Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playstation Plus Discussion Thread - FAQ in first post

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Finding Journey very bland, can't see what all the praise for it is about?

Journey is a game you need to be in the right frame of mind for, and set the right atmosphere.

The first time I played it I couldn't get into it.

Then I shut all the curtains and knocked off all the lights, headphones on and a couple of beers.

It was amazing. Towards the end it really had me mesmerised, in a way that many Aaa games can't.

Give it a chance :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Same to be honest

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭Damien360

Finish it and you will see what the fuss is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

You've really got to do Journey in one sitting. Breaking it up, posting here, doing whatever else, that would completely ruin the immersion. Journey is an experience as much as a game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Beefy78 wrote: »
    You've really got to do Journey in one sitting. Breaking it up, posting here, doing whatever else, that would completely ruin the immersion. Journey is an experience as much as a game.

I finished it in one go and I have to agree with the lads above, didn't care for it. Deleted it straight away again.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

I loved Journey... Played it last year and played it again the day it was announced for plus

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I liked rather than loved Journey. Oddly it's a game which I feel I couldn't or shouldn't play more than once. I can't imagine it would have the same effect.

I finished Datura today. What a trippy journey that was! I'm glad I have Plus when they churn out unusual games like that. I would never have played it otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Just finished Journey absolutely loved it was glued to it from start to finish can't help but want more though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

If somebody doesn't like Journey then that's fair enough. Personally I thought it was an astonishing piece of work but there's no rule that states you must like it. I see people saying "finish it and then come back to us", "you need to be in the right frame of mind", etc. I'm sure it's all well-meaning but you have to allow people the freedom to dislike a game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭jonerkinsella

I'm playing Journey at the mo . It's ok as a game . I'm about 50% in ,I think .

With all the hype on here about it I expected more . After playing Tearaway on both the Vita and PS4 , I think Tearaway is a far better game and of the same kind of buzz .

If any of the lads on here that like Journey have not played Tearaway then at the current price on the store , you should give it a go as it is great value at the moment and much more involving as a game.

My 2c.

Pickpocket wrote: »
    If somebody doesn't like Journey then that's fair enough. Personally I thought it was an astonishing piece of work but there's no rule that states you must like it. I see people saying "finish it and then come back to us", "you need to be in the right frame of mind", etc. I'm sure it's all well-meaning but you have to allow people the freedom to dislike a game.

I've no issue with people who don't like Journey. It is good to know who around here is completely devoid of soul. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I'm playing Journey at the mo . It's ok as a game . I'm about 50% in ,I think .

With all the hype on here about it I expected more . After playing Tearaway on both the Vita and PS4 , I think Tearaway is a far better game and of the same kind of buzz .

If any of the lads on here that like Journey have not played Tearaway then at the current price on the store , you should give it a go as it is great value at the moment and much more involving as a game.

My 2c.

I only played it on the Vita but I'd tend to agree. I really enjoyed Journey but Tearaway was the better game for me. I loved it.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

I just looked into tear away, would you miss much not having the camera?

No. You could use the app on your phone. It's only really for taking pics to insert into the actual game . You could easily get away with it.

It does add another dimension to the game looking at the pics and the things the game does with them though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

So played and yes, 100% get what people are saying in that the game is awesome. The soundtrack :eek: its 100% a chill game. I dont do weed but wonder would it be awesome with it ??
    Oh and I dont think Ive ever cared as much about a scarf in my life :(

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭SharpCoder

i enjoyed the game, all 50 minutes of it, but when it came up , thanks for playing journey that early, i couldn't help but feel disappointed by the point it was so damn short, hell i just realised other PSN players were playing with me and it finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

sugarman wrote: »
    Wasnt mad on Journey, was expecting so much more from what I read on here last few days.

Like an overhyped film that ended up just being OK.

Finished it there, still can't see what the fuss is about. I got the same feeling I got finishing gone home - I've wasted 2 hours of my life on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

I liked Journey but seriously, the pretentious posts here about it are something else :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I liked Journey but seriously, the pretentious posts here about it are something else :pac:

Nothing pretentious about liking a game and recommending it to people....

The Game has a load of Bafta's and game awards, must be shíte...

Sure opinions are like arseholes, we all have one... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Fieldog wrote: »
    Nothing pretentious about liking a game and recommending it to people....

The Game has a load of Bafta's and game awards, must be shíte...

Sure opinions are like arseholes, we all have one... :)

Saying you have to be in the right frame of mind for it or it's an experience to people that didn't like it comes across as pretentious in a way to me. Sort of like telling others they just didn't get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Saying you have to be in the right frame of mind for it or it's an experience to people that didn't like it comes across as pretentious in a way to me. Sort of like telling others they just didn't get it.

I played it twice. The first time I didn't enjoy it.

The second time I loved it, I can't explain why, but certainly nothing pretentious about giving your view on the game.

Not like anyone said you have to be sipping on a Heino and wearing a scarf yourself to be enjoying :pac:

There's nothing wrong with telling people that they just don't get it. It certainly isn't pretentious.

I don't get Call of Duty. I'm not slagging it off when I say that I don't get arsey about people recommending it to me and saying positive things. I thank them for enjoying the experience and of wanting to share the benefit of that experience with me.

People like different things. IMO Journey is a top five game of all time. It completely changed the way I view video games, even though I'd been playing them for 25 years up until that point. It saddens me slightly that others don't like it purely because it means that they didn't get the same experience/emotion/joy that I got. It's no problem though and I won't feel bad for recommending it to others.

I completed Journey yesterday.

I'd give it a 6.5 rating , Tearaway PS4 a 7.5 and Tearaway Vita a 9 .

Tearaway has all the same elements as Journey but has loads more too . It is a much larger and engaging game imo .

With all that was talked about Journey around here over the last few months , I expected a lot more. I like quirky games. I loved Everyone's gone to the rapture , Metrico and others . I just feel that Journey was nothing special or ground braking as was the impression I got from this forum

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Charizard wrote: »
    So played and yes, 100% get what people are saying in that the game is awesome. The soundtrack :eek: its 100% a chill game. I dont do weed but wonder would it be awesome with it ??
    Oh and I dont think Ive ever cared as much about a scarf in my life :(

Regarding playing it after smokin, it's fúckin marvelous. There aren't words to describe how magical the Journey is, I've been told...

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Great!

Wife's gone to bed :) and I could finally give journey a go (want to play it while I have time to do it in one shot) and well well well .... PSN is banjaxed

Grrrr....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭Damien360

Great!

Wife's gone to bed :) and I could finally give journey a go (want to play it while I have time to do it in one shot) and well well well .... PSN is banjaxed

Grrrr....

Might as well follow her up and look for a ride so. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Wifi is banjaxed. Connected network cable and it's OK straight away. Getting error codes on WIFI. Was grand uo to yesterday before I updated to 4.0

Damien360 wrote: »

You are making the assumption that the wife is a woman . With a name like the Great Defector I wouldn't be so sure :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭van_beano

Damien360 wrote: »

On a Thursday night? Are we all students in our early twenties again??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

GerB40 wrote: »
    Regarding playing it after smokin, it's fúckin marvelous. There aren't words to describe how magical the Journey is, I've been told...
    :cool: