yesterday and he said that they are all too soft and then proceeded to do the most comprehensive job on my SIJ that I have ever received. I think at one point my ankle was beside my jaw :eek:

Anyway - the lad is a genius, and I feel great.

Jesus that read like a proper horror story. Actually felt your fear. Where in Dublin is he based?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Jesus that read like a proper horror story. Actually felt your fear. Where in Dublin is he based?

Ah no - it was great really. Best money I've ever spent tbh and exactly what I wanted. The clinic is in Blackrock.

Week 10 - Day 2

A) Beltless Dedicit Deadlift
    75kg (2x5)
    115kg x5
    155kg x3
    175kg (2x3)

B) Deadlift
    155kg x3
    175kg x2
    *belt*
    210kg x2
    215kg x2
    220kg x2
    225kg x2
    230kg x2

C) Feet Up Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    105kg x5
    120kg (4x8)

D) Lat Pulldown (4x8)
    E) Tricep Pressdown (4x8)

All things considered today went great... everything just looked/moved like ****. Physio on Weds knocked the bollocks out of me and woke up this morning sick. Checked my HRV this morning and it was at a yearly low so glad to get anything done.

Deads were garbage, set up was off and allowed the bar get away from me off the floor. However I haven't pull normally from the ground in almost 3 months, 230kg is the 'heaviest' double since before the crash and the most I've probably doubled on the eleiko bar possibly ever (so PR by default - lol). Too sore to put my feet on the ground to bench so feet up a compromise.

Deadlift vid >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BYyLA3gFmVjhoC0NIWfdD3d3-Q6vPACAg0RXlA0/

Week 10 - Day 3

A) Squat
    60kg (2x5)
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    130kg x3
    160kg x1
    *belt/SBDs*
    190kg x1
    205kg x1
    *wraps*
    220kg (2x4)

B) More Squats
    190kg (2x10)

C) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x3
    110kg x1
    130kg (5x4)

D) Wide Grip Bench
    115kg (4x10)

E) Abs (3x12)

Squats were supposed to be 4 doubles with 220 and 4 sets of 5 with 190 but the walk out is still aggravating my SI a bit so same volume, less walking = winning. Felt heavy after yesterdays deads and the weeks training in general but no reps ever in doubt.

Bench was supposed to be triples but felt so easy so sets of 4 instead of going heavier.

Vid >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BY0xDrnlsm39yeYjmgedOJSqvPOZ5ED7AE-DCo0/

Week 10 - Day 4

A) Deadlift to Knee
    75kg (2x5)
    115kg x5
    155kg x3
    175kg x2
    *belt*
    195kg x3
    202.5kg x3
    210kg x3
    217.5kg x3

B) Deadlift + 24kg chain
    155kg x3
    175kg x3
    *belt*
    195kg x3
    197.5kg x3
    200kg x3
    202.5kg x3

C) Bench - Extra Long Pause
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    125kg (4x4)

D) Lat Pulldown (3x8)
    E) Tricep Pressdown (3x10)

Sick since Saturday but everything moved well. Few extra kgs here and there to compound my fatigue.

Vid >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BY6AePKFSGULUcuz5sc0FQIdGLKLuzYvKT3mmo0/

Week 11 - Day 1

A) Squat
    80kg (2x5)
    120kg x5
    160kg x2
    180kg x1
    *shoes/belt/sbds*
    200kg x1
    220kg x1
    *wraps*
    240kg (3x2)
    220kg (2x4)

B) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    125kg x1
    140kg (4x2)

C) Back Ext. (4x8)
    D) Flies (3x10)

Vids >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BY-_tiJFLf5AB1z5wDi41d3OaV7Aq99jNdGkFI0/

Week 11 - Day 2

A) Block Deadlift (~3-4inches)
    75kg (2x8)
    115kg x5
    155kg x3
    175kg x2
    195kg x1
    215kg x1
    *belt*
    240kg x2
    242.5kg x2
    245kg x2
    225kg (2x3)

B) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x4
    125kg x3
    140kg x2
    150kg x1
    155kg x1
    145kg x2
    145kg x2

C) Seated Rows (4x8)
    D) Tricep Pressdown (4x8)

Forgot to do the abs... ah well.

Still feeling under the weather (man flu super aids) and absolutely ****ing **** off blocks in general so am absolutely delighted at how they moved today and the benching felt handy enough despite overshooting the prescribed percentages.

Light squat tomorrow and what looks like an easy deadlift session Monday ahead of Wednesday/Friday 'skills test' next week. Havent a clue how that'll go tbh.

Tentative plan now is to have a very large quantity of Mexican food and possibly a shneaky recovery

Vid >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BZENoABF5ilCqjh9Zv4NrBuj-3kky5QWN7m7I00/

Week 11 - Day 3

A) Squat
    80kg (2x5)
    120kg x5
    160kg x1
    180kg x1
    *belt/sbd*
    200kg (4x2)

B) Standing SSB Good Morning
    65kg x8
    85kg x8
    105kg x8
    125kg x8
    145kg x8

C) Bench
    50kg x5
    70kg x5
    90kg x3
    110kg x1
    130kg (4x2)

D) Lat Pulldown (4x8)
    E) Tricep Ext. (4x8)
    F) Abs (3x20)

F*ck that sh*t. That is all.

Vids https://www.instagram.com/p/BZGj_kNFn5RCNTLHBFZuvip0Obxa5yL5TKG0ag0/

Week 11 - Day 4

A) Pause Deadlift
    75kg (2x5)
    115kg x5
    155kg x2
    175kg x1
    *belt/pause/mix grip*
    195kg (4x2)

Skipped the accessory work because I aggravated my glass SI.

