Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork V Kerry Football Replay **Mod warning, Post 120**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Cork lost by a point, take a chill pill

Well its all about winning in the long run. Loosing by a point is considered a defeat.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cork yet again did not take their chance of beating Kerry. They shot some bad wides from pretty good positions, didn't do aswell at midfield as many thought they would and yet with 40 seconds left of injury time - they were a point up!! It really is hard being a follower of this cork team. While kerry were marginally the better team, I'm sure they will have questions for themselves. As AI champions it still took them 3 hrs to sneak past, by the most slender of margins, a cork team with 'apparently' no bottle, no balls, no forwards no...... I'm not sure what that says for kerry, or cork for that matter.
    The backdoor will only be good for cork if they liven the team up, by moving personnel around. They should still be there at the business end of the season.
    I'm sure limerick will have a right cut off kerry but will probably come up short.
    The summer is going to be an interesting one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭manster

Just watched the Sunday Game. Saw both the Canty and Galvin incidents again. Opinion on both incidents have changed since seeing them live today.

CANTY: It was two players going for the one ball and Canty got the ball before Gooch. Both the ref & umpire made a mistake in the decision to give Canty a second yellow and Gooch a tap over free imo.

GALVIN: A horrible act that has no "hand" or place on the football pitch imo. Don't know how the ref missed this one. I'm sure the relevant authorities will act on it tomorrow.

manster
    Kerry Supporter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Hopefully Galvin will be suspended (gouging is inexcusable in absolutely every way), unfortunately he did the same thing in the Cork/Kerry league game against the same player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Cork yet again did not take their chance of beating Kerry. They shot some bad wides from pretty good positions, didn't do aswell at midfield as many thought they would and yet with 40 seconds left of injury time - they were a point up!! It really is hard being a follower of this cork team. While kerry were marginally the better team, I'm sure they will have questions for themselves. As AI champions it still took them 3 hrs to sneak past, by the most slender of margins, a cork team with 'apparently' no bottle, no balls, no forwards no...... I'm not sure what that says for kerry, or cork for that matter.
    The backdoor will only be good for cork if they liven the team up, by moving personnel around. They should still be there at the business end of the season.
    I'm sure limerick will have a right cut off kerry but will probably come up short.
    The summer is going to be an interesting one!

Obv it says that there is, in fact, almost nothing between the two sides.

Kerry didn't really care about this game last year, so nobody made a huge fuss over it when Cork beat them.

All of a sudden Kerry turn them over and this becomes a season-defining thing?

It seems a bit strange to me. I can guarentee you Cork are the team we will most hope not to have to face again this year.

Orizio wrote: »
    Hopefully Galvin will be suspended (gouging is inexcusable in absolutely every way), unfortunately he did the same thing in the Cork/Kerry league game against the same player.

I thought the league one was hard to quantify the intent of because he was in a headlock.

I only half saw this one, but it looked worse.

Does anyone know where abouts in the youtube clips it is?

keane2097 wrote: »
    I thought the league one was hard to quantify the intent of because he was in a headlock.

I only half saw this one, but it looked worse.

Does anyone know where abouts in the youtube clips it is?

The league incident wasnt half as bad. Todays incident has no place in any sport. I dont care what jersey a player is wearing. It should be a long ban period.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

What i find "Fcuking shameful imo" is that Ive yet to see a Kerry person mention,or even respond about when Paul Galvin reached inside a persons mouth and tried to rip their cheek from their skull.
    I guess we have different perceptions of what is "Fcuking shameful"

Ok as a Kerry person I will respond and I was at the game today but obviously did not see the "finger incident" live but firstly Paul Galvin should not have done it however I feel this is just the annual Paul Galvin Witchhunt and he did not strike the player per the rule book, so it was not a red card offence for that. The Referee did see it I think but decided not to act.

Eoin Cadogan is no angel and Paul Galvin and Cadogan have a feud since Cadogan got him sent off in this years league and subsequently suspended missing most of the league.

As you can see Cadogan instigated this whole thing last February and I think today was Paul venting his fury at Cadogan. The Sunday Game loves controversy and what happened today was not pleasant but most of the Kerry and Cork players simply hate each other simple as.

