Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog in an apartment

• 31-05-2010 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭

I'm in the middle of trying to organise for a little dog to be rescued with the limerick animal welfare. When I brought him to their attention, a couple of people there commented on how many dogs they already have in their shelter, and that it'd be difficult to even find space for him.

We'll probably be able to capture him this evening or tomorrow maybe, so I've been thinking when we do should I mention the idea of me taking him in for a small time, until they free up more space, or find someone to adopt him?

The only real problem I can see with the idea is that i live in an apartment building. It's not too huge, and the apartment itself is quiet and safe, but there's no green area. I'm unemployed so absolutely would bring him out for walks all the time, but just wondering is this enough for him to do his business? I've noticed several other people in the building with dogs, and they're obviously keeping them inside most of the day, so it got me thinking about this.

Now I wouldn't like to be keeping him inside as opposed to being able to run around outside, but the way I see it he won't be able to do that in the sanctuary anyway, and definitely wouldn't get as much attention, which I think he needs as he's quite afraid of people - he's obviously been a stray for a while.

I'd like opinions on this. We might catch him this evening, so if I could hear from some people in the next couple of hours, that'd be great... thanks!

I'd love to be able to care for him for a bit instead of having him couped up in an overcrowded shelter. I think he needs the socialising anyway. But then does he also need to be around other dogs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭morganafay

If you want to take him in then definitely do!

He mightn't be house trained though so it might be messy, and he might not be used to being cooped up a bit, but I'm sure he'll be fine and get loads of walks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Can any dog be house trained though? And if he can't what's the solution? Think he may be an older dog.

I suppose I'll mention it to the girl that's helping, and see what she says. I reckon there might be a few things wrong with him, so it'd have to be after he gets checked out.

And I'm not talking about talking him permanently, just for a while, to help out. Plus I found him just across the road from my apartment, so he'd be used to the area, and maybe me, as I'm feeding him for almost a week now.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Jackob

Definitely take him in, You sound like you have lots of love to give and if you can afford to feed him and the odd vet bill then I would say he will have a much better life with you then in an overcrowded shelter, where the staff are pushed to the limit as it is . I guarantee that when hes sorted out and feels comfortable with you he will give back tenfold the kindness you show him. A dog thrives on love and attention, long walks are a bonus! You will soon wonder how you got along without him!! Good luck and keep us posted.:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

Is he the little black dog up around the top of William Street??
    Poor soul is very timid and rather afraid.
    If it's that little fella then it would be lovely if he got a bit of care and attention as he seems like a lovely little fella...fair play to you OP :)

I tried to pet him last week but had my own dog with me so he ran from me but I did get my b/f to drive me up later in the evening as I had some dog food for him but he had disappeared.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

I would say go for it. I got my little terrier from the pound, and he lives very happily with me in my apartment.
    He gets brought out on a long walk at least twice a day, and can go for a quick pee on the block's roof terrace in between walks. If you don't have access to such a space, don't be put off but factor in a couple of extra trips out the door so that he can relieve himself, especially first thing in the morning and last thing in the evening.
    I find that the most important thing for my guy, once he has his walks, is to be around human company which he gets loads of as I am a student and have a good bit of spare time. He also has an array of toys which he runs around the apartment with. This is great for using up any unspent energy that he has. The fact that you have the time to go for walks and also to spend a lot of time with him is, in my opinion, far more important than whether you have a garden for him. Just think of all the dogs who are left in a garden by themselves all day while their owners are out at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Can any dog be house trained though? And if he can't what's the solution? Think he may be an older dog.

I suppose I'll mention it to the girl that's helping, and see what she says. I reckon there might be a few things wrong with him, so it'd have to be after he gets checked out.

And I'm not talking about talking him permanently, just for a while, to help out. Plus I found him just across the road from my apartment, so he'd be used to the area, and maybe me, as I'm feeding him for almost a week now.

Of course, most pet dogs are house trained. It just may take a while to actually train an older dog thats all.

I'd say to go for it, living in an apartment shouldn't stop you, as long as you are committed to taking the dog out first thing in the morning and last thing at night for toilet breaks, and then during the day for walks.

Best of luck

Millie wrote: »
    Is he the little black dog up around the top of William Street??
    Poor soul is very timid and rather afraid.
    If it's that little fella then it would be lovely if he got a bit of care and attention as he seems like a lovely little fella...fair play to you OP :)

I tried to pet him last week but had my own dog with me so he ran from me but I did get my b/f to drive me up later in the evening as I had some dog food for him but he had disappeared.

Ya that's him! I've nicknamed him Toby :)

He's very afraid. After an hour of being with him, I still couldn't rub him. Although that was the first day. Yesterday I got to rub his head for a second, but only for a second. He was less spooked though. Glad you tried to feed him, though whenever he's around I feed him. If he's not across from O Neills he'll probably be inside in the CBS around the corner.

Thanks for all the support. I would like to help, but it could only be temporary, so I don't know would it be nice to be moving him around like that either. I'll say it to the LAW people later, if we catch him.

UPDATE: I was on the phone to the girl from the LAW, she can't come out tonight to help catch him. She said there's an outbreak of parvo out in the sanctuary, and so can't take Toby in.

She said they're totally over flowing with dogs (!) and said a girl working there may have to take him in to her home, so I told her I could if that'd help. And she said ya!

So I've to talk to her tomorrow, and of course we have to catch him, but ya I might be taking him in for a couple of weeks. Haven't seen him at all today, so I hope he's ok.

That's great :)

That's great that it's Toby :)
    The poor mite must have been badly mistreated as he is so afraid of human contact.
    And of all places for him to be hanging out the roads there are so busy.
    I do hope you get to catch him OP and please keep us posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

yes anything can be trained, the most important ingredient you need,
    patience, patience, plenty newspapers for nighttimes or a dog crate which is brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

I'm in the middle of trying to organise for a little dog to be rescued with the limerick animal welfare. When I brought him to their attention, a couple of people there commented on how many dogs they already have in their shelter, and that it'd be difficult to even find space for him.

We'll probably be able to capture him this evening or tomorrow maybe, so I've been thinking when we do should I mention the idea of me taking him in for a small time, until they free up more space, or find someone to adopt him?

The only real problem I can see with the idea is that i live in an apartment building. It's not too huge, and the apartment itself is quiet and safe, but there's no green area. I'm unemployed so absolutely would bring him out for walks all the time, but just wondering is this enough for him to do his business? I've noticed several other people in the building with dogs, and they're obviously keeping them inside most of the day, so it got me thinking about this.

Now I wouldn't like to be keeping him inside as opposed to being able to run around outside, but the way I see it he won't be able to do that in the sanctuary anyway, and definitely wouldn't get as much attention, which I think he needs as he's quite afraid of people - he's obviously been a stray for a while.

I'd like opinions on this. We might catch him this evening, so if I could hear from some people in the next couple of hours, that'd be great... thanks!

I'd love to be able to care for him for a bit instead of having him couped up in an overcrowded shelter. I think he needs the socialising anyway. But then does he also need to be around other dogs??

I am sure they would be more than happy with that arrangement.
    You are very good :)
    They have set ups like that were people temporarily adopt pets to help out pounds.
    Nice to see someone offering to do that :)

I feel bad now because I've had to say to them that I can't take him on. I've been talking to someone that knows more about dogs, and I think that he'd be better off going somewhere else. There's another girl that can take him in, she has dogs already, and probably has the space and a yard. Here he'd have to get into a lift and I think he wouldn't be able to handle that as he's so nervous. So I think he would be much better off with her. What do you think?

I'm going to say I could take on another dog (less nervous one) if that'll help in terms of space.

Was out a while ago, and he was walking on the road. I ran after him to get him off the road, but down the street he went back on to the road, to avoid the people on the foot path. Hopefully he won't get knocked down, he hasn't yet anyway. There's nothing I could do, he was just running away.

I feel bad now because I've had to say to them that I can't take him on. I've been talking to someone that knows more about dogs, and I think that he'd be better off going somewhere else. There's another girl that can take him in, she has dogs already, and probably has the space and a yard. Here he'd have to get into a lift and I think he wouldn't be able to handle that as he's so nervous. So I think he would be much better off with her. What do you think?

I'm going to say I could take on another dog (less nervous one) if that'll help in terms of space.

Was out a while ago, and he was walking on the road. I ran after him to get him off the road, but down the street he went back on to the road, to avoid the people on the foot path. Hopefully he won't get knocked down, he hasn't yet anyway. There's nothing I could do, he was just running away.

Best way to get a dog to come to you is food.
    Have a piece of food sit down as close as you can and let him come to you.When he sees you mean no harm,most dogs as they can feel your mood will follow you home.You have to earn his trust.
    You sound like a real kind person and the dog will feel it from you respect animals come to.
    If you have a stairs can you not use that? Until he becomes more confident in himself?
    If you dont feel you can take care of him which to be honest it sounds like you can,Then let him stay with that other girl.
    Do what you feel is best for the dog :)
    Best of luck:)

caseyann wrote: »
    Best way to get a dog to come to you is food.
    Have a piece of food sit down as close as you can and let him come to you.When he sees you mean no harm,most dogs as they can feel your mood will follow you home.You have to earn his trust.
    You sound like a real kind person and the dog will feel it from you respect animals come to.
    If you have a stairs can you not use that? Until he becomes more confident in himself?
    If you dont feel you can take care of him which to be honest it sounds like you can,Then let him stay with that other girl.
    Do what you feel is best for the dog :)
    Best of luck:)

Ya I had just fed him a little earlier, and he was ok, but he wanted a wander, plus I had no food out with me. Then he disappeared. He'll hopefully be back later.

Could use the stairs, but we're on the fourth floor. But wouldn't he be better off being around other dogs? And with a girl that has experience with dogs?

Here's a pic of him anyway:
    P010610_10.35_[01].jpg

Ya I had just fed him a little earlier, and he was ok, but he wanted a wander, plus I had no food out with me. Then he disappeared. He'll hopefully be back later.

Could use the stairs, but we're on the fourth floor. But wouldn't he be better off being around other dogs? And with a girl that has experience with dogs?

Here's a pic of him anyway:
    P010610_10.35_[01].jpg

I had a lot of strays when i was small,brought them all home with me :o
    I do find strays will wander but will come back to the one who they trust.
    I am sure he will be ok if he is used to been alone.
    I am sure he will be better where ever you feel he will,around other dogs could settle him true.But if he is nervous of other dogs he may not be happy there.
    Do what you feel is best for the dog,bring him to her house and see how he gets on.But walk him first to have him calm when he arrives at her house.
    But if you want to have him with you,he will have a lovely home for the time he is with you i am sure:)
    He is a lovely dog can see straight away nice temperament :) .Keep us updated how its going :)

Feck OP, he's a total escape artist.
    I do think the lift would be way too much for him at the minute however if you did manage to catch him that would be a start.
    If he keeps running out on the road though I wouldn't see the little fella escaping for too long.

It such a pity that he doesn't realise that he is only being offered help as I bet he'd be great dog once he learned to trust.

Well I can't look after him in my apartment, and I don't think they've taken it too well. I texted this evening to say he was over at the school and could we get together to catch him, and was told there's nowhere to bring him to. So now I feel horrible. He could get knocked down out on the road, but he wouldn't do well at all in here either. I'm doing the right thing, but I feel like shít now. They've to wait to see if the other girl can take him.

I've gotten back to her, and said that I'd be willing to take a dog from the sanctuary, one that isn't so afraid of people, to help free up some space for them, as they have to deal with the parvo etc. But she hasn't answered. I know it doesn't mean anything, but I feel like it does. Anyway, hopefully I'll get to help some more in some way, though I'd like to be able to take in a dog.

Might have to go back to my non-doggy life

Well I can't look after him in my apartment, and I don't think they've taken it too well. I texted this evening to say he was over at the school and could we get together to catch him, and was told there's nowhere to bring him to. So now I feel horrible. He could get knocked down out on the road, but he wouldn't do well at all in here either. I'm doing the right thing, but I feel like shít now. They've to wait to see if the other girl can take him.

I've gotten back to her, and said that I'd be willing to take a dog from the sanctuary, one that isn't so afraid of people, to help free up some space for them, as they have to deal with the parvo etc. But she hasn't answered. I know it doesn't mean anything, but I feel like it does. Anyway, hopefully I'll get to help some more in some way, though I'd like to be able to take in a dog.

I dont understand how they can leave him wander the streets :(
    Surely to god they have someone who takes dogs in temporary circumstances.I am miles away or i would help.Best you can do now is feed him and be kind till he is sorted out.
    I dont think he would have a problem with your apartment,dogs settle pretty fast.
    Try to lure him home with some meat.Can you pet him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Well OP all I can suggest is to try and take him home on a temporary basis. I know its hardly ideal but if I was in your position and I did nothing and the poor thing got run down or something I would be devastated.

If someone said that it would be a bad home in an apartment . . . well that's just not true. You clearly would take great care of him, and it'd be a million times better than the street.

It's up to whatever you feel is right.

He might be better off with other dogs, but he might be scared of other dogs too? And he knows you now, so would bond with you in time.

I think the issue is trying to catch the little fella.
    I tried to stroke him one day and it literally is like he has seen a ghost as he is so frightened.

The apartment would defo be better than his current life but I would worry for him going up on the lift.

Fair play OP, my boyfriend was telling me he saw "the dog we tried to find last week" and a nice lady was feeding him yesterday :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

OP if there's a Parvo outbreak at the sanctuary then there won't be anything going in or anything coming out to stop the spread of infection. Parvo is a nasty disease and it does kill dogs so they won't let you take one from there until it's cleared up. He is better off not going there for the moment as you don't know if he's been vaccinated or not (probably not).

