Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

170metre CAT5 cable run

Options
  • 18-06-2010 4:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, hopefully somone here can help me out.
    My broadband comes from a wireless provider and I have been enjoying excellent speeds of 7mb for the past 3 years or so. (excellent for me as I live in the sticks and Eircom broadband is only after coming available where I live and its only a 1mb connection I can get).
    Problem is the base station where they operate from is approx 6 miles from where I live as the crow flys and a huge tree has bloomed up and out right in line between my radio antenna and the base, my connection is non existant now and I called the company out and they tried for a signal from every part of my house but its to no avail, can't be found.
    My only option now is to fit the antenna on a pole which is approx 170 metres away from my house and run the cable through ducting which thankfully is already in place. I know cat5 cable starts loosing signal at around 100 metres in length so I would need some kind of repeater/booster for it half ways through.
    Can anyone recommend a particular device? Also do these devices need to be powered from the mains?
    Many thanks to anyone who replies.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Just do it :D If it works fine - it often does I've had 300m work OK but 150m fail so you just don't know - then no problem, if it doesn't try segmenting the network with another router in the middle of the long run, provided you can get power to it that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen