Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Junior world cup MEGA thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,199 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

What a disappointing way to potentially end this with a silly penalty.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭fitz

No way that tackle was high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

The try aside I thought we deffinitely looked second best all day.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

B0X wrote: »
    The try aside I thought we deffinitely looked second best all day.

we were well on top the whole first half. :confused:

Unlucky to lose, a few decsions went againt us and playing the game in the wrong area toward the end. When getting the ball down the other end would have been more pragmatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Showed good determination to come back, but penalties cost us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

They were too physical for us in the second half but you'd have to be disappointed with the predictability of our attacking, especially off a dominant lineout. We did the same thing every time.

The better side won i'm afraid.

• Harsh way to lose it. Definitely didn't think the tackle was high. Feel for Reid, he came on and was the spark to score the try, but his kick out on the full lead straight to the penalty to lose it.

Some decent performances put in, means they've to win both other matches convincingly to keep alive.

Nothing like a bit of pressure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

copacetic wrote: »
    we were well on top the whole first half. :confused:

Maybe in the first 15 minutes, but nothing came of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheTMO

I said it before the game but Noel Reid should start. The guy was on less than 15mins and looked like one of our best backs. Set up the Zebo try, nearly was through for a try with his kick and chase and instantly made an impression.

That was some try worked by Noel Reid and Conway. Conway is going to be world class mark my words. Zebo did well to finish in the corner but Noel Reid and Conway deserve the plaudits there. I wonder if Conway could play 13? Might be interesting to see 12.Noel Reid 13.Andrew Conway.... they seem to link extremely well.

Ruddock was immense as well. Butler was anonymous today was quite disappointed. Also disappointed with Spence. Dominic Ryan was also not in the best form. Makes monster hits but didnt excell (though in fairness that penalty wasnt high, I actually think when refs see the massive hits he makes they feel inclined to blow out of reaction more than anything else just like when he was binned against Edinburugh)

Anyone know why O'Halloran pulled out? I know he has been excluded from squads before because of ill discipline? Was this the case here or did the commentators mention an injury? I heard from an old friend currently plying his trade for Connacht that O'Halloran once turned up for training with Leinster shorts and socks on! Apparently it didnt go down too well! Then again, if hes a fan of Leinster maybe a move in the future is on the cards???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

TheTMO wrote: »
    Anyone know why O'Halloran pulled out? I know he has been excluded from squads before because of ill discipline? Was this the case here or did the commentators mention an injury? I heard from an old friend currently plying his trade for Connacht that O'Halloran once turned up for training with Leinster shorts and socks on! Apparently it didnt go down too well! Then again, if hes a fan of Leinster maybe a move in the future is on the cards???

Pulled his hamstring during the captains warm up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

Watchin the England Argentina match now, turns out a lad i know is on the bench for the england squad, how strange.....

• Watchin the England Argentina match now, turns out a lad i know is on the bench for the england squad, how strange.....

has been a strange game, both teams look like they had no trouble scoring the tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

waay he got subbed on, number 22 Forsyth, got really drunk with him in portugal for a month a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 goestogames

Excellent post.

I felt Macken never got a legitimate chance in the 6N, through no fault of his own. You've summed it up perfectly.

Noel Reid is a player I saw a lot of last season for the Leinster U20s, this guy is like an even more rounded Paddy Wallace. I think himself and Macken would make an excellent partnership, but I don't think that its going to happen unfortunately.

The reason Macken never got a fair shake was because he shoots out of the line and that's exactly what lost the game to France in the 6 nations. I was there and at all the other games and he constantly shoots out and leaves spence and his wing exposed, and the coaches know that. Yes, Drico does it too, but 1, he is Drico, and 2, he is asked to, Macken is asked to hold the line and constantly breaks it. So that's why he's not in the team. If you wish, rewatch the Ireland V France game and see the French try.

Conway is a nice underage player but simply will never have the physique to do it at the higher level. Lovely young guy but even at Magners League recently he was like a rabbit caught in the headlights in the away game. I am a rugby supporter and wish I could say he was all that, and he is a lovel broken field runner, but we all know, rugby and broken field running is alsmost a thong of the past now so afraid he won't make it to the senior level.

