Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England -v- USA, Sat 7:30PM RTE & ITV HD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

USA beat Spain not too long ago, so your point is moot.

Confederations cup -v- World Cup

Hardly moot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

He was asked to go as an ambassador

yes i know but its bollox tho. No other team has an "ambassador"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Still waiting on a miracle...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

redout wrote: »
    Confederations cup -v- World Cup

Hardly moot.
    Yeah you're right, I'm sure Spain didn't try at all, it's not like they were unbeaten in 34 games previous...oh, wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

So James Corden's Football thingie afterward on ITV should be fun.

Will have to delay hitting town but I've a feeling to could be well worth it.
    Fun to see the spin they will put on the game to make it a positive result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

It is only one game and England will have to get better. Wouldn't lose sleep over it if I were English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Capello's next task:

Find out does the Nigerian goalkeeper have an English grandmother. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,579 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

30 seconds therabouts..

Des wrote: »
    he's in the coaching staff, every right to be there

Beckham, coahing! lol! good one! the man cant even string a sentence together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

What a sh!t match. South Korea and Greece was better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

skelliser wrote: »
    yes i know but its bollox tho. No other team has an "ambassador"

I wouldn't lose sleep on it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

USA beat Spain not too long ago, so your point is moot.
    Mickey Mouse Cup, irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Yeah you're right, I'm sure Spain didn't try at all, it's not like they were unbeaten in 34 games previous...oh, wait...

How in the name of god you can compare that is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

George Hamilton " the USA have secured another great victory over England" :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

you think Beckham is an idiot?

He's considerably richer than you, so can't be that stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Dean820 wrote: »
    It is only one game and England will have to get better. Wouldn't lose sleep over it if I were English.

I think a lot of the England fan's would disagree with you there.

Gutless performance from England really. Howler from Green. A massive change in tactics needed now methinks. At least they didn't lose it which is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,343 ✭✭✭Ardent

The US played really well. A draw is just about the correct result. Feel so sorry for Green, hope this doesn't cost him his place for the rest of the competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

You're talking about a future England manager there boyo

Did you not see his impressive farty gnome stare from the dugout after the Green mistake?

Positively McLarenesque.

You know Bill is not going to be looking at that Algeria-Slovenia match tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

ffs, it's The United States, not America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

ye they didn't even have a full team, I mean when you are reduced to playing Torres and Villa up front...

/beckham has only himself to blame... coming over here, trying to improve our Soccer. who does he think he is?

Ha! great how we now judge success by the size of peoples wallets! stupid point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

England has been lucky with the draw.
    That is the only reason that they will make it to the next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

So Lucozade ad just before the game said - "The difference between football and soccer? The next 90 minutes." So obviously for all their efforts to be patronising they have finally said something that makes sense. No difference at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I can't believe how cursed England are in regards to goalkeepers. Foster, Carson, Robinson, Green and lastly, but not least, the original calamity....David James.

First time I've ever heard someone sticking up for David Beckham's intelligence!

Posh would be a better footballer. He'd probably be a better singer. Don't forget that they invented the phrase "Bend it like Beckham" to cover the fact that the guy can't even kick a ball straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

ffs, it's The United States, not America.

Warnig, bad language...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    You know Bill is not going to be looking at that Algeria-Slovenia match tomorrow

The lads are heading into Lillies tonight....will be B and C squad all day tomorrow.

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I can't believe how cursed England are in regards to goalkeepers. Foster, Carson, Robinson, Green and lastly, but not least, the original calamity....David James.

Joe Hart next please.

Giles just said that match was the worst of the games thus far. I personally thought the France game last night was worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

That_Guy wrote: »
    Gutless performance from England really. Howler from Green. A massive change in tactics needed now methinks. At least they didn't lose it which is the main thing.

Capello has a lot of work to do before the next game alright. Presuming Barry will be fit to start, so what does he do with Gerrard, hopefully dumps Heskey for him. I think Heskey had a good game, but the system didn't work.

Dunphy: Rooney looked ordinary tonight

Was Rooney even playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

15648040.jpg

That's what you get for having a headline like that, showing no respect for the US.

What's the headline tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

England seriously lacked pace. A lot of long balls, they should've brought Agbonlahour.

It may be a draw, but it feels like a defeat for England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Flukey wrote: »
    Don't forget that they invented the phrase "Bend it like Beckham" to cover the fact that the guy can't even kick a ball straight.

That's the worst sentence ever put up on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

For me England's performance here is simple, Fabio Capello came into a world cup without knowing his number one Keeper, His best CB partnership, his best RM-LM and who and how to play his Cm's as well as Rooney's strike partner or whether to go with 4-4-2 or 4-5-1. The only thing Capello knew for sure was his LB and RB, Capello managed this like a friendly and the perfomrance resembled that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Who got MOTM?

rarnes1 wrote: »
    First time I've ever heard someone sticking up for David Beckham's intelligence!

He's got a good football brain.... everything else....

/tumbleweed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Worst game thus far.

Vapid and lifeless. No real bite.

Another poster has suggested that England dont need to lose any sleep over this game. I disagree on the basis that they have just handed the USA a lifeline to take top spot in the group. Top spot helps the winnder avoid Germany and Argentina in the next round. England could and should have put the matter to bed tonight. The have failed to do so. Another performance ala Trinadad & Tobago in 2006 could see England overcome Algeria/Slovenia by single goals. It may well come down to goal difference, and erratic old England may shott themselves in the foot.

FatherTed wrote: »
    15648040.jpg

That's what you get for having a headline like that, showing no respect for the US.

Ah ha ha... what a rag :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

ist2_9035558-bottled-water.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

15648040.jpg

The headline will connect BP, the oil spill and Roberts Greens gloves. Bet ya a tenner.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

IvySlayer wrote: »
    England seriously lacked pace.

Lennon, Rooney and SWP are all lightning quick :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Podge2k7 wrote: »
    Who got MOTM?

The referee.
    For blowing the whistle for the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

LZ5by5 wrote: »

Never really got why Robinson isn't still playing, hes hardly the greatest keeper in the world, but hes better than Foster, Green, James, Carson etc

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

15648040.jpg

You read The Sun :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Just switched over to ITV, England played really well aparently, really???

Yet kevin keegan looks like he was crying

iregk wrote: »
    That's the worst sentence ever put up on this forum.

It's more coherent than any sentence David Beckham ever spoke.