Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children at Festivals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

And Crusties in pubs. I was having a few sunday pints once and got chatting to a Crustie smelling of a turf fire and hands black with dirt going on about the great life on the dole he was having . First he bummed a fag of me and made a spliff with but I had a few drags then when we went back in he said " Mate do you wannt to buy me a pint?" the cheek. I told him no i didnt want to buy him a pint.

You should have done a trade & barter buzz with him.......cant offer the bar man blow for a pint so you should have offered him a pint for enough for 4 spliffs:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Great statistic was the 5% that werent spangled crusty smokey kids?
    I would have said it was the stall workers, but one of the water vendors asked me and my mate if we could sell him a few pills, and by all accounts the guy making tea in one of the burger vans was quite possibly on acid, so that's that out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

You should have done a trade & barter buzz with him.......cant offer the bar man blow for a pint so you should have offered him a pint for enough for 4 spliffs:D

No need i had enough for a few spliffs anyway, and the amount he put in iv seen bigger hot rocks. I was just sick of his shet talk so my thinking was he spends his money the way he wants but i spend my money the way I want, and its not buying a pint for a crusty.

This thread seems to be generally anti crusty (and in fairness to Is Mise, I'm not sure that was the point he was making at all).

Whatever happened to live and let live, feel the love and all that?

I'm not sure I'm easy with the sense of condemnation of hippies and krusties creeping in. If they want to bring their kids around in VW vans with dogs on strings and smoke a few joints and listen to reggae in the sun, I say good luck to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It died when Minimal got big

This thread seems to be generally anti crusty (and in fairness to Is Mise, I'm not sure that was the point he was making at all).

!

We agree on something......i wasnt being anti crusty at all (i dont even like the term crusty just using it to keep the context of the discussion)......anyone who asked me to buy them a pint i had only just met after having a spliff with, i would offer them a pint for enough for a few spliffs in return. fairs fair.
    BaZmO* wrote: »
    It died when Minimal got big

:rolleyes::D The techno snobs killed it

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I'm not sure I'm easy with the sense of condemnation of hippies and krusties creeping in. If they want to bring their kids around in VW vans with dogs on strings and smoke a few joints and listen to reggae in the sun, I say good luck to them!

I've got nothing against crusty's at all - but down at Life I noticed that a lot of Nackers seem to have a major dislike to them all together...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Zascar wrote: »
    I've got nothing against crusty's at all - but down at Life I noticed that a lot of Nackers seem to have a major dislike to them all together...

I fcukin hate 'crusties' (despite my normally shabby, scruffy appearance). Spent years surrounded by them (do a degree in the social sciences and you meet a plethora of them), but they really come into their own at festivals.

On a whole they have less awareness of their own stereotypical existence than your average celtic jersey wearing knacker.

Actually the richest person I've ever met (well he will be when his folks kick the bucket leaving him an obscene fortune) was the crusty to rule all crusties.

Loved groove armada and whatever reggae/world act were currently touring (Toots and the Maytals that year). Referred to hash as 'ganj'. Wore Che Guevara tshirts, had dreadlocks, went out with hairy girls who were into that poi nonsense, and generally ticked every box in the criteria for 'trust fund kid riddled with middle class guilt who's desperately trying to hide it'.

Ah crusties, good for a rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I wanna live like common people... wanna do whatever common people do...

There's a bit of that there alright

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Actually can someone please specify the exact characteristics that make someone a Crustie?

Definitions are tough but telltale signs are....

1. Dreadlocks (if they're white males, which they will be)

2. An innate obsession with everything alternative. And I mean EVERYTHING - medicine, music, food, politics.

3. A frankly awful superficial understanding of socio-economic fundamentals, mainly based entirely on sentiment as opposed to rationale. Peace and love man, let's share the earth. Ironically, a huge number of them are genetically from what can only be described as the landed gentry.

4. An inability to distinguish what is utterly pointless from what is actually an artistic expression. Poi and interpretive dance seem to be two areas they are particularly interested in.

5. A 'rare' Gaelic name, that their pretentious parents most likely made up.

6. A dislike for rational discourse because it 'harshes their buzz like'.

7. A love for whatever world music is currently 'hip' - this month it's algerian arse-flute solos, next month tibetan water organ ballads.

8. Bongos.

Actually one of the best protrayals of a certain type of crusty I've ever seen was in Hardy Bucks, when the lads crash the hippy party in the forest. Of course the crusties are all into their 'One Love/Unity/Global Family' concepts but when anybody from outside their cultural/economic grouping comes near them, they get very easily intimidated and their good old fashioned upper middle class snobbery comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 stoneruile

jtsuited wrote: »

2. An innate obsession with everything alternative. And I mean EVERYTHING - medicine, music, food, politics.

3. A frankly awful superficial understanding of socio-economic fundamentals, mainly based entirely on sentiment as opposed to rationale. Peace and love man, let's share the earth. Ironically, a huge number of them are genetically from what can only be described as the landed gentry.

4. An inability to distinguish what is utterly pointless from what is actually an artistic expression. Poi and interpretive dance seem to be two areas they are particularly interested in.

5. A 'rare' Gaelic name, that they're pretentious parents most likely made up.

7. A love for whatever world music is currently 'hip' - this month it's algerian arse-flute solos, next month tibetan water organ ballads.

8. Bongos.

Actually one of the best protrayals of a certain type of crusty I've ever seen was in Hardy Bucks, when the lads crash the hippy party in the forest. Of course the crusties are all into their 'One Love/Unity/Global Family' concepts but when anybody from outside their cultural/economic grouping comes near them, they get very easily intimidated and their good old fashioned upper middle class snobbery comes out.

They seem to have a weakness for all things VW aswell. Every one of them drive old golfs and vw vans.

Actually can someone please specify the exact characteristics that make someone a Crustie?

When i posed the same question in response to one of your post i got in reply,

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66217789&postcount=65

5. A 'rare' Gaelic name, that they're pretentious parents most likely made up.

8. Bongos.

You have a lot of energy to give on this subject:D

actually i've met a good few of those cúnts surfing. sh1ting on about mother earth and then driving off in a VW combi, which is one of the most enviromentally unfriendly gas guzzling modes of transport on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Don't forget the "mother earth" female types, who wear table cloth dresses, and lecture you on anything and everything imaginable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

stoneruile wrote: »
    They seem to have a weakness for all things VW aswell. Every one of them drive old golfs and vw vans.

The VWs were always particularly tolerant of red diesel.

actually i've met a good few of those cúnts surfing. sh1ting on about mother earth and then driving off in a VW combi, which is one of the most enviromentally unfriendly gas guzzling modes of transport on the planet.

Live in South Kerry, between here and west Cork we have tens of thousands of hippies and crusties, and not sure I'd describe many of them in any way like you do. Surf? Not a chance. These are not students from some Dennys ad. The ones I know live the soapless lives and grow cannabis like it's going out of fashion, live in shacks, and it's no pretence. Gaelic names? Very few. Though again know plenty with names like Sunflower and River. Dreadlocks? When you have limited access to water, a lot of them I know shave their heads for practical reasons.

I think you are describing the wannabe drop outs, the ones whose parents have enough money to enable them to pretend to be hippies for a year or two, or even a few years, and hang out on the fringes of bohemia until they tire of it. Know a few who can drop out because they are the beneficiaries of some trust fund. But I find most of the genuine ones fine tbh. Sure, they barter artwork for cheese, they all hate the USA, loads of them are actually British and milking our social welfare for every cent, but at parties they are about (and this is scientifically proven) 50 times more entertaining than the average native gob****e in his Tommy Hilfiger clutching his bottle of Bud and thinking it's great to have found some house party up the side of a mountain in Beara. The one thing I like about them, more than any other sector of the community, they are the least judgmental, they don't give a damn about the car you drive or the job you have, they don't care about Munster rugby or Paul Galvin, they may go on about books or drugs or anti capitalist theories or whatever but I often find that entertaining. And they organise some of the best parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