Actually some of the posts on this thread have been very funny to see how people read the games having been to all 6 nations games live. Good God, I don't know what people are watching half the time! That aside, was just trying to explain to the original post why Macken is not picked and it;s simply because he is not up to it and cannot hold a system and on top, is far too similar to spence who is a much better player, hence, no Macken and Spence. Feel free to disagree, but alan clarke doesn't does he!

• nice post goestogames, and welcome to the forums!

I wouldn't contradict anything that you have posted, as I can't recall the games play for play myself, and I'll trust that you're right on the matter.

Macken has seemed to fade out of favour/limelight in the last year, and seems like he isn't progressing well in the academy. He was a super play in the Senior Cup last year, and I was hoping he'd make the step up, but he hasn't featured enough to be noticed imo.

Conway is roughly the same size as S.Williams, and can definitely push forward and find a wing spot at Leinster in years to come. I don't think he will make it at FB, which is where he has played most of his games, but I think writing off an 18year old who has SCT and U20 6N medals, and appearances for the full Leinster team is madness. He has years to improve, and he's in the right spot to do it.

fitz wrote: »

disgraceful decision alright, superb teams playin great rugby at a world cup and a game decided by this clown, The tackle didn;t even go over pectoral area, never mind high! Scandalous decision!

nice post goestogames, and welcome to the forums!

I wouldn't contradict anything that you have posted, as I can't recall the games play for play myself, and I'll trust that you're right on the matter.

Macken has seemed to fade out of favour/limelight in the last year, and seems like he isn't progressing well in the academy. He was a super play in the Senior Cup last year, and I was hoping he'd make the step up, but he hasn't featured enough to be noticed imo.

Conway is roughly the same size as S.Williams, and can definitely push forward and find a wing spot at Leinster in years to come. I don't think he will make it at FB, which is where he has played most of his games, but I think writing off an 18year old who has SCT and U20 6N medals, and appearances for the full Leinster team is madness. He has years to improve, and he's in the right spot to do it.

I'm not sure how well he gets on with Alan Clarke either who is a strange man to get on with anyway so not necessarily Macken's fault, but he definitely broke the defensive system too many times and was dropped for that. He's big enough to be a good player but is definitely much too similar to Spence to give any options in the centre, two big crash runners.

as for Conway, fair call by you. I am being premature but I would have my worries. Even at 18 now it;s hard if you are that size. I know Shane Williams is the guy usually brought up when we talk about size but he seems to be an exception to be honest, Wings now need to be 6ft plus at least and min 15 stone. For example, apart form conway, not 1 of the 11-14 of the irish U20 is lighter than the senior team! And most of them are outlifting them in the gym by significant amounts. If Andrew doesn;t put on some serious size and fast, full back is most certainly out for him and wing, I'm afraid they are bigger than FB's these days by a couple of stone. But lets hope he makes the step up. But at this age, he has loads to offer, makes a few mistakes but they all will, lovely break tonight but I personally would give huge credit to the wide pass over the defenders head. I think for the second time this year, the better team lost the match. And Maguire destroyed their prop and in France the Irish scrum was going backwards for the whole second half.

For next match I'm not sure who will start though, 4 day turnaround! Maguire is almost 21 stone, it's a lot to ask and he was not sa starter in any 6 nations game bar Scotland if I recall even though he should have been in every one, he's clearly capable of giving us not ust a steady scrum but a dominant one, how the ref didn;t penalise France at leats 3 times in the first half was unreal! Expect as few changes as possible for next game obviously but will be tough for the front 5, and even the back row worked their arses off today.
    If they can live with Englan at set piece, they will take them apart in the backs having seen the game in Gloucester. England don;t have enough class out wide so their forwards keep the ball and when that goes wrong, they fall apart for ideas. We're not done yet lads!

nice post goestogames, and welcome to the forums!

By the way, also kind of amazed by some of the posts saying put in people before Zebo. As you mentioned with Conway, Zebo has an SCT which he won with one of the most outstanding tries you'll see to win an SCT (look at youtube), a 6 nations championship, an AIL league winners medal and played for Munster in Magners League and a member of the academy. Yet it's sometimes like some of the posters don't know any of the players outside the pale.

God lads, you know we have the odd player down here too yeah! Perhaps go to a few games before commenting on this player and that, they deserve that much at least! The reason I use the name "goestomatches" was to make that very point. By the way, that's not aimed at you Dana Muscular Viking, but at some of the people who are quick to comment on players they have never even seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

disgraceful decision alright, superb teams playin great rugby at a world cup and a game decided by this clown, The tackle didn;t even go over pectoral area, never mind high! Scandalous decision!

Think the ref was on the wrong side and saw the tackler's right arm come up high and grab around the shoulder giving the impression that it was a high tackle. I think if he had seen it from the same side as us he wouldn't have blown it.

madds wrote: »
    Think the ref was on the wrong side and saw the tackler's right arm come up high and grab around the shoulder giving the impression that it was a high tackle. I think if he had seen it from the same side as us he wouldn't have blown it.

Possibly yeah, but then again, he does have a linesman who was right there also. I suppose the point I am making is that he needs to be sure of his decisions becayse these young fellas have trained their arses off for years for this and he may have cost them a place in the semis tonight. I mean, I never want Rugby to become a soccer situation where we all blame the ref every time after games, to hell with that. But damn, some fo them ar egetting way beyond themselves like Romain Poitte, Craig Joubert, Wayne Barnes.... there is a problem in rugby with reffing now and this guy tonight was not good enough to match the skill levels of these two great teams and they deserve better I think! But what th ehell, what is done is done, but I think when he looks it over, he will know that he cost a team a match with that decision!

Risteard wrote: »
    HE GOT IT!! Brilliant conversion, nerves of steel.

superb conversion under that pressure and especially after having to ruh it after the replace. Has kicked superbly all through 6 nations too. Great prospect for Ireland I think.

Sangre wrote: »
    Ref link/whistle seems way off to me on Setanta.

yeah, what teh hell was that about, i was waiting for play to stop all the time and it went on. yet for the england game everything was fine..... !! jesus, how can they not notice this in like 90+ minutes of rugby??? Setanta .... only cos I have to!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I assume Sky/Setanta lost sound from Argentina and they (Sky/Setanta) substituted their own.

Setanta's sounded like a Top 14 game and Sky just had what sounded like a very muted crowd.

I watched the full second half on Sky which seemed to be fine from then on. I was in and out for the first half switching between both.

While I am giving out about other stuff, let me keep going for it :)

Seriously lads, between Dara O' Brien and Neil Francis, it;s clear as day that they only have a clue of the U20 Leinster players names, not an idea of the Munster, Ulster and Connaught lads so they go on and on about the Leinster lads cos they couldn't be bothered their arses going to games elsewhere bar the RDS. I have seen Tony Ward and Donal Linehan at all U20 games this season and they are knwoledgeable about the gusy form every province, but on Setanta we get this BS Leibster only thing.

This is not an anti Leinster post, its an ant commentator not knowing their job post! The least they could do is know the teams and something about each of them bar the cliches! Crap commentary and analysis as usual bar Ciaran Fitzgerald when he's on that panel. Franno.......... if you bet on his tips/views, you'd be broke in a week, you'd think he never played the game he's so wrong so often! And Dars O Brien goes on about how big this French guy and that french guy is, typical Irish, Steward Maguire is 21 stone, bigger than any single french fron row, starter or replacement, but us irish talk about how big the others are. Typical Irish "worry about them instead of how they will worry about us".

Jeez, Setanta subscription is expensive enough to deserve better commentary and understanding/knowledge than that!

Morf wrote: »
    I assume Sky/Setanta lost sound from Argentina and they (Sky/Setanta) substituted their own.

Setanta's sounded like a Top 14 game and Sky just had what sounded like a very muted crowd.

I watched the full second half on Sky which seemed to be fine from then on. I was in and out for the first half switching between both.

Not sure but i watched it all on Setanta and for the full match the commentary was miles, like 30 seconds out of sinc, and sky seemed marginally better. But once the english game came on, I also watched it on setanta and the sounds was sinched perfectly with the match, I just can;t believe they couldn;t fix it in the 90+15 minutes but could have it right 10 minutes later! But then again, it's Setanta.... I can believe it!

Seriously lads, between Dara O' Brien and Neil Francis, it;s clear as day that they only have a clue of the U20 Leinster players names, not an idea of the Munster, Ulster and Connaught lads so they go on and on about the Leinster lads cos they couldn't be bothered their arses going to games elsewhere bar the RDS. I have seen Tony Ward and Donal Linehan at all U20 games this season and they are knwoledgeable about the gusy form every province, but on Setanta we get this BS Leibster only thing.

This is not an anti Leinster post, its an ant commentator not knowing their job post! The least they could do is know the teams and something about each of them bar the cliches! Crap commentary and analysis as usual bar Ciaran Fitzgerald when he's on that panel. Franno.......... if you bet on his tips/views, you'd be broke in a week, you'd think he never played the game he's so wrong so often! And Dars O Brien goes on about how big this French guy and that french guy is, typical Irish, Steward Maguire is 21 stone, bigger than any single french fron row, starter or replacement, but us irish talk about how big the others are. Typical Irish "worry about them instead of how they will worry about us".

Jeez, Setanta subscription is expensive enough to deserve better commentary and understanding/knowledge than that!

There's a Tongan prop the same weight as Maguire but 20cm shorter.

Not sure but i watched it all on Setanta and for the full match the commentary was miles, like 30 seconds out of sinc, and sky seemed marginally better. But once the english game came on, I also watched it on setanta and the sounds was sinched perfectly with the match, I just can;t believe they couldn;t fix it in the 90+15 minutes but could have it right 10 minutes later! But then again, it's Setanta.... I can believe it!

I was talking about the background noise. Not the commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

The reason Macken never got a fair shake was because he shoots out of the line and that's exactly what lost the game to France in the 6 nations. I was there and at all the other games and he constantly shoots out and leaves spence and his wing exposed, and the coaches know that. Yes, Drico does it too, but 1, he is Drico, and 2, he is asked to, Macken is asked to hold the line and constantly breaks it. So that's why he's not in the team. If you wish, rewatch the Ireland V France game and see the French try.

Conway is a nice underage player but simply will never have the physique to do it at the higher level. Lovely young guy but even at Magners League recently he was like a rabbit caught in the headlights in the away game. I am a rugby supporter and wish I could say he was all that, and he is a lovel broken field runner, but we all know, rugby and broken field running is alsmost a thong of the past now so afraid he won't make it to the senior level.

Actually some of the posts on this thread have been very funny to see how people read the games having been to all 6 nations games live. Good God, I don't know what people are watching half the time! That aside, was just trying to explain to the original post why Macken is not picked and it;s simply because he is not up to it and cannot hold a system and on top, is far too similar to spence who is a much better player, hence, no Macken and Spence. Feel free to disagree, but alan clarke doesn't does he!

I 100% agree on Mackens over-eagerness to shoot out of the line during the six nations. But that is something that can be bate out of him with good coaching. I stand by my point that Macken never got a chance to impress because he had a player who simply doesn't pass inside him. With space Macken was devastating in the LSC, but then again that is the LSC and nowhere near senior level. He still has everything he needs to be a star.

There's a Tongan prop the same weight as Maguire but 20cm shorter.

OK, but do you see the point I mean? That Tongan prop wasn;t playing tonight but Dara O Brien and Franno are concerned about how big the others are compared to us. I know the weights of every one of the Irish 26, and I know the weights shown for the french squad, and it's just typical bull**** irishim worrying about how big they might be. Our wings are 6ft 2 and 15 stone, that's bigger than any one of the senior team! Same bull**** at senior level, "how do you handle a 191/2 stone prop from Northamptn running at you" ...... oh I don;t know, maybe with a 21 1/2 stone prop defending against him! I'm just saying that they need to stop alwasy wrrying about the other team and what they have or may so, that's why Franno was never a winner himself but talks like one now alright! And it;s the very point Popey tries to make every time on the TV before Tom McJerk interrupts him!

I was talking about the background noise. Not the commentary.

aj OK, sorry, misunderstood

chupacabra wrote: »
    I 100% agree on Mackens over-eagerness to shoot out of the line during the six nations. But that is something that can be bate out of him with good coaching. I stand by my point that Macken never got a chance to impress because he had a player who simply doesn't pass inside him. With space Macken was devastating in the LSC, but then again that is the LSC and nowhere near senior level. He still has everything he needs to be a star.

agreed, I think he has all the attributes to make it, he's 96 kilos at 20 and a strong carrier, but like spence, neither of them are great to off load so I think they need to pick one of them either at 12 or 13 as a line breaker and teach tjem to offload. Yes, this is a big step up form LSC, a very big step, but he's young and still a little immature, but give him a year and that will be gone. I still think he's a 12 if they can get him to offload though!