Having played 21 times in the Championship since 2004 there have been moments between the sides and if this becomes another big Paul Galvin type incident it will severely damage the GAA with their constant attempts to derail Kerry's success. The Sunday game almost completly ignored Graham Cantys earlier challenge on Galvin and instead focused on trying to discredit the sending off Canty got after his blatant foul on Colm Cooper when Colm was going through on goal.

I take no notice of these things anymore as RTE and the whole country hate Kerry and no matter what they do Kerry will still come through and after todays showing I can still see Kerry making an unparalleled 7th All-Ireland final appearance in a row.

If we want to talk controversy, I suggest that people take a look at the umpire who Cork two 45 yard frees when no Kerry player touched the ball last in both the 21 and 47th minute. With Cork earning a point from one of them. That Umpire was poor and if you look at the tape it is clear neither were 45's.

Did someone just try and rationalise mouth gouging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

It's been mentioned several times in fact, and I think that's the most melodramatic description of it we're likely to see, so good to get it out of the way early :)

Youre the drama queen with your "justice for gooch" posts. :rolleyes:

You can see the Fish-hook incident at around 6 minutes in the "second half" video posted earlier.

It's somewhat similar to the League game incident in that it doesn't look like Galvin necessarily intended to get his fingers into Cadogan's mouth, but once he does he does seem to pull out his cheek alright.

Fairly bad tbh.

It's a shame as well, because it was actually not a game riddled with niggly stuff particularly, but that was pretty unsavoury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

was the attendance at the match the same, more or less that last sunday

Youre the drama queen with your "justice for gooch" posts. :rolleyes:

sick burn

You're happy enough with Cork's defensive strategy so are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Bad form by Galvin, which rightfully will overshadow what was an otherwise epic performance by him.

Stinicker wrote: »
    The Sunday game almost completly ignored Graham Cantys earlier challenge on Galvin and instead focused on trying to discredit the sending off Canty got after his blatant foul on Colm Cooper when Colm was going through on goal.

That was a fair shoulder and Galvin ended up the worst. Canty got to the ball before Gooch and was wrongly sent off and swung the momentum back to Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

Just wondering if anyone can list the lineups with numbers for both sides. Or if they know what site I can get it from. Thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Ok as a Kerry person I will respond and I was at the game today but obviously did not see the "finger incident" live but firstly Paul Galvin should not have done it however I feel this is just the annual Paul Galvin Witchhunt and he did not strike the player per the rule book, so it was not a red card offence for that. The Referee did see it I think but decided not to act.

Eoin Cadogan is no angel and Paul Galvin and Cadogan have a feud since Cadogan got him sent off in this years league and subsequently suspended missing most of the league.

As you can see Cadogan instigated this whole thing last February and I think today was Paul venting his fury at Cadogan. The Sunday Game loves controversy and what happened today was not pleasant but most of the Kerry and Cork players simply hate each other simple as.

Having played 21 times in the Championship since 2004 there have been moments between the sides and if this becomes another big Paul Galvin type incident it will severely damage the GAA with their constant attempts to derail Kerry's success. The Sunday game almost completly ignored Graham Cantys earlier challenge on Galvin and instead focused on trying to discredit the sending off Canty got after his blatant foul on Colm Cooper when Colm was going through on goal.

I take no notice of these things anymore as RTE and the whole country hate Kerry and no matter what they do Kerry will still come through and after todays showing I can still see Kerry making an unparalleled 7th All-Ireland final appearance in a row.

If we want to talk controversy, I suggest that people take a look at the umpire who Cork two 45 yard frees when no Kerry player touched the ball last in both the 21 and 47th minute. With Cork earning a point from one of them. That Umpire was poor and if you look at the tape it is clear neither were 45's.

I can't say I agree with even one word of this obviously biased, inaccurate and slightly deluded view of today's game.:eek:

teednab-el wrote: »
    Well its all about winning in the long run. Loosing by a point is considered a defeat.

No, its all about winning in september. Cork should come through the qualifiers (hopefully) and with a good idea of their best team. If they meet Kerry they will be massive underdogs which will suit Cork.

goat2 wrote: »
    was the attendance at the match the same, more or less that last sunday

The attendance was around 23,000 thousand with the City End terrace empty, Cork would not even come out to support their own team in their backyard which was disappointing considering their was officially 36,000 in Killarney last weekend although that was closer to 40k I'd say.

