Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were to open a nightclub...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭gsparx

With infinite funds, what would you do differently to every other nightclub?

With so much talk about how bad Dublin nightlife is, what can be done (by real people) to make Dublin better? There're a few promoters among us so maybe some ideas could actually be implemented!

So, what's your idea to open a perfect club?

Getting back to this, it's been said numerous times before but until there is a change with the licensing laws/ closing times, the clubs here are just not going to be great.
    No amount of lasers, podium dancers, nice clothes, regulars, seating, good dj's or disco balls is going to change that fact that 3am is a joke.

On a more positive note, I've only been there a couple of times but I think the Button Factory is as close as Dublin gets to a great club, if you can call it a club.
    It's got most of the elements in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

is the closing time so bad.

i mean noone wants a good night to end but i dont think its the reason to blame the lacklustre clubbing scene in ireland.

im sure people have had great experiences in clubs recently and it still shut at the legal time.

nothing worse than a **** night dragging on into the small hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

seannash wrote: »
    is the closing time so bad.

Not necessarlily as the OLYMPIC was a 2:30 - 3:00 am finish but you always went on to somewhere else but had a great time in the OLYMPIC knowing the music would be at its best around 1:00am.........if there was a great venue opened that you had really great buzz in you would happily spend all the night in it until the next day........only going on my mates word on this as i never made it to Cream in manchester but he said that when it finished in the early hours the pub across the road was owned by Cream which you could meander across to as soon as the Rave finished & flake out to a load of beers to chilled sounds,

That i think would be a great coup for any venue to open in Dublin if they managed to get an all night license & have one area zoned as the beer & flake out bar once the rest of the rave has stopped. Many a great buzz was had in Barnstormers after the Rave & various other 'welcoming' early houses.

But the likley hood of that happening is very very slim.

nothing worse than a **** night dragging on into the small hours.

There is one thing, the music ending when you've nowhere else to go. ;)

To be honest, I don't think every club should be open all night, every weekend but it should be possible to have the option.
    It can improve the general vibe if you get an influx of new punters (and bar workers) at various times when other places shut.
    Plus, I think lots of dj's who are passionate about their profession like to play a 4+ hour set.
    That's barely possible in Ireland these days.

gsparx wrote: »
    There is one thing, the music ending when you've nowhere else to go. ;)

To be honest, I don't think every club should be open all night, every weekend but it should be possible to have the option.
    It can improve the general vibe if you get an influx of new punters (and bar workers) at various times when other places shut.
    Plus, I think lots of dj's who are passionate about their profession like to play a 4+ hour set.
    That's barely possible in Ireland these days.
    ha ha i guess the nowhere else to go thing is a good point but were all adults right.surely someones mate has a gaff.even if its just a few mates(which is a better buzz to be honest)

the 4 hr set is a good point alright.i think coming on at 11:30 to finish should be doable though.but having said that alot of peoples habits are to wait til its last orders in the pub then go to the club,which means theyll be playing to feck all at 11:30.

its a tough one but theres no point in moaning about closing early because theres nothing you can do about it.

just on a side what time can you legally stay on a boat that serves drinks.

if you do do a boat crusie or something do it during the day starting early.once aboard theres no excuse for the party not to start instantly:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Staff:
    Regular door staff. With a pleasant attitude. I would have a fairly strict door policy to be honest. If you looked like trouble you wouldn't get in but it would have to be done in as friendly a way possible.
    Friendly and fast bar staff. Anyone not treating all customers properly gets the gate.

and the same should apply to punters who show disrespect to staff members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I'd like to see a club have a place that is suitable to opening early on a Saturday afternoon, something like a terrace I guess. It would open during the day kicking off with a selection of local up and coming talent, nothing too heavy to start with.
    I'd also tie this in with a well run restaurant on the premises so punters could get a decent meal in between the day sessions and the night activities. Restaurant would be small enough to ensure a chilled atmosphere.

Entry to the day sessions would be free and as the evening progresses the main club would open with guest DJs headlining etc...just my tuppence worth.