BTW, why the name "chupacabra"? you know what that means in Spanish right? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

BTW, why the name "chupacabra"? you know what that means in Spanish right? :)

Used to play in a band called Chupacabra in a previous life ;) and yes i know what it means and no im not a lonely, randy shepherd looking for a cheap thrill if thats what you think :pac:

ha ha, that WAS the question in my mind here alright but thanks for clearing it up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I think the issue was that they had a direct feed for sound but this was coming in including the French commentators who were on it. They could be heard when they played the sound feed for the anthems. For the second match they seemed to just take the direct feed, commentators and all.

When I saw that Macken hadn't even made the bench my first thought was that he may have been one of the players who misbehaved in the hotel during the post match celebrations during the 6 nations. (Apparently some lads were caught by other residents running round the hotel naked along with other shenanigans). I assumed some players would be reprimanded for it by losing game time. My linking it to Macken is pure speculation but even with the issues posters have noted I still cant see how he wouldnt have made the bench barring injury.

Foxtrol wrote: »
    I think the issue was that they had a direct feed for sound but this was coming in including the French commentators who were on it. They could be heard when they played the sound feed for the anthems. For the second match they seemed to just take the direct feed, commentators and all.

When I saw that Macken hadn't even made the bench my first thought was that he may have been one of the players who misbehaved in the hotel during the post match celebrations during the 6 nations. (Apparently some lads were caught by other residents running round the hotel naked along with other shenanigans). I assumed some players would be reprimanded for it by losing game time. My linking it to Macken is pure speculation but even with the issues posters have noted I still cant see how he wouldnt have made the bench barring injury.

No, that was all blown out of proportion, no reprimands at all for that, it was one guy who ran naked and that was it. He wasn;t dropped for that, it was pure selection and as I said, my guess would be a combination of too similar to spence and also breaks the defense system too often by rushing out and leabing huhe holes in the 6 nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Conway is a nice underage player but simply will never have the physique to do it at the higher level. Lovely young guy but even at Magners League recently he was like a rabbit caught in the headlights in the away game. I am a rugby supporter and wish I could say he was all that, and he is a lovel broken field runner, but we all know, rugby and broken field running is alsmost a thong of the past now so afraid he won't make it ((cut))

hence, no Macken and Spence. Feel free to disagree, but alan clarke doesn't does he!

I strongly disagree about Conway, and by your logic, all I have to say is "Michael Cheika disagrees, doesn't he?"

Not only will he cut it senior level, he will excel. Bulk can be added if needed. You can't teach what that kid has.

I take your point on the shooter from the line emulation of BOD by Macken. A lot of people here go to games, so I wouldn't be so quick to be disparaging just because you don't agree with something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 hiney

O'Halloran played for Leinster schools

I don't think thats the case at all. The 3 most promising youngsters in this country right now are Rhys Ruddock, Andrew Conway and Dominic Ryan. The fact that those 3 happen to be from Leinster is irrelevant. If anything I thought Zebo was overpraised for what was a simple finish by the commentators and they seemed to hold him in high regard throughout the game despite not showing much (in the game that is).

Anyway the four most impressive players for me today were Andrew Conway, Rhys Ruddock, Noel Reid and Stewart Maguire. I was largely disappointed with Nevin Spence and Paddy Butler. Griffin didnt seem to get much opportunity in fairness to him.

My 15 for next week

1.Jack O'Connell
    2.Annett
    3.Maguire
    4.O'Callaghan
    5.Marshall
    6.Rhys Ruddock
    7.Dominic Ryan
    8.Paddy Butler
    9.Cooney
    10.McKinney
    11.Simon Zebo
    12. Noel Reid
    13. Griffin
    14.Darren Hudson
    15.Andrew Conway

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    I strongly disagree about Conway, and by your logic, all I have to say is "Michael Cheika disagrees, doesn't he?"

Not only will he cut it senior level, he will excel. Bulk can be added if needed. You can't teach what that kid has.

I take your point on the shooter from the line emulation of BOD by Macken. A lot of people here go to games, so I wouldn't be so quick to be disparaging just because you don't agree with something.

