Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

France vs Mexico - 7.30pm RTE2/BBC HD

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

Ronnie is sore when he's proven wrong :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Anyone who was not going on holidays to France on principle this year, can now book to go to Mexico.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

Funkfield wrote: »
    Dude? Your pills?

Was just making the point that some decisions go for you, some against. Never said anything anti-French or anything.

N'est pas?
    revenge is now sweet that france lost and make it harder for them ,also mexico did play very well,some more good games on tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

bad2dabone wrote: »
    pizza please, extra french tears, extra garlic, extra frogs legs, extra henry hands, extra moral victory!

Ahahahahahahaha :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

He had no foot on the ground in an offside position:confused:
    His only grounded foot wasn't even level with defender, it was further onside.

It doesn't matter. The rule on offside clearly states any part of the head, feet or body.

See page 100 of the laws of the game.
    http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affederation/generic/81/42/36/lawsofthegame_2010_11_e.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Seaneh wrote: »
    Thank you Mexico.

36127_430462031293_542686293_6208605_2774069_n.jpg
    Those wingstreet breasts are AWESOME :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,014 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Domenech must be the worst coach ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

It's still debatable if any part of his body was actually ahead of the defenders rear foot, but when it's that tight I don't dwell on the decision.

He looked a mile offside in real time though.

France looked so uninterested, it nearly beggared belief. Fair play to the Mexicans. Neat and tidy with a bit of fire in their belly. Looked a bit toothless upfront for a lot of the game but got there in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Seaneh wrote: »
    Thank you Mexico.

36127_430462031293_542686293_6208605_2774069_n.jpg

I hope the guy who prepared that isn't French.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Actually lads, Dunphy (in his ignorance) is right. The feet are clearly level, however Hernandez is leaning forward and Gallas is leaning in the opposite direction meaning Hernandez's head (and right shoulder) is in an offside position. Remember, it's not just the feet, it's any part of the body that be used to score that's taken into consideration.

Not one single part of his body he can score from was ahead of Abidal/Gallas's foot. That's the rule.

He was onside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

eagle eye wrote: »
    Domenech must be the worst coach ever!

"I'm the gaffer"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Flukey wrote: »
    Anyone who was not going on holidays to France on principle this year, can now book to go to Mexico.:D

OR, GO to France, with your brand new Mexico jersey, one for all the family, make sure to visit some public places. . . . :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

hmm france have a chance if they trash sa. The other two sides wont go for a draw because they will want to avoid argentina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

dfx- wrote: »
    Not one single part of his body he can score from was ahead of Abidal/Gallas's foot. That's the rule.

He was onside.
    Only his left arm was in front of Gallas's foot, so he cannot score with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Ha ha, the theme music on RTE 2.............

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

_Bella_ wrote: »
    hmm france have a chance if they trash sa. The other two sides wont go for a draw because they will want to avoid argentina

This French team have absolutely no spirit, and South Africa, being the hosts, won't by any means roll over in this match!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Bill O' Herlihy had a smirk that could kill a cat when he said at the end of the program.
    While summing up and commenting on France most likely exit from the World Cup. he finishes of and says:
    "What goes around comes around"
    Here, Here

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Bit ironic that Pizza Hut are doing the offer and they are one of the few pizza places with no mexican pizza (domino's mexican sizzler, mizzonis mexican special)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,521 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I hope the guy who prepared that isn't French.

Jesus Christ!

Did you ask for the bed of BBQ sauce or is that your own work?

Four Star Pizza Mega Meal Deal En route for moi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

facepalm1m.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

rte milkin it with the music at the end!

what comes around!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

df1985 wrote: »
    rte milkin it with the music at the end!

what comes around!

FYP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

noodler wrote: »
    Jesus Christ!

Did you ask for the bed of BBQ sauce or is that your own work?

Four Star Pizza Mega Meal Deal En route for moi!

It was the way it came.

Was nice all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The goal was clearly offside going by the rule. Only his feet were level.

Yet, you can't blame the linesman. It's too tough a decision either way, but the advantage is meant to go to the attacker so there's no karma or justice there, just bad French defending!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Bad for the World Cup that Mexico victory, Almost defo spells the end for South Africa and that can't be good for already dodgy attendances and crowds. Struggle to see the South Africans going on mass to second round games when they are out of the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

dfx- wrote: »

He was onside.

According to that still we kept seening on rte Hernandez's leading foot was less than a foot behind Gallas' trailing foot. Hernandez body was leaning forward at something approaching a 60 angle... the upper half of his torso had to be offside if that were the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

peabutler wrote: »
    Bad for the World Cup that Mexico victory, Almost defo spells the end for South Africa and that can't be good for already dodgy attendances and crowds. Struggle to see the South Africans going on mass to second round games when they are out of the whole thing.

Well, they ain't going to the games now anyway so it's not gonna make a difference at all.

Personally, i'm delighted they are pretty much out. They are sh!te. And hopefully those vevezulas will become less of an influence. I actually detected some singing and an atmosphere from tonights Mexican/Cheats match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Au ReVuvuz!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

:) eat it raymond. fukin hate that spastic of a coach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

monkey9 wrote: »
    Well, they ain't going to the games now anyway so it's not gonna make a difference at all.

