Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating in the Leaving Cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭Blerdiii

How old are you?

I make great money as an unskilled labourer here in Australia 6 years after leaving school. Anyone in my class who listened to mammy and did a sh1te college course for 4 years is likely on the dole back home. If theres one thing I learned, never listen to your mam :) My only regret is having wasted 2 years in a business course and getting a good paying but psychogically damaging office job back home, rather than dropping out at 16 and getting a trade.

Ive cheated and scammed (not stole EVER. Just took advantage of employer or govermental incompetance) and being here in paradise (Sydney) probably have a better life than any of the ratbags moaning about LC cheating.

Anyway, in a nutshell, scamming the system is part and parcel of Irish culture. If you dont like it, move to Germany and do your exams there FFS.
    Ok great that you love your life fine,
    but you cant sell this as a way of life to everyone to be honest your life is my PERSONAL idea of hell , and not everyone is onthe dole i am sick of all these generalisations! so take your " revelations" and have a look at what your life really is. the only part that could even slightly interest people is living in sydney. and you cant scam us into changing our minds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Ok, this is a thread about cheating in the LC, not about whether you would like to be an unskilled labourer in Oz, or what career path is more likely to leave you on the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

teleboy wrote: »
    the people that have any chance of surviving this recession are the people that have degrees in arts,media,science etc.

You've a lot to learn ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭chaoticmess

Of course, he's completely wrong! That's why there was a record number of CAO applicants this year. :rolleyes:

Which makes it all the more important that people like some of those in this thread don't cheat because with the number of mature applicants, it will already be hard enough for people to get a place. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Areq

Of course, he's completely wrong! That's why there was a record number of CAO applicants this year. :rolleyes:

Which makes it all the more important that people like some of those in this thread don't cheat because with the number of mature applicants, it will already be hard enough for people to get a place. :(

Totally agree !

Ok, this is a thread about cheating in the LC, not about whether you would like to be an unskilled labourer in Oz, or what career path is more likely to leave you on the dole.

exactly ! Randy want some good quotes in irish times next week ! so don't be going off the topic !

Just kidding . :D

Areq wrote: »
    exactly ! Randy want some good quotes in irish times next week ! so don't be going off the topic !
    Beg as much as you like, I'm not sharing the commission with you! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 teleboy

Please look in context of the comment,I was trying to show how much better they are doing than the construction industry at the moment

and that was a very general quote,when I say science I could mean any degree from a degree in physics and astronomy in maynooth to a medicine degree in trinity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Anthony16

Was seriously considering cheating today :( had the notes in my sock and all.
    Went to the toilet sweaty as **** as about what i was going to do but the exam attendent followed me (a student).

And now I thank God he did.
    I didnt look at my notes as he was listening but i also couldnt go to the toilet ..it was awkward with him listening :p .

But i thank God now that he did follow me.

I don't think i could live with myself if I cheated :)

Came home and took the notes out.
    they were damp with the sweat off my leg, man it was hot today. :pac:

Lol,for our leaving the invigilator didnt give a crap if u went to the toilet and cheated.I have my suspicions about one lad who may have cheated as he wz good friends with the guy.Never knew cheating was so prominent:confused:
    At least i can always say,i deserved my results:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭metalfest

yeah,
    i think they must get suspicious when u go to the jacks,
    but then they're like standing watching and it's like,, yeahhh...not happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

metalfest wrote: »
    yeah,
    i think they must get suspicious when u go to the jacks,
    but then they're like standing watching and it's like,, yeahhh...not happening
    They actually follow you in? The attendants at my exam centre just stand out in the corridor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭metalfest

Lawliet wrote: »
    They actually follow you in? The attendants at my exam centre just stand out in the corridor.

tis quite eerie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭snooleen

From the point of view of an examiner, there isn't much you can do about someone going to the bathroom or stuff like that, I mean, they have the right to go to the bathroom. More should be done to ensure that it isn't possible to cheat, obviously it's easy to if these people are gettign away with it. Maybe it's a violation of rights or something, but you should have to empty pockets before going in. Still, that doesn't stop you hiding notes in your bra or underwear or something. Unless you weren't allowed to go to the bathroom, I can't see a way to stop people from cheating. So maybe that's why superintendents don't really do much about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Healium

"Would you like me to wipe your a$$ with those notes in your hand?"

Let's keep your kinky fantasies out of this! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 bulkhead

Samskeyti wrote: »
    There's cheating happening in my school, the majority of students use the fact that the toilets are in our P.E hall and that the superintendents have no reason to follow them in. The students hide notes written from before the exam in their socks and pants and some even got away with having a phone on their lap for an entire paper and reading saved messages from it. Others used the bathroom to call students from other schools and got full answers on questions.