Theres a poster here who always made the argument that Conway is only 2kgs lighter than Earls. His size has never been an issue so why do people keep talking about it? I'd understand if he was missing tackles and getting ran over all the time but thats never happened. In his debut in the ML he ran 15 metres with 2 players holding onto him. He is quite clearly a very strong player and from what I've been told his extremely difficult to take down in the tackle.

Its such an Irish thing. Say something enough and people will start to believe it.

Just while I'm talking about Conway, I reckon hes faster than Hickie! I've never seen an Irish player so fast. Hes exactly what Ireland needs. Its a shame the World Cup isnt 2 years away when he'd be ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

fitz wrote: »

agree , what a dreadful way to end a great game of rugby - referees ??????

thebaz wrote: »
    agree , what a dreadful way to end a great game of rugby - referees ??????

I made this point last night but I honestly think when refs see the monster hits Dominic Ryan makes they blow the whistle out of reaction more than anything else. What's scary is that this guy is only 19. I can only imagine what an absolute monster he will be when hes 25 +

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭fitz

I made this point last night but I honestly think when refs see the monster hits Dominic Ryan makes they blow the whistle out of reaction more than anything else. What's scary is that this guy is only 19. I can only imagine what an absolute monster he will be when hes 25 +

I think you're spot on about the big hits...and yeah, he's shaping up to be quite a prospect. Watching theses guys is really encouraging in general. If they can keep developing and realise their potential at senior level, it'll be great for the senior Irish squad as players start retiring post WC2011...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Ryan is going to be quality in the future. Like was said before he is only 19 and still developing physically, but some of the hits he puts in are just unreal for his age.The tackle on Cusiter when he kocked him out cold was just brutal, i know Cusiter was blindsided but still the impact was something else. He also has a huge engine aswell he seems to be everywhere during games.

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »

Firslty, with respect to your last comment about being disparaging....hold your horses there now a second! I never said nobody making posts goes to games, I said there are a lot of people who do so. So don;t be going and taking offence when what I wrote was clearly not directed at you if you do go to games. So don't be getting your nose bent out of shape on behalf of someone else when you know in your own heart and soul I am right.

Now, as for Amdrew Conway, your argument about Cheika doesn;t hold water for if it did, and let's assume what you are saying is that Cheika is a better judge of talent than I yeah........ shall we assume Cian Healy is not good enough to be irelands loose head and that Johnny Sexton was not good enough to be Leinster out half, never mind ireland out half until a winger/full back (nacewa) and a first centre (contepomi) are either gone from the team or show they are not up to it. I expressed my ownopinion, not Michael Cheika's and let's face it my friend, for 3 years Leinster fans were calling for his head!

On young Conway, nobody disagrees that he has talent, what I said was he will never be big enough. Now, since you had a good go, let me respond as a former bodybuilder..... Andrew Conway is a classic Ectomorph, now, between 18 and 21 a males testosterone levels are at their highest and their ability to add size is at it's best, later in life it's the QUALITY of muscle and thickness of the muscle fibres that increase and thicken. Now, let's assume that's a bit technical for you which would be fair if that was not your sport..... the short of that is that if he is not putting on enough size NOW, he will never catch up. Can you not see the other lads around him of the same age or 1 year older? They are deadlifting 180kgs (the backs), Andrew is not within a million miles of that and his body type is not his fault, it;s just genetic. So if he makes it, well doen to him, but don;t be getting all snotty at me because I tell you that in my opinion he won't be big enough. I hope the lad does go on to have a super career at the highest level, I simply expressed my doubts because of his size and that is NOT something you can put on any time as I previously explained to you. And if you would like a much more technical explanation of why, I would be happy to give it!

So let's just leave it at... Andrew is a lovely young lad who has a promising career ahead and we will both hope he makes it to the big time and makes a great player for Ireland, but we have differing opinions on whether that will happen.

I don't think thats the case at all. The 3 most promising youngsters in this country right now are Rhys Ruddock, Andrew Conway and Dominic Ryan. The fact that those 3 happen to be from Leinster is irrelevant. If anything I thought Zebo was overpraised for what was a simple finish by the commentators and they seemed to hold him in high regard throughout the game despite not showing much (in the game that is).

Anyway the four most impressive players for me today were Andrew Conway, Rhys Ruddock, Noel Reid and Stewart Maguire. I was largely disappointed with Nevin Spence and Paddy Butler. Griffin didnt seem to get much opportunity in fairness to him.

My 15 for next week

1.Jack O'Connell
    2.Annett
    3.Maguire
    4.O'Callaghan
    5.Marshall
    6.Rhys Ruddock
    7.Dominic Ryan
    8.Paddy Butler
    9.Cooney
    10.McKinney
    11.Simon Zebo
    12. Noel Reid
    13. Griffin
    14.Darren Hudson
    15.Andrew Conway

The TMO - Liam Toland was referring to Zebo as BEBO during the game, he doesn;t even knwo his NAME for God sake!..... he played for Munster in the Magners League, won the AIL league two weeks ago and has been on everyone's radar for years for god sake. Paddy Butler had a superb game, I'm not sure what you were watching there! And irrespective of who you may think are the country's 3 most promising players, and I might add I disagree with you again, the broadcaster at least owes it to the players to know their names. George Hamilton will know the name of every player who plays for the Democratic Republic of Congo if we play them in a match sometime in soccer and these clowns are talking about Leinster Schools Rugby.... give me a bloody break. This is a Junior World Cup! And as for overpraising for a simple touchdown, again, you must have been watching a different game, I have it recorded and if you like I will post here exactly what they said so you can see what you are calling overpraising! The point I made, and I repeat, is that the boradcasters go to LSC rugby games, local AIL games played by Rock V Clontarf, whereas true Rugby "journalists" like Ward and Linehan make sure they see all games all over the place so they can assess the talent across the country by seeing them and the non Leinster players deserve better than to have their names gotten wrong! Especially when they are well known players by any interested supporter, never mind a guy pretending to be a pundit! It's all grand at senior level where they ar ebuddy buddy and will go to all the games, but at this level, they simply know bugger all about who plays where outside of Dublin, and their punditry shows it! and i think these young lads deserve better than that!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

The TMO - Liam Toland was referring to Zebo as BEBO during the game, he doesn;t even knwo his NAME for God sake!..... he played for Munster in the Magners League, won the AIL league two weeks ago and has been on everyone's radar for years for god sake. Paddy Butler had a superb game, I'm not sure what you were watching there! And irrespective of who you may think are the country's 3 most promising players, and I might add I disagree with you again, the broadcaster at least owes it to the players to know their names. George Hamilton will know the name of every player who plays for the Democratic Republic of Congo if we play them in a match sometime in soccer and these clowns are talking about Leinster Schools Rugby.... give me a bloody break. This is a Junior World Cup! And as for overpraising for a simple touchdown, again, you must have been watching a different game, I have it recorded and if you like I will post here exactly what they said so you can see what you are calling overpraising! The point I made, and I repeat, is that the boradcasters go to LSC rugby games, local AIL games played by Rock V Clontarf, whereas true Rugby "journalists" like Ward and Linehan make sure they see all games all over the place so they can assess the talent across the country by seeing them and the non Leinster players deserve better than to have their names gotten wrong! Especially when they are well known players by any interested supporter, never mind a guy pretending to be a pundit! It's all grand at senior level where they ar ebuddy buddy and will go to all the games, but at this level, they simply know bugger all about who plays where outside of Dublin, and their punditry shows it! and i think these young lads deserve better than that!

Bit of a chip on your shoulder there id say from the sounds of that, against one province in particular! I have to say in my opinion what you are saying is ridiclous.

• wixfjord wrote: »
    Bit of a chip on your shoulder there id say from the sounds of that, against one province in particular! I have to say in my opinion what you are saying is ridiclous.

I don't think he's being ridiculous, perhaps reactionary. Couldn't ever be accused of being the only one who has been a bit over the top in their reactions to people's opinions in fairness.

With respect to the George Hamilton comment, Hamilton, while being a bit of an iffy commentator, does his homework religiously for all games, and is always dependable to know players names. I think goestogames is right in saying that it was a bit shambolic to have the commentator calling Zeebo "Bebo", and not realising that Hudson was playing in place of O'Halloran until the second half had started. That's more to do with the coverage that Setanta had put on for the game, than the IRFU or anything we have control/a say in though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

I think goestogames is right in saying that it was a bit shambolic to have the commentator calling Zeebo "Bebo"
    I think Liam might have been reading that thread I started before where I called Simon Zebo bebo by mistake. Does anyone know if he has a bebo account?