Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup Punditry Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Paleface

What did Bill say about Bianca there at the end?

Dunphy loved it!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I think Dunphy was a bit pissed there.....LOL

Biancha got alot of attention....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Bianca!

biancakajlich_275896.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

You should know who Bianca is, Bill.

bianca130107_228x480.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Bianca!

biancakajlich_275896.jpg

****ing hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Are you saying Bianca isn't his wife Denis? Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,609 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

monkey9 wrote: »
    Hahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :pac::pac::pac: Who's Bianca??

Dunphy looking at the camera, "goodnight Bianca!!"

Landon Donovan said "Hi Bianca" and blew a kiss to the screen on the post match interview, his ex-wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Landon-Donovans-wife-Bianca-Kajlich02.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Irwin was looking at Dunphy thinking 'what a clown'.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,597 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Aidric wrote: »
    Irwin was looking at Dunphy thinking 'what a clown'.

It's hard to tell with Denis, thats also his 'I wish his shrivelly old ball sac was in my mouth' face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

That was quality!! That is the kind of stuff you would never get anywhere but RTE. Good to see Denis Irwin getting involved too, he is making a good case for stepping in long term for Giles or Dunphy whichever packs it in 1st.

Bianca is a babe tho, fair play to Landon!

"Good night Bianca, baby"!

copacetic wrote: »
    It's hard to tell with Denis, thats also his 'I wish his shrivelly old ball sac was in my mouth' face.
    Or maybe he was holding one in. Good pundit, mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Roar wrote: »
    like he was as a player so...

Great to hear the magnificent Rico doing co-commentary on RTE now..

I find it hard to believe you think this. Jesus, he talks a lot of nothing. Droning on and on. Thankfully he'll be phased out in the later stages.

Has Ray Houghton stopped calling Stephen Alkin George yet? I think I heard Trevor Steven calling him George today as well.
    Poor ol Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I find it hard to believe you think this. Jesus, he talks a lot of nothing. Droning on and on. Thankfully he'll be phased out in the later stages.

Anyone who has ever read Rico's programme notes will know the man is a genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Landon Donovan said "Hi Bianca" and blew a kiss to the screen on the post match interview.

Ah yeah, i know. I was just quoting Dunphy!!

Irwin: "Well, i know Donovan is having marriage difficulties. I think he got divorced there a while back.

Dunphy: "So who's Bianca then" (turns to someone on the crew laughing) "who's this Bianca?"

Irwin: "Well, someone obviously new then"

Bill: "So Bianca is not his wife then, is that what you're saying?"

Irwin: "Yes"

Dunphy laughs again "Tell us more"

Irwin goes into a speech about Donovan's career.

Bill: "So should we all say goodnight to Bianca then"

Dunphy "Yeah. Goodnight Bianca, See you baby"

Bill finishes it off then by saying "So England face Germany and will be having nightmares about penalties. I hope it doesn't happen to Bianca. Goodnight"

Panel explodes in laughter.

My Gid, RTE are just brilliant!! :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,597 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Aidric wrote: »
    Or maybe he was holding one in. Good pundit, mind.

Yep, he has the same face for them all!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Landon donovan: I think we embodied what American's are all about

Cuts back to studio

Bill: Well what did you think of that?

Eamo: I think it embodied what American's are all about

Eamo's a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Any hope of getting that on youtube? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Landon donovan: I think we embodied what American's are all about

Cuts back to studio

Bill: Well what did you think of that?

Eamo: I think it embodied what American's are all about

Eamo's a legend

I missed that. That's actually very good. Respect Eamon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Any hope of getting that on youtube? :P

on it

nvm.

• Moderators Posts: 8,728 ✭✭✭x PyRo

The above one isn't working.

thanks, got a warning when i uploaded it. must be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Definitely one of the best / funniest nights with the panel last night! Hilarious!! Dini certainly knows how to get involved and have a laugh, serious respect to him :)

Eamo must have been off the gargle, he was on the ball all evening!

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

x PyRo wrote: »
    The above one isn't working.

genius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just another thing I never imagined I'd witness in my lifetime.

DenisandDidiinthePampas.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

Even Clinton stood up to clap Bianca.....duurrrrtyy old fecker

flanzer wrote: »
    Even Clinton stood up to clap Bianca.....duurrrrtyy old fecker

I think she was holding a cigar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

I think she was holding a cigar...

holding clintons cigar more like

Iang87 wrote: »
    holding clintons cigar more like

You've obviously not heard of the Monica Lewinsky scandal then, the joke went right over your head.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Slight Difference of Opinion!