Our principal is a complete waster as students were caught cheating in the L.C.V.P exam and nothing was done about it. I thought if you were caught cheating that you couldn't sit another state exam? Should I inform the superintendents of how stupid they're being or e-mail the State Examinations Commission? I know for definate that Irish will be the exam that most will cheat on because of learning notes off by heart will prove too much effort for them. Help??:confused:

PROJECT WORK IS FULL OF CHEATING
    Many pupils do not like project work and must be forced by the teacher to complete it. In most cases the only way to get the project finished on time is for the teacher to write the answers on the board and the pupils copy it down in their own words WHICH IS INDUSTRIAL SCALE CHEATING.
    In the 2010 junior cert science coursework B project (which is worth 25%) the pupils were required to design an experiment to compare the effectiveness of two indigestion tablets. This requires leaving cert level of knowledge and is well beyond junior cert pupils. The design phase could last months if the teacher does not TELL THEM what to do and this is in fact cheating. The pupils will not make the effort to look up the references and as for pass classes just forget it.
    The Department of Education thinks project work is the greatest thing on the planet because everyone is doing so well. I wonder why they are getting such high marks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭dyer

ye guys see this?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2010/0619/1224272854232.html

sry if its already been mentioned.. just caught wind of the story today while reading something else on the times, then saw the topic on main page when i got on here just now.. put 2+3 together etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭wayhey

I haven't read the whole thread but I saw some comments from the Irish Times Blogwatch and some of them are disgusting- one guy in particular didn't care if he put someone out a course down the country or something along those lines.

There's a temptation to cheat, sure. You can come on here and say you don't care yadda yadda yadda, but the way I look at it is it's something that will be hanging over you for the rest of your life. Even if you get away with it, you'll never be able to fully say "I can do this myself" in another exam situation like one in college. I've no problems losing out to people for places this year if they work for it, but cheaters really annoy me- the exams aren't fair and we're all feeling the pressure but we don't all cave.

dyer wrote: »
    ye guys see this?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2010/0619/1224272854232.html

sry if its already been mentioned.. just caught wind of the story today while reading something else on the times, then saw the topic on main page when i got on here just now.. put 2+3 together etc

bahaha i love the last line XD

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,361 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

bulkhead wrote: »

I've spent the past month correcting project work in schools and I can assure you any centres where I even suspected what you described was happening I marked down. Similarly, stuff copied out of books got marked down.

Generalisations are not helpful, whatever your issue with a particular Science experiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭FridaysWell

spurious wrote: »
    I've spent the past month correcting project work in schools and I can assure you any centres where I even suspected what you described was happening I marked down. Similarly, stuff copied out of books got marked down.

Generalisations are not helpful, whatever your issue with a particular Science experiment.

Well in fairness some of the projects for the LC are badly designed, stupid and a little pointless. Nothing of interest for the student. I've only done the Geo project, which was a load of BS to be honest. A good friend of mine was doing religon too, she said ot was the same...

Theres not much you can do to prevent 'cheating' in project work, as its so loosely defined in how your supposed to complete it... I dunno, I'm probably not making sense.

The way I did mine, our teacher told us how to fill it out, what was needed. But he didn't do anywork for it, as in I wrote everything, all the words came from my head etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

They should, but some are too shy and stand outside in the corridor. They may as well just stay in their seat and leave them off for all that's worth... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

It's amazing the fuss that's being made about this, I find it hard to believe people didn't cop that cheating was going on for ages before this thread drew so much attention.

Piste wrote: »
    It's amazing the fuss that's being made about this, I find it hard to believe people didn't cop that cheating was going on for ages before this thread drew so much attention.
    This is Ireland.

We like to ignore the unpalatable.

We have a long history of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 smack my twitch up

This is Ireland.

We like to ignore the unpalatable.

We have a long history of it.

A long history of ignoring the unpalatable? Do you have a long history of ignoring the factual? If your statement was true you would be ruled by the United Kingdom today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

bulkhead wrote: »

depends on who your teacher is i suppose.. i had to do a construction and a DCG project this year... both of which i did myself.. everyone in my class did it themselves because our teacher was strict about this...

construction teacher made us do all the work in school and we had to have to brief up for the date or he wouldn't sign us off... because in his words he would be riskng his balls for us lazy "students" basically... can you blame him.. no - why would he risk his job and salary to let us cheat... it'll be our loss if we don't do it right... also by doing it all ourselves we all are basically mini experts on the topic of our projects.. eg roofs.. waste management etc etc

DCG was a bit different but basically because none of us had solid works at home on the computer we kinda had to do it all in school... we could do research and all that at home but we had to put it all together in school or once again our teacher wouldn't sign it off...

teachers really should be threatened more with wage cuts if it's found out that a student "cheated" on a project like this...

it's grand the teacher helping but when a teacher turns a blind eye on someone arriving in on the last day after doing nothing for 6 months with a masterpiece you just have to ask questions about the system...

in my experience cheating isn't a problem.. but god i'm not so naive to not realise pretty much everywhere else is different and teachers want as many A's as possible by any means to bump their rep in the staff room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭MiamiMortimer

I remember in TY loads of people basically had their ECDL exam done for them by teachers...they were allegedly there to 'help' but ended up doing it for a lot of people...not the same as cheating in the Leaving, obviously-but not so far from it I think. I'd say fair enough if people were caught on a single question, or two even-but many didn't do any of their own exam.

They'd spent the computer practice classes on the internet while the rest of us learned, but they're still allegedly able to perform the same computer tasks as we are because they 'passed' the exam. I think that's a tad deceitful for any potential employer, who obviously presumes if he/she sees an ECDL qualification that the candidate passed by herself/himself, and not to mention how unfair it is for us.

If you can cheat so easily at something like that, and with no conception of it being cheating, for a cert which is then put on your CV, it's no wonder people have no problem with cheating in the Leaving Certificate....who can blame them when they've been aided and abetted this far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I remember in TY loads of people basically had their ECDL exam done for them by teachers...they were allegedly there to 'help' but ended up doing it for a lot of people...not the same as cheating in the Leaving, obviously-but not so far from it I think. I'd say fair enough if people were caught on a single question, or two even-but many didn't do any of their own exam.

They'd spent the computer practice classes on the internet while the rest of us learned, but they're still allegedly able to perform the same computer tasks as we are because they 'passed' the exam. I think that's a tad deceitful for any potential employer, who obviously presumes if he/she sees an ECDL qualification that the candidate passed by herself/himself, and not to mention how unfair it is for us.

If you can cheat so easily at something like that, and with no conception of it being cheating, for a cert which is then put on your CV, it's no wonder people have no problem with cheating in the Leaving Certificate....who can blame them when they've been aided and abetted this far?

that's the biggest problem imo... the people who spend the whole time messing about rather than learning and then the teacher helps them so they pass... suddebly there "as qualified" as me despite them not knowing a thing but me actually knowing... especially in todays world where these bits of paper are what get a person a job...

A long history of ignoring the unpalatable? Do you have a long history of ignoring the factual?
    Not really, I originally trained as a historian.

In more recent years, think about the number of people who thought (and some still think) that Charlie Haughey was god; think about the issue of abuse in institutions, whether religious or state, which were supposedly safeguarding children; think about the Magdalene laundries ... to name but a few examples.
    If your statement was true you would be ruled by the United Kingdom today.
    How many people actually took part in the 1916 Rising?

Why did Yeats write the lines:

"Romantic Ireland's dead and gone
    It's with O'Leary in his grave." ?

What percentage of the population, immediately prior to 1916 and especially its aftermath, would have strongly considered British rule unpalatable, in the wake of the various land reforms and with a guarantee of Home Rule after the war on the horizon?

For that matter, what percentage of the population actually took part in the Fenian Rising or other outbreaks in the previous century?

Always remember when dealing with history, especially populist history, that it is normally written by the victors. Try to avoid falling into the soundbyte trap! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭MiamiMortimer

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    that's the biggest problem imo... the people who spend the whole time messing about rather than learning and then the teacher helps them so they pass... suddebly there "as qualified" as me despite them not knowing a thing but me actually knowing... especially in todays world where these bits of paper are what get a person a job...

Exactly. Plus, the amount of people I know who spent all their class time texting other class-attending friends and then had to get grinds because of it (and most would not have really needed the grinds, only for not paying attention in class!) are phenomenal! I have no problems with grinds for subjects you may have difficulty with, but for God's sake what is the point of texting everyday through a class and not paying attention, and then paying out hundreds for grinds that otherwise wouldn't be needed?

I know I'm diverging off the point here, but it's another area of confusion...I think if students had to pay for their own grinds they'd put the phones away in class!!!
    I do think texting during class and not paying attention is another reason why people feel pressured to cheat though...

Exactly. Plus, the amount of people I know who spent all their class time texting other class-attending friends and then had to get grinds because of it (and most would not have really needed the grinds, only for not paying attention in class!) are phenomenal! I have no problems with grinds for subjects you may have difficulty with, but for God's sake what is the point of texting everyday through a class and not paying attention, and then paying out hundreds for grinds that otherwise wouldn't be needed?

I know I'm diverging off the point here, but it's another area of confusion...I think if students had to pay for their own grinds they'd put the phones away in class!!!
    I do think texting during class and not paying attention is another reason why people feel pressured to cheat though...

bahaha i know you are right but for me i cant stop texting in class and actually if i remember the conversation i remember what i was studying in class that day XD saved my ass for physics to remember some topics XD