Personally, i'm delighted they are pretty much out. They are sh!te. And hopefully those vevezulas will become less of an influence. I actually detected some singing and an atmosphere from tonights Mexican/Cheats match.

They are going alot more than may seem, if it was just French and Mexicans tonight you could probably take 8-9 000 of the Attendance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Best bit of the night were the lucha masks in the crowd.

Delighted France lost, not particularly because of all that vaguely cringe-worthy Henry rubbish, but beause they deserved nothing for their appalling attitude all night. They really didn't give a toss out there and showed no pride whatsoever in their country and jersey. Shameful, spineless stuff. The biggest effort they made all night was trying to f*ck with Blanco's head before the penalty. Shambolic stuff, Mexico thoroughly deserved their win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Mexico you are now forgiven for the swine flu outbreak well done

flahavaj wrote: »

Delighted France lost, not particularly because of all that vaguely cringe-worthy Henry rubbish, but beause they deserved nothing for their appalling attitude all night. They really didn't give a toss out there and showed no pride whatsoever in their country and jersey. Shameful, spineless stuff. The biggest effort they made all night was trying to f*ck with Blanco's head before the penalty. Shambolic stuff, Mexico thoroughly deserved their win.

But Flah, that is what wrecks my head about that night in Paris. Remember Duff and Andrews in tears. Dunne on the floor as that idiot Henry tries to claw some ounce on intergrity back by sitting beside him. Given running right up to the fans.

We wanted to be there. The French don't give a f*ck. Their attitude is disgraceful. They just can't wait to get to the beach. We'd have made an impact. The French are just a pre-diarrhoea fart!!

Don't think many people, including me, who can watch the games from our houses are gonna care much about attendance levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,521 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I am embarressed for you.

You must be great fun at parties: "omg they are dancing, how cringeworthy"!

Baron Von Bender:pac:

But Flah, that is what wrecks my head about that night in Paris. Remember Duff and Andrews in tears. Dunne on the floor as that idiot Henry tries to claw some ounce on intergrity back by sitting beside him. Given running right up to the fans.

We wanted to be there. The French don't give a f*ck. Their attitude is disgraceful. They just can't wait to get to the beach. We'd have made an impact. The French are just a pre-diarrhoea fart!!

Theres no guarantee Ireland would have scored again in Paris anyway. All ifs and buts.

If they hadn't played so defensively against Bulgaria and others they wouldn't have needed the play off route.

Time to get over it tbh.

But we never will, 'cos we love a good moan and the Joe Duffy worshipping "hyuck hyuck durr" brigade love to bang on about it ad nauseum no matter how pathetic it makes us look.

noodler wrote: »
    I am embarressed for you.

You must be great fun at parties: "omg they are dancing, how cringeworthy"!

Baron Von Bender:pac:

Nah, dancing is grand.

But this thread is like being stuck on a 200 mile journey with the thickest taxi driver in Dublin.

"Fook the fookin French. And fook the Brits, I hate the way they go on about
    their national team in the meeja....."

Surely less South Africans at games is a good thing, as that will mean less of that headache inducing s**t of a vuevuezela.

Theres no guarantee Ireland would have scored again in Paris anyway. All ifs and buts.

If they hadn't played so defensively against Bulgaria and others they wouldn't have needed the play off route.

Time to get over it tbh.

But we never will, 'cos we love a good moan and the Joe Duffy worshipping "hyuck hyuck durr" brigade love to bang on about it ad nauseum no matter how pathetic it makes us look.

I don't give a f*ck about wonky leg Duffy. If we had been beaten on penos, at least that would have been an end to it!! We'd have known.

France have been a disgrace in this tournament. They have brought nothing to the table. Nothing. Waste of space!!

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Was the Hernadez goal offside or what????:confused::confused:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Now I know why Evra was crying at the anthem, tears of embarrassment for the team's performance to come..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

boo-hoo2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

The french team hate their manager. A new manager appointed before world cup. No need to impress or listen to this manager. But for the love of god have a bit of pride in the way you play and in your country!

Was the Hernadez goal offside or what????:confused::confused:

Yes, I think it was. But the doubt should go in the striker's favour!

racso1975 wrote: »
    The french team hate their manager. A new manager appointed before world cup. No need to impress or listen to this manager. But for the love of god have a bit of pride in the way you play and in your country!

Great thing about Blanc is he won't take much s*it, and can say to any Big Time Charlies in the squad: "World Cup, European Championship -i've been there and done that, now you do it!"

France will come back stronger for the next European Championships!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's **** or bust with French sides
    82 - semis
    86 - semis
    90 - DNQ
    94 - DNQ
    98 - DNQ/Winners
    02 - bombed out
    06 - Final
    10 - bombed out

Whatever happened to scraping through the group and a plucky defeat in the last 16?

Common theme seems to be when their number 10 shows up, so do the rest of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Yes, I think it was. But the doubt should go in the striker's favour!

Disagree he was on. His foot was inline with the defender.