Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The usuall donegal rally thread!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 biloatty

More people get killed playing GAA every year? Can I ask where you found the statistics for that 'fact'?

Coming from the Knockalla area myself, I can tell you that the roads there and at all the other Fanad area stages (I'm not familiar with the roads at other places) are lethal enough to navigate on a normal day, in a normal car at a normal speed. Never mind trying to drive round the cliff road on Knockalla at 100miles an hour.

The rally is a dangerous sport (and I use the term sport very loosely) and this should be the end of it. There have been enough fatalities at it at this stage- there is no way to jusify it's continuation.
    The government will ban things like fox-hunting but this is allowed to destroy the weekend of an entire county every weekend? (Not to mention destroy the lives of the families of those that have been killed at it over the years)

And, fatalities aside, it should be banned based on the number of public order offences that take place in Donegal that weekend anyway, or the number of private properties that are trespassed on and damaged over the course of the weekend. And I find it ridiculous that people are trapped in their homes for a day because the road has to be shut down down so that these idiots can put their own lives, the lives of the spectators and the general public at risk.

Enough is enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

biloatty wrote: »
    More people get killed playing GAA every year? Can I ask where you found the statistics for that 'fact'?

Coming from the Knockalla area myself, I can tell you that the roads there and at all the other Fanad area stages (I'm not familiar with the roads at other places) are lethal enough to navigate on a normal day, in a normal car at a normal speed. Never mind trying to drive round the cliff road on Knockalla at 100miles an hour.

The rally is a dangerous sport (and I use the term sport very loosely) and this should be the end of it. There have been enough fatalities at it at this stage- there is no way to jusify it's continuation.
    The government will ban things like fox-hunting but this is allowed to destroy the weekend of an entire county every weekend? (Not to mention destroy the lives of the families of those that have been killed at it over the years)

And, fatalities aside, it should be banned based on the number of public order offences that take place in Donegal that weekend anyway, or the number of private properties that are trespassed on and damaged over the course of the weekend. And I find it ridiculous that people are trapped in their homes for a day because the road has to be shut down down so that these idiots can put their own lives, the lives of the spectators and the general public at risk.

Enough is enough.

Complete and utter unfounded bs tbh. It really is.

To compare you driving on a public road in a standard car to these highly skilled and experienced drivers in specialised cars on a closed road is just plain stupid.

Thousands of people find huge enjoyment in the rally and the local economy makes an absolute fourtune from it.

To call these people idiots is retarded and a totally baseless and uneducated view on the event.

If you said all this complete dross to the family of the man killed today,or of any person killed in this sport they would, in no uncertain terms, tell you to cop on.

Seriously,this sh!te really angers me.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I have to agree with the ban thoughts.

These are public roads; and previous posts refer to the lack of expertise of many of the drivers.

Many have a terrible weekend is they are on the route. Gardens trampled etc and dogs upset..

Public road racing/ rallies are an anachronism. On today's roads a danger.

And in Ireland, where the road network is so poor and there really are no alternative routes?

If you really need that kind of speed, make a race circuit?

The kind of policing needed for these events must outweigh in cost any benefit to the "economy".

To be fair, I apologize for calling them idiots- that was uncalled for.

But the rest of it I 100% stand by.

Speak to the locals who have to put up with two weekend of crazy driving, drunken youths and loud, obnoxious 'rally fans' before you start calling me retarded- I find that incredibly offensive.

You're calling me biased? Why don't you consider the effects this rally has on the people who live around these stages?

Locals (anywhere except the pubs in Letterkenny) make nothing out of it- despite the fact that our property is trampled through and littered, our animals are scared witless, our walls are crashed into every year. What do we get out of it? Nothing except the fear that one of the spectators that are climbing our walls and fences will fall and hurt themselves and we may well be liable for it? In what way does it benefit us?

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭lamai

To be fair, I apologize for calling them idiots- that was uncalled for.

But the rest of it I 100% stand by.

Speak to the locals who have to put up with two weekend of crazy driving, drunken youths and loud, obnoxious 'rally fans' before you start calling me retarded- I find that incredibly offensive.