Can you ask them if they know of any other rescues that might be able to help you or could you start looking yourself? Have you tried the SPCA? http://www.irishanimals.ie/general/18a.html

You'd be surprised how quickly some scared dogs come round once they are caught. I met a dog once that ran from humans for over 2 years, she was eventually trapped and we were shocked to discover after that she was happy to be caught and adapted to living in a house again very quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

I would say that the best option is to try and look after him temporarily anyway. I don't know what the situation in Limerick is, but be careful about contacting SPCAs, as many run the local pounds.
    Maybe you could put word out on petsireland.invisionzone.com, somebody on there may be able to offer a more long term solution.
    It's probably worth seeing how you get on with him though-as already said here, being with you is a better option than being on the streets.
    Also, it's amazing how dogs can adapt to situations once they have learned to trust you.

I got to rub him quite a bit this morning, and he was happy with that. But then I bought a collar and lead, after a woman came along and said she'd been talking to animal welfare and they said to catch him and bring him to the vet and they'd take care of him from there. But I tried a little while ago to get it on him, and he got very jittery. So can't do that now.

So I rang animal welfare again and said he needs to be caught because he's going to get knocked down soon, and so the woman that I was talking to said she'd try organise it with the woman I was originally in contact with. So we'll see. If they catch him and keep saying they have no room, then i'll take him in, but he'd be better with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

You need to make the lead into a loop by putting the clip end through the handle. This will give you a kind of lasso effect so when you're rubbing him just gently slip it over his head and pull to tighten, this will then allow you to keep a hold of him while you put the collar on.

Make sure that if you bring him to the vet that he won't be sent to the pound.

I've just tried again to catch him. Couldn't do it with just approaching him. Then after walking away I noticed him going into an area that has an entrance with a gate, so ran back and closed the gate, but he freaked out and jumped over the wall, and across the road. he's so terrified of people.

I'm totally worn out now from it all. I've called the LAW people again to say if they don't have any other choice I'll take him in, if they help me catch him. So there's a chance they might come out tomorrow. Although I wouldn't count on it. And he could be dead by then anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

I've just tried again to catch him. Couldn't do it with just approaching him. Then after walking away I noticed him going into an area that has an entrance with a gate, so ran back and closed the gate, but he freaked out and jumped over the wall, and across the road. he's so terrified of people.

I'm totally worn out now from it all. I've called the LAW people again to say if they don't have any other choice I'll take him in, if they help me catch him. So there's a chance they might come out tomorrow. Although I wouldn't count on it. And he could be dead by then anyway.

You've got to calm down with him, running at him and shutting a gate is bound to freak him out. Go gently. He sounds as though he's road smart, but not if he's frightened and bolts across one. If you can stroke him, then just do that for a couple of days, I know you want him safe NOW, but thats not going to happen. You have to gain his trust first. Don't try to pat the top of his head, go for the side of his body, just gently stroking him, talking to him, giving him food. If you have the time and its a nice day, just take a book and go and sit near him, if he approaches you, just put your hand out, still reading, don't look at him, let him sniff you, then stroke him, but again, don't make eye contact with him.

I know that you're frustrated, but please don't be so negative about LAW, they're not a government agency, they're just people doing their best for the animals that others no longer want. You are dealing with one dog, imagine how many they deal with every day.

Well i'm not being harsh about them at all, although if I told you all that's been going on I'm sure you would think it's justified. I'm just saying I went to them Saturday about catching him, and it hasn't happened yet, and I've in the meantime tried my best to sort things out, without any help. I'm worn out is all.

And I didn't mean it to sound like I ran at him, I didn't. I ran over to the wall, then stopped, then he saw me, just as I got to the gate, and I closed it. He ran over to the wall and scrambled up to jump over it. I didn't scare him, I didn't run at him.

He's not wary of traffic at all, he walks on the road all day, to avoid people on the footpath, he's just that afraid of people. So I didn't scare him off into the traffic. I've put quite a lot of work and time into all this, so I don't like being told I'm doing something wrong, when I'm not. I'm doing my best.

I was able to rub him for a good bit earlier, he seemed to like it, closed his eyes and stayed there for a good while. After a while he did move off though, but I think he was too warm where he was. I know he won't let me rub him again, so that's that done with. All I can hope for now is that they come to trap him tomorrow, and I can get him into the apartment, and maybe he'll learn to calm a bit, and not be so afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

OP I think you are doing a great job! Most people simply would have given up!