We've all had the 'Were you watching the same game as me?' sensation after taking a view on a match, only to find that everyone else in the world is calling you a know-nothing buffoon who shouldn't be allowed near a football ground ever again.

However, the punditry teams on The BBC and RTE seemed not only to be watching a different match, but a different sport. With the wrong glasses on. Upside down. And people kept standing up in front of the telly.

As compiled by The Irish Times, here are some choice cuts from their contrasting analysis of England v Slovenia:

Alan Hansen: "Once England got the goal the confidence levels surged, they were excellent."

Eamon Dunphy: "They just didn't grow in confidence at all after the goal."

Gary Lineker: "The goal really settled them, didn't it? They pushed on from there."

Ronnie Whelan: "You'd think they'd have kicked on from when they scored, but they actually got worse."

Roy Hodgson: "England's crossing has been absolutely outstanding."

John Giles: "Some of the crossing was just awful."

Lee Dixon: "A great performance."

Dunphy: "Shocking...absolutely incredibly bad...pretty awful stuff."

Lineker: "He looked more like the Rooney we know."

Whelan: "Rooney is a major worry, his form, his body language, his demeanour, everything."

Dixon: "Gerrard was outstanding."

Dunphy: "I can't believe how bad Gerrard was today."

Redknapp: "Across midfield we were top drawer."

Giles: "Barry got worse as the game went on, Milner, Gerrard and Lampard the same."

'Arry: "Bring it on! Whoever we play we'll be difficult to beat."

Whelan: "If they don't improve they'll go straight out, it was a very, very inept performance."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

the honesty of effort of the japs was the best giles has seen so far ;)

was waiting for him to say the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,273 ✭✭✭✭briany

mike65 wrote: »

I wonder how much cajoling it took to get Didi to put on the sombrero?:D

Pretty funny. Won't help refute any accusations of bias when they come up but pretty funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

the honesty of effort of the japs was the best giles has seen so far ;)

was waiting for him to say the line

He said that??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

mike65 wrote: »

Do you have a link for this??? I missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

SarahBM wrote: »
    Do you have a link for this??? I missed it.

Denis and Didi are thinking, do I really need the cash for this?
    Hope no-one puts it on Youtube ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

lol, Johnny Giles "You can tell by his face he's a headbanger"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Aussie presenter - "It's raining cats and dogs"

The Koreans will love that! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Aussie presenter - "It's raining cats and dogs"

The Koreans will love that! :pac:

The South Koreans certainly look more hungry in this second half!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Was watching the highlight show on UTV last night and Andy Townsend nearly wet himself while talking about the Germany game on Sunday.

Kept saying England had nothing to fear from Germany and that he couldn't see England losing the game.

I had to crack a smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

Eamon : i think its important that they (ghana) win

Bill : do you think its important for africa eamon?

Eamon : i think its important for me, and for africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Did Ray Haughton just say that he thought Ghana would line out in a 4-2-3 formation?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Did Ray Haughton just say that he thought Ghana would line out in a 4-2-3 formation?

I think he said 4 2 3 with one up top but can't be certain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

I wish someone would tell Gabriel Egan that the USA are in fact playing Ghana, not the entire continent of Africa. He must have called them "Africa" at least 4 or 5 times at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    I wish someone would tell Gabriel Egan that the USA are in fact playing Ghana, not the entire continent of Africa. He must have called them "Africa" at least 4 or 5 times at this stage.

Thats who it was, truly awful, I switched over to ITV

we're watching ITV aswell, cant stick Houton.

ITV commentator goes "Horizontal Howard" you so know he has just been waiting for the oppertunity to say it!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

SarahBM wrote: »
    we're watching ITV aswell, cant stick Houton.

ITV commentator goes "Horizontal Howard" you so know he has just been waiting for the oppertunity to say it!!!:D

Peter Drury on ITV really bugs me.

He has scripted lines prepared for every goal and result.
    When South Africa scored in the first match he declared it was 'a goal for all of Africa'. Really? Did it count for Cameroon or Ghana as well?

At least the RTE lads are concentrating on what is happening.

or the "Boys against men" comment! laughable.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

SkidMark wrote: »
    Peter Drury on ITV really bugs me.

He has scripted lines prepared for every goal and result.
    When South Africa scored in the first match he declared it was 'a goal for all of Africa'. Really? Did it count for Cameroon or Ghana as well?

At least the RTE lads are concentrating on what is happening.

RTE were awful, just had to switch over.