You're calling me biased? Why don't you consider the effects this rally has on the people who live around these stages?

Locals (anywhere except the pubs in Letterkenny) make nothing out of it- despite the fact that our property is trampled through and littered, our animals are scared witless, our walls are crashed into every year. What do we get out of it? Nothing except the fear that one of the spectators that are climbing our walls and fences will fall and hurt themselves and we may well be liable for it? In what way does it benefit us?

Just talking to a few people at the weekend and they do not want it here as well. It is just a nuisance if you have no interest in it. I would be glad to see it banned

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Ciar0468

Just heard the highland radio news, the man died today. please be a bit more respectfull. I live in letterkenny and have been putting up with terrible traffic but Its only once a year and im sure it brings a lot of revenue and tourism to the town.
    As dangerous as rallying is, there are a lot of more dangerous sports out there. Each to his own.

I would guess that at least 90%, if not more, of locals from Rally stage areas, (the percentage might be slightly smaller in urban ares like Letterkenny) do not want the Rally to take place every year.

The fact of the matter is that they do not get a choice in the matter, or a say in where the stages will be, when they will be etc. The only communication between rally officials and locals is a letter through the door 3 weeks beforehand to say when the roads will be closed.

It's a disgrace. Looking out the garden window to find men pissing into you garden (fact- and I wouldn't mind, that wasn't a spectator, it was an internationally well known driver that went on to win the rally that year). The over-whelming majority of rally-goers have no respect for the property on which they tramp though this weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

Mick Daly wrote: »
    This thing should be cancelled altogether. Killing and injuring every year. It's only a bloodbath. How many more need to be killed or be injured? Hopefully they'll learn their lesson now.

I Dont meen to be rude to your self or too any one else,but these people know the risk its the same with any such sport such as the TT NW200 RALLYING they love there sport.they take every safty measure in to account possable but you cant cover everything.feel sorry for the ones who he or she leaves behind .

• Registered Users Posts: 6 PaulDolan

Firstly my condolences to the family and friends of the man who was killed in that tragic accident today.

Now to those calling on rallying to be banned. all over this country people have to put up with inconvenience at some stage or another in order for large crowds to enjoy themselves. examples: People living in the vicinity of a G.A.A ground. People living in towns which have annual fairs, horse fairs etc.. , the national ploughing championships.
    what will we do ban all these because they cause inconvenience to people.
    Generally the roads around rallies are shut for a few hours tops.
    Many people including myself make a living from rallying in this country.
    If that driver did urinate in someones lawn then name him because i seriously doubt that happened.
    Cop onto yourselves

.17hmr wrote: »
    I Dont meen to be rude to your self or too any one else,but these people know the risk its the same with any such sport such as the TT NW200 RALLYING they love there sport.they take every safty measure in to account possable but you cant cover everything.feel sorry for the ones who he or she leaves behind .

You are missing the point... Most sports take place privately, ie on designated, purpose built sites/grounds etc.

Not in towns where ordinary people are trying to get on with their lives.

no one would make these objections if that were so; if the sport and the danger were thus limited and confined to a space and a place away from those who do not enjoy it and whose lives are disrupted.

Noone has any right to inflict this kind of nuisance and noise and disruption on people.

There are you see aspects that you have not thought through here. Hospital visiting disrupted; lifeline services delayed. And damage to property.

Seemingly these things matter not as long as the great god sport goes ahead? Allied with the great god money.

A few years ago we lived in a remote area where the only access road was to be closed because of a road rally. There were arrangements in case of accident or illness to residents who were literally to be cut off from the outisde world for the duration of the rally

Or to be refused to be allowed home should they be already away.

BUT there would be delays. Endangering life and health.

no one has that right - period.

No other sport disrupts the lives of non-participants and non spectators like this.

And is is dangerous; that is the choice of the participants sure. But what a task for the emergency services also at such a tragic loss of life.

Small comfort to a family is this support of the sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

Complete and utter unfounded bs tbh. It really is.

To compare you driving on a public road in a standard car to these highly skilled and experienced drivers in specialised cars on a closed road is just plain stupid.