I'd like to see a club have a place that is suitable to opening early on a Saturday afternoon, something like a terrace I guess. It would open during the day kicking off with a selection of local up and coming talent, nothing too heavy to start with.
    I'd also tie this in with a well run restaurant on the premises so punters could get a decent meal in between the day sessions and the night activities. Restaurant would be small enough to ensure a chilled atmosphere.

Entry to the day sessions would be free and as the evening progresses the main club would open with guest DJs headlining etc...just my tuppence worth.

i think the weather would dictate whether or not that idea would work.ive been to places like that but they always seem to be half outdoor half indoor.

its also hard to get people to stay in a place the whole day

just on a side what time can you legally stay on a boat that serves drinks.

Not sure how the law is on that now but there was a barge apparently down on the canal by the barge pub mid 2000's (maybe when you were in NY) that was able to allow people on to it for drinking till all hours because it was on the river & some sort of bending of the rules to get around the licensing laws but it went on for a while apparently.........the road to go down i thought of was to approach a hotel with say 100 to 200 rooms & offer to book all rooms in the hotel for 6 months time down the line but only if all residents can use the residents bar with a DJ playing till the morning came........you would do it on a ticketed basis with the price of the room Per person sharing & all that & Gig etc being included on the ticket which would give you a gig with about 300 to 400 people to say 6 AM & then crash in the rooms or stay in the bar to the death.
    Hotel owner would surley be happy to have the place filled to capacity.
    All you would have to find is a struggling hotel that is willing which shouldnt be hard in this financial climate i would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Not sure how the law is on that now but there was a barge apparently down on the canal by the barge pub mid 2000's (maybe when you were in NY) that was able to allow people on to it for drinking till all hours because it was on the river & some sort of bending of the rules to get around the licensing laws but it went on for a while apparently.........the road to go down i thought of was to approach a hotel with say 100 to 200 rooms & offer to book all rooms in the hotel for 6 months time down the line but only if all residents can use the residents bar with a DJ playing till the morning came........you would do it on a ticketed basis with the price of the room Per person sharing & all that & Gig etc being included on the ticket which would give you a gig with about 300 to 400 people to say 6 AM & then crash in the rooms or stay in the bar to the death.
    Hotel owner would surley be happy to have the place filled to capacity.
    All you would have to find is a struggling hotel that is willing which shouldnt be hard in this financial climate i would imagine.
    Now THAT'S pill talk if ever I've heard it!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

if I had a club I'd just want it to be small, cool, intimate and friendly - with absolutely no nackers.

Zascar wrote: »
    with absolutely no nackers.

Will you define what qualifies for nackers just for the record:D

ah there pretty easy to spot.

chances are that if you cant spot a knacker..............well you know what they say:D:D:p

if I had a club I'd just want it to be small, cool, intimate and friendly - with absolutely no nackers.
    yep i reckon thats the best vibe of all but people who listen to ther sorts of music will pronbably disagree.

i cant imagine trance being as good in a small intimate venue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

That's a kind of nice utopian idea, to have a night that's not promoted at all, but anyone that's into their music will come. It'd be great if it'd work.

every night needs promotion really.

the concept would work as long as the crowdwas right and if a door policy was enforced well then theres no reason it shouldnt happen

i always thought it would be a good idea to have some sort of interaction with what song would be played out.

like the dj throws up 3 tracks on a screen and the crowd votes.

not for every song but every 30 minutes or so.

could work or it could bomb.

i also think the silent disco's idea is great.you could potentially have a gig anywhere without having to worry about noise levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

i always thought it would be a good idea to have some sort of interaction with what song would be played out.

like the dj throws up 3 tracks on a screen and the crowd votes.

not for every song but every 30 minutes or so.

could work or it could bomb.

i also think the silent disco's idea is great.you could potentially have a gig anywhere without having to worry about noise levels

Ah here, I think you've been watchin way too much 'Celebrities have got Pop Factor' or whatever sh1te is always on tv. The problem with letting people, (the public, or the sheeple as I've recently heard them being called) have a vote is that, by and large, the public is stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Absolutely. And anyway - most of the time your average punter at a 'dance' night won't know the names of the majority of the tracks being played. It being underground and all

ianuss wrote: »
    Ah here, I think you've been watchin way too much 'Celebrities have got Pop Factor' or whatever sh1te is always on tv. The problem with letting people, (the public, or the sheeple as I've recently heard them being called) have a vote is that, by and large, the public is stupid.
    no no no,you got it all wrong.

the dj picks 3 tracks.it goes up on the screen and they choose what they think is the best out of the 3.

its still down to the dj to pick 3 decent tracks.
    obviously it would only be the resident doing this so he might be better at picking tracks that people might know.

not every gig should have 100% unheard underground tracks the whole night and ill bet a fair few people who are there know there stuff or are djs themselves.

like i said it could work or it could bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

No, I got what you're talking about alright. I just think it's a shockin idea.

ianuss wrote: »
    No, I got what you're talking about alright. I just think it's a shockin idea.
    ha ha ha okay so

just a thought:p

It's called a Jukebox

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It's called a Jukebox
    was waiting for that. a juke box with only 3 good songs to pick from:D

(why am i defending this idea ha ha ha)

ah there pretty easy to spot.

chances are that if you cant spot a knacker..............well you know what they say:D:D:p

Would people that pull up the furnishings & equipment to fu.ck them overboard on your boat be of the knacker variety??? You didnt spot them:D:P

ha ha.ill readily admit there was a few knackers at our gigs but like we said we only had two bouncers who were our mates so a strict door policy wasnt top of our list.

So i could have slipped in ya reckon??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

No way is Twisted Pepper even approaching a perfect club. When its packed downstairs its dangerously hot and not a very pleasant place to be. Even half full it's way too hot. It's actually a lawsuit waiting to happen, all it takes is someone to feint and injure themselves falling over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Would an extraction system for the basement cost an arm and a leg?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

i think twisted pepper is a great club. .some one mentioned about being able to go in early and stay to late hours and thats what i did in TP i was able to have a laugh with a mate and have a few and then go look at band or artist and then go down stairs and have a bit of a dance :p and enjoy the music !!! but thats on weekdays really iv never been on a weekend is it really that bad regarding the amount of people etc??
    what do people think of andrews lane or good bits their ok but like all clubs there will be problems but its the people who go these clubs are the problems really , theres always 2 acting the dope!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Mr.Mister

Recreate Sir Henrys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I haven't been to many places because I've only been 18 for 4 months and didn't try getting in many places underage.

One thing I'd like to see in a nightclub is a more diverse selection of music, most places I end up play indie or electro. I was surprised to see The Vaults play hardstyle, though they don't advertise it well at all, the only way I found out was some fella's profile pic on Facebook by chance and their website has a **** list of genres they play. What the **** is hardcore dance? Is it hard dance or hardcore? Honestly...

I'd also charge less for drink, a pint of Bulmers in Whelan's was €5.50 which is just ridiculous, especially considering I got a pint for €4.65 at The Oak.

I'd also hire good doormen. I was out with some friends and we were going into Citibar, the staff said it was over 21s so we left, the girls in our group went over to try again and they were going to let them in despite none of them being over 21, ageism and sexism at the same club, very nice. We eventually got in but only because one of us knew one of the doormen. They weren't exactly in the position to deny us entry because the place was ****in empty. They need to get their act sorted out.

I also like how a few of my girl friends who are underage got in at Andrew's Lane with someone else's ID, who did not look like them, but my friend didn't get in with his ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Reading this reminds me of how crap nightlife is back home compared to here in Sydney. Cheaper booze, hardly any cheesey nightclubs, and you can get into most clubs full of soup, unlike back home where if you had 4 cans you can get the not tonight lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Javelin77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Javelin77 wrote: »

Pretty nice idea, could go with a glass roof. Wed do have an infinite budge remember :cool:

Mr.Mister wrote: »
    Recreate Sir Henrys.

Was never in the place but when i went to homelands in 2000 i was going around all the different set ups to hear what kind of tunes were being played & one of the rooms in the main building in the centre had a great DJ playing with some craking house music so we buzzzed there for a while & when i asked someone where these DJ's were from they said sir henrys, i have to say the best tunes at the whole thing were in the Lush tent & the Sir Henrys room.

The Primetime episode that was up on the ASYLUM thread has footage from Sir Henrys on it.....did you ever see it???
    If not im sure i can dig it out for ya.

Reading this reminds me of how crap nightlife is back home compared to here in Sydney. Cheaper booze, hardly any cheesey nightclubs, and you can get into most clubs full of soup, unlike back home where if you had 4 cans you can get the not tonight lads.

i think your telling porkies about being pissed and let into clubs in sydney.

there ridiculously strict at the door and if they even suspect youve had a few theyll refuse you.

has to be one of the strictest alcohol laws about.
    also cheaper booze?seriously its not cheap in sydney.
    ill agree that they have some cracking clubs but there also are alot of cheesy ones there.

the better climate and late opening allows them to have some really great clubs but there certainly not a shining beacon for clubbing.

Was never in the place but when i went to homelands in 2000 i was going around all the different set ups to hear what kind of tunes were being played & one of the rooms in the main building in the centre had a great DJ playing with some craking house music so we buzzzed there for a while & when i asked someone where these DJ's were from they said sir henrys, i have to say the best tunes at the whole thing were in the Lush tent & the Sir Henrys room.
    Actually, funnily enough I did the same thing. Ended up spending most of the night bopping away in the Ballroom(I think) to the lads from Sir Henrys, think it was Greg Dowling and another guy. Brilliant sounds. All my mates heading off to see Leftfield and when we met up afterwards they weren't impressed with them, said they played too many tracks with epic buildups and breakdowns which just put a damper on the general vibe.

Always regretted not going to Sir Henrys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

That reminds me, one of my friends was getting accused of drinking when we we're going into a pub one day, it took 5 of us to convince the doorman he hadn't had anything to drink because he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Was thinking about this the other day........would it be a good idea to ban cameras in a nightclub??

Not for any other reason than if I was going to a club where photo taking was strictly prohibited (like the berghain/panorama bar), I'd be thinking 'there's gonna be proper mad sh1t going on in here'. Would be pretty exciting.

Also more importantly, it's always saps that are taking photos in clubs anyways, so it'd deter them. thoughts?

jtsuited wrote: »

Also more importantly, it's always saps that are taking photos in clubs anyways, so it'd deter them. thoughts?

Its kind of ironic but i wouldnt have ever thought about bringing a camera in to any of the Raves back in the 90's & would have pprobably thought the same as you....'Saps'....but now it is a real pleasure if any old photos of places i used to buzz are thrown up....there was no ban on cameras in the ASYLUM or SIDES & some mad sh.it went on in there!!!:eek::D

You're comparing chalk and cheese though. Back in the day cameras were big chunky clunky malowjins so it'd be fairly impractical to bring one to a club. Plus it cost a bit to get pictures developed. Nowadays everybody has a camera on their phones and it's easier to upload to the net to share with everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭CyanRain

Something simple with DJ's playing proper rave music. Always free, if possible.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Personally if I was going to go to the effort of having my own bar/nightclub - I'd want at least some level of exclusivity to it - not just some random place where any bunch of tossers will chose as their weekly place to get plastered and act like fools.

In other countries you can have cool semi exclusive clubs that play good music and get a good crowd, but I'm not sure if it would work to well here really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

i think your telling porkies about being pissed and let into clubs in sydney.

there ridiculously strict at the door and if they even suspect youve had a few theyll refuse you.

has to be one of the strictest alcohol laws about.

Only twice have I been refused without good rason here, back home it was quite regular. Even hammered its not often Ive got the boot from anywhere. Heard all these scare stories about the laws here and yet its way easier than back home. Most bouncers are sound unlike some of the ignorant fcuks back home.
    also cheaper booze?seriously its not cheap in sydney.
    ill agree that they have some cracking clubs but there also are alot of cheesy ones there.

the better climate and late opening allows them to have some really great clubs but there certainly not a shining beacon for clubbing.

The booze is cheap as. Alot of city centre bars are no more than 3.80 euro for a pint (used to be litreally half the cost of back home before the currency difference became smaller)
    Better clubs, more events, raves etc. The only thing is that big dance festivals here arent as good as ones back home, here they attract every poser and his granny. Also, the ahem, supplies, here are expensive and can be hit and miss, not to mention the dogs at raves. However, smaller events, festivals, clubs, they all attract a proper dance crowd.