Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England -v- USA, Sat 7:30PM RTE & ITV HD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Messi made Nigeria look like u-12's, Rooney made the USA Cb's look like world class defenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

IvySlayer wrote: »
    The headline will connect BP, the oil spill and Roberts Greens gloves. Bet ya a tenner.

"Suspect American agent covered Rob Greens Gloves with oil from the Gulf Spill before the game"

Too long maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The headline tomorrow will be something like 'Hammer to our hopes' with a picture of Green looking devastated or some such nonsense.

It really will be a disgrace if Green is made into a scapegoat but I suspect he will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Never really got why Robinson isn't still playing, hes hardly the greatest keeper in the world, but hes better than Foster, Green, James, Carson etc

Me neither, He had a fantastic season this year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,682 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

FatherTed wrote: »
    15648040.jpg

That's what you get for having a headline like that, showing no respect for the US.

What's the headline tomorrow?

your a pool fan or am i mistaken ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Christ it was like being back in the 80s watcching England tonight. Long ball game. WTF? the only time they strung a few passes together was when Johnson went off for treatment and they didn't want to give the ball away.

Horrible tactics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

My take on tonight's match, from BackPageFootball.
    1. The Curse That Won’t Go Away

green_2464752.jpg

Another game, another English goalkeeping horror. Poor Rob Green. He was given the ultimate vote of confidence starting ahead of David James and Joe Hart, and he goes and….does that. Can we blame the Jubilani football? Not at all, just a silly error and lapse of concentration from Rob Green. It happens all goalkeepers eventually, it just so happens that if you’re English, it happens more often. It wasn’t a particularly great strike from Dempsey – the ball did bounce but it was well in front of Green. Given how replays showed how furious Capello was with Milner’s booking, we just can’t imagine him giving the West Ham ‘keeper a shoulder to cry on. He did make a very good save from Jozy Altidore in the second half, but such a high profile gaffe could very well spell the end of Greens international career considering the media scrutiny. We just hope he hasn’t got rid of these gloves just yet.

2. How many times do I have to tell you?

Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard cannot play together in midfield! It’s been repeated by almost everybody at this stage, so why Fabio “I make tough decisions” Capello insists on trying to make it work is beyond us. Gerrard summed up his season at Liverpool with a Jekyll and Hyde performance. His sublime finish in the 4th minute was almost overwritten by a fairly sub-par performance which saw him lose Clint Dempsey far too easily for the USA’s equalising goal. If Gerrard’s club form meant this display was not overly surprising, then Frank Lampard’s peformance is a mystery. He’s rarely less than brilliant for Chelsea, and is usually dependable for England, at least capable of grabbing a goal when it matters. But the Chelsea midfielder was anonymous tonight. It was a midfield performance that will have the nation anxious for a holding player like Gareth Barry to return, or God forbid, the forgotten squad member that is Michael Carrick.

3. Emile-ion Times Better

The lads on RTE had a go at Emile Heskey at half time, but I thought he put in one of his best displays in an England shirt, considering his role. He set up Gerrard’s goal beautifully with a slick through pass, and was always a route through which the English attack could progress. Whether his presence on the pitch influences a route one approach is another thing, but you can hardly expect him to refuse to play for the best of the team. It’s the World Cup, and the most (and least) you can expect from a player is for them to do their best, which Heskey did. Sure, he could have done better when one on one with Howard early in the second half, but the American is a top ‘keeper, and was off his line quickly to reduce Heskey’s target area. Any criticism directed towards the Villa man is surely another desperate attempt in the long line of scapegoat finding by “pundits”.

4. Fit as a Findley

Jamie-Carragher_2464764.jpg

Robbie Findley was very impressive for USA tonight. A player of such pace is always a huge weapon, but against the lead-footed duo of Terry and King, he was always going to be one of the Americans’ favoured outlets. Jamie Carragher was exposed for pace and quickness a few times after his introduction, picking up a booking for a cynical foul on Findley and almost being at fault for an American goal when outpaced by Altidore in the 64th minute. The USA could be a dangerous prospect for one of the more fancied teams should they progress from the group stages, and once Altidore returns to full fitness, their attack will be even more formidable.

5. Where are Roo?

Wayne-Rooney_2464761.jpg

Spare a thought for Wayne Rooney. England’s talisman has had to put up with comparisons with Lionel Messi all season – a battle he lost in part due to his end of season injury, but mostly down to Messi being the clear victor. After Messi’s verging-on-inspirational performance for Argentina against Nigeria this afternoon, all eyes turned to Rooney as the second act of the Messi – Rooney – Ronaldo circus took centre stage. But the Manchester United man found himself starved of chances, and when he did find himself with the ball, he was quickly surrounded and forced to bundle possession away to a team mate. He was close to producing a moment of magic in the 75th minute with an imaginative long-range effort, followed by a close range flick after from a corner, but Tim Howard was for the most part untroubled by Rooney tonight.

6. Don Wrong Demarco

Don Capello hasn’t gotten much wrong in his time as England manager, but his selection tonight seemed a bit off. James Milner was suffering from illness during the week, and was far from 100%. A yellow card proved to be the straw the broke the camel’s back as he was replaced by Shaun Wright Phillips at the half hour mark. It will be interesting to hear what the Italian has to say about Ledley King too. Has intensive World Cup preparation training affected his ever so brittle fitness? England’s lack of pace in central defence without Rio Ferdinand is alarming, and it hampers their tactics in more ways than the obvious one. We’re so used to seeing Glen Johnson and Ashley Cole as spiritual wingers for England, but they were forced to put more emphasis on their defensive covering tonight to assists the central pairing. As a result, England were more impotent than usual with their attacks from wide positionsas Johnson and Cole were late in offering Wright-Phillips and Lennon their support. The two early changes also meant that Capello had less cards up his sleeve as England chased the winning goal, with Peter Crouch being the only fresh legs he could introduce.