Thousands of people find huge enjoyment in the rally and the local economy makes an absolute fourtune from it.

To call these people idiots is retarded and a totally baseless and uneducated view on the event.

If you said all this complete dross to the family of the man killed today,or of any person killed in this sport they would, in no uncertain terms, tell you to cop on.

Seriously,this sh!te really angers me.

What makes them so highly skilled and experienced drivers?? Do they do courses/training? Do they practice a lot? Take part in a competition every week?

I'm sure some of the more well known/semi pros do, but what about the local lads that take part every year? I was under the impression that alot of these lads take part in just a handful of events every year.

Hardly enough to call those lads these highly skilled and experienced drivers.

I would like it to stay, but it needs to be tightened up alot. More gardai and trained stewards among the spectators in and around private property.

And the places limited to, say, half the number of entrants. Those with a proven track record of rallying experience.

And closing the road...come on! It is just for a few hours once a year! And you are given plenty of notice. If you are in an emergency, then of course the road will be reopened for an ambulance, if necessary. It even says that in the letter!!

As for the garda operating costs, etc...it doesn't directly place a burden on us. Look at the other events countrywise that use up Garda overtime...we might as well get a slice of the pie. It is worth a lot to the local economy.

Graces7 wrote: »
    You are missing the point... Most sports take place privately, ie on designated, purpose built sites/grounds etc.

no one would make these objections if that were so; if the sport and the danger were thus limited and confined to a space and a place away from those who do not enjoy it and whose lives are disrupted.

Noone has any right to inflict this kind of nuisance and noise and disruption on people.

There are you see aspects that you have not thought through here. Hospital visiting disrupted; lifeline services delayed. And damage to property.

Seemingly these things matter not as long as the great god sport goes ahead? Allied with the great god money.

A few years ago we lived in a remote area where the only access road was to be closed because of a road rally. There were arrangements in case of accident or illness to residents who were literally to be cut off from the outisde world for the duration of the rally

No other sport disrupts the lives of non-participants and non spectators like this.

And is is dangerous; that is the choice of the participants sure. But what a task for the emergency services also at such a tragic loss of life.

Hmmm,It does'nt matter what any one does any way for you will always get some one who wont be happy about something .

"As for the garda operating costs, etc...it doesn't directly place a burden on us. Look at the other events countrywise that use up Garda overtime...we might as well get a slice of the pie. It is worth a lot to the local economy."

I rest my case... slice of the pie? Words fail...

.17hmr wrote: »
    Hmmm,It does'nt matter what any one does any way for you will always get some one who wont be happy about something .

:confused: Not sure what this post means? We all have different views and priorities is all. some see one thing; some see others, and that way a fuller picture is gained.

"As for the garda operating costs, etc...it doesn't directly place a burden on us. Look at the other events countrywise that use up Garda overtime...we might as well get a slice of the pie. It is worth a lot to the local economy."

I rest my case... slice of the pie? Words fail...

Its quite simple really. We are all paying taxes, from which Garda operations at the football matches, horse racing, Oxegen, Electric Picnic, etc are paid. We might as well have a large event which brings money into the local economy.

So to use the argument of the cost of policing the event as a reason to cancel is unfair to the local publicans/hoteliers that do not have an Oxegen or EP like event.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭docmartin

I find it very pig headed of people coming on here having not had anything productive to add to the thread, people should grow up and stop complaining about litter in their gardens. most genuine rallyfans bring their rubbish back to their cars with them. A life has been lost today and the poor driver (who i won't name but all of us rallyfans will know) will probably never fully recover from something like this.

This thread has really annoyed me now just from reading the comments from all the A-holes who think such a thing should be banned.

A quote from the late Bertie Fisher comes to mind, when asked about a close battle between himself and andrew nesbitt on the circuit of ireland he quickly replied "never, has so much, been provided by so few, for the entertainment of so many"

I'm all for public forums and people expressing their opinions but ffs people have a bit of considerations and shut up about the dam gardens, litter can be tidied up in an hour.

