Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

postgrad funding and being recognised as an adult!

Options
  • 09-06-2010 8:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Sorry if this is the wrong forum!
    can people doing taught masters offer any advice with funding?

I have a degree and am hoping to start a Masters in NUIG september. i have been working and renting for years, but a year ago moved back home to my parents because of unemployment. I hand up a chunk of my dole money to my parents weekly, but of course that is not officially recognised.

I'm applying for a local authority grant, but even though i am over 25 years of age, it now seems it's going to be based on my parents income as well as mine. I'm afraid this is going to seriously negatively affect my application. My parents aren't loaded by any means, but I know my dad makes good enough money. But the application form doesnt give me the opportunity to explain that he will be retiring next year and also that I AM TWENTYFIVE and my parents will NOT be contributing to my studies.
    as well as that my parents won't even TELL me their earnings/pps etc so that i can fill in the forms, saying "why should we give them our details? you're an adult going back to school, it has nothing to do with us".
    and i see their point, even if they are being unhelpful!!

anyone else had this problem, or know what i can do about it??

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Sorry if this is the wrong forum!
    can people doing taught masters offer any advice with funding?