A small hardcore contingent braved the rebel republic from Kerry and despite the 24 different Guards between the County bounds and Cork and 3 speed traps I think it was lousy form to be speed checking on the day and it made the N22 into a got track as every fool was crawling instead of blasting away at 70mph as per the norm.

No, its all about winning in september. Cork should come through the qualifiers (hopefully) and with a good idea of their best team. If they meet Kerry they will be massive underdogs which will suit Cork.

It could be similiar to 2007 again.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Ok as a Kerry person I will respond and I was at the game today but obviously did not see the "finger incident" live but firstly Paul Galvin should not have done it however I feel this is just the annual Paul Galvin Witchhunt ( people are not happy he has added 'mouth gouging' to his repetoire - how dare they , he's an angel afterall, misunderstood maybe?) and he did not strike the player per the rule book, so it was not a red card offence for that. The Referee did see it I think but decided not to act.

I would be very surprised if the ref saw it and decided.... thats ok play on!

- not pleasant but understandable because the players hate each other ???

Having played 21 times in the Championship since 2004 there have been moments between the sides and if this becomes another big Paul Galvin type incident it will severely damage the GAA with their constant attempts to derail Kerry's success. I think you will find it was Galvin's hand in Cadigans mouth , noy the GAA's !!

The Sunday game almost completly ignored Graham Cantys earlier challenge on Galvin they showed the replay and said it was probably a yellow - what more do you expect! and instead focused on trying to discredit the sending off Canty got after his blatant foul on Colm Cooper when Colm was going through on goal. probably because the replay shows canty getting to the ball first with his left boot i.e. no yellow no free and no score for kerry!

I take no notice of these things anymore evidently you do! as RTE and the whole country hate Kerry over-reaction much??? and no matter what they do Kerry will still come through and after todays showing I can still see Kerry making an unparalleled 7th All-Ireland final appearance in a row.

- pretty sure they were 45's but then again Canty played the ball, got sent off and ye got a point ALSO didn't Donaghy CLEARLY kick the ball out when in a tangle with canty in the second half - kerry 45 was given and ye scored from it!!!

sick burn

You're happy enough with Cork's defensive strategy so are you?

No.

Let me ask you this, at what stage do you believe Kerrys preparation is at this time of year in comparison to last year?

Playing understrength teams in the qualifiers will do nothing for this team. They will learn nothing about their team that way. Just hope they can get a few hard games under their belts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

teednab-el wrote: »
    That was a fair shoulder and Galvin ended up the worst. Canty got to the ball before Gooch and was wrongly sent off and swung the momentum back to Kerry.

i think he merited that yellow, he went out of his way to antagonise galvin. silly thing to do and no need for it whatsoever

No.

Let me ask you this, at what stage do you believe Kerrys preparation is at this time of year in comparison to last year?

Way way way farther along.

I said after the Tipp game that losing this tie against Cork would be a big blow because Kerry are clearly intent on going through the front door this year.

I think it was much more important for Kerry to win this game than it was for Cork.

Kerry would improve too much from today's performance, besides maybe the backs getting a bit sharper (which they have done as the summer wore on the last couple of years), and maybe David Moran finding a bit of form to shake up the midfield.

I'll be hoping Cork don't make it through the qualifiers tbh.

Finally to close out my contribution to this anti Kerry/lynch Paul Galvin thread, Louth and Dublin will meet in the Leinster Final, Dublin will win and Louth will meet Cork in the Qualifiers and Louth will beat Cork. Kerry will march on as masters of the Province of Munster into the All-Ireland series and Kerry will contest the All-Ireland final and will win it AGAIN

10 - KY - SAM37

The Greatest Ever! :cool:

Jealous Much ? :pac:

I've watched the Canty "trip" a good few times from all the angles that were shown today and I still am having trouble deciding whether or not it should have been a free.

It looks like it was Canty's foot that moved the ball alright, but it also looks like he hit Cooper before he hit the ball.

I'm not even sure if that's relevant anyway, because I'm sure the rules for football in this type of incident are different to those in soccer where it's a case of if a player gets the ball he can then more or less follow through on the man and it's ok.

I'd imagine the rules in football mention something about the "player in posession of the ball" or similar.

Any of the refs on here have an opinion of the incident?

Finally to close out my contribution to this anti Kerry/lynch Paul Galvin thread, Louth and Dublin will meet in the Leinster Final, Dublin will win and Louth will meet Cork in the Qualifiers and Louth will beat Cork. Kerry will march on as masters of the Province of Munster into the All-Ireland series and Kerry will contest the All-Ireland final and will win it AGAIN

10 - KY - SAM37

Quiet you - you're making the rest of us look bad.

10 - KY - SAM37

Tyrone might just spoil the dream if they are around to face ye. :D

The attendance was around 23,000 thousand with the City End terrace empty, Cork would not even come out to support their own team in their backyard which was disappointing considering their was officially 36,000 in Killarney last weekend although that was closer to 40k I'd say.

A small hardcore contingent braved the rebel republic from Kerry and despite the 24 different Guards between the County bounds and Cork and 3 speed traps I think it was lousy form to be speed checking on the day and it made the N22 into a got track as every fool was crawling instead of blasting away at 70mph as per the norm.
    that was small compared to last sunday
    why all the garda checks on county bounds, sunday usually is not a day people are rushing about

Way way way farther along.

I said after the Tipp game that losing this tie against Cork would be a big blow because Kerry are clearly intent on going through the front door this year.

I think it was much more important for Kerry to win this game than it was for Cork.

Kerry would improve too much from today's performance, besides maybe the backs getting a bit sharper (which they have done as the summer wore on the last couple of years), and maybe David Moran finding a bit of form to shake up the midfield.

I'll be hoping Cork don't make it through the qualifiers tbh.

Hmmm. I wonder if Kerry decided to go all out for Munster when they heard
    that the winners of Munster would be playing the winners of Lenster in the SF, therefore avoiding Tyrone.
    Are ye hoping that we'll take care of Tyrone again for you this year?

****ing hell, you'd think you would be content with winning and moving on.

The attendance was disapointing, but blaming this solely on Cork is utterly hilarious in every way. Lets be honest - neither Cork or Kerry support their football teams properly.

There were as many , if not more, cork fans than kerry fans at the match in killarney. Todays attendance of 26547 approx was made up of primarily cork fans. If the kerry folk travelled in the same force as the cork ones did last week, there would have been the bones of 40,000 a la last week! They didn't - but that's nothing new.

it can be hard to get tickets, then again how much is it to attend a game like todays, have they brought the tiraff down, people do not have the surplus the had in the past

20 quid for a terrace ticket for two games is fine imo. Very easy to get tickets.

Tickets were available all week long And outside the páirc before the match. All tickets were down by 5 euro , terrace for 15 = value for money IMO

that is fantastic that they have brought down the price
    also another poster said 20 for two games great affordable to all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

that is fantastic that they have brought down the price
    also another poster said 20 for two games great affordable to all

it annoys me that people think they have a right to get into GAA matches for ridiculously low prices yet have no problem paying through the nose for matches in other codes

aDeener wrote: »
    it annoys me that people think they have a right to get into GAA matches for ridiculously low prices yet have no problem paying through the nose for matches in other codes

GAA is an amateur sport though. You would expect to pay low prices.

Once again, 20 euro for two games, perfectly fine imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

I've watched the Canty "trip" a good few times from all the angles that were shown today and I still am having trouble deciding whether or not it should have been a free.

It looks like it was Canty's foot that moved the ball alright, but it also looks like he hit Cooper before he hit the ball.

I'm not even sure if that's relevant anyway, because I'm sure the rules for football in this type of incident are different to those in soccer where it's a case of if a player gets the ball he can then more or less follow through on the man and it's ok.

I'd imagine the rules in football mention something about the "player in posession of the ball" or similar.

Any of the refs on here have an opinion of the incident?

I only saw the incident as it happened and was watching on a not too hot stream but it looked more like a sliding tackle than anything which as far as i know, is not allowed. Hard to tell if he got the ball first but he definitely upended the player so you cant really be too harsh on the ref.

Cooper was different class today, have to laugh at the begrudge-rs, every time he beat his man he was fouled, simple as. It is nt his fault that they cant handle him.

You have to feel for Cork, they should of put that game away but just seem to be lacking the belief. Kerry have probably lost around 5 or 6 all stars from last year and Cork still cant win. They dominated midfield in both games but couldn't do anything with it.

I only saw the incident as it happened and was watching on a not too hot stream but it looked more like a sliding tackle than anything which as far as i know, is not allowed. Hard to tell if he got the ball first but he definitely upended the player so you cant really be too harsh on the ref.

Cooper was different class today, have to laugh at the begrudge-rs, every time he beat his man he was fouled, simple as. It is nt his fault that they cant handle him.

You have to feel for Cork, they should of put that game away but just seem to be lacking the belief. Kerry have probably lost around 5 or 6 all stars from last year and Cork still cant win. They dominated midfield in both games but couldn't do anything with it.

Come again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Orizio wrote: »
    Come again?
    Tadgh Kennely - All Star
    Darragh O Shea- Multiple All Star
    Diarmuid Murphy - All Star
    Tommy Walsh -All Star

Sorry only 4 by my count
    Look, Cork were supposedly stronger this year, Kerry were supposedly weaker and Cork were beaten at home, with a full strength squad.

Barry John is going to be a seriously player this year imo.
    Orzio, you do a good job of talking Cork down and get sore when they get beaten. Just accept it was Kerry's day, yours will come. That's football

Tadgh Kennely - All Star
    Darragh O Shea- Multiple All Star
    Diarmuid Murphy - All Star
    Tommy Walsh -All Star

Sorry only 4 by my count
    Look, Cork were supposedly stronger this year, Kerry were supposedly weaker and Cork were beaten at home, with a full strength squad.

Barry John is going to be a seriously player this year imo.
    Orzio, you do a good job of talking Cork down and get sore when they get beaten. Just accept it was Kerry's day, yours will come. That's football

He said 5-6. :rolleyes: 4 does not equal 5 or 6. Cork didn't have a full strength squad, Nicolas Murphy and Anthony Lynch were both missing.

RE: the rest of your post, please go back a few pages and read my posts on the actual match (btw I tipped Cork to win yesterday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Was there any mention on the Sunday Game last night of the Derek Kavanagh incident where he tried to throttle the Gooch?

aw7wv.png

mO9kL.png

Apologies for the poor image quality but you get the idea.

Quite an ugly and totally stupid incident IMO at a time in the game when Cork were well up.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Was there any mention on the Sunday Game last night of the Derek Kavanagh incident where he tried to throttle the Gooch?

I don't believe there was, nice picture though, quality wise of course;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I don't believe there was, nice picture though, quality wise of course;)
    Well yes, I imagine it represents what all Cork fans would like to do to the Gooch ;).
    Still though it could easily have been a serious incident especially if the Gooch's head had hit Noel O'Leary which nearly happened.But yet it got no mention.

Perhaps Galvin should have done it. It might have gotten more prominence then. :(

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Well yes, I imagine it represents what all Cork fans would like to do to the Gooch ;).
    Still though it could easily have been a serious incident especially if the Gooch's head had hit Noel O'Leary which nearly happened.But yet it got no mention.

Perhaps Galvin should have done it. It might have gotten more prominence then. :(

I would like to think that if the Gooch headbutted O'Leary that he would have gotten a straight red;)

Hmmm. I wonder if Kerry decided to go all out for Munster when they heard
    that the winners of Munster would be playing the winners of Lenster in the SF, therefore avoiding Tyrone.
    Are ye hoping that we'll take care of Tyrone again for you this year?

Maybe that was the thinking, I can't reallysay tbh.

Personally, I'd want to meet Tyrone. As I said yesterday we need to beat them to get a monkey off our backs.

Maybe that was the thinking, I can't reallysay tbh.

Personally, I'd want to meet Tyrone. As I said yesterday we need to beat them to get a monkey off our backs.

I'm quite sure if Cork knock out Tyrone again this year the VAST majority of kerry folk will be thinking sam is coming home - not - oh no we have to carry the monkey for another year!