Just grow up people and have a bit of decency at this sad time for Donegal

• Registered Users Posts: 46,095 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Im a little saddened at the content of some of the posts here. What started off as a good thread has degenerated into nothing more than schoolyard antics with name calling and abuse.

Just because you hold a particular view does not necessarily mean that it is right. People have strong opinions on rallying and everyone is more than welcome to post those opinions here but can do so without being abusive.

Please respect the other person's opinion, attack their post but not the poster and be civil with your replies.

I wont be repeating myself on this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Look there are a lot of people here saying things that they know nothing about i would love to go through everyones posts and quote them but im not, i'll just make some generalised comments...

1- the people who are saying that emergancy services ect are effected by the rally its untrue, you are actully going to get much medical attention a lot faster than you usually would if you live on a closed road used by the rally as they have 2 doctors cars sitting ready to go and 2 ambulances (st. johns ambulances usually) and upon receving the call they will be there in minutes, if you dial 99 you get through to a local(ish) dispach and they are aware of the area of all the stages, and dont be going saying but sure what if i cant phone ect, because if you cant phone how would you dial any number?

2 - People are also Questioning the drivers experience ect, before you get a drivers license you need to complete a test at a rally school, after that you have to finish (not just compete and crash but actully complete and finish) a number of multi-purpose events which are held on abandoned airfeilds ect, once you complete X (i think 4) events and have the evidence you can then compete on junior events or single stage events and you then have to do X (again 4 i think) you can then do a national rally (the likes of the sligo stages or the donegal harvest rally) then again after X events you can apply to do an "international" event like donegal, but you are not garanteed an entry, the entries are done by means of seeding where first picked will be the person with the most amount of finishes and rallies ect in recent times and it works doe the order from there, so yes you can say all the drivers were experienced who do the Donegal international rally

3 - people talking about not getting info other than a letter through the door is nonesense, they do "PR" on every single stage of the route and go to every door of every house and ask the occupiers what they think, if they dont want people in the garden they say so and forbidden areas are allocated, the garden cordened off and if anyone stands there they be moved on by one of the marshall cars (which go through before the stage starts) and spectator control cars, if they refuse to listen the stages are stopped, as happened earleir today! And the rally does not happen on public roads the roads are closed to the public, you can technically be arrested by the gardai for walking on the stage as its not open to the public!!!!

Just another couple of points, the accident didnt happen on the cliffs at knockalla, they happens on the knockalla stage, it happened not far away from the football pitch (which is closer to rathmullan than portsalon) on a relativly straight (but unfortunently fast section of road). Also the majority of people who organise the rally are not paid they are volanters must of these is made up by marshalls. Some people not mentioning no names, seem to jump on the bandwagon and are quick to slate something / somone when something goes bad but yet when this thread was opened we didnt see too many people saying ban it ?!? Also everyone who competes or even goes to a rally knows that it is dangerous and know the risks involved, when a driver "signs on" he is signing an indemnity form, and in the programes they have full pages dedicated to explianing that motorsport is dangerous ect... even on radio adverts now they have drivers doing peices saying "drive carefully", "listen to marshalls", " motor sport is dangerous" ect ect

i asked people to be respectfull, but as they were saying things that had no foundings at all, so felt the need to respond to them and give them some facts about rallying!!!!! please read through my post as everything i have said is fact, i beleive some people will always think what they will think and nothing will change their minds and i can add no more than what i have already said above and im not going to reply any more. Also i know i cant spell so ignore my spelling

2 - People are also Questioning the drivers experience ect, before you get a drivers license you need to complete a test at a rally school, after that you have to finish (not just compete and crash but actully complete and finish) a number of multi-purpose events which are held on abandoned airfeilds ect, once you complete X (i think 4) events and have the evidence you can then compete on junior events or single stage events and you then have to do X (again 4 i think) you can then do a national rally (the likes of the sligo stages or the donegal harvest rally) then again after X events you can apply to do an "international" event like donegal, but you are not garanteed an entry, the entries are done by means of seeding where first picked will be the person with the most amount of finishes and rallies ect in recent times and it works doe the order from there, so yes you can say all the drivers were experienced who do the Donegal international rally

Thanks for taking the time to post all that! Very informative!

As I said, I was under the impression that there were entrants of varying experience...I didn't know exactly what the criteria for entering the Rally was (and since I am not really into rallying I never took it upon myself to find out)

But now I know better! :)

And as I said previously as well, I would like the rally to stay around.

RIP Thomas Maguire.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

RIP Thomas Maguire

Just to clear up the bit about the dangers of rallying in Donegal.

Thomas is the first competitor to lose his live in the history of the Donegal rally.

Yes we had a spectator killed 2 years ago and I was unfortunate to witness that incident,but it could have been avoided. I have been told the same about the 2 stewards killed in 2002.

At the end of the day these people put a huge amount of time an effort into the rally,both for theirs and our enjoyment. I have been out this weekend both days and I have seen nothing but respect shown for land that was opened to spectators,in fact I even seen people picking up others rubbish on leaving a certain field. Over the past 6-7 years I have gone out to witness the rally I havent had a bad experience,and any land owner I have spoken too has had no problem with crowds standing on their land.

Biloatty, My apologies if it seemed I was calling you retarded,I wasnt. I was referring to your "idiot" comment which you have since retracted so I wont go any further.

• Registered Users Posts: 46,095 ✭✭✭✭muffler

The arguments for and against rallying come a poor second to the death of a young man in a sport he obviously loved.

I extend my condolences to his family, friends and rally colleagues. RIP.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

It's a disgrace. Looking out the garden window to find men pissing into you garden (fact- and I wouldn't mind, that wasn't a spectator, it was an internationally well known driver that went on to win the rally that year). The over-whelming majority of rally-goers have no respect for the property on which they tramp though this weekend.

<SNIP>

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Ciar0468

I dont even want to comment again as what i have read here is mostly (not all) disgracefull. Homer_Simpson thank you for clarifying the facts for people. The rally has been CANCELLED for today, so please can everyone stop being so ridiculous. :mad:

As a previous poster said, its the same for GAA games, football, rugby, concerts, vintage fairs, town fairs ect. and what about st patricks day? the main dublin to galway road is closed in many places, and most roads through towns accross the country.
    Sould we cancel everything that we dont participate it? What kind of a boring country would we live in if we cancelled every event which caused public disruption or nuisance?

:confused: Not sure what this post means? We all have different views and priorities is all. some see one thing; some see others, and that way a fuller picture is gained.

Hi GRACES7,what i ment was that even if you put cars and bikes in to a track say likes of mondelo you still will have some one that will be un happy with being caught up in traffic or some thing silly like that,and even in a safe place things can happen that cant be controled,hope i dint offend you or any thing am not the best on this computer you see and ma spelling aint great either as you can see:D:ohave a good day
    .17hmr

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

Ciar0468 wrote: »
    I dont even want to comment again as what i have read here is mostly (not all) disgracefull. Homer_Simpson thank you for clarifying the facts for people. The rally has been CANCELLED for today, so please can everyone stop being so ridiculous. :mad:

As a previous poster said, its the same for GAA games, football, rugby, concerts, vintage fairs, town fairs ect. and what about st patricks day? the main dublin to galway road is closed in many places, and most roads through towns accross the country.

Not getting into the whole debate, I have my own views on all this, but I'd like to respond to this above point.

I think the reason people get so annoyed with it is, whether Rally fans like ir or not, it's a still a minority sport, and it shuts down major parts of the county for a whole weekend. St Patricks day is our national holiday and it's one day! Absurd comparison. It brings crowds outside peoples houses and restricts their movement as roads get closed etc. They have no real say in this, and as with any large crowd, a minority of supporters may be unruly/disrspectful. They have every right to get annoyed if this happens on their doorstep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

well, speaking from someone who can't avoid the rally, we can't go anywhere the weekend of the rally. Where i live in milford, we can't get our car out... We get absolutely nothing from the rally commitee for the inconvience (which it is), the noise from the cars all night would drive you mental and we HAVE to put our dogs every single year into a boarding kennel to prevent them from getting ran over or suffering because of the stress. It's ridiculous as i haven't personally seen any of that revenue going back into improving the road quality along the stages, which would benifit locals and the rally.

The "local boys" do not have ANY rally training experience, i know this as i know two drivers, which is absolutely ridiculous..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,383 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

RIP Thomas Maguire

i wanted to stay away from this thread but i just cant

graces7 you really need to get out more

several parts of sligo will b closed from thurs to sun to facilitate the national cycling championships, you obviously dont think me descending from glengesh to meenaneery at 70+ km/h should be allowed either (protected my my thin veneer of lycra.
    stuff happens its unfortunate mikko martins co driver was killed in a wrc event a few years ago
    a spectator was killed on the tour de france by a support motorbike last year

i find these calls for an event that has been going for 20 odd years to be banned depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

tatabubbly wrote: »
    well, speaking from someone who can't avoid the rally, we can't go anywhere the weekend of the rally. Where i live in milford, we can't get our car out... We get absolutely nothing from the rally commitee for the inconvience (which it is), the noise from the cars all night would drive you mental and we HAVE to put our dogs every single year into a boarding kennel to prevent them from getting ran over or suffering because of the stress. It's ridiculous as i haven't personally seen any of that revenue going back into improving the road quality along the stages, which would benifit locals and the rally.

The "local boys" do not have ANY rally training experience, i know this as i know two drivers, which is absolutely ridiculous..

I wasnt intending to reply to any posts here but....

your location says letterkenny yet you live in Milford? Do you live on or near a stage of or near service? there is no area apart from around letterkenny that is used all weekend for the rally it only visits the one area each day. There is a wealth of information at your fingertips if its a case of you not getting any contact whatsoever from the motorclub they are ways and means to contact them, each year they post the phone numbers of the various people involved so you should phone them before next years event and discuss it (although "if" its true that you get no contact i agree you shouldnt have to go looking for theor number but if it happens year in year out and you get tortued it would be in your best intrests would it not?)

On the matter of the locals having as you put it no experience? who are they? Because you CANNOT GET A LICENSE FROM MOTORSPORT IRELAND WITHOUT DOING THE TEST AT A RALLY SCHOOL!!!! or did you ignore my above post, the event is sanctioned by motorsport ireland, and they do all the scrutiny checks (in the case this year it was MSA the brittish motorsport body who done scrutiny) and if you dont have a the required license you dont get going, and its nothing to do with where your from at all because they MSA guys were totally independant and were not going to favour anyone.

I'm going to just not read this thread now cos i will just end up getting a warning or ban because i am passionate about rallying and angry at the response in the aftermath of what was a tragic donegal rally weekend with people looking for it to be banned ect i started the thread a few weeks ago now and not a thing was said then. like i have said from the start people are always going to be against rallying but if people just communicate a bit with the organisers a lot of these greviences could be sorted out very simply, and if you have a grevience and they dont know about it how can it be solved.

P.S. My intention for this thread when i started it was to try and help people out as much as i could before the event as in people looking for help ect, its a bit late complaining after the event its like closing the stable door after the horse has bolted, you said this goes on every year so its not the first time yet you wait till after to complain. I'll now be thinking twice when thinking baout opening a thread to help people out.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Just my experience.......I was in Portsalon for the week-end - didn't even know the rally was on. On Sat I could hear the cars flyng by from early on and was too terrified to take my car to the golf club so I walked along the road. Met a mother with a baby in a pushchair and two other young kids walking along. She hadn't know anything about the rally and was just taking her kids to the beach. We were all scared as we walked along - rally cars came blazing past at terrifying speeds - we kept as far from the road as we could but there was no path. Someone told me that that part of the road wan't part of the actual competition but if that was the case why were the cars going so fast.

Its my first experience of this and I didn't even know about the sad death at the time but I genuinely thought it was criminally dangerous on public roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭afatbollix

They seem like they are going fast because they are loader than a normal car...
    They keep to the speed limit on road sections because the gardai are every where during a rally.