Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terenure Classic Car Show July 4th 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭karlkarlson

Hi

sorry to jump on the thread in a different slant, but I'm after a 50s/60s car for a wedding this november and i'm wondering if the posters in the know here would recommend coming to the show to try and find one. Basically are there many cars on exhibit who are on for doing weddings and would it be worth going along for this reason?

thanks
    K.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭Bigus

Hi

sorry to jump on the thread in a different slant, but I'm after a 50s/60s car for a wedding this november and i'm wondering if the posters in the know here would recommend coming to the show to try and find one. Basically are there many cars on exhibit who are on for doing weddings and would it be worth going along for this reason?

thanks
    K.

Yes

• Registered Users Posts: 29 mossy82

can anybody confirm if there is still the for sale section at the show?

I'm looking to sell my beetle.

it was there last year but I can't see any mention of it on the irish jag club website or the application form!!

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

I have seen a for sale area advertised.Don't know how to go about booking in or if you have to do it in advance or on the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Moses7

If anyone is gong there with a good camera and can write few paragraphs send me a PM please. Fun and work.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

bookerboy wrote: »
    I have seen a for sale area advertised.Don't know how to go about booking in or if you have to do it in advance or on the day.
    I wouldn't mind knowing the answer to this myself.

Is there an age restriction to display a car in the general area and also the sales area,assuming there is one?

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Mr. 'H'

I have to say that I emailed the club with a few questions about the show and that were most helpfull...a goood and positive note on which to travel to Dublin on!

Pat.

Glad to hear it. I'm still on the fence about whether to go considering the lousy treatment I (and other exhibitors) got a few years back from the Club.

I'm hoping they've cleaned up their act and will have a friendlier attitude to the exhibitors now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭mustang68

Do we really get a sandwich and a coffee? I thought we just got a plate which I have a full set of six, I hope they give out cutlery next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭useless

I'll definitely be going. Really enjoyed last year's show (even if the weather was manky).
    I've heard the radio ads for this- "James Bond's XKR"? Whats that all about? Doesnt he have an Aston?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

useless wrote: »
    I've heard the radio ads for this- "James Bond's XKR"? Whats that all about? Doesnt he have an Aston?

Was a bit of a head-scratcher alright - it's actually a Bond baddie's car:
    55275_3mg.jpg

minichamps-143-scale-jaguar-xkr-roadster-james-bonds-nemesis-zaos-car.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8 E30

Map of the 'display field' now on http://www.irishjagclub.ie Irish Classic
    & Vintage Car Show 2010 page.

More detail and a couple of minor changes here I think.

E30 wrote: »
    Map of the 'display field' now on http://www.irishjagclub.ie Irish Classic
    & Vintage Car Show 2010 page.

More detail and a couple of minor changes here I think.
    The map link's not really working for me - anyone else having problems? I'm still unsure about the general display/cars for sale areas, does anyone have any further info?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

No problem here. Does this help?

4756646187_97a14a0194.jpg

(click image for larger version)

Thanks! I'm still not seeing a general display area though, just cars for sale?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Anan1 wrote: »
    Thanks! I'm still not seeing a general display area though, just cars for sale?
    Non Club Area

Well, I just sold my classic this evening. I wonder will my pre-registration get me in without the car?:)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Was down there today roping off for our club, www.americanmusclecarsireland.net (AMCI), we've got the spot just infront of the main public entrance and will be putting on a good show, especially seeing as it's July 4th tomorrow! We're also doing the cavalcade to pick up the Lord Mayor so it should be good craic.

Make sure you come over to say hello lads, I'll be standing close enough to my little beast!
    23052010133.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭daithi_lacha

Likewise, I was down there thisafternoon with some others from the club setting up some of the vehicles. We're right inside the main public entrance at the bouncy castles, you won't miss the buses and fire engines anyway!

Please do call over to us and say hello, as it's our first year to attend this show and we're hoping for a good response!

Dave

www.mvpsi.net

PS, just to agree with some of the above posts in that I've had a fantastic response from the organisers of the event, they've been the most helpful in getting everything sorted, very quick replies to emails, and very friendly and helpful for the set up today. They've really done a fantastic job at setting up an event on this scale, and it won't take a lot to see the great organisation of it all tomorrow at the show!

• Registered Users Posts: 65,324 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Best of luck with the show later today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Rust or Weld

god the weather is bad up here anyway hope all goes well & enjoy the show everyone & plenty of pics please for us thats not going!

It's ok-ish in Dublin, i'll be bringing a camera.