Fabio-Capello_2464763.jpg

7. Got dole?

A quick word of reassurance for the technical director at ITV who allowed their HD broadcast to cut to a Hyundai advert just before Heskey played Steven Gerrard through in the biggest football match England has seen for four years, in front of an audience of millions. Don’t worry mate, this recession won’t last forever. I’m sure you’ll find a new job eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,579 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

n1 arch, will read tomorow.

back to old habits engerland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

peabutler wrote: »
    Messi made Nigeria look like u-12's, Rooney made the USA Cb's look like world class defenders.

So did Villa and Torres and USA>>>>>>>Nigeria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Giles looks like he's about to fall asleep.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

It really will be a disgrace if Green is made into a scapegoat but I suspect he will be.
    Scapegoat?? The English media?? Nah ;)
    I actually can't remember a WC where England didn't have a scapegoat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

italian football is not suffering! last year they recorded the highest attendence at matches in 17 years! Dunphy is a spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Liam O wrote: »
    So did Villa and Torres and USA>>>>>>>Nigeria

I'd say the back 4 + Keeper of Nigeria is as good as USA's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

peabutler wrote: »

England made themselves look like under fives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

OPENROAD wrote: »
    You read The Sun :eek::eek::eek::eek:
    Never! Just pointing out the disrespect they have.
    Headshot wrote: »
    your a pool fan or am i mistaken ?

haha no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

ragg wrote: »
    Yet kevin keegan looks like he was crying

Course he does, he said pre match that England would win very easily.:pac:

skelliser wrote: »
    italian football is not suffering! last year they recorded the highest attendence at matches in 17 years! Dunphy is a spoofer.

It's a known fact that Dunphy hates Italian football so not surprised he's having a pop again.

LOL Xavi would have that ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Cant believe ITV did that again. Same thing happened when Everton scored against Liverpool in the fa cup!

Souness is just after saying Sniejder isnt a playmaker....hes such a silly billy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

FatherTed wrote: »
    Never! Just pointing out the disrespect they have.

But how did you know about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The headline tomorrow will be something like 'Hammer to our hopes' with a picture of Green looking devastated or some such nonsense.

hammer blow
    rob-bed

Course he does, he said pre match that England would win very easily.:pac:

A good few on here said the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Giles and Dunphy making a bid to replace Hook and Pope as rugby pundits

rarnes1 wrote: »
    A good few on here said the exact same thing.

Yes but you cant sing "Cheer up Kevin Keegan" about those people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

They drew with the second place team in the group, watching on ITV they're building it up into hopeless failure, they should and probably outscore USA int he final games to top the group

Aidric wrote: »
    hammer blow
    rob-bed

Green in USA bribe shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

On a side note ITVs coverage was awful.

razorblunt wrote: »
    They drew with the second place team in the group, watching on ITV they're building it up into hopeless failure, they should and probably outscore USA int he final games to top the group

Same here from some in fairness.

Its the first match only, really wouldn't read too much into it, England should still top the group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

adox wrote: »
    On a side note ITVs coverage was awful.

Not exactly a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

skelliser wrote: »
    Ha! great how we now judge success by the size of peoples wallets! stupid point.

Beckham made 5 grand while you typed that.....

That_Guy wrote: »

USA get rub of the Green :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,579 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ah, commercials.

The cycle of Sports is complete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Keegan on Itv is just after saying England had a very very good performance....what feckin game did he watch?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

That_Guy wrote: »
    Robert Green ate my hamster. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

ITV commentary is surreal. England were clearly awful against a mediocre team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Here we go. RTE showing Capello's interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Capello impressed by Lampard and Gerrard?

lol sure Fabio.

joe123 wrote: »
    Keegan on Itv is just after saying England had a very very good performance....what feckin game did he watch?? :confused:

If they don't praise England they'll be led away and shot.... Didn't you know that?

England not to qualify 8/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

So Howard, the American cb and Lennon played well I thought carragher shouldn't play next time Dawson or king if fit thought carragher was too easily turned
    bit of Joe Cole wouldn't go astray either tbh

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Hmm dont know what to make of that game. Was poor on Englands side, but the yanks did a good job I think. Lucky goal and thats green gone lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

I wonder has Capello's decision to take King backfired?
    Any news on his injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

joe123 wrote: »

Is the World Tiddlywinks Championships on around now too? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Dawson should start if King isn't fit. Carragher is slow and cynical. Not the best of starts. Absolute howler, no accounting for it, would've won if it weren't for it. Hart to start and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Did anyone else just see Phil Thompson on SSN

Jesus, He has to have been watching a different game than I was.

Dr Galen wrote: »
    Did anyone else just see Phil Thompson on SSN

Jesus, He has to have been watching a different game than I was.

Suppose Gerrard, Johnson and Carragher were brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

As expected England clueless yet again. When oh when are people going to admit they are are technically good enough. Passing and keeping the ball is not in their gameplan ever. They are worse than i thought and have zero chance of reaching the final never mind winning it. Possible this is the worst English defence i can ever remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Gerrard and Lampard "dovetailed" perfectly

Dr Galen wrote: »
    Gerrard and Lampard "dovetailed" perfectly

Who said that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

"American Idiot" as closing song from RTE....erm.. kind of an odd choice, no?