Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

G'wan Louth!!!

1235»

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

bryaner wrote: »
    I'm not on about what happened on the pitch, I'm referring to their behaviour
    in the stands and prior to the match very lairy which probably is the outcome
    of spending most of their time at the bar.

I have heard reports of a small number of Meath fans and Louth fans behavìng loutishly before, during and after the game. Unfortunately it's common place where a small minority of fans will cause problems at a large sporting event. To suggest that only Louth fans were behaving in this manner contradicts all the reports and could be construed as trolling, I want to avoid the thread desending into chaos so sensible discussion only please.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭positron

I was against any replay at the time.

Since you quoted my post, are you saying you thought France qualified according to the rules, and it never bothered you?
    the ref added more time because of it and Meath ended up scoring the goal.

No they didn't. The referee wrongly awarded it like he said himself! :cool:

Anyway, moving on now...!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

I have heard reports of a small number of Meath fans and Louth fans behavìng loutishly before, during and after the game. Unfortunately it's common place where a small minority of fans will cause problems at a large sporting event. To suggest that only Louth fans were behaving in this manner contradicts all the reports and could be construed as trolling, I want to avoid the thread desending into chaos so sensible discussion only please.

Ok I'm just going on what I saw and the reports from others, I'll leave it at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

positron wrote: »
    Since you quoted my post, are you saying you thought France qualified according to the rules, and it never bothered you?

No they didn't. The referee wrongly awarded it like he said himself! :cool:

Anyway, moving on now...!

Not really. Remember the penaly we got against Georgia in Croke Park? That was never a penalty, therefore Ireland got 3 points they didn't deserve. Where were the outcrys of unfair play then?
    There weren't any because we had benefitted from a ridiculous refereeing decision.
    Thankfully Meath benefitted on Sunday and ended a nine year wait for a Leinster title, which was far too long for a county like us. The fact we won it because of an indecisive referee is irrelevant. He gave plenty of ridiculous frees to Louth too but thats sport.
    It was the timing of his generosity to Meath that was unfortunate to Louth but that's about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

there are so many differents angles you can see to this but the facts at the end of the day, and what people will still be talking about in years to come is that, Meath became Leinster Champions in error.

the thing is if the goal had happened in the 40th minute it wouldn't be the same issue today, it would be the same as the disputed point that the meath mention. but given that it was basically the last kick of the game, makes it so much more blatant in calling to attention the flaws in the umpiring / reffing system.

people can say all they want about the different views of right and wrong but i think it shows that Meath players are afraid of us.......if they had any belief in their ability they would have said ' no problem we'll give them their replay and comprehensively win and celebrate like winners should. then in years to come they can look back and have pride in their memories of lifting the cup and showing off their medals to the grandkids. as it is now, their win is tainted.......they didn't earn it and will have no luck from it. there isn't a county in the country that will wish them any luck for the rest of the championship.

you can say all you want about the scummers at the end, thats a totally separate issue....3 or 4 dickheads with anger management issues doesn't reflect on 25,000 people that were there. given the adrenalin over the situation, those antagonists could have given the louth supporters carte blanche to invade the pitch and riot. but it didn't cause the majority of fans are true fans, not fair weather idiots looking for an excuse to throw a punch.

and who knows, maybe this will be the best thing that could have happened, maybe we'll go out and play now with a fire in our bellies and a point to prove, and with the entire country behind us to do well, we could go further than we ever could 've imagined............and an all ireland title would spit in the face of Meath and their Leinster ! stranger things have happened.........and karmas a bitch !!!

there are so many differents angles you can see to this but the facts at the end of the day, and what people will still be talking about in years to come is that, Meath became Leinster Champions in error.

the thing is if the goal had happened in the 40th minute it wouldn't be the same issue today, it would be the same as the disputed point that the meath mention. but given that it was basically the last kick of the game, makes it so much more blatant in calling to attention the flaws in the umpiring' reffing system.

people can say all they want about the different views of right and wrong but i think it shows Meath players to be cowardly......if they had any belief in there ability they would have said ' no problem we'll give them there replay and comprehensively win and celebrate like winners should. then in years to come they can look back and have pride in lifting the cup and showing off their medals to the grandkids. as it is now, there win is tainted.......they didn't earn it and will have no luck from it. there isn't a county in the country that will wish them any luck for the rest of the championship. you can say all you want about the scummers at the end, thats a totally separate issue....3 or 4 dickheads with anger management issues doesn't reflect on 25,000 people that were there. given the adrenalin over the situation, those antagonists could have given the louth supporters carte blanche to invade the pitch and riot. but it didn't cause the majority of fans are true fans, not fair weather idiots looking for an excuse to throw a punch.

They did get their luck out of it by winning the Leinster title in the 73rd minute with a dodgy goal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...and karmas a bitch !!!

All true and lord knows the French found that out at the World Cup! :pac:

O' well, moving onwards and upwards. :)

Biggins wrote: »
    All true and lord knows the French found that out at the World Cup! :pac:

O' well, moving onwards and upwards. :)

Exactly, karma catches up on everyone, it caught up with JP Rooney fairly quickly on Sunday and some day it will catch up with the Louth supporters who let their county down so badly on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

me thinks karma will catch up with the meath team very quickly too:p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Exactly, karma catches up on everyone, it caught up with JP Rooney fairly quickly on Sunday and some day it will catch up with the Louth supporters who let their county down so badly on Sunday.

you keep coming back to the few idiots who lost the head.........is that what you'll still be talking about in 5 years time ? cause that issue will be long forgotten about but your title will forever have brackets at the end !......Meath; 2010 Leinster champions ( Louth actually won but Meath scored a goal in the last sec that the ref later admitted was foul).

in all your posts you've never actually said you think you deserved it, rather saying you should have it since it nine years since last time......what way is that to think ? So it's winning at any cost is it ? i for one would not be proud of my team winning in this manner. to use an analogy......buying something with money you've earned from a hard days work is better spent than money you've stolen from mugging people on the street. there's no pride in that.
    i'm sure if the GAA announced tomorrow, Meath have forfeited the trophy and Louth are Leinster champions.........Louth wouldn't accept it.......we want to win it in the field of play, celebrate the final whistle, feel the euphoria of lifting the cup ! Had you that pride as a Meath supporter on Sunday ? Certainly that didn't come across when the cup was lifted.......the athmosphere spoke volumes.....everyone there knew it was all wrong ! on paper you're Leinster champions........but in merit you'll never be and history will always remind you of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 irjudge

you keep coming back to the few idiots who lost the head.........is that what you'll still be talking about in 5 years time ? cause that issue will be long forgotten about but your title will forever have brackets at the end

Unfortunately I dont think so. Just think about it. Reeling in the years being shown in 2020, a referee being attacked trumps non goal scandal for headlines. Its way too common, part of the culture, culture me hole. I cant listen to holier than though rubbish from other counties or from most commentators given their antics on the pitch or in the dressing room in the past. Anybody who has attended games over the years will have seen this crap go on. A leaf should be taken out of rugby's book. The ref should be untouchable on the pitch, open to criticism, sure, formal complaints, absolutely. But he should not require a garda escort to get off the feckin pitch.

Reading the words of the Louth players today it would appear that they have the right take on it. They are all talking about the missed chances and the opportunities they had to put the game away. Yeah they are sickened by the result, but its a common thing with successful teams that the regrets othe past drive them on.

I look forward to supporting Louth over the rest of the Championship and in the next few years, the future looks bright.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Sorry to post this as I know its not a reflection on real Louth supportors but I have to correct you slightly.

There was a minority of louts from both counties I agree.

However, I seen grown men from Louth shouting untold abuse at a Meath man and his daughter causing her to burst into tears, Louth fans spitting at people wearing Meath jerseys from the Hogan stand, two members of a Louth Gaa club start assaulting Meath people on Hill 16, two more members of another Louth Gaa club assault a teenage Meath fan outside Quinn's pub.

Then I live on the Louth Meath border so seen the vandalism of MH reg cars and the burning of Meath flags later on that night.

I apologise for posting it but I feel it has to be highlighted that a lot of Louth fans let themselves down with disgusting behaviour afterwards and it's personally all the more saddening to me because I have always had great craic with Louth fans and full respect for them and good banter after a game no matter what the result.

I know its not a true reflection of Louth fans but these were not your usual yobs you see at every game these were people that really should have behaved better than that.

Its just it was a shame to see and I hope never to see it again from any counties fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭paddycam

draffodx wrote: »
    Sorry to post this as I know its not a reflection on real Louth supportors but I have to correct you slightly.

There was a minority of louts from both counties I agree.

However, I seen grown men from Louth shouting untold abuse at a Meath man and his daughter causing her to burst into tears, Louth fans spitting at people wearing Meath jerseys from the Hogan stand, two members of a Louth Gaa club start assaulting Meath people on Hill 16, two more members of another Louth Gaa club assault a teenage Meath fan outside Quinn's pub.

Then I live on the Louth Meath border so seen the vandalism of MH reg cars and the burning of Meath flags later on that night.

I apologise for posting it but I feel it has to be highlighted that a lot of Louth fans let themselves down with disgusting behaviour afterwards and it's personally all the more saddening to me because I have always had great craic with Louth fans and full respect for them and good banter after a game no matter what the result.

I know its not a true reflection of Louth fans but these were not your usual yobs you see at every game these were people that really should have behaved better than that.

Its just it was a shame to see and I hope never to see it again from any counties fans.

thats disgracfull,but some meath people were bringing it on themselves.i live on the louth-meath border in drogheda and there was a car of meath fans driving through the louth side with a hugh meath flag out the window

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

you keep coming back to the few idiots who lost the head.........is that what you'll still be talking about in 5 years time ? cause that issue will be long forgotten about but your title will forever have brackets at the end !......Meath; 2010 Leinster champions ( Louth actually won but Meath scored a goal in the last sec that the ref later admitted was foul).

in all your posts you've never actually said you think you deserved it, rather saying you should have it since it nine years since last time......what way is that to think ? So it's winning at any cost is it ? i for one would not be proud of my team winning in this manner. to use an analogy......buying something with money you've earned from a hard days work is better spent than money you've stolen from mugging people on the street. there's no pride in that.
    i'm sure if the GAA announced tomorrow, Meath have forfeited the trophy and Louth are Leinster champions.........Louth wouldn't accept it.......we want to win it in the field of play, celebrate the final whistle, feel the euphoria of lifting the cup ! Had you that pride as a Meath supporter on Sunday ? Certainly that didn't come across when the cup was lifted.......the athmosphere spoke volumes.....everyone there knew it was all wrong ! on paper you're Leinster champions........but in merit you'll never be and history will always remind you of that.
    when meath where accepting the cup eamon o brien looked like he had swallowed a melon , he knew they shouldnt be there

paddycam wrote: »
    thats disgracfull,but some meath people were bringing it on themselves.i live on the louth-meath border in drogheda and there was a car of meath fans driving through the louth side with a hugh meath flag out the window

I've no sympathy for people like that I know one lad locally who is a total spa was shoving the Meath crest into Louth peoples faces, I'd have no sympathy for him if he got a few thumps.

But most Meath people were honest in saying Louth were the better team and more deserving than Meath and we only won because of a blind ref.

This was met by abuse from Louth people, even people who are friends of mine called me some digusting names after I had admitted the above. Most of them have apologised but it was dissappointing to have to put up with it at the time as I always felt Louth fans were some of the best despite being a minor county and thus let themselves down.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭event

The fact we won it because of an indecisive referee is irrelevant. He gave plenty of ridiculous frees to Louth too but thats sport.
    It was the timing of his generosity to Meath that was unfortunate to Louth but that's about it.

it is amazing what desperation will do to people

enjoy your title though, all fans throughout the country know how much you deserved it, what with the amazing display in the second half by your forwards, your defense playing so well through the 70 minutes and your midfield dominating for the entire game.

its also nice how this is a thread talk about louth, in a louth forum, yet meath fans feel the need to post in here.

ye think you'd be off celebrating your mighty win in the leinster final, with that great goal from joe Sheridan

event wrote: »
    it is amazing what desperation will do to people

enjoy your title though, all fans throughout the country know how much you deserved it, what with the amazing display in the second half by your forwards, your defense playing so well through the 70 minutes and your midfield dominating for the entire game.

its also nice how this is a thread talk about louth, in a louth forum, yet meath fans feel the need to post in here.

ye think you'd be off celebrating your mighty win in the leinster final, with that great goal from joe Sheridan

I wouldn't say our forwards played well in the 2nd half, but in the first half we were by far the better team and we were on top for the last ten minutes of the second half. A lot of experienced obsevers will tell you that is the crucial time to play well. Thankfully Meath did and we got the bit of luck at the end that our persistance deserved.

I'm not doing much celebrating today, stll feeling hungover from the great sessions we had on Sunday and Monday night, and anyways, we've an All Ireland quarter final to look forward to, plenty more celebrations ahead I feel!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭HAMMERCURRENT

we've an All Ireland quarter final to look forward to, plenty more celebrations ahead I feel!:)

Doubt it, I'd say that's all your luck used up for at least this year!

Anyway I'm personally very happy with Meath getting the Leinster this year.

9 years is a long wait.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

bryaner wrote:
    Anyway I'm personally very happy with Meath getting the Leinster this year.

9 years is a long wait.

Banned for trolling.

event wrote: »

Are you refering to me?

I live on the border with Louth, I went to school there, spend plenty of time in Dundalk, Ardee, Collon, Drogheda, my last 3 girlfriends have been Louth women, and I have a lot of Louth friends,

So can I not post my opinion here just as I have with Louth people in person?

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

• Registered Users Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭event

draffodx wrote: »
    Are you refering to me?

I live on the border with Louth, I went to school there, spend plenty of time in Dundalk, Ardee, Collon, Drogheda, my last 3 girlfriends have been Louth women, and I have a lot of Louth friends,

So can I not post my opinion here just as I have with Louth people in person?

no, it wasnt directed at you

you've posted in here a lot more than me id say, as well as a lot in the DKIT forum EDIT: just saw you're mod of that actually

wasnt directed at you at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TommyT

GAA President Christy Cooney has said that the controversial Louth v Meath Leinster Senior Football Championship final was a watershed for the Association.

Meath won the match in controversial circumstances when they were awarded a late goal by referee Martin Sludden. Replays clearly showed that Joe Sheridan had thrown the ball over the line to win Meath their 21st Delaney Cup.

That sparked a pitch invasion in which Sludden was jostled by angry Louth supporters.

Speaking to RTÉ Sport's Marty Morrissey, Cooney agreed that the match was a watershed for supporters in particular and said he hoped presentations would take place in the middle of the pitch at Croke Park in future.

The GAA made an effort to have the Cup and medal presentations in the centre of the pitch at Headquarters at the end of last year's All-Ireland finals but the new system did not work and supporters filled the field after both the hurling and football finals.

Both presentations took place in the Hogan Stand.

Cooney believes the events after the final whistle prove the case in favour of keeping people off the pitch after games.

He said: 'It has reinforced to everybody that we need to ensure that patrons stay off our pitch at the end of matches, that we need to do our presentations and that we need to give our players and officials the opportunity to leave the pitch with dignity and to celebrate with dignity.'

He did not rule out the possibility of having fencing around Croke Park.

Martin Sludden was jostled by Louth supportersCooney also commended the Louth players for their actions after the match: several players defended the referee as supporters ran on to the pitch.

Speaking about he Louth supporters who jostled Sludden, Cooney added the matter was currently one for the Gardaí. However, he added that the GAA and the Leinster Council could yet ban people who took part in assaults on the referee.

Cooney also defended the GAA against accusations that it did not provide enough support to the Leinster Council or the counties involved during the controversy.

Officials from Louth and Meath have both accused to Association of failing to enough provide guidance and ultimately, Meath were left to decide on whether or not to give Louth a re-fixture themselves.

Cooney said: 'I believe we have acted very responsibly since the event took place last Sunday. I believe we gave appropriate advice to the Leinster council.

'We gave appropriate advice to both Meath and Louth on how to deal with the matter and I was quite surprised to hear and to read some of the comments that came from both counties. Both counties are well aware of our views on that. I don't believe there was any lack of support.'

'Croke Park weren't in a position to make any decision on this. All we could do was offer support and advice. The match was under jurisdiction of the Leinster council.'

After the match, the subject of whether the match should be replayed was hotly debated. Meath opted not to offer a replay, citing the fact that Sludden said in his report that he would have given Meath a penalty had a goal not been scored.

Cooney - 'would like to have seen replay'

Joe Sheridan's goal decided the Leinster finalCooney said he would like to have seen the Leinster Final played again.

Cooney said: 'It would be fair to say that we would have all like to have seen a replay.'

He added: 'Meath decided otherwise. Within rule there was no other avenue for us to go. no other avenue for the Leinster council to take. I can't tear up a rulebook and make any decision that I want as President. That's not possible.'

Cooney is determined that the Association will not react in a kneejerk manner to the controversy and that time will be allowed to pass before any decisions are taken.

He continued: 'Last Sunday's circumstances were bizarre. I have never seen circumstances like it as long as I have been a member of this Association. Will I ever see them again as long as I live? Maybe not in my lifetime.

'Do we need to make massive changes? Do we need to throw out our rulebook? Do we need a rush of blood and change things immediately? Of course not.

'We need to give it some thought, and we need to do what's right. We need to take time to consider it.'