Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating in the Leaving Cert

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭slasher_65

Why are they focusing on HER instead of the cheater? Stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭Blerdiii

Imo, only the amount of work they put in for the academic ability. I'm not particularly school smart, prefer learning about computers and doing somthing I have an interest in.

But no disrespect to the people getting 600 points a it's a great achievement, but in order to work to that extent without cheating, I'd be fairly suprised if they were as good as sports e.g football etc

wow i am sick of people like you, i myself am a high points candidate and i admit i suck at sport, but the top students in my year who will not get less than 550 are the heads of the sports teams aswell as amazing musicians and artists AT THE SAME TIME.
    this is as stupid as saying if your blonde you are thick ( and i can safely say i am NOT a dumb blonde)
    there are many people who are naturally intelligent and i dont mean intelligence that people say they have and fail the leaving cert , i mean naturally intelligent student who score very highly in the leaving cert.
    some people just can get away with half the effort of others.
    i for one know this and many examples are evident such as a ppl i know who have been going out every opportunity and socialised more than study and still get 550.
    at the end of the day some people are just good students , yes some need to work their asses off to even scrape by but it is noones fault that they cant.and their is nothing wrong with that as they wont be lazy like some natural students.
    people are different.
    these generalisations are unfounded and to me sound like sour grapes.

*rant over*:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

I love the complete lack of logic in a lot of posts in this thread, along the lines of:

"the Leaving Cert is a flawed exam, therefore it is OK to cheat"

which is quite obviously, a logical non-sequitur.

The sooner they implement logic and ethics into the school curriculum instead of time wasting subjects like religion, the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Mayoegian wrote: »
    You have succeeded in making the most inaccurate, pointless, baseless and pathetic statement that I have ever had the misfortune of reading.
    Try reading the English Daily Mail sometime. If that there is the worst you've ever read, the Mail will absolutely blow your mind. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭Blerdiii

Try reading the English Daily Mail sometime. If that there is the worst you've ever read, the Mail will absolutely blow your mind. :D

least we know where this guy'll be working XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭chaoticmess

Why the "English" one out of curiosity?! The Irish one... AND the sun.... are just as bad...

In fact... any tabloid newspaper. ;)

That article is terrible btw, I don't think they should be revealing where the OP is from. I know it shouldn't happen, but from the reaction of some people on this board, if anyone from her school found out who she was the news would spread like wildfire and you can guarantee there would be some people would want to get "revenge".

Why the "English" one out of curiosity?! The Irish one... AND the sun.... are just as bad...

In fact... any tabloid newspaper. ;)

That article is terrible btw, I don't think they should be revealing where the OP is from. I know it shouldn't happen, but from the reaction of some people on this board, if anyone from her school found out who she was the news would spread like wildfire and you can guarantee there would be some people would want to get "revenge".
    All tabloids are bad, but the Mail in England is on another level. Really, try reading it. It's pure fascist, racist, conspiracy theorist nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭chaoticmess

All tabloids are bad, but the Mail in England is on another level. Really, try reading it. It's pure fascist, racist, conspiracy theorist nonsense.

I used to live there - I've read it loads of times haha.:o
    I don't really get the racist/fascist thing.... :confused:
    Yeah I suppose there are some conspiracy theories all-right though! haha but I just have a laugh reading them. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

To the girl who posted this, why not cheat yourself? Bankers and the government are doing it.. lets face it, the Leaving Cert has cheated you out of a lot of time you're not getting back. Irish society in general is full of cheats, scam artists, and frauds. Both in government, the public, the private sector, rich, poor etc. You may as well do it yourself, it's the Irish way of getting by.
    Yeah, that's right, one wrong turn deserves another of course. Or my other favourite, two wrongs ALWAYS make a right. :rolleyes: Yeah, Irish society does it, we should all do it! Up there with binge drinking and begrudgery.

On the media and press front, I think it'd be very, very selfish for a journalist to reveal the identity of the OP without her permission. I understand they need to make money to get exclusive stories, but revealing the identity would pretty much destroy her life at whatever her hometown is nearly instantly. Nobody deserves that for doing the right thing (in this case, whistle-blowing).

I have read some amount of stupidity in this thread. To those saying "don't be a snitch" - grow a pair of balls will you? Have the courage to do the right thing and don't agonise just because people doing the wrong thing won't like you for it. They shouldn't do the wrong thing, if everyone did the wrong thing just for their own personal gain, the world would be a horrible place indeed.

EDIT: Not sure if this has been posted already...
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0617/1224272699913.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭dacookie

Snitches get stiches!!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Bill_Le_Viking

Ok maybe it was a bit harsh saying it's the Irish way of getting by.

It's the universes way of getting by. There's crime, drugs, scams, etc LOADS of **** in this world.

You can dream off to rainbow land thinking that by never doing that kind've thing yourself, you'll get by fine.

But that's living in a bubble/cloud talk. Any salesman will tell you that. In the real world you have to be competitive with other people.

And mark my words, governments of the world will always be cheating people in some way.

I'm sorry, but lets be real here. Everyone cheats, you need to cheat in life to get by. Anyone in business will tell you this. It's just the truth, the world is competitive, survival of the fittest etc.

Cool if you want to live like that, sure people cheat all the time let them off. People also kill all the time, let them off. And the rapist too I guess. Infact, wouldn't it be nice is every time you left your house you were attacked by a group of thugs?

Just accepting that the system is flawed is BS. In the REAL world you also have to fight for justice, so why stop the poeple from trying to do the right thing.

For the people saying sure what can ya do, not like ya can search students or anything. Why not exactly? Why can't students be searched before entering the exam centers like at concerts and other events? Sure they can still use other methods to cheat, but at least thats a step towards stopping it.

My Leaving Cert matters, if it didn't, I wouldn't be doing it.
    Its the little piece of paper which will decide wether or not I get into my course. Out of the thousands supposidly cheating, the odds are that there might well be some people applying for the same courses as me. If I knew of anybody cheating, and they got into a course instead of me, I'd never forgive em.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 itzybitzyfitzy

cheating is horrible. anyways u can't cheat in a job interview so really the leaving cert is preparing you for life.
    yes we all cheat sometimes but if you cheat in the leaving cert tat is an all time low!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

Very true. If someone from The Daily Mail over there read this thread, they'd have a front page headline the next day entitled:

Irish Leaving Certificate Can Cause Cancer

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭gant0

Doesn't anyone else think it's quite ironic that due to the fact the girl reported the cheaters in an effort to improve her own position,she has now gotten herself into the centre of a nationwide scandal.If I was that girl I would be worried.I know if I snitched ther'd be a few undesirables trying to track me down.I think the news have made a crucial mistake in letting it slip that she lives in Carlow.It's quite funny that because she snitched she's probably going to do worse in the leaving cert because of all the extra stress she's put herself under.I know I wouldn't be able to study with the constant worry of being found out.Bad buzz on her.But like I always said,just keep your head down and don't mess with anyone elses business and you'll be fine.Now that she has caused such an issue karma will undoubtably catch up to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

People abroad quite respect and admire the image that the Irish are a bunch of merry chancers who play by their own rules and stick a middle finger to going by the book.
    In my experience, people abroad admire the Irish "merry chancers" when it comes to things like a lock-in in a pub or using the "gift of the gab" to drive a good bargain.

I have never encountered anyone saying "Oh, the Irish think it's ok to cheat in exams, aren't they cool?!"

I hope I never do ... in particular, I hope we never get that kind of reputation.
    mloc wrote: »
    The sooner they implement logic and ethics into the school curriculum ... the better.
    I officially love you!!! :D
    dacookie wrote: »
    WHAT an intelligent contribution! Well done!!
    gant0 wrote: »
    Now that she has caused such an issue karma will undoubtably catch up to her.
    Hopefully it will, and she will do well in her LC, and get the course of her choice.

.Now that she has caused such an issue karma will undoubtably catch up to her.

How could you possible suggest what she did merits karma to catch up on her?

Fair play to the girl

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭uncle-mofo

dacookie wrote: »

It's nobody else's fault if you get caught cheating. You made the decision to cheat now live with the consequences. I hope the SEC take appropriate action. I'm not talking to you dacookie in specific, but to all the cheaters in general.

How could you possible suggest what she did merits karma to catch up on her?

Fair play to the girl
    I'm saying that because she has caused such a mess,her actions will undoubtably have an affect on her LC results.I don't see how anyone could be put under so much extra stress and not have their results affected.The fact that it will effect her results IS karma.

she's not the one who caused the mess. She did the right thing really.

Karma is do something good, something good will happen, do something bad, something bad will happen.

Thats suggesting that her concern about people cheating and posting here was a bad idea.

she's not the one who caused the mess. She did the right thing really.

Karma is do something good, something good will happen, do something bad, something bad will happen.

Thats suggesting that her concern about people cheating and posting here was a bad idea.
    I can quarantee you she didn't report them for a moral reason,she did it to eliminate the 1 in a million chance that someone who cheated wouldn't get a place ahead of her.THAT is a selfish thing potentially ruining someones life for something that would more than likely never happen.Personally I feel that if her actions lead to someones life being ruined I'd hope that she wouldn't get her course.

Their actions are leading to someone's life being ruined, someone who is, as an honest, non-cheating person, far higher up in karma's good books. She is stopping this, therefore karma loves her. Your argument is ridiculous.

No it's not.She chose to potentially ruin someones life just because she could.Now if you don't see the wrong in that there's something wrong.Now don't get me wrong,I'm not condoning the cheaters but I think her actions were far worse than anyone who cheated.

1) you cant guarantee that.

2) 1 in a million chance is actually a LOT more likely than you think considering how there are allegadly 1000's of people cheating.

3) It is not selfish for her to help lead to the termination of a cheaters exam. Cheaters are breaking rules and they are the ones who are putting their own exams at risk.

4) Potentially never happen? Are you blind? Have you not been reading the posts? It is happening

5) Why would you hope that she doesn't get her course when clearly she is doing the best she can do in her own exams and is not cheating. How can you even suggest that a cheater deserves a place more than someone who takes the exam fairly.

I think you're just trolling.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭sheep-go-baa

Your arguement MIGHT have merit, if the person who cheated wasn't a lying dishonest dirtbag. They are and as such your point is null and void.

I'm not condoning the cheaters but I think her actions were far worse than anyone who cheated.

So by using the same logic, you think the person who tells the police who the murderer is, is worse than the murderer?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I can quarantee you she didn't report them for a moral reason.
    You know that how? Can you read minds? Have you discussed this with her?
    Personally I feel that if her actions lead to someones life being ruined I'd hope that she wouldn't get her course.
    Her actions will not lead to someone's life being ruined ... if someone cheats, then any consequences that befall them are entirely down to their own actions.
    No it's not.She chose to potentially ruin someones life just because she could.Now if you don't see the wrong in that there's something wrong.Now don't get me wrong,I'm not condoning the cheaters but I think her actions were far worse than anyone who cheated.
    I'm not going to say what I think.

I will simply encourage you to go away, sit down somewhere quiet, and mull over that post with a view to identifying the contradiction inherent in it.

So by using the same logic, you think the person who tells the police who the murderer is, is worse than the murderer?
    Now that's just making mountains out of mole hills.Reporting a murder is morally just,you have reason to report them because they have killed someone.Now in this case the only reason the girl had for reporting them was to eliminate the chances of her loosing out a place to them in college,the chances of which are on the grand scale of things quite small.Now that just leaves us with the fact that she reported them on moral grounds.If that is true what do you think is more morlaly correct.To make yourself feel like you've done something positive or to ruin someones life?clearly the answer is easy if you have any decency in you.And NO I'm not trollling,I'm just expessing my personnal opinion.

Reporting a cheater is morally just.
    Reporting anything wrong to the appropriate authority is morally just.
    FYI I would do the same thing because cheating is wrong.

Just so we know where you stand on the situation, have you done your leaving cert, are you doing it, or do you plan on doing it?

I'm not going to say what I think.
    Ok I see,now you think I've cheated just because I've a different opinion on this issue.Doesn't seem very fare to imply That I'm as lowly as the cheaters.Listen I don't care if the cheaters are caught.That's not the problem I have.The problem I have is why would someone go out of there way to report them.It just doesn't make sense to me but I suppose it's the majority rules so I guess that'll be it for me in this thread.Good I love our Irish mentality,anyone with a different opinion is outcasted and treated sub-par.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Now that's just making mountains out of mole hills.Reporting a murder is morally just,you have reason to report them because they have killed someone.Now in this case the only reason the girl had for reporting them was to eliminate the chances of her loosing out a place to them in college,the chances of which are on the grand scale of things quite small.Now that just leaves us with the fact that she reported them on moral grounds.If that is true what do you think is more morlaly correct.To make yourself feel like you've done something positive or to ruin someones life?clearly the answer is easy if you have any decency in you.

Okay, let's apply this to another situation, outside of exams.

There's a robber (another form of cheating/fraud) living in my area. I've seen him robbing someone's house and I report him, thus getting him thrown into jail. But, the reason I reported him was more to protect my house and my family, rather than others'. Does that make me selfish, morally unjust and worse than the robber?