This was a great show.Weather not bad,one really heavy shower in the morning and of course plenty of wind all day.
    I left around 3pm and at that stage it took about 30 minutes to get out.
    Hopefully organisers opened another gate for the classics to get out,otherwise there could be a problem(i'm sure we will hear later)
    Thanks to the organisers for a job very well done.

Great day!

Arrived at 11am, finished off setting up out club area. Just as well we didn't put up our gazebos last night as some poor hoor was fishing one out of the lake this morning as we pulled in! Left at 12pm to go in to town to do the cavalcade back out with the Lord Mayor. Hung around there for close to an hour, lots of tourists and press around. Finally left Dame St at 1.25pm and had police escort the whole way back to Terenure. Burned up the streets the whole way back then into the arena again. Was 3pm by the time we got back to our club area and by then the gazebos were just about to lift off! Spent 1hr 30 or so checking out the rest of the cars and left just after 5pm. Getting out was no problem at all - was home (Rathfarnham) in 15 mins.

Met Paul (ikb) as well - as you said dude, nice to put a name to the face!

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭daithi_lacha

We arrived at around 9.30, had 2 buses and a van up there from last night and got the rest of the vehicles up thismorning. A couple of very heavy showers and plenty of people using the bus for shelter! The day cleared up very well though and we were amazed at the fantastic response and support we got from the public! I'm sure I was chatting to a few faces from here at some point throughout the day!

I did a few laps of the other clubs and every time I went around there was even more on display!

Once again, thanks so so much to the organisers of the event who did an AMAZING job at the whole thing - they really cannot be thanked enough!

Dave
    www.mvpsi.net

Once again, thanks so so much to the organisers of the event who did an AMAZING job at the whole thing - they really cannot be thanked enough!

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

A great show as per usual! This is one show where you see cars that you don't see anywhere else.

I have to say though that the catering was horrendous! OK, I know catering at these events is never that good and you expect to be ripped of but Macari's took the biscuit! After queuing for ages despite only a couple of people in front of me I was asked for €17 for 2 1/4pounders, 2 chips and 2 bottles of Coke! The burger, while it looked sort of cooked was stone cold! I mean stone cold, it had just come out of a fridge! There was no such thing as cheese but I did get a bit of limp lettuce.

On bringing them back there was a line of people returning with cold burgers - there was total disorganisation in the van as no one seemed to know what they were doing.

Companies like these should be banned from events like the Terenure show IMO - they just let down what was otherwise a very good day!

atlantean wrote: »
    A great show as per usual! This is one show where you see cars that you don't see anywhere else.

I have to say though that the catering was horrendous! OK, I know catering at these events is never that good and you expect to be ripped of but Macari's took the biscuit! After queuing for ages despite only a couple of people in front of me I was asked for €17 for 2 1/4pounders, 2 chips and 2 bottles of Coke! The burger, while it looked sort of cooked was stone cold! I mean stone cold, it had just come out of a fridge! There was no such thing as cheese but I did get a bit of limp lettuce.

On bringing them back there was a line of people returning with cold burgers - there was total disorganisation in the van as no one seemed to know what they were doing.

Companies like these should be banned from events like the Terenure show IMO - they just let down what was otherwise a very good day!

+1000!

Arrived at 11am and was starved as had no breakfast. Thought I would get a breakfast roll but all there was available was 3 Macaris vans so I just got a (pre-cooked and half burnt) burger & chips - they had no cheese.

Come four o clock I was hungry again, didn't fancy candy floss or strawberries & cream (although the chick selling them was quite hot!) so had the Macari option again: Chicken Goujons, Fish or Burger. Goujons were processed not fillet and I dont trust fish at theses gigs so I had burger & chips again, only this time the chips were soggy mush and the burger was (again) pre-cooked and half burnt and not only did they not have any cheese at this stage but also no lettuce, tomato, onion, etc. Just a pre-cooked half burnt burger slapped between a bap.

Pure ****e!

Apart from that it was an excellent show!

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

Thoroughly enjoyable show! Woke up at 11.50 but still managed to make it in before 12.30 to set up, thought they seemed to be letting people in to the field long after that.

I buzzed down to Eddie Rockets for lunch so had no catering woes. I remember getting a particularly sorry looking yoke of chips last year so didn't want to revisit that.

I had a really great time, probably the best yet for me. Didn't hang around my car at all, was far too busy checking everybody else's out. Not too many /8s knocking around it seems, only saw two others.

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Just a pre-cooked half burnt burger slapped between a bap.

Pure ****e!

6.jpg
    Macari Traditional Fish & Chips, created, managed, and controlled, by Macari’s, and bringing to your door the quality service, and menu, associated with your favourite Italian takeaway
    Enjoy great Chipper food at your party or function for a unique and memorable occasion

Memorable occasion is right - but for the wrong reason.