Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car thieves should be shot

• 01-06-2010 3:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭

ok ok that might be a bit extreme but listen to this. I love my cars, always have done, I take good care of them and become emotionally attached to them. My current car started out as me needing a new runabout then this came up at a good price from a decent seller who had taken care of it. I've put some elbow grease in and working my way to getting her perfect.

Tonight I open my window to find my bonnet open and door bent back slightly, they bent back the door, popped the bonnet and disconnected the battery to disable the alarm. No more damage was done, so they were obviously disturbed, the car would have gone nowhere anyway with the immobiliser but it's not the point.

I'm livid now, these guys should be strung up and shot with balls of their own shite

Guards have been and gone too, reckon they won't get anything from a TE so I'll leave it go, I've fixed the door and the part of the interior panel they tried to remove. Credit to the Guards in Tallaght who responded in good time and were very courteous and polite, also the girl on the phone didn't seem to mind me hitting on her.

Kind of glad I didn't catch them, who knows what would have happened then. Anyway my car is safe and a new alarm with an independent power supply is in order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

****ing scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Its happend me before, leaving a coin holder in my car at the end of the shift, they smashed the window and grabbed it.

I know its no the same as sombody trying to steal your car but when you think sombody has been at your car its more annoying than anything else.

Just aswell i keep Carina parts in the garage ;)

OP see this as a little reminder to be extra vigilant of scumbags, maybe try and use a chain lock on your steering wheel and wrap it around your seat, i remeber back in the day my da had alot of BMW's in the mid 90's they were broken into loads of times, he got a lock and didnt have anymore trouble, a physical deterant still works well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

sh*t buzz man, hope they find the b*stards, if you havent ordered the alarm already , cobra or falcon is the way to go , on the higher end models theres a battery built into the siren and it goes off if the battery is disconnected or bonnet opened while armed ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Sh*t buzz onkle. What motor ya got? It's a shame how we can't own things without risk. At least the damage isn't too bad when you think about it.
    I try to reduce the risk of break ins etc. Had a car broken into before and was devastated to the point i had to sell it cos it was a bad dose of memories.
    I hope the little scrotes fall in front of a truck on the bypass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Onkle wrote: »
    Tonight I open my window to find my bonnet open and door bent back slightly, they bent back the door, popped the bonnet and disconnected the battery to disable the alarm. No more damage was done, so they were obviously disturbed, the car would have gone nowhere anyway with the immobiliser but it's not the point.

It'd drive you mad when the likes of that happens, you just want to kill them.
    What car was it?
    You see it a lot with Jap yokes, they know that they usually come over with no immobilizer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I Was VB wrote: »
    Its happend me before, leaving a coin holder in my car at the end of the shift, they smashed the window and grabbed it.

I know its no the same as sombody trying to steal your car but when you think sombody has been at your car its more annoying than anything else.

Just aswell i keep Carina parts in the garage ;)

OP see this as a little reminder to be extra vigilant of scumbags, maybe try and use a chain lock on your steering wheel and wrap it around your seat, i remeber back in the day my da had alot of BMW's in the mid 90's they were broken into loads of times, he got a lock and didnt have anymore trouble, a physical deterant still works well.

I have a great big lock in the car that was to be used for something else but I think I'll get a chain to match tomorrow. A loaded shotgun by the bedroom window might be a plan too
    sh*t buzz man, hope they find the b*stards, if you havent ordered the alarm already , cobra or falcon is the way to go , on the higher end models theres a battery built into the siren and it goes off if the battery is disconnected or bonnet opened while armed ,

I've been saying for weeks that I need a decent alarm but I've had a million things going on, better get my finger out
    congo_90 wrote: »
    Sh*t buzz onkle. What motor ya got? It's a shame how we can't own things without risk. At least the damage isn't too bad when you think about it.
    I try to reduce the risk of break ins etc. Had a car broken into before and was devastated to the point i had to sell it cos it was a bad dose of memories.
    I hope the little scrotes fall in front of a truck on the bypass.

I have a DC2 Integra TypeR, damage is pretty much zero but still a pain in the face.

Just as I was typing this reply I realised there was a cheque for the guts of 6k in my car (not mine unfortunately) that I'm supposed to drop off tomorrow, so just ran out and it's still there :o

You see it a lot with Jap yokes, they know that they usually come over with no immobilizer.

She's UKDM so thankfully immobilised from factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Sorry this is a bit off topic, but what happend to the Golf you had??

I Was VB wrote: »
    Sorry this is a bit off topic, but what happend to the Golf you had??

