Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fifa 10 World Cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭ChasingDreams.

6 groups of 4 sounds good!

If you read what I said a few posts back, it won't work out in the later stages of the tournament.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Propane Nightmare

Aha Shake wrote: »
    Brazil 2 - France 3

Better to lose now than in the real thing :P

What f'ed up formation did you use? Seemed like 5 up front! haha

Was 2 down after 15 mins or so. Got back to 2-2 but anelka scored in 86th or so immediately following gourcuffs introduction in place of Henry
    yeah dont think ill be playing henry again lol, he did nothing.

But my formation wasn't a glitch one or anything. It is custom though. Its 4 in defence like normal, holding midfielder, 2 very wide wingers, one second striker, and 2 centre forwards.

Good game though.

Whats the story with formations? Can we use any we want? As I have a good formation that I use in ranked games thats very hard to break down most of the time, but great at attacking.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,032 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Right lads, just in preparation for the draw tonight can everybody who wants Ireland included in the draw thank this post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

How do ya decide whos who? Cos i want Mexico!:D

gooch2k9 wrote: »
    How do ya decide whos who? Cos i want Mexico!:D

It's a random draw, sorry.

So if i get brazil I can swap? Who'd turn that down like:p

Note: No comments on my sanity.:D

So if i get brazil I can swap? Who'd turn that down like:p

Note: No comments on my sanity.:D

No, you're stuck with who you get I'm afraid.

Fair enough boss man.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

Did ye play your warm up semi?

Nope but I'm on now

I'm at work until 7.

Will more than likely get on around 9 or 10 again, if it suits? Can't get on any other time...

Any jobs going there?:p

Will more than likely get on around 9 or 10 again, if it suits? Can't get on any other time...

Any jobs going there?:p

Sound, I'll more than likely get on for that.

There's jobs goin alright, only through an employment agency though, so they can (and do) get rid of you whenever they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭colly54

Stick in Ecuador and China as most the teams already in it are European :)

colly54 wrote: »
    Stick in Ecuador and China as most the teams already in it are European :)

I'll see when I get home. I think I'll do 6 groups of 4 anyway with each team playing once. It works out better that way (I think) if someone drops out or doesn't play their games.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Was it not already mooted that the numbers don't work for 6 groups once you get past that stage, the number of groups surely has to be 2, 4 or 8?

4 groups of 6: top 4 qualify?
    2 groups of 12; top 8 qualify?
    8 groups of 3; top 2 qualify?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

I agree - 8 groups of 3. Top 2 go through

Otherwise it wont work...

If people quit then their fixtures are void and we continue without them - easy!! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

4 groups of 6: top 4 qualify?
    2 groups of 12; top 8 qualify?
    8 groups of 3; top 2 qualify?

or that either!! :)

Id go with 8 groups of 3...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

thewools wrote: »

Id go with 8 groups of 3...

+1 means everyone has a chance. Groups with 12 and 8 could get a bit tedious.

yea 8 groups of 3 for me...and do the same as world cup lay out...
    so winner group A plays runner up group B... etc..
    Easier to follow!!

Whatever ye want lads, 6 groups of 4 with top 2 qualifying and the 4 best 3rd placed teams was how I saw it, that way if 1 teams drops out of your group you still have to qualify, but whatever.

L'prof wrote: »
    Whatever ye want lads, 6 groups of 4 with top 2 qualifying and the 4 best 3rd placed teams was how I saw it, that way if 1 teams drops out of your group you still have to qualify, but whatever.

No, it wouldn't seem like a world cup that way...keep it at 8 groups

Was thinking that meself there after I posted. Heineken Cup style!

Lotta effort running it, if your willing I'd agree.

Here's our final list of players:
    1. L'prof - orrj2 7.6.10
    2. Crosáidí - czam2007
    3. Aha Shake - AhaShake
    4. Propane Nightmare - SmudgeDope
    5. alanc2003 - conco27
    6. Philt27 - philt27
    7. Töpher - Uroboric
    8. colly54 - colly54
    9. Shzm - shazamie
    10. Osu - AsCeNSioN-X
    11. ChasingDreams. - ChasingDreams- 8.6.10
    12. Fowler87 - Haunis87
    13. Gillysome - Gillysome
    14. Gavin "shels" - dungdoc
    15. gooch2k9 - mikeoshea
    16. thewools - thewools
    17. Hatchets27 - joe2772 9.6.10
    18. manyoofan - manyoofan1
    19. kensutz - kensutz
    20. Philly_C - philly_c_
    21. u2gooner - steve1188
    22. Fizman - Fizman 10.6.10
    23. alandoyle23 - Al_D23
    24. Evbevmagevbof - Evbevmagevbof

And teams:
    1. Argentina
    2. Australia
    3. Brazil
    4. Cameroon
    5. Denmark
    6. England
    7. France
    8. Germany
    9. Greece
    10. Italy
    11. Korea Republic
    12. Mexico
    13. Netherlands
    14. New Zealand
    15. Paraguay
    16. Portugal
    17. Slovenia
    18. South Africa
    19. Spain
    20. Switzerland
    21. United States
    22. Uruguay
    23. Ireland
    24. Ecuador

I'll make up 8 groups of 3 with everybody playing each other twice as it seems to be popular with the winners of Group A facing the runners up of Group B and vice verca, etc.

Draw done?

Draw done?

Hold your horse lad. I threw this together and it was a bit rushed, so hopefully it's been done correctly, otherwise it's null and void.

Please don't play any games until I've put the league together. It'll be later on as I'm going for a few beers :D

I thought the quality would have been much better, I must have done something wrong :rolleyes:

I'm impatient, I can only apologise.

No worries, happy with what you got? It wasn't Mexico, but it wasn't Ecuador either!

L'prof wrote: »
    No worries, happy with what you got? It wasn't Mexico, but it wasn't Ecuador either!

Fair play to you....Are you going to post up The groups and teams??