Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

italy v paraguay

• 14-06-2010 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭

italy have only lost their opening game once in the previous 12 World Cups...against ireland in 94 :)

italy dnb @ 4/9 seems ok

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

Italia ftw sounds much better at evens.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

Italy are stronger than people are giving them credit for. In GILARDINO they have a potential golden boot player. Paraguay are a poor side and will find it difficult to beat the Italian defence. Expect Italy to win this group without much difficulty.

Prediction for tonights game will be Gilardino to score 2 or more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 istillgotit

Amigomenor wrote: »
    Italy are stronger than people are giving them credit for. In GILARDINO they have a potential golden boot player. Paraguay are a poor side and will find it difficult to beat the Italian defence. Expect Italy to win this group without much difficulty.

What he said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

id be amazed if there was more than a goal in this tbh

what im thinking is maybe
    1-0 italy or 0-0

im gonna back the 1-0 italy even at a miserable looking 9/2 so
    at least if it finishes 0-0 pp or bet365 will refund your stake
    wonder if any other bookies are doing this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

i've gone for paraguay to win the group, think they will play much better than against ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

Gilardino to score first and Italy 1-0.

Italy to win to nil.

Knowing my luck so far it'll turn out the complete opposite.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

€14.64 on Italy at evens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

I'm having my maximum bet on Italy draw no bet at 1.57 on Betfair. Think Italy are much better than these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭dasdog

Amigomenor wrote: »

Whatever about tonights game which will be tight I think he'll get a couple against NZ and has a good chance against Slovakia if he's stays fit. At 35/1 he's a good each way bet for top scorer (1/4 odds and it was top 5 with PP but thats now only top 4).

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I wussed out of putting money on Cardozo though there is still time to change that.

Gila to score 1st goal @ 11/2
    Gila to score in my treble scorer @ 5/1 (Kuyt did his part earlier).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

Anyone got a link to the money back special on Bet365 for this game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

gnolan wrote: »
    Anyone got a link to the money back special on Bet365 for this game?

http://www.bet365.com/extra/en/promotions/soccer/world-cup-bore-draw-money-back/

World Cup Bore Draw Money Back

SoccerBoreDraw.jpg Bet Now

Our Bore Draw Money Back offer is being extended to include First Goalscorer, Last Goalscorer and Anytime Goalscorer bets for every World Cup game!

So have a pre-match bet on any World Cup match and if the game finishes 0-0 we will refund all losing bets on these markets:
    • First Goalscorer
    • Last Goalscorer
    • Anytime Goalscorer
    • Correct Score
    • Half-Time/Full-Time
    • Any of our Scorecast markets

Don't let a blank score sheet bore you at the World Cup this summer.

Don’t forget that our regular Bore Draw Money Back offer still applies to all other Soccer matches. So have a pre-match bet on our Correct Score, Half-Time/Full-Time or Scorecast markets on ANY Soccer match and if the game finishes 0-0, we will refund all losing bets on these markets.

A goalless draw can never be the worst result with bet365.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

World Cup Group Matches Italy v Paraguay Money-Back Special
    14-06-2010 19:30
    Insurebet First Goalscorer
    L Barrios @ 13/2

Win
    Single: L Barrios @ 13/2
    1 line at €20.00 per line
    Total stake for this bet: €20.00
    Potential returns: €150.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭redroar1942

Verance wrote: »
    I'm having my maximum bet on Italy draw no bet at 1.57 on Betfair. Think Italy are much better than these.

Then why piss around with the DNB? Italy are a far better team, the gulf between decent european teams and average south american ones is huge.

Just half your stake and put it on them outright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

Italy/Italy @ 13/5
    First Half Over 1.5 Goals @ 12/5
    Italy Win @ Evens

Potential Returns 55 from 20 Please God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Looking at going with either:

Both teams to score @ 6/5 or over 2.5 @ 7/4.

Bit risky considering Italy's reputation and how cautious teams have been in this first round of games.

Maybe I should just avoid this game altogether.

• Moderators Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Done a little betting preview with my opinions for this game, Hopefully it'll be decent and not like the crap we had to witness with Cameroon and Japan.

Italy will win this I think. Defensively solid, Have plenty of good attacking options when they click. Experience at this level and most importantly they know how to win and close out a game. They were average in qualifying (Despite unbeaten) but they're always a different proposition at the WC, Gilardino will probably score at some stage in the game, Iaquinta will probably be to the left of him and Pepe to the right and they're very talented players on their day and they'll hopefully make some space for Gilardino to knock in a couple of goals. He's best priced @ 18/1 to score 2 or more goals which is a massive price I think, Will have a small nibble at that.

Italy are a massive price @ 6/5 IMO, Paraguay are no joke but they don't score enough goals despite having good attacking players, They'll struggle to beat Italy's backline which contains the likes of Cannavaro and Chiellini who are exceptional players, They're likely to have Gattuso and De Rossi sitting in front of them who are both top class players, Both brilliant at controlling the midfield and De Rossi gets forward alot also, He could be a decent shout as an anytime scorer @ 15/2 with Bet365, Assuming he has shaken off his calf injury and starts the game. This will more than likely be a very low scoring game, But Under 2.5 goals is only best priced @ 8/15 with Ladbrokes. :eek: Far to low for any interest in that bet although it looks likely with Italy usually conceding little and Paraguay having kept 9 clean sheets from 18 games in qualifying but it's no value at all. I really think Italy are the better team here and if they perform to their abilities they'll beat Paraguay by at least one, Hopefully two.