The one thing I like about them, more than any other sector of the community, they are the least judgmental, they don't give a damn about the car you drive or the job you have,
    Yep, they won't judge you for having a clean car, or a job that pays a regular wage. They won't sneer at you for having to go to work on a monday, while they continue the party. They won't give you **** for eating meat, buying budweiser, or wearing levi's 501's.
    And they organise some of the best parties.
    They sure do...
    just as long as someone else provides the generator/decks/mixer/marquee/land/soundsystem. They're a great help particularly to any individuals who attempt after two days of partying, to take what they own (afforementioned generator/decks/mixer/marquee/land/soundsystem) home.

"Share the wealth man". Yep, works fine if you've nothing to share and all to receive.

This being said, some of my favourite friends are trustifarians. Their daily lives could fill adventure novel:. Finding an old boat and rebuilding it with the money earned from selling parts of their jeep, earning their trip across the pacific by working on the fishing ship, travelling indonesia with only a surfboard, etc.
    Big difference between them and the moany party bohemians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

5. A 'rare' Gaelic name, that their pretentious parents most likely made up.

8. Bongos.

We can all agree to dislike these people, but I don't think there was many of them at life. A lot of the Psy-trance community in Ireland is Portugese, Italian, Brazilian and Eastern European and they just tend to dress more colourfully/have more interesting hair, than us natives. Most of the ones I've met work in IT or call centers, not very radical really.

Also I'd much rather be entering a festival under the PLUR banner than a Heineken/Abrakebra/Sony one.

Life festival at least tries to get back to what going to a festival should be about, good (varied) music, and sound (and often interesting/mad) people on a friendly happy buzz, with the added bonus of a beautiful setting.

actually i've met a good few of those cúnts surfing.
    travelling indonesia with only a surfboard, etc.

Arrrgh! Enough with the surfboards. The hippies around these parts are not extras on some Beach Boys videos, and they have an aversion to water anyway! Take the thousands that live back the Beara peninsula, surrounded by water and have yet to hear one of them mention the 'surf' word. Are we talking about the same people?

Ah here this whole thread has descended into out right bigotry.......how can you pre judge anyone based on appearance, social or lifestyle preferences wihtout ever having met them?

One of my mottos in life & i teach this to my eldest son often is that you dont know what anyone is like until you have met them & decided for your self that they are either sound or wasters whether they are white, black, asian, dublin, kerry, english, french, muslim, catholic etc etc.......you may very well find that you encounter some folks of the 'crusty' variety, as so crudley put, that are really generous kind interesting people & sound. Similarly you may find some that are selfish arrogant inconsiderate irresponsible knobs but you wont know until you have met them.

Same as that you cannot assume that everyone you meet that wears a celtic jersey & drinks budweiser is a Knacker.......my brother in law is a big football fan & wears celtic jerseys & drinks miller but he is the quietest fella i know & everyone that ever meets him goes away saying how sound he is.

but see it's the stereotypes we're talking about here. ya meet complete stereotypes all the time that are actually grand. sometimes they're aware that they are stereotypes.

Yeah conor tbh i'm not really talking bout the west coast crusties here. And the surfing thing is a different kettle of fish really. I have met guys out on the water who were all 'mother earth this and that' and drove vw's. The vast majority of those have been from Dublin to be fair. So forget the surfing thing. That's really a whole other demographic. Was just referring to people who are eco-nuts but drive pollutant vans.

but see it's the stereotypes we're talking about here. ya meet complete stereotypes all the time that are actually grand. sometimes they're aware that they are stereotypes.

Sorry but 'stereotypes' are peoples assumptions of a particular grouping of people based on what they deem qualifies them to be given the said stereotype.......so as i have pointed out i dont beleive in stereotyping people, rather i will decide whether or not you are sound or a waster based on your actual person when i feel qualified to make a judgement (or at least thats what i try to do & live my life by)

wtf???
    you don't believe in stereotyping people? That's fair enough. But what you mean is you have a moral disagreement with the act of stereotyping people.

