Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2010: Maths Paper 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

deise_girl wrote: »
    Lads I cant do this.. I dont know my theorems well, I can do f all in area and volume and my proving of congruency is shíte :(
    Im also terrified how theyre gonna ask the Coordinate Geometry since we have the forumlas.. They'll probs ask everything in a real backarse way :(

*Takes deep breaths*

Ah dear don't worry! Just write down the formulae, and then do your best to sub it all in. Watch out for pi, sometimes they say leave it in terms of pi.
    Ya, coorindate geomentry will be hard, but still put doen all the formulae.:o
    Tbh, I had it taken for granted that they wouldn't ask that congruency thereom...? :confused:
    Relax, you'll be grand.;)

Here what constructions are gonna come up? Well, like which ones are the most likely? I don't mind them, but which ones should I concentrate on tomorrow morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Here what constructions are gonna come up? Well, like which ones are the most likely? I don't mind them, but which ones should I concentrate on tomorrow morning?

Bisect a line into three equal parts, pretty easy! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭RML

Practise the circumcircle and the incircle of a triangle incase they come up!

RML wrote: »
    Practise the circumcircle and the incircle of a triangle incase they come up!

But but but the incircle came up last year did it not?!?:confused:
    Ah, stress of it all! :eek:

M&S* wrote: »
    Bisect a line into three equal parts, pretty easy! :)

What, that it? Really:D?

I have no idea! :( Just that's what I've been hearing! As long as it's not draw a circle inside a triangle! :( That's just a nasty one!

The incircle one came up last year, as far I know anyway. But how can people be predicting that only that one will come up? Surely that's only one possibility...?:confused:

Oh no! I don't mean it's the only one that could come up it's just more than likely it will! There is probably other possibilities I never even done these in class :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭RML

But but but the incircle came up last year did it not?!?:confused:
    Ah, stress of it all! :eek:

Yes, it came up last year:eek:...Then,I dont think it will come up tommorow:o..Hopefully

* Oh God, pls give us the easiest construction tommorow*

Oh no! I don't mean it's the only one that could come up it's just more than likely it will! There is probably other possibilities I never even done these in class :(

Awww, ok. Meh, don't worry- just think of how logically you would do what it's asking you to do. If all comes to all, use a protractor for the ones you can, and you might only get a blunder. ;)
    Good luck anyway!:cool:

Awww, ok. Meh, don't worry- just think of how logically you would do what it's asking you to do. If all comes to all, use a protractor for the ones you can, and you might only get a blunder. ;)
    Good luck anyway!:cool:

Ah no see we did it all in tech graph and if my tech graph teacher found out I couldn't do one of them he'd laugh at me!

It's just the circle that'd get to me but seeing as it was up last year I'll be grand!

Now to learn some theorems..

Ah no see we did it all in tech graph and if my tech graph teacher found out I couldn't do one of them he'd laugh at me!

It's just the circle that'd get to me but seeing as it was up last year I'll be grand!

Now to learn some theorems..

Ah, I see. Yea, I'm off too.
    Good luck! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭mista_2k10

The constructions are my strongest point on this paper :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

So you promise the deductions won't come up? Pinky swear? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 457babe

For anyone whos has had a bad teacher go on to eircom study hub i have actually learn't all trig in an hour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

457babe wrote: »
    For anyone whos has had a bad teacher go on to eircom study hub i have actually learn't all trig in an hour :)
    yay free study hub this evening! thanks a million i had no clue about trig!

/crosses fingers for my theorems to come up xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 lolzNato

:D what a lovely paper, was finished about 20 minutes before it ended :) B for me then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 JonnyM824

That was such an easy paper :O :D only 2 parts i didnt get and i still wrote down a formula :P Absolutely delighted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

Straight out of paper 2: Loved it. Certainly more difficult than paper 1, and I didn't leave early as I needed all the time I had, but it was very doable. Pythagoras' theorem still gets me every time though, I just hope my proof works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Good paper! Easiest construction, no graph paper needed & the theorem that I thought was going to come up, came up.

Hoping for an A overall. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

H2 equals the sum of the squares on the other 2 sides!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 lolzNato

Colm! wrote: »
    Straight out of paper 2: Loved it. Certainly more difficult than paper 1, and I didn't leave early as I needed all the time I had, but it was very doable. Pythagoras' theorem still gets me every time though, I just hope my proof works.

I know :pac: goddamn theorem the other was fine though :rolleyes: , i thought Co-ordinate geometry was the easiest:cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

That paper was wayyyyyyyyyyy easier than paper 1 and paper 1 is normally my stronger one!

I spent ages on pythag last night and I remembered it all for today! :D
    I think I could maybe scrape a B in maths now, it really depends how much I screwed paper 1!

Either way I know I have passed maths now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

This was way easier than paper one.
    I knew Pythag's theorem going in, but by the time I got to the question I had forgotten the last part! ah well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

DylanS09 wrote: »
    This was way easier than paper one.
    I knew Pythag's theorem going in, but by the time I got to the question I had forgotten the last part! ah well!

happened me in the mocks, got 7/10 for attempt :)

a jeasus i hated that paper =P i <3'd paper one
    buts think i dids ok xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭mista_2k10

The exact two theorems i predicted came up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭leemurta

I did crap in that paper, better in paper 1 I hope for a C :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Wow, what a nice maths paper 2 this year.

Lighted mass candles pay off for maths anyways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

Feckin beautiful paper.. understood everything.. i hope its enough to get an A after paper 1... :/:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

I was unsure of 2 or 3 c) parts but I'm still confident enough of an a.

I forgot me calculator and about two minutes into the exam the panic commenced!

My examiner asked the girl in front of me had she a calculator and luckily she had a spare one!

Saved my life but it wasn't that great of a calculator and it was a bit annoying trying to find the pie button and that but still better than nothing!

The paper was grand just a few of my answers looked very strange...

mista_2k10 wrote: »
    The exact two theorems i predicted came up! :D
    Same as myself :) Told people before the exam pythagoras is almost definate and they said they hadn't studied it :eek: Oh well, 20m gone for them :rolleyes:
    Feckin beautiful paper.. understood everything.. i hope its enough to get an A after paper 1... :/:)
    I loved every question too. Same with paper 1. Only one part A ( a reciprocal :o) That I couldn't make an educated guess at.
    Hopefully an A for me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

Only one part A ( a reciprocal :o) That I couldn't make an educated guess at.
    Hopefully an A for me :D

Ah the reciprocal wasnt too bad.. i remember we learned it on the first day of first year.. wow that was back in '07 :Ohaha

What's a reciprocal? :confused:
    And what question did it come up in?

Ah the reciprocal wasnt too bad.. i remember we learned it on the first day of first year.. wow that was back in '07 :Ohaha
    The reciprocal was simple! That's why I hated not remembering what a reciprocal was :pac:
    I just put 10,000 in scientific notation :p Maybe attempt marks? :o

What's a reciprocal? :confused:
    And what question did it come up in?
    A reciprocal is when you put a number under 1. e.g the reciprocal of 4 is 1/4
    You then divide it to give .25 which in scientific notation is 2.5 x 10 to tthe power of negative 1

It came up on paper one Q3 or 4 part a

Oh that...

still have no idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

A reciprocal is when you put a number under 1. e.g the reciprocal of 4 is 1/4
    You then divide it to give .25 which in scientific notation is 2.5 x 10 to tthe power of negative 1

It came up on paper one Q3 or 4 part a

I must have gotten that question wrong!
    I still have no idea what ye're talking about...ah well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

Lovely paper except for Q3 c)iii) i did it three times and got a different answer each time!:eek:any want to enlighten me what was the real answer?:p

Oh that...

still have no idea

It's only 10 marks, don't worry ;)
    DylanS09 wrote: »
    I must have gotten that question wrong!
    I still have no idea what ye're talking about...ah well!
    Same as above ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

1cii I couldnt finish it off, Ill get a good few attempt marks though and 5a apart from that I was happy nuff with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Wasn't too happy with some of that paper.:( I messed up about 3 c parts but ah well. I now see how big an eejit I was for not figuring them out. At least I took a stab at everything.

I hope I haven't lost my hold on that A! Come on Paper 1 get me an A!!

Lovely paper except for Q3 c)iii) i did it three times and got a different answer each time!:eek:any want to enlighten me what was the real answer?:p
    As a pure guess I got 1/6.25 :pac:
    Doubt it that counts as a simple fraction but I used the formula in the correct way so ah well :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Here's an example of a reciprocal answer :)

Q: Write a reciprocal of 7/2 (7 over 2 :P)

A: 2/7 or 1/7/2 (1 over [7 over 2])

It's either the multiple inverse of a fraction or for the multiplicative inverse of the fraction, divide 1 by the number.

It's abit confusing I know.
    I'm sorry :P

Edit: (I bolded the necessities just to help, even thought the exam is over now!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Gunner2802

the anwser was 4 over 25. you had to cancel out the sin C because the angles were the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

Sorry I meant question 4 c) iii)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the answer for question 3 c) is 4/25!:D

Did anyone get the following answers:

Q2, a: (6,8)
    Q2,b,iii: (-1,4)
    Q2,c,iii: 7.5

Q5,b,i: 4
    Q5b,ii: 6.93
    Q5,c,i: 60km
    Q5,c,ii: 4.5mins

Q6,b,ii: 20
    Q6,c,iii, 9

Thats all I took down on my paper.
    Also did anyone else forget how to do 5a? Or get 4,c,iii or and part of 3,c?