Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Germany - Serbia, 12:30pm, Port Elizabeth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Just in the door lads, has the ref really been that bad? Klose sent off :o Did he deserve it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

At least 3 players will be sent off by the end. What a ridiculous referee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

that's just unfortunate....painful to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Mother of God this ref is a nutcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Archimedes wrote: »
    Just in the door lads, has the ref really been that bad? Klose sent off :o Did he deserve it?

2 bad tackles, 2 yellows, no complaints from me.

Alos Germany unlucky there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,525 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Card happy, so sending off was inevitable, but not deserved.

Good drama at end there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Nope, Ref starting booking people early so he had to send him off.

But they weren't yellows, what ever happened to a warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

If the ref keeps it up, we could end up with another Portugal v Holland 06...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

The key to it is that this game has not been any more dirtier than any other game in the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

"The keeper's a big tart!":D

Anyone else think Neuer should have been braver for the goal?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Klose didnt deserve to go off IMO. it was a second yellow (which are being handed out like confetti) the ref is being very pedantic, bookings for every tackle. runing the game:mad:

refs like this are turning football into a non-contact sport. absolutely ruing the game. :mad::mad::mad:

what a Farce. I blame FIFA, actually I blame Platini and Blatter.

4 other players on yellows and ger are bound to get more frustrated being a goal down and down to 10 men. at least one more red, if not two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I dunno what the odds on a Serb being sent packing are but they must be pretty tight, one false move by a red shirt already on a yellow and he'll send 'em off.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭flugel

Watching this in koln, hope Germany get a goal or two just for atmosphere sake! Good to see a Liverpool player scoring tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Spanish Ref trying to hurt Spain's biggest rivals.

come on DER FATHERLAND !!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

That referee won't officiate in another game in the World Cup (I hope!)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I didn't see the first Germany game but wasn't suprised to hear they won well. They were given loads of plaudits after that but people must remember this Australia team is the worst in a long long time. Cahill is their best player nad he got sent off.

Run through the Serbia team and most of their players are playing with big European sides.

I take it back, some yellows were ****ing ridiculous. Klose did not warrant a sending off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

SarahBM wrote: »
    Klose didnt deserve to go off IMO. it was a second yellow (which are being handed out like confetti) the ref is being very pedantic, bookings for every tackle. runing the game:mad:

refs like this are turning football into a non-contact sport. absolutely ruing the game. :mad::mad::mad:

4 other players on yellows and ger are bound to get more frustrated being a goal down and down to 10 men. at least one more red, if not two.

FIFA, Platini and Blatter to blame for a card happy Spanish ref?:rolleyes:

First yellow was ridiculous. Complete accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,391 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

An Citeog wrote: »

Global warming too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Spanish ref, they hand out cards like confetti in La Liga.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Way I see it is Klose made two professional fouls when Germany lost the ball to prevent Serbian counter attacks. It's a shame, but Klose knew when he got the first that he was walking a fine line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

LOL, listening to Souness... "its all foreigners bringing diving and playacting into the Premiership". Wally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

keano_afc wrote: »

What odds on a German win in this game now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Ridiculous refereeing, Mick McCarthy on BBC sounded like he wanted to go down and talk to the ref himself he was so riled up about it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Way I see it is Klose made two professional fouls when Germany lost the ball to prevent Serbian counter attacks. It's a shame, but Klose knew when he got the first that he was walking a fine line.

First one was accidental but i can understand the yellow because he was warned a few minutes earlier. The second is just a joke. Def a free and probably a final warning for Klose but sending players off for that is ridiculous.

An Citeog wrote: »

No they are to blame for ridiculous referee appointments and unbelieveable rule changes and interfering so much with the game and turning it into a non contact sport!!!!!

Ozil lone striker now. Could work out well for both Germany and my fantasy team.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

mathie wrote: »
    What odds on a German win in this game now?

6/1 on pp

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

keano_afc wrote: »
    The ref apparently has given out 11 red cards in 7 La Liga games last season.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

bijapos wrote: »
    LOL, listening to Souness... "its all foreigners bringing diving and playacting into the Premiership". Wally

Well he IS right. Klinsmann introduced diving to English football.

I gotta say that the Italians and Spanish are real-pros when it comes to falling over in apparent agony with flailing arms. :P

this ref has never even played apparently. and has only refed 9 times at international level. surely there are more experience refs out there

I dont think you should be allowed ref a sport unless you have actually played the sport and understand it form a players point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I blame the ref's father for conceiving his son with a weak sperm

As far as I know Spain's top official retired at the end of the season because he reached the mandatory age which in Spain is lower than England.

Was the ref giving out to the physios there?

This is painful, really is.

It's like watching the LoI. The ref always has to be in the spotlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

this ref has never even played apparently. and has only refed 9 times at international level. surely there are more experience refs out there

I dont think you should be allowed ref a sport unless you have actually played the sport and understand it form a players point of view.

I think it's 9 competitive games, he's probably done a fair number of friendlies too. I wouldn't be overly bothered by him never being a player, I'd say you'd find the same is true of a lot of refs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,832 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Gwan the Serbs.
    who is this Damien thats assisting commentating on RTE2?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

*chants* THE REFEREE'S A WANKER

Must be yellow card day!

Fantastic pass from Ozil. Great vision.

Really should have scored there.

10 players Germany still the better team.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

papagormo wrote: »
    Gwan the Serbs.
    who is this Damien thats assisting commentating on RTE2?

Commentates on all the eircom league matches.

Brilliant from Ozil there. Stunning.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Germans on top now. Should be level at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Germany turning the screw with 10 men :o

and here's the equalizer!
    in a few seconds...

and another yellow..

G'wan ya animal

Toodles Vida

Correct without seeing a replay.

Handball.

Saved. F**k.

Penalty....Germany...yellow card for Vidic. Should be red. Deliberate handball.