However, stereotypes exist. And that's what we're describing.

wtf???
    you don't believe in stereotyping people? That's fair enough. But what you mean is you have a moral disagreement with the act of stereotyping people.

Yes thats a more accurate way of describing it.
    However, stereotypes exist. And that's what we're describing.

Stereotypes exist to some people when viewing & making a judgment on another group of people if they allow it.......far be it from me to attempt stop you or anyone from pursuing that view point but i simply was & am trying to illustrate how flawed it is at gaining a realistic impression of the people you encounter in life if you pre judge before actually meeting them......which may close doors, options, experiences, before they ever have a chance......Stereotyping only serves to narrow your view of the world & can only be a negative in my opinion.

I think not being aware of stereotypes is a far more harmful thing tbh.

Stereotypes exist to some people when viewing & making a judgment on another group of people if they allow it.......far be it from me to attempt stop you or anyone from pursuing that view point but i simply was & am trying to illustrate how flawed it is at gaining a realistic impression of the people you encounter in life if you pre judge before actually meeting them......which may close doors, options, experiences, before they ever have a chance......Stereotyping only serves to narrow your view of the world & can only be a negative in my opinion.

I think the best attitude lies somewhere in the middle. For the most part, I've given up on compartmentalising the population into a limited number of subsections, trying to fit every person I encounter into one of the groups, and thus judging them as I see appropriate. I think I'm the better for it.

However, if I was to expect an enriching experience from sitting beside the gentleman at the back of the bus with jocks in socks, joint behind the ear and headphones apparently left at home so the whole bus can enjoy the dulcet sounds of Cascada - I think I'd be in for a bit of a letdown.

Pace2008 wrote: »

However, if I was to expect an enriching experience from sitting beside the gentleman at the back of the bus with jocks in socks, joint behind the ear and headphones apparently left at home so the whole bus can enjoy the dulcet sounds of Cascada - I think I'd be in for a bit of a letdown.

Agreed as i said i try not to live my life by stereotyping people but common sense does prevail when you are on a bus & all the junkies are on the back of the bus that i can make a pre judgement that i am not going to gain anything from sitting in the middle of them.......but you catch my drift in general.

In saying that though my point originally still stands.....very good friend of mine became sucked into the heroin & is an out right junkie now, looks & has all the same mannerisms as all heroin addicts get after time but he is a very genuine nice bloke.......you would never know until you met him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

129179929121339000.jpg

Pedobear is now hitting up the festival circuit...

/thread

Agreed as i said i try not to live my life by stereotyping people but common sense does prevail when you are on a bus & all the junkies are on the back of the bus that i can make a pre judgement that i am not going to gain anything from sitting in the middle of them.......but you catch my drift in general.

nope. i think you're being hypocritical here.

you just mentioned junkies at the back of the bus. Which is a stereotype that heroin addicts prefer to sit at the rear. That contradicts everything you just said about your moral disagreement regarding stereotyping people.

nope. i think you're being hypocritical here.

you just mentioned junkies at the back of the bus. Which is a stereotype that heroin addicts prefer to sit at the rear. That contradicts everything you just said about your moral disagreement regarding stereotyping people.

I just edited my original post.....sorry i try my best but am far from perfection.

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    129179929121339000.jpg

Pedobear is now hitting up the festival circuit...

/thread
    In keeping with the spirit of the current discussion:

****ING HIPSTERS!

ah but this is my point though. there's nothing wrong with being aware of stereotypes. it doesn't make you a 'better person' because you attempt to ignore them, even though you clearly know they exist.

OK to quote a bob dylan track,

"Most likely you go your way & i''ll go mine"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Sure we all know that all crusties, new age and hippies think we normal people are a bunch of suckers. Now can we get back to the OPs topic as there kids attending drug fueled music events. I say i dont care it might make them see how ****ed their parents have become and turn them away from this life choice. Look at the training they pick up, what two year old can scrape their baked mother out me the muck, after spending the weekend in a team work situation.

In saying that though my point originally still stands.....very good friend of mine became sucked into the heroin & is an out right junkie now, looks & has all the same mannerisms as all heroin addicts get after time but he is a very genuine nice bloke.......you would never know until you met him.

He'd still bleedin rob ya given half a chance though.

As for the "not stereotyping people" comments, that's bs tbh, and it's like a thing crusty would say.
    Everybody stereotypes people, and if you think that you're above it come back to me the next time you're in the park with your kids and you see a fat, balding guy with a beard and glasses standing over at the swings. See how quick stereotyping will come into play then. Or if you see a load of lads in Celtic jerseys hanging around outside your house. There'll be plenty of curtain twitching going on until they move along.

OK to quote a bob dylan track,

"Most likely you go your way & i''ll go mine"

here's a quote -

you can't just say you'll agree to disagree when you've been conclusively proved to be contradicting yourself over something you've been judgemental on.

Oh another good point about them, real hippies wouldn't be arsed trying to win arguments on internet forums...;)

here's a quote -

you can't just say you'll agree to disagree when you've been conclusively proved to be contradicting yourself over something you've been judgemental on.
    I think he means more along the lines of not viewing every working-class person as a scumbag, every guy in skinny jeans as a self-absorbed scenester, or every bloke with dreadlocks as a a layabout waster (or an overprivileged trust-fund kid -- wasn't familiar with that one before!).

He'd still bleedin rob ya given half a chance though.

Incorrect.
    and if you think that you're above it come back to me the next time you're in the park with your kids and you see a fat, balding guy with a beard and glasses standing over at the swings. See how quick stereotyping will come into play then.

I'll say it to ya there & then to stop hanging around the swings Baz:D

Incorrect.
    I dunno, you'd be very naive to trust a junky, and believe me when I say that because I know what I'm talking about here.

I'll say it to ya there & then to stop hanging around the swings Baz:D
    Haha. Good one! :D

I dunno, you'd be very naive to trust a junky, and believe me when I say that because I know what I'm talking about here.

Ive known a few chronic addicts that were qualified carpenters, roofers, etc that worked for themselves doing bits a pieces here & there & can tell you that they never robbed from their own.......i could not say that they never stroked in general but not from their friends i do know that.

We used to call heroin 'Yak' as a slang term & there is a whole bunch of houses/extensions around walkinstown/greenhills area that are labelled,

'The house that yak built':D

Seriously, how in the fukk in this day and age does any non-retarded person actually try heroin for the first time. Mabne some muppets in the 70's could possibly have claimed they didn't know it was as bad as it is, but there is no excuse these days. Most of us here know many people who do a lot of drugs on fairly regular occasion, but the jump from any mainstream drugs to heroin is a completely different ball park. Even this biggest idiot lifetime mashers I know would not even dream of doing heroin. What sort of idiot do you have to be? Do they actually think they can do heroin 'recreationally' and be ok?

Seriously, how in the fukk in this day and age does any non-retarded person actually try heroin for the first time. Mabne some muppets in the 70's could possibly have claimed they didn't know it was as bad as it is, but there is no excuse these days. Most of us here know many people who do a lot of drugs on fairly regular occasion, but the jump from any mainstream drugs to heroin is a completely different ball park. Even this biggest idiot lifetime mashers I know would not even dream of doing heroin.

In the case of a lot of people i knew that ended up addicts it was a choice to smoke it to ease the come down of 24 or 48 hours of partying hard in the ASYLUM all weekend & Barnstormers etc after consumption of loads of E & Acid........i personally suffered the comedowns with more alcohol to ease the feelings of insanity creeping in.

Do they actually think they can do heroin 'recreationally' and be ok?

I would say yes to almost all........people dont beleive it has a hold of them even when it is obvious to their mates how much has actually gotten in on their person........nasty nasty drug & will nearly always take control of anyone who trys it.......i would say 90% of people get hooked that start on it.

Yeah that was my understanding so I just cannot understand why anyone would risk it in the first place. Using once drug to come down off another is not a good idea, even smoking hash/weed when coming down off pills just makes the comedown last longer. Moderation makes for more fun in the long run

We used to call heroin 'Yak' as a slang term & there is a whole bunch of houses/extensions around walkinstown/greenhills area that are labelled,

'The house that yak built':D
    Or Tac or Scag, as well as a billion other names.

Seriously, how in the fukk in this day and age does any non-retarded person actually try heroin for the first time. Mabne some muppets in the 70's could possibly have claimed they didn't know it was as bad as it is, but there is no excuse these days. Most of us here know many people who do a lot of drugs on fairly regular occasion, but the jump from any mainstream drugs to heroin is a completely different ball park. Even this biggest idiot lifetime mashers I know would not even dream of doing heroin. What sort of idiot do you have to be? Do they actually think they can do heroin 'recreationally' and be ok?
    Well think about it, the press in general would have you believe that E (and even the once legal highs) would have you dropping out of college, work, life, if you so much as even looked sideways at one, and then once a person tries something they realise that A) just like drink, you can actually still function in society after a days rest after taking it, and B) it's actually a great buzz (this is the point that the mass hysteria of the media miss out…..drugs are not in fact “bad”, they are actually quite nice ;) This can have a knock on effect when making further decisions on what is perceived to bad by the general public, “well they were wrong about that, so what about this?”

The problem with heroin within the dance scene was that an awful lot of people used it first as a way of coming down after a night out, in much the same way that most clubbers have a few Spliffs. And just like point B above, a lot of people realized that initially it was not as bad as it was made out to be (very naïve of course) and then after a time it becomes more important to have Heroin than to actually have the night out first and to come down afterwards with some H. Another big factor was that a lot of people that got addicted were very young at the time. 17 to early 20’s.
    You are right though, it is a stupid thing to do but young people (and old people too) do a lot of stupid things. That’s why I’m a big advocate for education on these things and the recent mass hysteria over Head Shops just boils my blood. Retards protesting outside Head Shops with a cigarette hanging out of their mouths and then off to the pub for a belly full.

Yeah that was my understanding so I just cannot understand why anyone would risk it in the first place. Using once drug to come down off another is not a good idea, even smoking hash/weed when coming down off pills just makes the comedown last longer. Moderation makes for more fun in the long run
    Did you not post recently that you took sleeps after a gig at a festival? I'd imagine that statistically more people are addicted to sleeping pills than Heroin?

we're on to a fairly interesting discussion here about heroin i think.

I used to wonder how the hell people ended up addicts as a result of trying to take the edge of a comedown. Have had a few interesting conversations with some former addicts since, and I realised there was a huge part of the story I was missing.

Whatever about poor people in Dublin ending up addicts, it seems from what I've been told that there was a serious glamour thing going on with it in the past within other circles (writers, musicians, composers).

Sure Will Self was a heroin addict and was fired from the Observer for smoking heroin on John Major's election campaign private plane.

Now I know I'm going on hearsay, but I've heard highly educated, highly successful people try to explain what was going on at the time, and it seems that it's just one of those things that my generation is not going to comprehend fully.

Oh and btw, heroin was actually a brand-name. Like sellotape or hoover.

Did you not post recently that you took sleeps after a gig at a festival? I'd imagine that statistically more people are addicted to sleeping pills than Heroin?

Yep. I took half a Xanex for for the first time ever and got a fantastic nights sleep at a festival - which is normally near impossible. I have no problem sleeping normally so I would never bother taking them at weekends etc - but I would take them again at festivals. However you are absolutely right loads of people are addicted to sleeping pills. But if you start doing anything like this on a regular basis - and not just on special occasions like most of us - you probably need to take a step back