Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pass Maths P1

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Victoria.

Me thinks your right...

If you multiply out 7500 at 5% over three years you get the figure in the sum

So you are. :pac:
    I thought I got a number with a hundred at the end like two 0s.
    Makes sense. Been a long day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Batchkid

I don't mean to be annoying but could someone answer my question on page 6 please?

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Victoria.

Batchkid wrote: »
    If you apply common sense to your question you'll find that you can't tell at the moment seeing as you don't know how much you failed by.

But anyways. It's probably just me but I thought them graphs were strange.
    I thought an x(cubed) function depicted a periodic curve or asymptotes? I really didn't get either, could someone tell me what the shape of the graphs were like please?

My graph for 6 b was asymptote with x=2 undefined

My other one was all over the place. Was just a last minute question that I did because I couldn't get some of the part Cs for ages so just did another q.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,118 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

€228.80-€220=€8.80.
    Divide €8.80/€220=0.04=4%
    Therefore €220 is 4% of amount
    1%= €55, 100%= 5500
    thats what i did

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭neiler987

i wud m8 bu i didnt do ur question

Q3 c(i) c is 3.78 put that in2 the equation nd use the formula

x=b =- (square root) b(squared) minus 4(a)(c) all over 2(a)

that right ??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭FridaysWell

If you apply common sense to your question you'll find that you can't tell at the moment seeing as you don't know how much you failed by.

I thought an x(cubed) function depicted a periodic curve or asymptotes? I really didn't get either, could someone tell me what the shape of the graphs were like please?

It did kind of resemble an asymptote butto me mine looked more like a hospital ECG thingy. Down, then up then down again. If only I could draw it here...

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭STBR

What sum of money invested at 5% per annum compound interest will amount to
    €8682 in 3 years?
    Give your answer correct to the nearest euro.

Correct Answer:

8682 (amount at the end of 3 years)
    (8682/105)x100 = 8268.57 (amount at the end of 2 years)
    (8268.57/105)x100 = 7874.83 (amount at the end of 1 year)
    (7874.83/105)x100 = 7499.84 (amount at the start)

Correct to the nearest euro: €7500

To everybody that got €7444 for their answer, that's because you all multiplied the 8682 by 0.95 three times thinking that was taking away 5% compound interest each time.

Hopefully that'll help some people out :)

neiler987 wrote: »
    i wud m8 bu i didnt do ur question

Q3 c(i) c is 3.78 put that in2 the equation nd use the formula

x=b =- (square root) b(squared) minus 4(a)(c) all over 2(a)

that right ??
    Sounds right, even though I didn't do that but is a number with a decimal likely?

Victoria. wrote: »
    My graph for 6 b was asymptote with x=2 undefined

My other one was all over the place. Was just a last minute question that I did because I couldn't get some of the part Cs for ages so just did another q.
    Cheers, I just couldn't get the graphs to make sense with the function. Yeah I realise what I did wrong, ah feck it lol. Question 6 was more of an honours question then.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

PARARORY wrote: »
    for the first principles ,

thats the (x+h) thing isnt it?

When i did it it just came out -3. but but the h cancelled before i could make it equal to zero if that makes sense?

Anyone else get this or did i do something wrong?!

That's exactly how it worked out for me, I was worried that I did something wrong so hopefully we're ok!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭doc_17

Q6 should given you a graph with an asymptote and Q8 (cubic) should have given you a graph with a max and min (two turning points)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭cork*girl

If ya got 7444 instead of 7500 would ya get about 7 marks or just an attempt mark of 3??

what did people get for answers in 7 (c) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭IronGirl92

I was hoping for an A but now I'm not too sure, it was pretty hard for an ordinary level paper.

Same. Ragin'. Did the 8 questions but my Q1, 7 and 8 weren't so hot. :( Hoping to bring the grade back up with P2

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

Correct Answer:

To everybody that got €7444 for their answer, that's because you all multiplied the 8682 by 0.95 three times thinking that was taking away 5% compound interest each time.

yes! I hoped i got the right answer... =)

cork*girl wrote: »
    If ya got 7444 instead of 7500 would ya get about 7 marks or just an attempt mark of 3??