Messed up the first rep of the first set by pausing below the knee instead of above, but the double pause felt easy and Ive been letting the bar away off the ground the past few sessions anyway do figured I'd just keep doing them.

They felt great until they felt awful locking out the last rep and now the jokes on me because I can't stand up.

Vid >>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BZME9SqFziMCBCNjeOKmYVcH8q0mSMIKD7Jj_00/

Soooo.... To recap the last 7 weeks

7 weeks ago: 3 months into sheiko and feeling drained but really strong all round. Excited about testing.

6 weeks ago: Deload session (double pause deads with 195kg for doubles) ahead of testing left me unable to walk for about a week. (last log entry above).

5 weeks ago: Pain subsided to the point where I could go back to work but found it difficult to stand up straight and most of the week spent leaning on things. Benched 160kg out of pure stubborness knowing was still probably peaked ... but felt heavy and not the warm up it had represented a few weeks previously.

4 weeks ago: Any kind of hip extension painful, had to stay mindful of my posture while standing up. Minimal training, maximum complaining.

3 weeks ago: Tried to squat 100kg on the Monday but bracing felt terrible and walking the bar out was horrible, did one rep then went home. decided at that point that needed to really chance focus and work on my stability. Stepped up rehab and soft tissue work, decided to scrap all the band-aids (belt/sleeves/wraps/elevated soled shoes) and get back to basics. That Friday I squatted 140kg with a band around my knees for some extra glute activation and decided to just run with that for a while. Felt so heavy :eek: A few days later I pushed on to 180kg at RPE10 with back off sets doing triples with 140.

2 weeks ago: On the Monday I squatted 180kg under same conditions but a bit smoother with slightly heavier back off sets (145kg for triples). On the Wednesday I went up to 185kg with back off sets at 150kg. The next day I went to 190kg with back off sets at 155kg.

1 week ago: Monday squatted 200kg (still with band around knees etc) with back off sets at 160kg, Read back and saw that hadnn't squatted over 200kg beltless in years so everything from here on in a PR by default. Wednesday went to 205kg for a PR single with back off sets at 165kg and moved ok. On the friday I went to 210kg for a PR which I remember felt HEAVY AS F*CK and cut it high as my SI popped (not in a bad way, just a surprise) and back off sets at 170kg for triples.

This week: Monday squatted 212.5kg for a PR single with some tidy back off sets at 172.5kg for triples. Today - felt really sore after Monday but decided to throw caution to the wind and just go for 220kg beltless (the target of the rehab and the goal of training over the next 2-3months). Anyway, 220kg today done for a nice big beltess PR and probably technically way superior to all of the above reps as I removed the band around my knees.

Vid here >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/Ba9ThPllHGF3RNHn8Q9tTWSNkRd0vQT4XOBRlo0

Also benched after all of the above squat sessions... nothing much to write home about am very far removed from my best benching or all time PR levels but still managed to keep things relatively heavy. Deadlifting very infrequently ... everything beltless and double overhand. Pulled 182.5kg last week which is a PR for my girly hands.

Anyway, delighted with the 220kg beltless squat, really excited to see where everything is in a belt/sleeves/shoes etc and also in wraps beyond that. No plans to compete, I'm definitely not doing the IPO charity comp in a few weeks, I might do some token lifts at the Hercs club championships, and next year is an unknown.

I think I'd like to get back to the high frequency/moderate intensity training (sheiko etc) soon as I enjoy doing the main lifts or variations of them each day but I'm not sure what programming to proceed with. I might restart the same sheiko programme, but looking at a few shorter cycles with similar structure, also toying around with the RTS stuff (project momentum) and have a good few spreadsheets there too, but at least I know now that structurally I'm good to go to get back at it.

Anyway, time to end the long rambling post!

I don't think I'll be updating my log going forwards anymore, I might (mind not 100% made up tbh) but either way it would have sucked to end it on a negative note so there ya have it. There's life in the old dog yet :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I for one would miss your log anyway. hope you keep it updated and best of luck in the future if you don’t.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,600 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I'd miss the log as well.

That's what she said.

A) Squat
    60kg (2x5)
    100kg x5
    140kg x2
    160kg x1
    *belt/SBDs*
    180kg x1
    200kg x1
    220kg x1
    240kg x1
    260kg x F :mad:
    260kg x1 (PR) :)

B) Bench
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x4
    120kg x2
    140kg x1
    152.5kg x1
    162.5kg x1
    172.5kg x1 (PR)
    180kg x1 (Bigger PR and lifetime bench goal) :D

Vids >>>> https://www.instagram.com/p/BdDRWTElxe959x8aSdW4xrc5iFMKhaDkO31seg0

A couple of milestone gym lifts today to round out 2017...

6 plate/260kg squat without wraps...

Back in 2012 I did 257.5kg so only took about 5 years to put together a 2.5kg training PR.

Followed by a 4 plate/180kg bench for a massive all time PR ... Only took 20 years! I can legitimately die happy now.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Yaaaaaay

Also congrats!!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,566 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Some fight with that squat! Great work.

Hows the body?

Some fight with that squat! Great work.

Hows the body?

Thanks!

First attempt at 260 stapled me. Was in a notch on the belt after dropping a few kgs during the deload/taper so couldnt catch my breath/brace normally. Wasn't going to have a second crack at it but it has been so long since I had an all time PR that I just let the darkness descend, let the belt out a notch and said f*ck it. I def feel like I could beat my all time wrapped squat PR now if I put them on which is a nice feeling.

Really though all I care about is the 4 plate bench!

Body is grand for the most part... still some residual SI pain etc. (still getting regular physio/chiro) but finishing the year stronger than ever which is something I questioned was possible many times over the past few years.

Anyway... 180 bench :D