Here's my few bets. 10pts staked as usual. Best of luck men!
    • 5pts on Italy to win @ 6/5 (Bet365)
    • 2pts on Italy -1 @ 7/2 (Bet365)
    • 1pt on Gilardino first scorer @ 6/1 (Stan James)
    • 1pts on Italy to win 2-0 @ 8/1 (Powers)
    • .5pts on Gilardino to score 2 or more goals @ 18/1 (Bet365)
    • .5pts on Gattuso Man of the Match @ 18/1 (Powers)

keep up the good work x PyRo

i dont particularly agree with your picks, i fancy Paraguay myself, still thou a nice job x PyRo

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Italy to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭irishjay

did italy with portugal in a double portugal 6/5 and evens for italia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

seems like a day of low corner count - cant see this game being any different - both teams will have a lot of the ball in their own halves

9 or less 20/21

Headshot wrote: »
    keep up the good work x PyRo

i dont particularly agree with your picks, i fancy Paraguay myself, still thou a nice job x PyRo

Cheers Headshot, I just get bored and start typing stuff. :D

Plus I want more monies. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭Swarlez

thrown a tenner on italy to win with -2 handicap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭dan de man

100 on italy at 11/10,destined now to be a 0-0 draw,im after a brutal start,only got the south korea game right:rolleyes:

Gattuso not starting, I've placed all the others now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I've gone with Draw & Over 1.5 goals @ 4/1 with B365.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Ive gone a tenner on Italy to win 2-0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

not sure what to do lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

digme wrote: »
    not sure what to do lol

I'm in the same boat. Italy starting with two up front. Was going for maybe a draw, maybe a 1-0 either way, now i haven't a clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mickos

I said I'd wait till I seen the teams before I put on a bet. Now I'm not sure what to do. Reading reports on Montolivio and Marchisio I'm unconvinced they are good enough. I'm fearful for the pace of the back 4. Is Cannavaro past it?? I was happy to lump 5points on an Italy win before seeing the teams and won't be backing against them but think I might stay away from it all together now! 12 minutes to decide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fonze07

10 euro Gilardino to score first and Italy to win 1-0 (16/1) PP
    10 euro Riveros to be booked (17/10) PP
    10 euro Chiellini to be booked (15/8) PP

Thoughts?

gnolan wrote: »
    I'm in the same boat. Italy starting with two up front. Was going for maybe a draw, maybe a 1-0 either way, now i haven't a clue
    it's terrible isn't it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Ive backed Italy to win @ 11/10
    And De Rossi to be booked @ 6/5

just €10 on each, not too confident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I think Italy will take it cautious,I've gone Italy DNB @4/9

Got a good few bets on this but the bet of the day imo is:

Italy to be winning at halftime OR fulltime 5/6 with PP.

World Cup Group Matches Italy v Paraguay
    14-06-2010 19:30
    Over/Under 1.5 Goals
    Over 1.5 Goals @ 1.53

100 quid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Going for the draw here, there has been no draw in a few matchs so on the law of averages here we go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

For the craic a few interest bets with 1 Euro stakes.

De Rossi to be the first booked @ 10.00
    Chiellini to score first and Italy to win 1-0 @ 81.00
    0-0 at HT and 1-0 at FT for Italy @ 9.00.
    Gilardino first goalscorer @ 6.50
    Correct score Italy 3-1 @ 81.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Lads......remember Ray Houghton against Italy? Reputation for starting tournaments slow.

I've done scorecast, 40/1 on Paraguay 1-0(barrios score) & Under 45 booking points.

Barrios had a really good record for Ajax last season, he only just got Paraguayan nationality(born an Argie) and scored 3 in 3 friendlies leading into tournament.....+ hes been picked ahead of Santa Cruz(who must be 1 of Paraguays leading scorers of all time?)

Devastator wrote: »
    Lads......remember Ray Houghton against Italy? Reputation for starting tournaments slow.

I've done scorecast, 40/1 on Paraguay 1-0(barrios score) & Under 45 booking points.

Barrios had a really good record for Ajax last season, he only just got Paraguayan nationality(born an Argie) and scored 3 in 3 friendlies leading into tournament.....+ hes been picked ahead of Santa Cruz(who must be 1 of Paraguays leading scorers of all time?)

fail :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Headshot wrote: »
    fail :p

I'd say he's getting mixed up with Suárez from Uruguay.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

Devastator wrote: »

Thats another fail I think, the Ireland match was the only time they lost the first game in something like 50 years. Correct me if i'm wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

I'd say he's getting mixed up with Suárez from Uruguay.

NAH I wasn't .....just thick :p

should have said Dortmund.....didnt even get the right feckin country :rolleyes::D

I was going lump all my account on Italy DNB but Paraguay have gotten better as the half has gone on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

mailburner wrote: »
    id be amazed if there was more than a goal in this tbh

what im thinking is maybe
    1-0 italy or 0-0

im gonna back the 1-0 italy even at a miserable looking 9/2 so
    at least if it finishes 0-0 pp or bet365 will refund your stake
    wonder if any other bookies are doing this?

did a scorecast also
    gilardino 1-0 italy at 20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

YAWN!! Where is Cardozo btw... bloody hell Italy are a limited side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

Fowler87 wrote: »
    YAWN!! Where is Cardozo btw... bloody hell Italy are a limited side
    Italy playing some nice football imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

1-0 Paraguay. I'm on Italy 6.4 (Betfair). Hopefully a quick equaliser so I can lay them off.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

Verance wrote: »
    Italy playing some nice football imo.

Pepe and thats about it... for the reigning World champions, thats bad form

Im having a punt on Barrios next scorer @ 17/2... although Paraguay bar the goal have not placed many balls up to the striker, Italy will have to push on leaving gaps in their defence and I reckon Paraguay mite score on the counter, Ive also went for -1 Paraguay.