Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you expect to see in rural Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The 64 super dexta with a welded on roll cage with double wheels drawing a load of turf :pac:

Over loaded hay trailers.

The aul daysel jetta.

The local garda station being closed all the time and being redirected to one 30 miles away

Most of the signs still being in miles, and the complete hatred to kilometres and anything to do with them

• Registered Users Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

The on duty Guard out for a jog cos he's bored..

Do see that round my way anyway :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Pink Snacks............Lads, Pink Snacks.

ohhhhhhhh, and a PZ haybob (real culchies will get this)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Enda Kenny saving the turf.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Green Daysul

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Rattling homemade silage trailers leaving grass on the road, driven by shirtless spotty teenagers, supping Lucozade original, radio up full blast and deliberatly driving through towns so they can spot the talent and show off to the lads sitting in the boy racers cars who are checking out the tractors and the talent, afraid to actually drive their cars as it would be wasting valuable dole money.

Farmers with the face and arms burnt off them coz Sunscreen is for gheys.

Brothers living together in the parents house alone for 70 odd years because neither of them bothered to look for a woman and living on prime real estate but wouldn't dare sell it.

Frustated middle aged failed footballers roaring the heads off you 12 yr olds for not taking the game seriously and not giving 100% in training. While angry mothers scream at the referee.

Knacker drinking the Prodestant church grounds.

Neighbours constantly ignoring and being bitter towards each other over an argument over a ditch that happened over 10 years ago.

Ol farmers with no plumbing or for convienience piss in the sink.

The Stations: so the housewife can stress for months that the priest might be coming to the house and it must look nice. Women in the one room, men in the other.

The English 'Tans' who arrive in the Summer with their jeeps and little yachts, overly friendly to everyone not knowing that behind ever Irish smile is the voice inside saying 'they took our f*cking spuds, the bastards'.

Young twenty something girls who w*nk their way through members of the local football team doing well whether it be the Under 21, Senior or the Junior 3's.

The three local pubs all within 50metres of each other selling drink to young one and locals til 4-5am.

The local guard whose method of interrogation begins with 'who's your father?' and ends with 'go home ya scamp and tell yer old fella i says hello'

People shouting at the foreigners at the deli counter of the local spar/centra coz the employee cant understand wtf they are saying. (not necessaryily a country thing).

Still feeling the pinch of fear as you walk past the retired headmaster in your primary school who made you cry in class for not being able to remember the complexities of Irish grammer. People will still call him Sir.

The local drunk who walks like a soldier to battle to the pub everyday at 11am though it be a long trip, rain hail or shine, only to be held in high regard by the local kids and shuffle home at 4am and sleep in a ditch covered in his own píss.

Wouldn't change it for the World

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

landyman wrote: »
    The 64 super dexta with a welded on roll cage with double wheels drawing a load of turf :pac:

Over loaded hay trailers.

The aul daysel jetta.

The local garda station being closed all the time and being redirected to one 30 miles away

Most of the signs still being in miles, and the complete hatred to kilometres and anything to do with them

I find it very hard to beleive that nearly everyone in the countryside still uses miles as yous hate everything about british people and i was in donegal and it had km signs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

owenc wrote: »
    Thats why your government should get post codes, down south is like the only country not with them, even the poor ones have post codes! Come on now!

**** off, then we would have to start paying tax

BumbleB wrote: »
    t

Tax disc .

What dat ?

Ye all missed the road signs pointing the wrong way

What dat ?

Yous don't have tax on your cars!!:eek::eek:

**** off, then we would have to start paying tax

Your obviously pay tax.

yes, but never in the Republic, or to a Labour council in the UK

Yous don't have tax on your cars!!:eek::eek:

Why do you

Why do you

Well, duh of course we pay tax on our cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Well, duh of course we pay tax on our cars.

So do we,99% percent of us anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I find it very hard to beleive that nearly everyone in the countryside still uses miles as yous hate everything about british people and i was in donegal and it had km signs.

this is getting pretty pathetic.

storm2811 wrote: »
    So do we,99% percent of us anyway.

Well, why did he go on like you lot didn't.

fish in a fecking barrel

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

jukebox in the corner of the local wit all de hits like eye of the tiger and i've got a brand new comboine harvester and joe dolan .

fish in a fecking barrel
    Piranha

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Emmm... You realise the imperial system is British? Yes?

Bingo sat night . Big prizes to be wan .

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

Irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

People with black eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

People with black eyes.

How so?

People with black eyes.
    Badgers ??

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

Kids still in the pub when it's gone midnight

Dents and holes in the road signs where they've been used for target practice

Donut tyre marks all over the roads

Checking yourself for ticks when you come in from the field