(i) Times were speed = 96
    0 secs and 10 secs

(ii) Acceleration = 20 m/s/s (I didnt put the M/s/s in will I lose marks?)

(iii) -8 (sounds very wrong)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭AllInOne

That's exactly how it worked out for me, I was worried that I did something wrong so hopefully we're ok!

Ye're totally okay lads, I was the same!
    But sure when you differentiated the line with basic differentiation it worked out to be -3 anyway, so it was correct!
    Was a bit weird though, definitely gave me a shock when I didnt see a sqaured number!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭barry181091

SirDarren wrote: »
    Correct Answer:

Well hopefully we will get some attempt marks. I think they love giving out attempt marks for pass :P

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭STBR

Well hopefully we will get some attempt marks. I think they love giving out attempt marks for pass :P

Yeah it was an easy enough slip to make. I went back at the end myself and tried the 7444 method, hesitated for a few moments and though, "no, no, stick with the first one".

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭neiler987

thanks fridays well :D

yeah coz i got de 3.78 from 2+(sqaure root) of 3= 3.78 so im gussin thats de

value of c than jus used the formula ..guessin its only worth 5 marks tho

it all adds up in de end !

neiler987 wrote: »
    thanks fridays well :D

yeah coz i got de 3.78 from 2+(sqaure root) of 3= 3.78 so im gussin thats de

value of c than jus used the formula ..guessin its only worth 5 marks tho

it all adds up in de end !

Too true, I should have done the same....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭cork*girl

0 secs and 10 secs

I got (i) 7 :L Hopefully I will get 3marks

(ii) I got 20 aswell

(iii) I got 6.. I think -8 was the number that came out in the calculator to say that it was negitve when you use 6. Not sure, fingers crossed.

I beg you God! Please let me pass maths !!

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭Fete

SirDarren wrote: »

I did that the first time then crossed it out and did it the right way!

<<<<Proud :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭doc_17

Did anyone do c (i) like this?

1.05 x 1.05 x 1.05 = 1.1576

8682/1.11576 = 7500

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭brianw1

I think u will get a 7 for the 7444 answer, you basically showed you knew what to do and just got thr figures wrong. Yea probably 7

I got (i) 7 :L Hopefully I will get 3marks

(ii) I got 20 aswell

(iii) I got 6.. I think -8 was the number that came out in the calculator to say that it was negitve when you use 6. Not sure, fingers crossed.

I beg you God! Please let me pass maths !!

Hmm, I think you will get the marks if what you put in kinda works. Attempt marks all the way tho!

I'm not even counting maths for points, I need a B3 in it for most of my courses :( Dunno if thats gonna happen now

What was the answer to 3 c(ii)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭MariaBabii

0 secs and 10 secs

I got :

(i) 10sec
    (ii) 20m/s
    (iii) I just said 8secs? becomes it says become negative, so i doubt that its a negative answer
    ... Just a thought!

doc_17 wrote: »
    Did anyone do c (i) like this?

1.05 x 1.05 x 1.05 = 1.1576

8682/1.11576 = 7500

I wish I did that now. I did it the big long way for 7500.

Hmm, smart way to do it! Nice one bro

MariaBabii wrote: »
    I got :

(i) 10sec
    (ii) 20m/s
    (iii) I just said 8secs? becomes it says become negative, so i doubt that its a negative answer
    ... Just a thought!

10 secs is right but the question says times so thats why I included 0.

Yes now I look at it maybe I shouldnt have -8 in there. Hmm, seems like most of the marks were got!:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭PARARORY

For the q7 about speed / acceleration i got exactly what you've all been saying.

And fridayswell i did the same as u - putting both 0 and 8 seconds down as it did say timeS