Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Make friends Galway area

• 02-06-2010 11:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

Hi -seeking to meet new friends for socialising, gossip, company.
    I've never done anything like this before:o, but I've got to try something.
    I'm living in Galway County. I'm a single mum of a 10 year old who has let her friends and social life pass her by...mainly due to lack of finances and free time. While I'm still in great contact with my friends none of them live locally, they all moved on -to Dublin, abroad, etc, while I stayed in the rural area I grew up in to raise my child. I'd love to have people to meet up with for a coffee, a drink, a night out, a walk, shopping, cinema etc. I'm 30 :eek: I'm into swimming and tennis, but not very good at either and would give any sport a try. Love going on girls nights outs and dancing (when drunk). If anyone out there is in a similar situation or has even has loadsa friends around her, but always has room for more, I'd be delighted to hear from you.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

30lady wrote: »
    I'm living in Galway County. I'm a single mum of a 10 year old who has let her friends and social life pass her by...mainly due to lack of finances and free time. While I'm still in great contact with my friends none of them live locally, they all moved on -to Dublin, abroad, etc, while I stayed in the rural area I grew up in to raise my child. I'd love to have people to meet up with for a coffee, a drink, a night out, a walk, shopping, cinema etc. I'm 30 :eek: I'm into swimming and tennis, but not very good at either and would give any sport a try. Love going on girls nights outs and dancing (when drunk). If anyone out there is in a similar situation or has even has loadsa friends around her, but always has room for more, I'd be delighted to hear from you.

Check out the first post here. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055895535

Or let me know if you'd like me to move this to the Galway forum.

Locked.

Maple.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Moved from TLL as per OP request.

M.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

maple wrote: »
    Moved from TLL as per OP request.

M.

I could see the Weirdos lining up alright ready to pounce

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭LFC Murphy

Hi, you should consider joining a camogie club, I know is the easy response but it's what my wife and I did and haven't looked back. Camogie Clubs are always looking for new members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Hi 30Lady, Check out these Threads! ;):p:)
    (You should take a look at the first Thread below, and the other 2 to give your views or reply.) :cool::D

Galway Beers Night Out
    Taking place June / July '10 t.b.c.

Meeting New Friends Galway

"Impromptu" Drinks in Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Hi 30Lady, Check out these Threads! ;):p:)
    (You should take a look at the first Thread below, and the other 2 to give your views or reply.) :cool::D

Galway Beers Night Out
    Taking place June / July '10 t.b.c.

Meeting New Friends Galway

"Impromptu" Drinks in Galway

Hey I think 30Lady was looking for something in County Galway, the city drinks wont be any good if she wants to drink!

30Lady are you living in or around Loughrea? I am moving there in a few weeks, we could meet down by the lake! Have you got dogs? I have two and will be walking by the lake most evenings! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

TillyGirl wrote: »
    Hey I think 30Lady was looking for something in County Galway, the city drinks wont be any good if she wants to drink!

30Lady are you living in or around Loughrea? I am moving there in a few weeks, we could meet down by the lake! Have you got dogs? I have two and will be walking by the lake most evenings! :p

Hey,not to hijack the thread or anything,but i live in Loughrea and if ye were meeting up i'd love to tag along if i could! I've no dogs,but i do go walking by the lake but gets a bit boring by yourself at times :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭30lady

Well spotted the whole living in the country not too easy go for drinks in city!! Still though I do go into Galway an odd night so I do hope to get to the night out.

But for more regular socialising, etc. out of the city would be easier.

I'm living just outside Loughrea so will definately take you up on the offer for walking round the lake. I don't have a dog cos I'm not at home enough to look after one:mad:, but I absolutely love dogs.

Let me know when you're settled into your new house and I'd love to meet up:D

be loads of us walking round the lake yet!

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Hey,not to hijack the thread or anything,but i live in Loughrea and if ye were meeting up i'd love to tag along if i could! I've no dogs,but i do go walking by the lake but gets a bit boring by yourself at times :D

Of course! Do u like Loughrea? We live in Oranmore and gonna miss it!
    I'm living just outside Loughrea so will definately take you up on the offer for walking round the lake. I don't have a dog cos I'm not at home enough to look after one:mad:, but I absolutely love dogs.

Let me know when you're settled into your new house and I'd love to meet up:D

Cool I wont know anyone in Loughrea either!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Of course! Do u like Loughrea? We live in Oranmore and gonna miss it!

Cool. :D. Yeah i love it! I'm a few miles out of the town,living here nearly 2 years myself, but its a great place.
    Sure with the motorway now, Oranmore isn't that far at all:) Hope you settle into your new place well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lisa WRafter

I have just moved to Galway for work. I am 31. Have few guy friends but would love to meet a girl for going out, coffee, cinema, etc. I'm living in the city and not to sure if that is out of your way. My emial address is XXXX if you are interested in meeting up or you could txt my mobile <xxx>.

It feels strange making friends this way but worth a try.

Lisa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

jeepers lisa don't post your details on the internet like that!!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Personal details removed. Click on a posters username and then Send Private Message to get in touch.

Was just tryin' to help ..... :rolleyes::( I'll know better next time lol!
    :D:rolleyes::P

I'm from the County myself, so I know all about the big problems with not being able to go out and take a drink. :D So then I be pro-active and arrange somewhere to stay. :):P:rolleyes:

There isn't that much on around the County that I know of, hence city seems to be the place to be! :) Sorry again ......

I'm from the County myself, so I know all about the big problems with not being able to go out and take a drink. :D So then I be pro-active and arrange somewhere to stay. :):P:rolleyes:
    There isn't that much on around the County that I know of, hence city seems to be the place to be! :) Sorry again ......

Ha ! Both very helpful :D thanks

Need friends to do stuff in both the City and more local for more often.

I do stay with my bro when I'm out on the beer in City, but can't be too often as he is sharing with two others. and well I'm too damn old for sleeping on floors and couches too often :p

What country area are you living in confusedotcom cos for meeting for coffee, a walk, dinner, quieter nights out can be done in Loughrea/Athenry/Oranmore. Loughrea is grand to go on the beer in...some nice pubs and well it's all about the company :)

For cinema, clubbing and shopping it's the city...

I was just pointing out that the city might not be the most convenient for nights out for 30lady! Sorry if it came across in any other way :p

and you are right...great every so often, but just not possible regularly.

Closer to home for drinking :D

Thanks again for the suggestions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭airhorn

Yep! im in a simaler enough situation myself, & am also fond of the walking, i'm from just over the road in Gort & if you fancy meeting up for a walk & a chat sometime give me a shout on here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rach24

I am a girl of 24 who will soon travel to Galway. :)I'd like to meet people, but my English is bad and needs improvement. I will live there for a year and hopefully make friends

Airhorn and Rach24 and Anyone Else, check Bowling in Galway Thread for Next Bowling Night! Should be in Oranmore a.f.a.I.k. which may be near enough to ye. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Lousqueeza

How's the friend making going for all of you? I'm 35, and moved to Galway from Dublin in July and although living a lovely life with my boyfriend and puppy I'm missing being able to escape now and again for a glass de vin or a coffee etc. I've also been made redundant and now working in a new part time job where I'm still getting to know the people so I'm also missing the company and banter you can get everyday with female work colleagues!!

As the rest of you, I've never done this before but thought I'd see how you're all getting on with meeting up!!

I live in Ballybrit btw,

Lou :)

Hi Lou,

welcome to Galway :D

I have met a few from boards, some through the bowling thread on the Galway city forum, should be one coming up soon I think, you should come its good fun. I only went once, we had an hours bowling and then we went for a drink so that was nice to get to chat to people for a few hours.

I met some lovely lovely girls from the ladies lounge, we had tea and cupcakes last weekend in one of the girls houses!

Actually I am gonna go and suggest bowling again so keep an eye on the thread here..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055992547&highlight=bowling

Thank you! That sounds just like my cup of tea! I'll keep an eye out on the bowling thread :):):):):)
    Lou

Hi Lou!

Welcome to Galway! Am trying in earnest lol :rolleyes: to get a couple of Girls along to the Cinema one of the evenings. It'd pass an evening for us to catch a movie anyway. :) Have 1 other "kinda-definite" lol, it's just a matter of arranging it. Am hoping for some day next week from the 24th, if you'd like to come along pm me with when and which day suits, cheers. :)

Hi! Thank you for the invite! I'm a bit naff with boards.ie and can't figure out how to PM you and in a rush so replying to this :confused:

The cinema sounds brilliant, I'm free any evening from the 25th, preferably a weekend during that week if poss as I'm off on holiday soon and will have loads to organise (pack! :)) that weekend.

Thanks again, oh and I'm reallllly flexible with what we go and see, havent been to the flicks in ages so doubt you'd choose anything I've already seen. Which cinema do you think you'll be going to?

Maybe PM me and show me how it's done!? :o

Lou :eek:

Oh crap I completely forgot to look in this Thread lol! I'll send ya a pm laters.:)

Yeah haven't been in a couple of months alright.

Can smell the Popcorn already! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 galwaygirlie28

Hey there 30 lady,
    I have found myself in a similar situation. Im 28 working in Galway love a bit of craic, my friend base has depleted recently since everyone is living in Dublin and Cork and all the girlie nights out seem to be getting fewer and fewer.I miss the cocktails and chats that dont involve driving 2/3 hours every weekend! This is my first time doing a forum..(i'M A BIT SCARED!) but I think I will be proactive and saw this link when I was trying to join some clubs in Galway. Anyhow not sure if you can contact me from this post!!?? I'm so new at this thing. My email address is <snip>. Chat soon

Mod note: don't post mail or numbers or other personal info. Click on a users name to send a private message

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 couple

hello all couple from the west of ireland due to hectic work life stlye hard to meet new circle of freinds we are on the galway/mayo border both drive happily married so no time wasters and not in to swingers. both like the cinema nights in with bottle of wine and a good movie and a take away also dinners out going to gigs both love animals so if any couples/single people want to make contact please do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 couple

hi how are you we are new to this site but thought we would give it a go and expand our social circle we been married now for three years im irish and my husbands english but cant hold that against him. i like to go out for a girlie drink the cinema nights in with a bottler of wine and a cosy fire and film, like to go to galway shopping not into any sports but i do like to go for walks as i have two dogs which keep me busy anyway would like to chat some more if you like