Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will I ever use Irish again??

Options
  • 17-06-2010 3:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Hi Guys,

My name is Claire, and I'm a student journalist at Westminster University, London. I'm completing my Final Project on the preservation of the Irish Language, and would love to get some feedback on just how useful it is to young students today.

Do you think this is the last time you will ever use Irish. Is it something that you would consider an asset when you look for employment?

Looking forward to your comments and views on this subject.

Thanks,

Claire :)
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Peter03

I can't see myself ever speaking Irish again, completely worthless language.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭James G

I once used to think that I'd learn Irish on my own, at my own pace, after I left school. At this point, though, I honestly have to say I'm sick of it. I'm sure it would have been different if I wasn't forced to learn it. I don't think Irish is very important, and having a universal language would be much more ideal than having to know English and Irish, so I don't think it should be pushed the way it is. But it would be sort of fun to learn it at my own leisure.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I had loads of fun speaking Irish in the Gaeltacht. The spoken element of Irish is great. However, the absolute direness of the Irish syllabus for the Leaving Certificate (over 15 texts, stair na Gaelige, meaningless essays) has completely induced a hatred of Irish in me.