Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SL 5x5 for 12 weeks of summer

• 07-06-2010 8:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone, I've opened a new boards account because I plan on posting before and after pics, hope that’s ok. All constructive criticism welcome!

Stats (as of 7/6/10):

Weight: 63kg
    Height: 178cm
    BF%: Unknown (I'd imagine its pretty low but I'm not going to worry about it until after my 12 weeks of 5x5)

Strength Training:

Stonglifts 5x5 - 12 week programme

Cardio:

Cycling – 20km/week or more if I go for a cycle for the sake of cycling
    Running – 10km/week – 5k twice a week

Diet (for the last 2 months and for the future):

Breakfast: Big bowl of porridge/ 4 weetabix both on milk with raisins
    11 am: Banana milkshake (Banana, pint of milk, ice)
    Lunch: Egg/tuna, peanut butter sandwiches
    4 pm: Orange/nuts
    Dinner: (Varies a lot) Chicken/pork/steak, Potatoes/rice/pasta, lots of veg

Over 1l milk per day
    Over 2l water per day

Me:

I would consider myself an athletic person and do have a ripped kind of look. The thing is I just look skinny when I’m wearing clothes.

I’ve had access to a gym for the last 4 years. In that time, I’ve gone through phases of going once or twice a week and then months of not going at all. Between Christmas and two months ago, I had been going once a week. In the last two months, I have gone 3 or 4 times a week. Today I started “Stonglifts 5x5”.

As a chisler, I was active and played GAA, running, swimming and cycling. Over the last two years, I’ve been drinking far too much alcohol and my diet has been going downhill. This has mainly been due to starting college, new friends and basically a different way of life.

Over the last few months, i have cut down my drinking and completely ditched all junk food.

I cycle to and from the gym and work. Both are 2km away from home. I tried cycling to college a few times but it’s just plain awkward (13km each way). I go for the occasional jog as well.

I have put on 2kg over the last 2 months and my strength has increased significantly. In the gym, I used to do isolated exercises and machine weights. These were fine but I never know when to increase the weights or I would forget what I had lifted last session. It was a bit messy and I didn’t have any real plan. The stronglifts excel file should solve this problem.

I have ordered 2kg Whey Protein from Myprotein.co.uk, MP244120 if anyone wants a referral code!

Goals for the summer:

Put on weight – 63kg up to 80kg;
    Keep my 4 pack or ideally upgrade to a 6pack;
    Bench new bodyweight – 80kg 5x5;
    Bench 100kg at least once;
    Run 10km without stopping and under 45mins;

Do 10 one arm push-ups
    Do 3 handstand push-ups
    Do 1 one arm pull-up

If anybody has helpful comments, suggestions or tips please post away!! I will try to keep this updated as much as possible.

Choons out

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭choons

Last Wednesday, I benched 65kg for 2 reps and failed on the 3rd so today I started off at 40kg for 5x5. I haven’t really squatted before so I started with the recommended 20kg.

Squat - 20kg 5x5 (I found this ridiculously easy and will add on 10kg/workout to start)
    Bench - 40kg 5x5
    Inverted row - 12,10,8
    Pushups – 25,20,16
    Reverse Crunches & sit-ups – 12x3 (also too easy, I will add weight next session)

To be honest, I’m not tired and feel like I haven’t made much progress today. I have the techniques down and will continue to add weights slowly.

Timed Swims

Stronglift 5x5
    Squat - 30kg 5x5
    Overhead Press - 25kg 5x5
    Deadlift - 40kg 1x5
    Pull-ups - 8,7,6
    Prone bridges - 3x30secs

Other Work
    Upright row (Dumbells) - 10kg 3x8
    Lateral Raise (Dumbells) - 10kg 8,7,6
    Shoulder Press (Dumbells) - 12.5kg 3x8
    Side bends (Dumbells) - 20kg 3x10 each side
    Bicep curls (Dumbells) - 10kg 3x8

Chin-ups - 8,8,7
    Superset with
    20kg Barbell hammer curls - 3x8

Weighted sit up machine thing - 15kg 3x8

I completed my 5x5 training and wasn't tired at all. I did a shoulder and bicep workout which is the kind of work I had been doing before 5x5. Now i'm wrecked! As the 5x5 workout gets tougher, i'll cut back on the extra stuff.

Jog in the Pheonix Park:

6.21 km
    34:30 mins

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 45kg 5x5
    Bench - 45kg 5x5
    Inverted row - 10, 9, 9
    Pushups – 25, 16, 12
    Reverse Crunches & sit-ups

Other Work

Chest Press (dumbells) – 17.5kg 3x8
    Chest fly (dumbbells) – 15kg 3x8
    Tricep Dips – 15, 12, 9
    Tricep pulldown – 50kg 3x8

The squat and bench were tough but I didn't have any problems.

Stronglift 5x5
    Squat - 50kg 5x5
    Overhead Press – 27.5kg 5x5
    Deadlift - 50kg 1x8
    Pull-ups - 6,6,5
    Prone bridges - 3x30secs

Other Work
    Upright row (Dumbells)
    Lateral Raise (Dumbells)
    Shoulder Press (Dumbells)
    Bicep curls (Dumbells)
    Sit ups/Crunches

Went for a swim today as well.

The Squat was very tough, I'll drop the increments to 2.5kg/work out from now on. The overhead press was difficult as well. The deadlift was grand so i did 8 reps.

I had a lazy weekend but it was alcohol free! Almost went for a jog on Sunday but it started raining so I didn't bother.

Jog in the Pheonix Park:

6.3 km
    33:02 mins

I then went out for one drink at 5pm. Got home at 3am and now i feel like crap :mad:

I ended up eating out as well so it wasn't a very healthy day.

I kept well hydrated so i will still give my 5x5 a go after work tonight.

Squat - 52.5kg 5x5
    Bench - 47.5kg 5x5
    Inverted row - 10, 9, 8
    Pushups – 21, 16, 10

Chest Press (dumbells) – 17.5kg 1x8, 20kg 3x8
    Chest fly (dumbbells) – 15kg 3x8
    Tricep Dips – 12, 10, 8

Stronglift 5x5
    Squat - 55kg 5x5
    Overhead Press – 30kg 5x5
    Deadlift - 55kg 1x5
    Pull-ups - 8,6,6
    Prone bridges, sit ups

Other Work
    Upright row (Dumbells) - 10kg - 3x8
    Lateral Raise (Dumbells) - 7.5kg - 3x8
    Bicep curl to Shoulder Press (Dumbells) - 10kg - 3x8
    Bicep curls (Dumbells) - 10kg - 3x8
    Side bends (Dumbells) - 22.5kg - 3x10

Squat and shoulder press where very tough but manageable!

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 57.5kg 5x5
    Bench - 50kg 5x5
    Inverted row
    Pushups

Other Work

Chest Press (dumbells) – 20kg 8,7,6
    Chest fly (dumbbells) – 10kg 3x8
    Tricep Dips – 16, 13, 10

5km Cycle

then

15mins sprinting/jogging/sprinting etc. . .

then

5km Cycle

My Protein finally arrived! :D

Went mountain biking here:

http://www.coillteoutdoors.ie/index.php?id=54&trail=135&no_cache=1

We kind of lost the main trail but my phones says i did:

7.98km
    1:30 hours

Stronglift 5x5
    Squat - 60kg 5x5
    Overhead Press – 32.5kg 5x5
    Deadlift - 60kg 1x5
    Chin-ups - 12,7,7
    Ab machine (think weighted situps) 15kg 15,13,12

Other Work
    Lateral Raise (Dumbells) - 10kg - 3x8
    Bicep curl to Shoulder Press (Dumbells) - 12.5kg - 7,6,5
    Side bends (Dumbells) - 25kg - 3x10
    Shoulder pull downs* - 45kg - 3x8

Shoulder press was very tough! :o
    I looked proper deadly squatting with two 20kg plates on the bar! :cool:

*Shoulder pull downs - like tricep pulldowns on a machine but with arms fully extended the whole time (works upper back and shoulders)

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 62.5kg 5x5
    Bench - 52.5kg 5x5
    Machine row - 59kg - 3x8
    Pushups – 27, 20, 14

Other Work

Chest Press (dumbells) – 20kg - 7,6,5
    Incline bench - 30kg - 5x5
    Chest fly (dumbbells) – 12.5kg 3x8
    Tricep Dips – 10, 8, 7
    Tricep pulldown – 45kg 1x8, 50kg 3x7
    Pec toning excercise - 7.5kg 1x7, 5kg 2x8

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

If I were you I'd substitute the machine row for either barbell rows or inverted rows, you'll see a lot more benefit as a result.

Went camping for the weekend. Diet consisted of mainly beer but also some pizza, chicken curry and Mc Donalds :D

FTA69 - Thanks for the comment, I'll try out the Barbell row on Wednesday, I've never done it before though. I stopped doing the inverted rows because I was getting some funny looks when using the squat rack for them!

Stronglifts Day 10 (28/6/10)

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 65kg 5x5 . . . . . . . . . . Bodyweight squat:cool:
    Overhead Press – 35kg 5x5 . . . very very tough!
    Deadlift - 65kg 1x8 . . . . . . . . . felt good at 5 so i kept going
    Pull-ups - 7,6,6
    Weighted sit up machine - 15kg 3x10

Other Work

Lateral Raise (Dumbells) - 7.5kg - 3x8
    Bicep curl to Shoulder Press (Dumbells) - 12.5kg - 7,6,6
    Side bends (Dumbells) - 27.5kg - 3x8
    Shoulder pull downs - 45kg 3x8
    Lat pull down - 56kg 3x8

I read somewhere (Probably on boards or maybe stronglifts) that once you can squat your bodyweight, you are no longer skinny. Well, I guess that makes me not skinny!!! I'm taking it as an achievement but also a milestone! :)

As they say around here, onwards and outwards!

Jog in the Pheonix Park:

6.3 km
    32.35 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Apip99

Nice one choons on reaching the squatting your own body weight. Its great to reach targets and goals.

I'm on the SL5x5 as well, and loved it so far with great gains.

How may weeks have you left of the 12?

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 67.5kg 5x5
    Bench - 55kg 5x5, 65kg x1
    Inverted Row - 12,11,10,8
    Pushups – 15, 12, 10 . . . . I did these at the end of my workout so I was pretty tired
    Weighted Ab machine - 17.5kg 3x8

Other Work

Incline bench - 40kg x8, 45 x7, 47.5 x4
    Chest fly (dumbells) – 15kg 3x8
    Tricep Dips – 12, 11, 11
    Tricep pulldown – 50kg 3x8
    Pec toning excercise - 5kg 2x8, 7.5kg 1x7

FTA69 - I've gone back to the Inverted Rows and I'll try to stick at them!

Apip99 - Thanks for the comment! I had a look through your log a few weeks back and it seems that we're in the same boat! I couldn't remember where I borrowed the phrase "Onwards and Outwards" from!

On Friday, I'll have finished 4 weeks of the program so I have just over 8 left. Your lifts are looking good, how many weeks have you been at it?

After my 12 weeks, I'm thinking about starting another 12 weeks, or at least keeping the same routine. Otherwise, I'd be afraid that I'll loose motivation and focus. I've found the spreadsheet great for progressing each workout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

choons wrote: »

FTA69 - I've gone back to the Inverted Rows and I'll try to stick at them!

You should try them elevated for a bit of a challenge :) Also, with regards to the Smith Machine - do you have rings in your gym you could lower to do them on when the gyms busy or it's in use? They're more difficult on the rings too so when you go back to the bar they'll feel dead easy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Apip99

Cheers Choons, Just realized I squated my own body weight last night. Hadn't realized till I read you log!

I'm about 10 weeks in. Mind you I missed some due to being away and creaked neck! But like you, I love the motivation, how ever I am getting a little board of the routine. I may change in a couple of weeks, build on the muscle, then back to it in a few months through winder to bulk up. I'll see how I go after hold in few weeks.

Onwards and Outwards my friend......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

choons wrote: »
    I read somewhere (Probably on boards or maybe stronglifts) that once you can squat your bodyweight, you are no longer skinny. Well, I guess that makes me not skinny!!!!

I wish. I can squat nearly my bodyweight and a half and I'm a skinny fecker. :pac:

Great work btw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

One of my friends went from untrained to squatting bodyweight for reps in 3 weeks. He's still skinny.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

G86 wrote: »
    You should try them elevated for a bit of a challenge :) Also, with regards to the Smith Machine - do you have rings in your gym you could lower to do them on when the gyms busy or it's in use? They're more difficult on the rings too so when you go back to the bar they'll feel dead easy!

Yeah, I do mine with my feet on a swiss ball, much more challenging, you'd do them all day otherwise.

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 80kg 5x5 :D
    Overhead Press – 37.5kg 5,5,5,5,4
    Deadlift - 70kg 1x7
    Chin ups - 10,7,7
    Weighted sit up machine - 20kg 10,8,8

Other Work

Lateral Raise (Dumbells) - 10kg - 3x8
    Side bends (Dumbells) - 30kg - 3x10
    Shoulder push down - 50kg 3x8
    Lat pull down - 56kg 3x8
    Upright row (DB) - 12.5kg 3x8
    Upright row (bar) - 20kg 3x8

Saturday 3/7/10

Jog in the Pheonix Park:

6.3 km
    33:13 mins

Stonglifts Workout 13 (5/7/10)

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 82.5kg 5x5
    Bench - 40 x8, 57.5kg 5x5, 65kg x2
    Inverted Row - 14,13,11,10
    Pushups – 3x12
    Weighted Ab machine - 20kg 10,8,8

Other Work

Incline bench - 30kg x8, 45kg 5x5
    Chest fly (dumbells) – 15kg 3x8
    Tricep Dips – 16, 14, 12
    Tricep pulldown – 55kg 7,7,5

1km Row - 5.05mins

Fantastic workout this morning! Squat & Bench PB's and lots of Tricep dips and Inverted rows! :)

G86 & FTA69 - I did my inverted rows with my feet on a bench. Felt good and I'll be doing this from now on! Unfortunately, there's no rings in the gym. There's no smith machine either, just the one squat rack like this one:
    http://thekillerj.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/squat_rack.jpg
    I'm generally in the gym when its quite so I should be fine. After a few weeks, I'll give the swiss ball a try!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Out of interest what weight are you now ?

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Out of interest what weight are you now ?

Unfortunately, when I started this log, I weighed myself on a full stomach with a few pints of water in me! This gave me a reading of 63kg so I would estimate that I started off at about 61kg.

Now, in the morning after a trip to the toilet, I weigh 64kg. I weighed myself a few minutes ago and I was 66kg so I've definitely put on weight!

Hope all that makes sense! Bottom line, I've put on 3kg's in 4 weeks :)

Stronglift 5x5

Squat - 50kg x8, 85kg 5x5
    Overhead Press – 20kg x8, 37.5kg 5x5
    Deadlift - 75kg 1x6
    Pull ups - 8,6,6
    Weighted sit up machine - 20kg 10,8,8

Other Work

Side bends (Dumbells) - 35kg - 3x10
    Shoulder push down - 55kg 3x8
    Upright row (bar) - 24kg 8,8,7
    Lateral Raise (DB) - 10kg 3x8
    Bicep curl to shoulder press (DB) - 12.5kg 7,6,6
    Shrugs (DB) - 20kg 3x8

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭Brendygg

Why did u jump from 67.5kg to 80kg on your squat? Fair play you seem to be going well.