Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford Teenager Qualifies for U.S. Open Golf

• 08-06-2010 6:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭

Waterford teenager Kevin Phelan has booked a spot in the 110th US Open on June 17-20, eagling the final hole at a qualifying event to secure his place.
    The University of North Florida freshman shot a 65 for his second round at McArthur Golf Club in Hobe Sound on Monday to tie Tour professional Gary Woodland for first place in a sectional qualifier on Monday.
    Both players posted six-under 138 over two rounds with Phelan rebounding from a first round 73.

Phelan eagled the final hole by sensationally holing out from the sand from well off the green.
    Born in New York, where his father played professional squash (John Phelan, used to own the Reginald Bar), the 19-year-old moved to Waterford with his family aged three. They returned to the US around five years ago.
    Speaking to the Florida Times Union, Phelan said: 'It still hasn't sunk in yet. It might at some point. It feels pretty good to just have tied for first in the sectional.'
    Commenting on his last stroke, Phelan added, 'it was a perfect shot'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

How's he from Waterford?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thats what I was wondring, he's a yank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

He's from Waterford alright, heard the lads on Newstalk sports show. they mentioned that it was a great sporting weekend for the Deise. One of the presenters mentioned (jokingly) that the young golfer, when he makes a good shot, likes to run around, pulling his shirt, screaming and motivating fans and teammates in the style of John Mullane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Spending the majority of his growing-up years here makes him more Waterford than America. It'll be interesting to see what nationality the PGA show him as.

Hopefully he'll acquit himself well and give this city a well-deserved boost!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Max Powers wrote: »
    He's from Waterford alright, heard the lads on Newstalk sports show. they mentioned that it was a great sporting weekend for the Deise. One of the presenters mentioned (jokingly) that the young golfer, when he makes a good shot, likes to run around, pulling his shirt, screaming and motivating fans and teammates in the style of John Mullane

born in new york,moved to waterford when he was 3.hes a yank.

He's what ever he wants to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

anplaya wrote: »
    Jesus was born in a stable, does that make him a horse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

3 is the same as 0, since nobody remembers anything much before their 3rd bday. So ignore where he was born. Went to pre-school, primary, and some secondary in Ireland.

So is Waterford lad.

Pittens wrote: »
    3 is the same as 0, since nobody remembers anything much before their 3rd bday. So ignore where he was born. Went to pre-school, primary, and some secondary in Ireland.

So is Waterford lad.

whatever ye say,hes a yank.

longshanks wrote: »

no the messiah i think

Tell ya what...if he makes the cut, he's from Waterford. If he misses the cut, he's American. If he wins it, no doubt he's from Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭decies

Man that is priceless

whatever ye say,hes a yank.

Whatever you say...apparently! :rolleyes:

agree to disagree then so eh

We'll leave it in the hands of the mods. If they deem this thread to be about some American kid qualifying for one of the world's biggest golf tournaments, they'll lock the thread. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Well he had a long face.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

gscully wrote: »
    Hopefully he'll acquit himself well and give this city a well-deserved boost!

He is a hero

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Pretty desperate if Waterford is relying on some American who lived here for a few years for a boost.

Maybe we are desperate? And we have every reason to be tbh.

As for whether or not the lad is from waterford....Do we consider Phil Lynott english? I mean he was born and he died over there? We probably would if he considered himself English. So, we'll wait and see what this kid says.

Or we'll wait til he gets to the first tee..

"From Waterford, Ireland..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Maybe we are desperate? And we have every reason to be tbh.

As for whether or not the lad is from waterford....Do we consider Phil Lynott english? I mean he was born and he died over there? We probably would if he considered himself English. So, we'll wait and see what this kid says.

Or we'll wait til he gets to the first tee..

"From Waterford, Ireland..."

He is our hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He is now regardless of what he thinks he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 deisemad10

He lived from age 3 - 12 here in ireland and the last 8 years in usa ,hes def a yank just listen to this video ,regardless its a great achievment for the lad .

http://www.rte.ie/sport/golf/2010/0608/phelank_av.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Sure I was born in a hospital does that make me a doctor? :rolleyes:

The chaps American. He was born there and lives there now. Hes American.

Just like I'm Irish! Living in another country for several years doesn't change that.

Fair play to the chap though. He's probably achieved way more than any of us for his age :eek:

Just listening to that interview.. Hes actually sounds like some cultie!!

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mountcarmel

Think this says it all

http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=1555227764&ref=search

From Waterford, Ireland....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Win = Waterford lad through and through

Does well = American with Waterford connections

Does crap= Kilkenny fcuker...

Everyone happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭daftdave

Think this says it all

http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=1555227764&ref=search

From Waterford, Ireland....

yep....says it all indeed !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

If he considers himself to be from Waterford, who are any of us to tell him he's wrong! Ridiculous!

Delighted for the lad. Amazing achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

no the messiah i think

He's not the messiah....he's a very naughty boy

Thats a great achievement, fair play to the young man

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Who cares where he's from. I'm sticking a fiver on him in the Open!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭JackM_79

This lads grandfather was one of the first men in Waterford to run a taxi. Johnny 'Rashers' Phelan, a gentleman, and you would'nt get much more waterford than him, also is grandmother is Kathleen Phelan(nee Deegan), any one from the mount sion area would have known herself and Lilly.