Still have her, she's tucked away :)

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭evanSpiddal

Happened to the mothers Corsa Friday night, back door bent, cinder block through the back window and the indicator and wiper stalks snapped off, now on the look out for a new door and indicator switches :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Not a nice feeling at all, happened to my Subaru, found it one morning

hidden down the hill with the bonnet up,(thank God for the Kill switch)

Then the Mrs Starlet was broken into two weeks later.

Makes you kinda dispair. Don't give up. Got a total steering wheel locks

for both cars and touch wood bein left alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

Nasty fcukers who only get a slap on the wrist if caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

A friend of a friend of a friend had her brand new Q7 stolen the other night, she left her keys on a table by the front door and they fished them out through the letter box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

A friend of a friend of a friend had her brand new Q7 stolen the other night, she left her keys on a table by the front door and they fished them out through the letter box.

Well she made that just a bit too easy for them. Visible once they get in is one thing but visible from outside is just asking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Feck sake thats a load of bollix!! :mad: :mad:

A bullet in the head is the only way, gets rid of them and saves the state money, its a joke that even if they were caught they'd probably get away with it anyway! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭privateBeavis

I had my previous car "94 escort :D" broken into one night, luckily one of the neighbours disturbed them and they fecked off, but not before bending the door back and busting the ignition and steering lock...

what we need is some vigilante to go around kicking ass....

ka-hitgirl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

A small bed of nails the size of the drivers seat covered with a tea cloth left in the car overnight should sort the fukcers out but don't rush out to work in a hurry in the morning and forget to move it. Not recomended if you have kids.Even if the fukcers get away the gardai will find them in the local A+E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Jesus sorry to hear it pal, get yourself a Clifford, the blue light should deter most of the scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭mondeo

Friend of mines car was taken from the spawell area recently, they have yet to find it, A nice legacy B4, CCTV showed some fat bald bloke popping it...
    It's probably stripped by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

ouch, sorry to hear it Onkle :(
    that's disgraceful.

scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

draffodx wrote: »
    Feck sake thats a load of bollix!! :mad: :mad:

A bullet in the head is the only way, gets rid of them and saves the state money

A bullet in the knee would be better, the limp would remind him and his fellow compadres of the implictions of messing with a mans motor.

nah cos their still breathing after that. Waste of oxygen if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Nothing worse than getting your car flour/egg bombed then having the scrotes rub it in and you can see scratches on your windows!

Took me ages to clean that out on my previous car - kunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭RobertM

Indeed, it doesn't have a to be an expensive car. Once you get attached to it, you treat it like a baby ;)

For the thieves, I would .... ...... eh, can't say it, but it's going to be violent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

RobertM wrote: »
    Indeed, it doesn't have a to be an expensive car. Once you get attached to it, you treat it like a baby ;)

For the thieves, I would .... ...... eh, can't say it, but it's going to be violent :D

My girlfriend kills me whenever I talk about my car (especially if someone asks me about it and i ramble on about it (even if that person is taking the piss, cos they know how she reacts)

Its an extension of me at this stage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

You're preaching to the converted here :mad:

While we're on the subject, just wanted to canvas some opinion. As you may or may not know, I had a car stolen about a month ago. Yesterday, someone came to my door and left a name and phone number (said it was his brother) of a guy who knew where the car was, and if I gave him a shout, he would tell/show me where it was. What would people make of that, and how would you approach contacting the guy?

(Now it could be someone with the best of intentions, possibly even someone on here, but in light of what's happened, I'm a little wary)

blastman wrote: »

While we're on the subject, just wanted to canvas some opinion. As you may or may not know, I had a car stolen about a month ago. Yesterday, someone came to my door and left a name and phone number (said it was his brother) of a guy who knew where the car was, and if I gave him a shout, he would tell/show me where it was. What would people make of that, and how would you approach contacting the guy?

(Now it could be someone with the best of intentions, possibly even someone on here, but in light of what's happened, I'm a little wary)

Report it to the Gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

That's what most people I've mentioned it have said. If it is a good samaritan, though, I don't want to be too heavy-handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

That's what most people I've mentioned it have said. If it is a good samaritan, though, I don't want to be too heavy-handed.

In most cases he will want money for the info or he will be a go between with thief and he will then try to sell your property back to you. Call the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

How would I approach contacting him? I think contacting his forehead with my sledgehammer is the way to go.

Stealing a mans car is a no go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭Tefral

I know the feeling mate, left my car for 20 mins in Malahide Castle, guards rang me to tell me come to my car

this is what i found:

DSC00156.jpg
    DSC00157.jpg
    DSC00158.jpg
    DSC00159.jpg

The thing has an alarm and it went off and they threatened the people that came over, the thing is immoblised.

Had to replace the door after and all the locks...

Onkle if your short anything gimme a pm

cronin_j wrote: »
    The thing has an alarm and it went off and they threatened the people that came over, the thing is immoblised.

Pure scum :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭Tefral

draffodx wrote: »
    Pure scum :mad:

Ah stop man, id say Onkle would concur, it would be nearly worth them doing it so you could catch them in the act... what i wouldnt do...

on the plus side i bought a new door and have all the parts to go with the old one now incase anyone needed them and in case it happens again...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I know the feeling mate, left my car for 20 mins in Malahide Castle, guards rang me to tell me come to my car

this is what i found:

DSC00156.jpg
    DSC00157.jpg
    DSC00158.jpg
    DSC00159.jpg

Fcuckin idiots..they barrel-popped it AND smashed the window and couldnt nick it because it was immobilised.
    They deserve to be fried in thier own grease.

Degsy wrote: »
    Fcuckin idiots..they barrel-popped it AND smashed the window and couldnt nick it because it was immobilised.
    They deserve to be fried in thier own grease.

Looks like they tried and failed to do the door lock.
    Tried and failed to bend the door back and then gave up and smashed the window.

The majority of these thieving scumbags aren't too sophisticated.
    An immobiliser should ensure your car goes nowhere.
    I think they go for jap cars because so many of them come over here with not immobiliser.
    I'd say a flashing alarm led inside the car would put alot of them off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

Theres another advantage to living in the countryside :cool: . Far less likely to ever have to deal with this sort of scenario or getting my car keyed, scratched, etc

Thats fairly ****e alright though Onkle. I'd be livid if something like that happened to my car.

Ah stop man, id say Onkle would concur, it would be nearly worth them doing it so you could catch them in the act... what i wouldnt do...

That sucks man, thankfully mine won't need any parts and I've already repaired it, like it never happened (well she's a bit sore and upset but wouldn't you be too :p )

I'm glad I didn't catch them tbh because I'd probably have ended up in a cell myself or like that chap in Ballyfermot a few years ago that was stabbed through the heart when he tried to protect his car. Not worth it IMO

That's the thing like, it's all well and good to have a go at these guys if you catch them
    but the chances are they'll be carrying screwdrivers and probably won't be too bothered about stabbing you.

Until I get myself a better alarm I'm going to run a feed from my current siren to my horn and I'm going to get a chain for my wheel now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Happened my honda accourd banger a few weeks back.

Guards dont really care. Took off the 2.0 badge and park it away from blind spots now.

Lets see them find the Ecu fuse and take it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Sorry to hear this lad i hate these scumbags. As i said before i have a rifle upstairs and would have no problem using on anyone that i catch near my car or house.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Like most people here who like their car i find it sickening when some sc*mbag damages my property,unfortunately in this country even if you catch them red handed not much will be done...and no doubt there is some state fund group(the criminals right to break the law association:D) to defend their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

this is what i found:

DSC00156.jpg
    DSC00157.jpg
    DSC00158.jpg
    DSC00159.jpg

PURE SCUM!! what kind of evil bastard puts a midnightclub sticker or your car!!!

nobody is safe

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

... also the girl on the phone didn't seem to mind me hitting on her.

No such thing as a wasted opportunity :P

I think I'd nearly prefer my car to be completely stolen and never returned rather than beat to bits, at least I wouldn't have to see it in pain (sad as that may sound)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Some scroat tried to knick my sat nav once when I was out on a break down. Luckily a big Polish brute who was walking past noticed him. I turned around after hearing a commotion to see the Polish lad beating the scumbags head off the side of my van. After the scumbag was sent on his way with a severe headache my guardian angel disappeared into the dusk sunset :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I caught someone breaking into my car before and I beat the absolute ****ing ****e out of him. I won't go into details for legal reasons ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

thats sh ite craic! hope the damage isnt too expensive, whats your gut feeling on who did it? local or profesionals out looking for teg's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

thats sh ite craic! hope the damage isnt too expensive, whats your gut feeling on who did it? local or profesionals out looking for teg's?

Tbh if it was a pro he would have had it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Tbh if it was a pro he would have had it.

doubt it.

even 'pros' get hassle with an immobiliser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

SV wrote: »
    doubt it.

even 'pros' get hassle with an immobiliser.

Amateurs had a huge problem with mine :pac: